Burnsville, MN 
Red Oak Park Share
Uploaded By: bigbeano Hole #8 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 187ft.   3 / 173ft.   3 / 187ft.   3 / 173ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Beginner/Intermediate

1    7/21/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a decent sized park that has some hilly terrain and some dense woods. It seemed like it was pretty much dedicated to disc golf, can't imagine much interference here.
- Some of the toughest holes on the course have pretty clear fairways, but are bordered by extremely thick rough and have some tricky lines. #9 and #10 are both around 350', that need to start straight and finish hyzer in the woods. #7 is a blind RHBH anny shot with nasty rough on the right, staying on the fairway is crucial to avoid a bogey.
- Other holes have tighter lines in the woods, which need good accuracy to get to the basket. #1 starts it off with a couple tight lines up to the green, #6 is a little shot out of a skinny gap, and #8 is the tightest of them all with a straight shot/hyzer dead ahead.
- The rest of the holes are a little more open, but still are interesting. #2 is a blind downhill hyzer, #3 is an uphill shot with some trees to avoid, #4 is a short shot over a deep valley, and #6 has some trees by the basket. Even the blander ones have some character.
- Elevation changes are fun, and add some challenge. #1 is fairly tight, and slopes up near the green. #2 is a fun downhill, #4 is easy enough but slopes way up near the basket. That can lead to some interesting putts. Helps to mix things up.
- Nice pads, signs, and baskets. Navigation pointers help to get around, though the map can help find the different tees. Practice basket right by hole #1.
Cons: - Some of the shots are pretty wide open, like #3, #4, and #5. It's possible to lay up on some of the tougher ones as well; while you might concede the deuce, it can make for an easy par.
- A few holes are on the short side, like #2, #4, #6, and #8. Hitting the line is the only real challenge on these holes, with the longest of these eight different pads at 252'.
Other Thoughts: - All in all, a pretty fun course that offers a decent balance of tight and tricky holes, and longer holes with serious punishment for straying off the fairway. Elevation changes here and there keep things fresh, and the alternate tees help to make two rounds somewhat unique. A great course for beginners to learn the ropes, and probably still challenging to an experienced player. More advanced players will cruise through, no problem.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 4-25-12

1    4/25/2012   4/26/2012
Review By: Jedi-D85
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Baskets, tee pads, walkways, signage for next holes and hole maps. They are all very nice and make this a really nice course for a casual day at a course. It is a rookie course in my opinion. You can dig your tee shot 100 feet out and be in decent shape for the pin on a few of the holes.

There are some really nice elevation layouts and the actual hole layouts are well thought out with the limited room they had.

I like the practice basket for putting right at the parking lot before #1.
Cons: Con is the beginner status in my opinion. It is a course where it is only about shot placement around an obstacle for a 230 foot hole.

There a few where you can get a good drive in for a seasoned arm but nothing where you need a good long 400 foot drive and a strong follow up to get your par.

If you have a bad day where you just can't place your shots very well you can still run par without an issue.

Also the only trash can is in the middle of the course layout and gets over filled on a nice day fast. It cloud also use a porta-john if possible.

Also there seems to be the curse of the free course where you have to be careful when you pick up your disc as you don't cut your fingers on the glass bottles people have decided to discard and break on the fairways.

It seems as if this course was stuffed into this area beucase it wasn't good for anything else and won't attract those who are out for "pro" day.
Other Thoughts: I didn't have a huge desire to throw the full 20 as in my mind it is only a 10 hole with double tees for beginers and those who just getting a good grasp of the game.

I will bring people here to teach the basic flow of the game and how to throw as you aren't really tempted to try and over throw much on this course.

If you want more challenge head down the Kenwood in Lakeville to up the difficulty and distance.

BIG POINT: WATCH OUT FOR SOME PLAYERS. I CAUGHT UP WITH A GROUP AND PLAYED WITH THEM. BUT WE ALMOST GOT NAILED ON #9 FAIRWAY FROM A WAYWARD TEE SHOT.
I went back to play solo round and had to duck out of the way on the side of the fairway from some chuckers drive heading for my eyes. "Claiming I didn't see you there"

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun compact course

2-4    4/28/2011   4/28/2011
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 69  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Red Oak Park is a nice medium 10/20-hole park course. The course has something for everyone and will really challenge most beginners. More experienced player will appreciate the fact that shot shape, placement and accuracy are required for a good score. You don't need a big arm to play this course as the longest hole is just under 400ft. It has a decent variety of shot requirements and lots of moderate elevation changes. There is a good mix of open and wooded holes some of witch are pretty tight. Hole 1,6 & 8 are tough shots that must weave through the trees for a chance at a 2, 8 being the most challenging. Hole 4 is a fun hole from hillside to hillside and rollaways will be a factor. The ninth & tenth holes are the longest and nine is a fun downhill blind hyzer.

The course has great signage & wood chip paths from hole to hole, as well as wood chip greens. It is well maintained and pretty clean. Tee pads are in good shape and most of the alternate pads require a completely different approach.

There are a few chances at blind or semi blind aces that would be awesome.
Cons: I was not overly impressed with this course, it is nice but not that imaginative. Most of the holes are straight with a little turn just before the pin. For the most part the alternate tees only ad a little distance. It is kind of forced into the space that it is in and I think it might have been a better idea to only have 9 holes. (I never played the course before it was changed). The course can get busy/ backed up and there is a chance of being hit by a disc on a few of the holes.

The thing that bugs me the most about this course is that face that there are two ponds that are not used at all. Some course don't even have the option of having water holes so I think any course that has water as an option should use it.
Other Thoughts: This course is fun but it is way out of the way for me to play and I will not drive to Burnsville just to play it. If am am in the area and have the time I will play it again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.