Burnsville, MN 
Red Oak Park Share
Uploaded By: bigbeano Hole #3 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 211ft.   3 / 339ft.   3 / 211ft.   3 / 339ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Hidden Gem

1    5/23/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: Muskiebite
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros: -Well kept course
-Good signage
-"Pro/Am" Tees
-Good mix of tight and open fairways
Cons: -Most holes aren't very long
-Couple areas and tees which could prove hazardous for wayward discs
Other Thoughts: This is a nice compact course. It's only ten holes but the pro/am tees are numbered so you can play 20 alternating between each holes pro and am tees.
Most the holes are pretty short, but there is a good mix where the wooded holes call for control shots and the open ones you can let loose and get some nice birdies.
There is suggested par but all the holes can be played as 3.

My hats go off to the Burnsville Disc Golf Club for keeping the course well kept. I am sure I will be playing this course alot

 Hidden Gem

2-4    9/23/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: Badgerman
Played: 211  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Best navigation of any course I've played, and second best signage (Hibbing's tee signs are better). It is absolutely impossible to not know where the pin is or where the next hole is.

2) I don't know why other reviews have said that red oak lacks variety, i thought every hole was if not unique, then at least different from what you would expect.

3) There's a cool little bench tucked into the woods by tee 3, good spot to just sit and chill for a bit.

4) 10 holes between 160' and 400' with everything you could ask for except water. Uphill, downhill, tight woods, open woods.

5) Every single hole has some sort of elevation change, yet you don't feel like you're walking up and down a hill over and over.

6) Well Maintained. I think this speaks for itself.
Cons: 1) Some of the "Back 10" only differ from the "front 10" by a couple of feet to the back or side. This is the reason i will not call this a 20 hole course.

2) This isn't a deal-breaker for me, but there aren't really any big arm shots here.
Other Thoughts: I can't believe this was my first time at this wonderful course, i will be back several times a week from now on, what a fun course!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful course!

5+    8/26/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Practice basket to work on your putting before you start
-Baskets are nicely labelled
-Nice woodchipped trails between holes
-Very easy to navigate
-Nicely broken in
-Course map at the beginning of the course that outlays each hole along with distances
Cons: -Sign from hole 6 tee area is missing
-Only 10 "true" holes, although there are alternate tees from each making it 20
-No on-site bathrooms
Other Thoughts: I really had to reach for some things to mention as "cons" of this course. This is a wonderfully maintained course and is one of the best (if not the best) maintained free course I've seen. Some of the alternate tees are just a little farther back, but some are going at the basket from a totally different direction. The pathways between the holes are woodchipped, and along with the signs directing you where to go makes it more or less impossible to lose your direction. The course has some holes that are very tight and require you to be quite accurate with your shot. There is definitely potential to lose a disc at this course on numerous holes if one of your shots goes awry. The course isn't terribly long, but you must be accurate in order to get a good score here. The course is probably best played as an all par 3 course, despite the fact that there are four holes labelled as par 4 on the signs. All in all this is a great course and I would highly recommend giving it a try. I know I'll be back for sure.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nicely Laid out course

1    8/8/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: djschnabel
Played: 160  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 18 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has the best navigation of any course that I think I have played (60+). It is easy to find (remember to go to the second parking lot), the practice basket has slight elevation changes, trees for obstacles, and is next to but not in the way of 1/11. I still would call this a 10 hole course, but some of the alternate tee boxes do provide quite a different shot, so I see the argument either way. Some holes are great for ace runs, some holes challenge you to hit certain lines, and some holes allow you to chuck it as far as you can. Good usage of elevation, and I saw 4 deer while playing this morning. There is a bench at pretty much every teebox.
Cons: I don't remember seeing garbage cans. Some of the holes play along side others, and yes, you do have to walk back on hole 9 to get to 10/20's teebox. Not a big deal for me, as any other way would greatly decrease the challenge of hole 10/20.
Other Thoughts: I was amazed at the navigation as stated above. Great signs that even the drunkest of your friends could follow. I played at 6:30 in the morning, so I can't attest to how crowded this course could get, but I imagine when it does, especially with newer players, you will have to watch out for errant throws. The brush could prove to be brutal with a lot of bad throws, but we didn't have too many problems finding our discs that went exploring.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course for Learning

5+    5/30/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: Adontalis
Played: 56  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great tee pads.
Great signage.
Each hole presents a different challenge.
I personally learned how to play on this course almost exclusively. Some very frustrating tight shots (1/11, 6/16 and 8/18). However that helps improve your game.
Cons: Thick shurbs. Do NOT miss right on either 4/14 or 7/17. As the season progresses, we're talking lost discs.
Other Thoughts: I love this course and would suggest it to anyone of any skill level.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course!

5+    4/7/2011   4/7/2011
Review By: UnitedPuppySlayer
Played: 55  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Elevation changes
Cement tees
Big course map
well maintained
Challenging
Practice basket
Local!

Cons: Can get jammed up a bit with 2 pads per fairway.
No bathrooms (not a BIG deal)
Other Thoughts: Nice technical course with varying hole lengths, elevation, and turns.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course in the south Metro

1    9/26/2010   9/26/2010
Review By: deadbody
Played: 104  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 20 holes, 10 baskets. Dual Cement tees on every hole, all provide different lines and shots. Gorgeous course, nice foliage all over, there are uphill shots and down hill shots, tight shots and open shots. Nothing super long (nothing over about 450) but very solid course. You will use every shot in your bag at least once here.
Cons: 10 baskets. Can get tight if busy as the people playing 14 are shooting at the same basket the people playing 4 are. Not much space to expand so this is the best way to get more holes in, but if the course is really busy it could be an issue.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course in the south Metro. Far better than Shakopee Lions park. I would play this course quite a bit if it wasn't a long drive away.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course; Lots of Fun

2-4    8/7/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: sporkage
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - New concrete tee boxes
- Multiple tee boxes expands a 10-hole course to a 20-hole course
- Very well maintained
- Elevation and woods, as well as a sumac rough on a few holes
- Logical progression of hole (signs popinted you to the right spots and the start of the next hole was generally close to the end of the last one)
Cons: - A few holes have both tee boxes with a few feet of each other (could be more creative)
- Possibility to play a hole at the same time as somebody else if you don't pay attention and are playing the other tee box
- Hole 9/19 requires walking back down the fairway a little to get to 10/20. (have to watch for the next group)
Other Thoughts: Overall, I was pleasantly surprised by the course. There's enough variety in distances and obstacles to be a really fun course. The grounds are very clean and it appears the owner takes a lot of pride in the course. I'll be playing this one again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Well Kept

5+    6/17/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: TimBoyMN
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very well kept course
-Good use of elevation changes
-Friendly locals all the time
-Good maximization of land alloted for course
-Good pin placements
-Natural tees are fairly good even in poor conditions (Cement is going in soon)
-Dual tee pads making for 20 holes
-Fairways are absolutely immaculate
Cons: -Tee pad for 8 is always a mess, good or bad weather conditions
-Dual tee pads on some holes just adds a little length, doesn't alter shot lines much (1/11, 4/14, 6/16, 8/18)
-There are a few holes where the rough could be thinned a little
Other Thoughts: -I would like to see more trash cans placed along the course, as of now there are 3 (1/11, 4/14, 9/19)
-It can get crowded in the afternoon, so if you want a quick round play earlier (3:00 pm or earlier, crowds usually start around 3:30-4)
-You can play this course relatively quick

All in all, this is a great course for the space it has.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Top Notch Local Course!!!

5+    4/24/2010   4/28/2010
Review By: drdeeznutz
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has come a LONG way... So far this yr the updates are: new benches, new signage, new hole (makes it 20 instead of 18 now), and lots of upkeep (thx to Steve). CEMENT TEE PADS WILL BE IN THIS SUMMER!!!!! This is a very fun course to play. Many different types of shots and distances. I'd have to say, out of all the courses w/in reasonable driving distance this is definitely one of the best out there w/ all the improvements that have been made.
Cons: ~ Dirt tees (cement will be in this summer though)
~ no "john" (not a big issue though)
~ no water fountain
Other Thoughts: COME PLAY HERE!!!! You won't regret it....
Thx Steve Tilseth for all your hard work!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.