Burnsville, MN 
Red Oak Park Share
Uploaded By: bigbeano Hole #5 (Taken 9/2011)
4 / 271ft.   4 / 293ft.   3 / 271ft.   3 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice Course W/Great Amenities! Thanks!

1    7/24/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 673  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Red Oak Park is just another of the Twin Cities stable of enjoyable courses. This one is so well maintained and signed that it's almost easy to forget that's it also a pretty nicely designed course. The course is not long but well laid out through the mostly small thickets of trees. There are two clearly marked pads for each basket. Note: That does not constitute a 20 hole course! That means this is a 10 hole course with two teepads for each baskets. Hence a 10 hole course still. Clear!

The pads are wedge shaped and great. The baskets are DGA with the red numbers facing the correct way. The tee signs are super. They're mounted on 8" by 8" poles with probably a 6" by 6" colored sign under a thick piece of plexiglass. Very pretty and virtually indestrucible. Some of the best signs ever. There are wood chips paths to follow and wood chips spread around the baskets. No muddy problems here. Most of the holes are fairly short and then you get to # 9 with it's 357' pretty, natural hyser fairway. Hole # 4 was fun throwing from the top of one hill to a basket on the next hill.
Cons: # 9 and # 10 are listed as par 4's but they really play as more difficult 3's. The course is recreational in nature as it's not quite a true intermediate course. It was absolutely perfect me-an aging recreational player. It lacks the wow factor or an EPIC hole. Advanced to pro players won't find the challenge they're looking for here. Big armed players will be disappointed that they aren't getting to show off their guns.
Other Thoughts: This is an EPIC moment for me. This is my 300th review! I want to take this course home with me along with the recreational department/local club to maintain it. The signage, cleanliness, challenge for me, navigational help, baskets, dual tees, design, and pads all join forces to make this one great little 10 hole course. It just misses making my favorites list.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nicely Laid out course

1    8/8/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: djschnabel
Played: 157  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 17.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has the best navigation of any course that I think I have played (60+). It is easy to find (remember to go to the second parking lot), the practice basket has slight elevation changes, trees for obstacles, and is next to but not in the way of 1/11. I still would call this a 10 hole course, but some of the alternate tee boxes do provide quite a different shot, so I see the argument either way. Some holes are great for ace runs, some holes challenge you to hit certain lines, and some holes allow you to chuck it as far as you can. Good usage of elevation, and I saw 4 deer while playing this morning. There is a bench at pretty much every teebox.
Cons: I don't remember seeing garbage cans. Some of the holes play along side others, and yes, you do have to walk back on hole 9 to get to 10/20's teebox. Not a big deal for me, as any other way would greatly decrease the challenge of hole 10/20.
Other Thoughts: I was amazed at the navigation as stated above. Great signs that even the drunkest of your friends could follow. I played at 6:30 in the morning, so I can't attest to how crowded this course could get, but I imagine when it does, especially with newer players, you will have to watch out for errant throws. The brush could prove to be brutal with a lot of bad throws, but we didn't have too many problems finding our discs that went exploring.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Another great Twin Cities Course

1    6/17/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Dual concrete tees on this great course. These are always appreciated! Alternate tees definitely alter the course too!

2) Nice color coded posts to indicate which tee you are looking for.

3) Nice signs on the tees indicated par distance hole # and a map.

4) Nice entrance sign to the park indicating Red Oak Disc Golf and also a nice sign as you approach the first hole, indicating the overall map of the course and each holes layout. It also indicated the course was adopted by the Burnsville Disc Golf Club. Nice to see a local presence on this course.

5) Nice use of elevation on this course, there are some real elevation changes on many of the hole including #4 where you are basically shooting over a ravine, with an overall net elevation change of very little, but the potential differential is huge.

6) Plenty of garbage cans to make sure people take care of this park.

7) Lots of variance in distance on these holes . . . I just always hate playing courses with all the holes in a certain short range of distance. This course ranges from mid 100's up to the upper 300's. This promotes lots of different disc use as well as different shot making needed.

8) Practice basket is available for use by the first tee.

9) Benches available in spots to rest in between drives.
Cons: 1) Quite a few areas on the course where the turf is wore down to nothing and is compacted and will erode. This seems typical for Twin Cities DG and that can be assumed is from the amount of players in the area.

2) Thickness of some of the peripheral areas is pretty rough . . . you are penalized badly, but not just in disc golf also in your body trying to get through those areas.

3) Sounds like it would be busy, but I was there on a Friday morning so I only saw a gew other disc golfers as well as some cross country runners.

4) Flow is decent except for #10 because after putting out on #9 you must walk 100' back up the fairway (and into harms way) and then potetnially cross in front of the group in frot of you throwing from the tee on #10.
Other Thoughts: This is just a solid course. it is nice design, pretty decent maintenance, great amenities on site and it presents a challenge with each shot.

I would play this course over and over . . .some rounds I would try to get my best score and the next round I would try other crazy routes which are certainly available. Give it a shot sometime try the big anny rather than the straight up the gut shot. Test yourself!!!!

Im not sure why everyone says this is 20 holes . . .it is only 10 with 2 sets of tees. Yes the tees alter the hole but it is still the same fairway for a good portion of the hole so in my opinion why call it front 10 back 10 when it is just 10 holes played from two sets of tees.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course for Learning

5+    5/30/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: Adontalis
Played: 56  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great tee pads.
Great signage.
Each hole presents a different challenge.
I personally learned how to play on this course almost exclusively. Some very frustrating tight shots (1/11, 6/16 and 8/18). However that helps improve your game.
Cons: Thick shurbs. Do NOT miss right on either 4/14 or 7/17. As the season progresses, we're talking lost discs.
Other Thoughts: I love this course and would suggest it to anyone of any skill level.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Delivery Friendly!

2-4    5/29/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: Attix
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very fun course for beginers and people who play daily. Each pin has 2 tee's on it so you get double the course in the same area.
Holes are spread out and vary in difficulty.
The last time I was there a Jimmy Johns delivery guy was walking through with free sandwiches advertising that the local store delivers to the course and that they will even deliver out to the specific hole you are on.
Cons: The brush here can be very thick unforgiving. Whether its because of the thorns slashing at your hands, or that they are so good at eating discs, you really don't want to stray off the fairway here.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun compact course

2-4    4/28/2011   4/28/2011
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 69  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Red Oak Park is a nice medium 10/20-hole park course. The course has something for everyone and will really challenge most beginners. More experienced player will appreciate the fact that shot shape, placement and accuracy are required for a good score. You don't need a big arm to play this course as the longest hole is just under 400ft. It has a decent variety of shot requirements and lots of moderate elevation changes. There is a good mix of open and wooded holes some of witch are pretty tight. Hole 1,6 & 8 are tough shots that must weave through the trees for a chance at a 2, 8 being the most challenging. Hole 4 is a fun hole from hillside to hillside and rollaways will be a factor. The ninth & tenth holes are the longest and nine is a fun downhill blind hyzer.

The course has great signage & wood chip paths from hole to hole, as well as wood chip greens. It is well maintained and pretty clean. Tee pads are in good shape and most of the alternate pads require a completely different approach.

There are a few chances at blind or semi blind aces that would be awesome.
Cons: I was not overly impressed with this course, it is nice but not that imaginative. Most of the holes are straight with a little turn just before the pin. For the most part the alternate tees only ad a little distance. It is kind of forced into the space that it is in and I think it might have been a better idea to only have 9 holes. (I never played the course before it was changed). The course can get busy/ backed up and there is a chance of being hit by a disc on a few of the holes.

The thing that bugs me the most about this course is that face that there are two ponds that are not used at all. Some course don't even have the option of having water holes so I think any course that has water as an option should use it.
Other Thoughts: This course is fun but it is way out of the way for me to play and I will not drive to Burnsville just to play it. If am am in the area and have the time I will play it again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course!

5+    4/7/2011   4/7/2011
Review By: UnitedPuppySlayer
Played: 55  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Elevation changes
Cement tees
Big course map
well maintained
Challenging
Practice basket
Local!

Cons: Can get jammed up a bit with 2 pads per fairway.
No bathrooms (not a BIG deal)
Other Thoughts: Nice technical course with varying hole lengths, elevation, and turns.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 South Metro Gem

5+    1/27/2011   1/27/2011
Review By: Bubbajoe
Played: 143  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of shots from open to tightly wooded, righty's and lefty's,
Concrete Tees
Good use of available elevation
Multiple and well marked tee pads for every pin
Benches on many holes
Very well maintained with mowed fairways in the Summer and shoveled tees in the Winter
Good signage
Layout does a nice job of avoiding the pedestrian path that runs through the course
Cons: Occasional back ups due to multiple pads for every pin
Awkward transition from 9/19 to 10/20
Lacks a risk/reward hole
Needs more trash cans
Other Thoughts: Redoak Park could very well be a case study for making the most with what you have and stands as a real credit to the Burnsville disc golf club. Situated on a small parcel of land the course feels much bigger due mainly to use of multiple tee pads for each pin. On seven of the ten pins the change of tees greatly alters your drive while only three (1/11,4/14,6/16) feel redundant due to changes in length only. The course flows well from hole to hole with the exception of the transition from 9/19 to 10/20 which requires a switch back down the fairway of 9/19 and then requires the player to cross in front of one or both tees on the fairway of 10/20. The moderate length puts Redoak within the range of beginners while it's technical features offers the advanced player many opportunities to hone their skills. The course is constantly being improved upon with new amenities seeming to appear with each new visit. It's hard to have a bad day at Redoak and is a must play if you're in the south metro. Also check out the Rack Shack on Cliff road on you're way out for some tasty post-round chow.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course in the south Metro

1    9/26/2010   9/26/2010
Review By: deadbody
Played: 94  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 20 holes, 10 baskets. Dual Cement tees on every hole, all provide different lines and shots. Gorgeous course, nice foliage all over, there are uphill shots and down hill shots, tight shots and open shots. Nothing super long (nothing over about 450) but very solid course. You will use every shot in your bag at least once here.
Cons: 10 baskets. Can get tight if busy as the people playing 14 are shooting at the same basket the people playing 4 are. Not much space to expand so this is the best way to get more holes in, but if the course is really busy it could be an issue.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course in the south Metro. Far better than Shakopee Lions park. I would play this course quite a bit if it wasn't a long drive away.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 It's just like 20 holes, only with half the baskets

1    8/7/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: cydisc
Played: 169  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 18.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of elevation and trees
-Concrete tees
-Nicely maintained
-Good baskets
Cons: -No multi-shot holes
Other Thoughts: This course has 10 baskets with two tees per hole. The tees are numbered such that you would play one set the first time around and then the other set the second time for a total of 20 holes. There are a bunch of fun shots to be had on this course as you throw up, down and across the varied landscape. The course flows very well from one hole to the next as there are well-defined trails connecting them. While there is a multi-use recreation path that winds through the park, the course does a good job of avoiding it. I found it strange the decision to make it 10 holes instead of the standard 9. This might have allowed one or two par 4 holes on the course and then used the the extra one as a practice basket. That aside, it's a very enjoyable course to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.