Burnsville, MN 
Red Oak Park Share
Uploaded By: bigbeano Hole #8 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 187ft.   3 / 173ft.   3 / 187ft.   3 / 173ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Red Oakers

1    7/20/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 333  Reviewed: 331  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +At least a little elevation on every hole keeps it interesting. Hole 2 and 3 were pretty big elevation changes.
+Easy to follow layout.
+2 tees on each hole make it easy for you to play 20 slightly different holes.
+Tees are concrete and are off adequate size
+The holes are on the shorter side overall but there are some slightly longer holes especially 9 and 10.
+The course loops around to the parking lot nicely.
+The course is fairly lightly wooded as long as you stay on the fairway. If you get off the fairway it can get a bit harder. This course fairly punishes errant shots.
+This course is on the shorter side so it offers ace runs for many levels of players while still offering a bit of challenge and risk-reward play for more experienced players.
+Baskets are older but still catch just fine.
Cons: -Lots of really, really slow players. Some just sitting at tees smoking weed. It could take you a long time to get through 10 holes. It is the only course in a large suburb.
-The two sets of tees weren't that different, certainly not worth being called separate holes.
-Like many old courses, this one is suffering from erosion issues.
-Losing a disc is possible, especially on those holes that involve sumac along the fairways.
Other Thoughts: +This course is older and quite busy. Most of its issues stem from these two. It has some erosion, is quite busy, and isn't challenging compared to newer championship style course.
+This course is worth a stop. It had a high fun factor for me. I would avoid evenings and weekends, it could be really busy. This course is comparable to other nearby courses like Brockway and Alimagnet.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good variety of holes

5+    3/23/2013   3/25/2013
Review By: MNthrow
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a little of everything. Up hill, down hill, valleys, water worries, tunnle shots, left and right turns.
It is mostly a dedicated park minus a walking trail that runs through but doesn't go accross a fairway.
It has a practice basket that is right next to the parking lot with some table to let you warm up and get ready.
A couple trash cans on the course really help.
Fairways are usually well maintained as well as good baskets in place.
10 tess but can really play as a 20 with multiple tees for each basket.
Cons: The course can get a little busy in summer and packed.
A longer hole or two would be nice but being in a limited spot I know why there isn't one.
Other Thoughts: Good local course to work and picking your spot and throw.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Quality without the 'wow'

5+    8/12/2012   11/6/2012
Review By: 1_Nation_Under_Par
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Free-to-play, 10-hole course with alternate cement tees. A good course, has a little bit of everything, short/long-ish, open/wooded, flat/hilly. Great wood-chipped paths and putting areas in some cases.
Cons: It just seems very vanilla. Several holes seem to me to be nearly identical. A lot of mostly open rhbh hyzer shots.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth playing if you haven't. You walk away going "meh, it's good, just not THAT good."

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/20/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: Boogie
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: * Nice starter course with challenges for beginners.
* Signs are well placed and very helpful as well.
* Well maintained.
Cons: * Be careful if you just started playing, lots of ways to lose you disc if you don't pay attention to where it landed.
Other Thoughts: * Hole #4 is lots of fun!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beginner/Intermediate

1    7/21/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a decent sized park that has some hilly terrain and some dense woods. It seemed like it was pretty much dedicated to disc golf, can't imagine much interference here.
- Some of the toughest holes on the course have pretty clear fairways, but are bordered by extremely thick rough and have some tricky lines. #9 and #10 are both around 350', that need to start straight and finish hyzer in the woods. #7 is a blind RHBH anny shot with nasty rough on the right, staying on the fairway is crucial to avoid a bogey.
- Other holes have tighter lines in the woods, which need good accuracy to get to the basket. #1 starts it off with a couple tight lines up to the green, #6 is a little shot out of a skinny gap, and #8 is the tightest of them all with a straight shot/hyzer dead ahead.
- The rest of the holes are a little more open, but still are interesting. #2 is a blind downhill hyzer, #3 is an uphill shot with some trees to avoid, #4 is a short shot over a deep valley, and #6 has some trees by the basket. Even the blander ones have some character.
- Elevation changes are fun, and add some challenge. #1 is fairly tight, and slopes up near the green. #2 is a fun downhill, #4 is easy enough but slopes way up near the basket. That can lead to some interesting putts. Helps to mix things up.
- Nice pads, signs, and baskets. Navigation pointers help to get around, though the map can help find the different tees. Practice basket right by hole #1.
Cons: - Some of the shots are pretty wide open, like #3, #4, and #5. It's possible to lay up on some of the tougher ones as well; while you might concede the deuce, it can make for an easy par.
- A few holes are on the short side, like #2, #4, #6, and #8. Hitting the line is the only real challenge on these holes, with the longest of these eight different pads at 252'.
Other Thoughts: - All in all, a pretty fun course that offers a decent balance of tight and tricky holes, and longer holes with serious punishment for straying off the fairway. Elevation changes here and there keep things fresh, and the alternate tees help to make two rounds somewhat unique. A great course for beginners to learn the ropes, and probably still challenging to an experienced player. More advanced players will cruise through, no problem.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

1    5/23/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: Muskiebite
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: -Well kept course
-Good signage
-"Pro/Am" Tees
-Good mix of tight and open fairways
Cons: -Most holes aren't very long
-Couple areas and tees which could prove hazardous for wayward discs
Other Thoughts: This is a nice compact course. It's only ten holes but the pro/am tees are numbered so you can play 20 alternating between each holes pro and am tees.
Most the holes are pretty short, but there is a good mix where the wooded holes call for control shots and the open ones you can let loose and get some nice birdies.
There is suggested par but all the holes can be played as 3.

My hats go off to the Burnsville Disc Golf Club for keeping the course well kept. I am sure I will be playing this course alot

 4-25-12

1    4/25/2012   4/26/2012
Review By: Jedi-D85
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Baskets, tee pads, walkways, signage for next holes and hole maps. They are all very nice and make this a really nice course for a casual day at a course. It is a rookie course in my opinion. You can dig your tee shot 100 feet out and be in decent shape for the pin on a few of the holes.

There are some really nice elevation layouts and the actual hole layouts are well thought out with the limited room they had.

I like the practice basket for putting right at the parking lot before #1.
Cons: Con is the beginner status in my opinion. It is a course where it is only about shot placement around an obstacle for a 230 foot hole.

There a few where you can get a good drive in for a seasoned arm but nothing where you need a good long 400 foot drive and a strong follow up to get your par.

If you have a bad day where you just can't place your shots very well you can still run par without an issue.

Also the only trash can is in the middle of the course layout and gets over filled on a nice day fast. It cloud also use a porta-john if possible.

Also there seems to be the curse of the free course where you have to be careful when you pick up your disc as you don't cut your fingers on the glass bottles people have decided to discard and break on the fairways.

It seems as if this course was stuffed into this area beucase it wasn't good for anything else and won't attract those who are out for "pro" day.
Other Thoughts: I didn't have a huge desire to throw the full 20 as in my mind it is only a 10 hole with double tees for beginers and those who just getting a good grasp of the game.

I will bring people here to teach the basic flow of the game and how to throw as you aren't really tempted to try and over throw much on this course.

If you want more challenge head down the Kenwood in Lakeville to up the difficulty and distance.

BIG POINT: WATCH OUT FOR SOME PLAYERS. I CAUGHT UP WITH A GROUP AND PLAYED WITH THEM. BUT WE ALMOST GOT NAILED ON #9 FAIRWAY FROM A WAYWARD TEE SHOT.
I went back to play solo round and had to duck out of the way on the side of the fairway from some chuckers drive heading for my eyes. "Claiming I didn't see you there"

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/10/2011   12/15/2011
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good City Course - It has Cement Tee Pads with Good Signage....It is a relatively easy course to navigate (for a new-comer)....Provides great diversity with the given land and Hole 10 comes right back to Hole 1 (which is always an advantage...Especially considering this course is technically a 20 Hole Course with 2 seperate Tee Pads for each Basket)
Cons: A bit short and the Pars seem to be off! Hole 9/19 & 10/20 are potential Par 4's but every Hole should certainly be played as a Par 3!
Other Thoughts: Fun Course in the Heart of Minneapolis's Suburb Culture! There was 1 1/2 inches of Snow on the ground when I played here and yet there were, still, 3 other groups out playing!.....If you are traveling along I-494 or 35W in the Twin Cities area, it is worth a stop!.....This course provides distance, technicallity and some elevation that will keep you challenged......Yet is not a true 'Challenge' Course! (For example.....River or Mountain Courses)....Overall a Fun One and can relieve the stess of the City!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

2-4    9/23/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: Badgerman
Played: 204  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/25/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Best navigation of any course I've played, and second best signage (Hibbing's tee signs are better). It is absolutely impossible to not know where the pin is or where the next hole is.

2) I don't know why other reviews have said that red oak lacks variety, i thought every hole was if not unique, then at least different from what you would expect.

3) There's a cool little bench tucked into the woods by tee 3, good spot to just sit and chill for a bit.

4) 10 holes between 160' and 400' with everything you could ask for except water. Uphill, downhill, tight woods, open woods.

5) Every single hole has some sort of elevation change, yet you don't feel like you're walking up and down a hill over and over.

6) Well Maintained. I think this speaks for itself.
Cons: 1) Some of the "Back 10" only differ from the "front 10" by a couple of feet to the back or side. This is the reason i will not call this a 20 hole course.

2) This isn't a deal-breaker for me, but there aren't really any big arm shots here.
Other Thoughts: I can't believe this was my first time at this wonderful course, i will be back several times a week from now on, what a fun course!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful course!

5+    8/26/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Practice basket to work on your putting before you start
-Baskets are nicely labelled
-Nice woodchipped trails between holes
-Very easy to navigate
-Nicely broken in
-Course map at the beginning of the course that outlays each hole along with distances
Cons: -Sign from hole 6 tee area is missing
-Only 10 "true" holes, although there are alternate tees from each making it 20
-No on-site bathrooms
Other Thoughts: I really had to reach for some things to mention as "cons" of this course. This is a wonderfully maintained course and is one of the best (if not the best) maintained free course I've seen. Some of the alternate tees are just a little farther back, but some are going at the basket from a totally different direction. The pathways between the holes are woodchipped, and along with the signs directing you where to go makes it more or less impossible to lose your direction. The course has some holes that are very tight and require you to be quite accurate with your shot. There is definitely potential to lose a disc at this course on numerous holes if one of your shots goes awry. The course isn't terribly long, but you must be accurate in order to get a good score here. The course is probably best played as an all par 3 course, despite the fact that there are four holes labelled as par 4 on the signs. All in all this is a great course and I would highly recommend giving it a try. I know I'll be back for sure.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.