Plantation, FL 
Plantation Heritage Park Share
Uploaded By: UCF_Knight   (Taken 5/2013)



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    5/10/2014   5/12/2014
Review By: KRATC
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Teepads- these seemed brand new and were very nice. They were flat and grippy.

Well maintained- I saw no signs of trash/vandalism and there were no fallen tree limbs. All in all, it was pretty.

Baskets- Nice, well taken care of, Discraft baskets that seem to be well respected.
Cons: Safety- From the first hole to the fourteenth hole, I was always in jeopardy of hitting someone or someone's car. On every hole. I understand this is a park course, and I am used to that, but this course was almost unplayable. It was to the point of not playing a good shot, or endangering someone to throw the obvious intended line.

Variety- As far as I could tell (as per the provided map), everything was a par three and relatively short. This does not immediately deserve a spot on the con list, but when almost every throw is a slight hyzer (rhbh), with only one or two anny /sidearm throws, this course gets very repetitive.

Blue tees- I saw some here and there, most were kinda hard to see. I like playing the hardest layouts, just because, but if I cannot find it then I will just play from the nice teepads.

Staff- Some of the park staff saw me trying to grab a disc from the water's edge ( I had thrown in warming up in the least crowded place I could find) and chastised me. They told me someone would find it later (I was just in town for a day, so that is just a donation disc now). I do not mind loosing plastic, I just wish I had known that I was not supposed to fish out my disc from the water.
Other Thoughts: Pay to play- This park has an entry fee, which I assume goes towards the great maintenance. I am down with that.

I do not dislike the course itself, but the safety concerns me. I did not feel like I could enjoy any hole, except maybe 3 or 6, simply because I was too worried about cars or people. The maintennance and teepads were great, but the lack of variety kinda killed it. There can be some neat safari golf, but as the holes exist, it offers nothing special. It is a decent course, but nothing I would drive out of my way to go play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf in the Heart of Suburbia

1    12/27/2013   1/27/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 167  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/8/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course in a quiet, suburban park that's biggest attractions are the walking/fitness trail, picnic areas, and the nice size pond (which allows fishing from the shore). No soccer or ball fields with tons of munchkin leagues buzzing around makes for a very quiet and peaceful round. Most other park patrons will be walking, jogging, biking, or picnicking.

• Variety: Reasonably good overall. Much of the course wraps clockwise around a lake, but you don't necessarily need to throw a bunch of right turning tee shots. Starts with several semi-open holes which make you work around a few obstacles (well-located trees, water, and an OB walking path) without necessarily forcing any particular line, but still requiring a decent control. Back end features significantly more vegetation, calling for somewhat tighter lines while still affording enough room to work different routes. Only #14 (a 330' tunnel flanked by trees and brush) really gives you one way to go. A few nicely guarded and well-tucked pin placements call for finessed approaches. Park is quite flat, but holes, 1, 10, and a few others that wrap around the lake make good use of what little elevation is available, with the potential for shots to roll away into the lake. Holes 4 & 5 bring water directly into play, while it looms behind the basket on 11 & 12. Contains a respectable range of distances from the shorts (219 to 420), which is only is enhanced by the presence of long tees. Execute well off the tee and par should be simple (and you'll probably set up several good birdie opportunities). Shank one off the tee and you'll need a good upshot to save par.
• Water carries: holes 4 and 5 let you to dial in as much risk as you want by carrying the water all the way to the green while allowing you to bail out as early as you like, depending on your personal comfort level… very nicely done.
• Aesthetics: Very pleasant setting for a round. Although it only comes into play on 3 or 4 holes, the pond is clearly in view on about 11 of them. The rest of the course takes you through a lightly to moderately wooded section of the park featuring a wide variety of different trees, several of which bear tropical fruits (the picking of which is prohibited).
• Equipment: Red or Blue stones designate the dual tees on most holes. Rotating A & B pin positions offer additional variety (for locals). Regardless of A or B placement, Chainstars are pretty easy to spot from most tees, but a brief walk may be necessary target some pins. Tee signs are pretty easy to spot, showing hole layout, distance, OB, etc.
• Routing/Navigation: Course flows fairly well from basket to next tee. Tee signs are an effective navigational aid, but a couple of walks are quite a bit longer than the others, which might cause some hiccups (from 9 to 10, and from 13 to 14). First timers that print the map should have no real problems playing the reds.
• Course layout offers easy access to start at several different holes, or play abbreviated 7 or 11 hole rounds.
Cons:
• Safety: In my opinion, there's no bigger con than potential safety issues. I've played several courses where walking paths weave through sections of the course, but only played a few where you might have to wait for people to pass on so many holes (or for so long). Some fairways are positioned where you're kinda throwing parrallel to the path, rather than across it), so you may have to wait longer than you'd like for them to clear. Doesn't sound too bad, but this paved path around the lake draws several forms of non DG traffic. This is only compounded by the fact that all that traffic is largely unaware or unconcerned they may be in your way - and quite honestly, if they're on the path, they shouldn't have to be. One nice thing about taking a walk or run through the park is the idea that you can empty your mind while you're in your own little world.

While this may only be a factor on about half the holes, they happen to be the holes where wind is most likely to come into play, which only enhances the chance of something going not as planned.
• Natural tees are already worn - nothing more than depressions of dirt. OK when I played, but will become nasty in short order if they don't pour concrete.
• Only the reds tees have signs at this time, making them easy to spot, but the blues can be very tough to find and aren't marked on the map.
• Course is nice, but there isn't much shade - plan accordingly for the south Florida sun.
• I wouldn't say it's a bad neighborhood, but I recommend stowing anything of value out of sight, and locking your car.
Other Thoughts: Nice addition to the local scene, and thumbs-up for making good use of existing elements: trees, pond, elevation, hardwood hammock, OB path… to create some interesting holes and reasonable challenge.

This park sees a wide range of traffic, from joggers, skaters and elderly walkers to toddlers on training wheels and babies in strollers… you simply need to wait a while for them to pass on some holes - kinda kills your rhythm. Plus, even once you deem them out of range, they're often still in your line of sight… yes, I should learn to focus, but I guess I'm easily distracted. IMHO, the ever-present walking path, worn dirt tees, and difficulty finding all the blue tees (plus the fact that the blue distances aren't even listed on the course map) tangibly detract from a course that's pretty interesting and scores well in terms of being both fun to play and reasonably challenging. This keeps me from rating a course that's otherwise very good as highly as it would be based on the disc golf alone. Nonetheless, I think Plantation Heritage offers the best disc play in Broward County. I enjoyed playing here and you will too, provided you have some patience.

As a region, So Fla doesn't offer anything I'd consider destination disc golf for road trippers. However, there's a decent chance you may be visiting family down here, in which case Plantation Heritage could be conveniently located for a round while the kids are visiting grandma or the wife goes shopping in Broward Mall (2-3 miles away). Minutes from every conceivable type of food joint you can think of.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

I think you will find something to like

1    1/3/2014   1/4/2014
Review By: zubeala
Played: 51  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent support facilities such as water and bathrooms. Pretty good blend of open and wooded holes. Water in play :). I played on a beautiful Thursday, and was there were only 2-3 other players.
Cons: No tee pads ( I hear they are coming). Blue tee markings are very hard to locate. Water in play :( .
Did run into some people fishing that I had to anhizer around, but no big deal. Personally I hate dealing with avoiding fences, and that does come into play on 3-6-7.
Other Thoughts: If you are not local a map is a must. I thought hole 10 was my favorite. Up hill into a circle of trees. On hole 13 the basket is well hidden in some bamboo. Basket 15 took me a while to find even with the map. Hidden behind a cluster of trees. It's a good hole once you locate the basket. This is the best course I have played in south Florida.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Peter's home course

5+    10/22/2013   10/23/2013
Review By: Peter S
Played: 79  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of challenge. Plays around lake and into back of park. Mostly open shots with large trees and lake to shape a variety of shots over, around or under. 3 rest rooms along course route, new concrete tees on 1 - 13 and rubber tees on 14 - 18 white. Signs by white tees with distance, par & next tee direction. Discraft Chainstar baskets were purchased new for this course and are still like new. Nice practice basket area. Several memorable holes such as 1 that is on a mound circled by palm trees, 4 & 5 over or alongside the water, 10 on a large sloping mound.
Elevation: There are a few pins on mounds which adds more to aesthetics than the challenge as there is no real fear of a long roll away due to the thick Florida grass.
Cons: Shared use park with lots of sidewalks that play as out of bounds with people walking through almost entire course route. Other holes too near picnic shelters. red & blue tees are hard to find as just color bricks in the grass. 18 rubber tee is already damaged.
Other Thoughts: course has a&b pins, red, white and blue tees. Best played on weekdays or early weekends before park gets busy. Disc eating bushes on 16 have been removed. A new tree or two where the bushes were would be nice to preserve the challenge of 16. $1.50 per person on weekends/holidays.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    8/16/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: DirtyA13
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very Nice Park
Not many people at all during week
Holes are changed every so often
Nice Challenging Holes
Always meeting Great People on this Course
Cons: Busy on Weekends but that is expected
dead grass/weeds get in my shoes and itch like heck on certain holes
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the Food Truck Days..sometimes you cant play through, Remember to throw away your trash!!
Ive played this course over 30+ times already and really don't get sick of it b/c of challenge..you must be prepared for this course with water/food it takes over 2 HOURS to Play and South FL sun will kill you if you're not from the area

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Welcome Change

1    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: Larceny_Lars
Played: 51  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.3 Years
Pros: -A nice mix of open and protected holes.
-Very pleasant and scenic walk around the lake
-New baskets with sold anchorage. The baskets aren't just put in to a hole with a cement base.
-Well marked Tee locations
Cons: -Although well marked, the tees are all natural as of right now
-No signs at the tees
-Hole placement is a little off on a few holes.
-Hole 8 stays 362, but the Tee has been pushed back a long ways so it feels like it's pushing the high 500's to 600' mark. Even though it's an open hole, Novice players may feel comfortable upping the par to 4.
-Would like to see more trashcans.
Other Thoughts: Great all around course for all levels. Enough room that if you're skittish about playing over water, you can play safe to one side and then come at the basket from a safe angle.

loving this lay out !

5+    5/19/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: discjocky
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2014
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: the fountain the baskets the mixture of holes and the park itself ! I have a great round every time i or any of my friends play ,
Cons: the walk between 9 and 10 .
Other Thoughts: looks like this park was designed ahead of time for a course perfect setup !!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

course just opened

1    5/11/2013   5/13/2013
Review By: joesouthfla
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Brand new Chainstar baskets
- A nice mixture of water, open and woods
- Very scenic
- Plenty of restrooms, parking, and vending machines
- Great course for all levels
- There are now three tee placements (pro,AM,junior).
Cons: - Currently only natural tee pads
- no tee signs (map is available in the park office)
Other Thoughts: The course will eventually have concrete tee pads, tee signs. At that point the course will have earned a solid 4. WARNING! Even though the park is very safe and patrolled regularly by police there has been a rash of car break-ins. Do not leave valuables in your car. Place all items in your trunk. Consider parking at the main office if you are traveling and cannot leave your items back in your hotel room.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.