Sellersville, PA 
Sellersville DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #11 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Approach



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Quality

2-4    10/10/2014   10/11/2014
Review By: Afropirg
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - you putting game has to be on or you pay.
- Good variety of shots
- Great for new players but still challenging for experienced players
- Water comes into play often
- Well maintained course.
- Great community of Disc Golfers
Cons: - Not all the holes have a map of the hole at the tee.
- Could be hard to navigate for someone who's never played the course before.
- If you don't like to drive over water you might not like the course.
Other Thoughts: Played two rounds back to back. I live close to Sellersville but have never played, don't know why I overlooked this course.

Your putting has to be on. SDGC will punish you if you're not accurate with your putter. Many of the baskets are very close to OB water.

I know the SDGC has been working at adding permanent tee boxes which is great. Think about half the tee boxes have tee signs which can be an issue on the holes that don't.

The course is spread out. From the basket on 7 to the tee box on 8 you have to cross a street, open field and another street. There is a sign explaing where to go.

For a par 3 course its very well done. I would say this is a bit harder than Boyertown's course causee of the OB water.

The course does have some very long holes pushing 400'. So you can air it out a bit.

While playing I meet a couple of guys from the club. Very friendly. Looking forward to getting out there again and maybe getting in on there tag rounds.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    7/8/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 146  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 14.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is just flat out fun. End of story. This course is very short compared to the other courses in the area but don't let that take anything away from the course. On a scale of 1 to 10 this course rates as a 10 on the fun factor.

I love courses that have interesting greens and Sellersville had some of the most interesting and memorable greens that I have ever played. Don't take this next point the wrong way: this course doesn't have super fairways or memorable holes as you are standing from the tee. What this course has are memorable greens that make an average hole truly above average. The pins on this course are literally tucked right next to water hazards. If your shot is even off five feet on some holes you will be in the water. While this may be frustrating for some it is unique and memorable to me. This course takes what you "think" a disc golf green should be and turns it upside down.

For me to give high ratings to a course I love water hazards. Without water hazards this course would be a solid 3 but the water hazards truly add a full point of value to the course. Not only are the greens interesting but they are challenging and extremely memorable.

The attention to detail on this course is truly out of this world. Some of the teeboxes look like they would have cost hundreds and hundreds of dollars. Also, there are nets and fences strategically placed to protect players on different holes from getting hit on another hole.

This course truly makes you think hard about your shot in every possible way before committing to your line. This course is full of risk/reward shots. There were a few times when I had a 35 foot putt and had to decide whether or not to lay up or go for it. A few times I got burned and went in the water just past the pin and a few times I made the putt. This is not frustrating disc golf - this is disc golf at its best. If you have decide whether to lay up a shot that short that is a good hole and the designer has done a good job.

This course is also a quick play and is truly a refreshing course to play. Putting all of these things together makes this a 4.0 course.
Cons: Every course has flaws and Sellersville has a couple. I consider navigation and flow of the course one of the most important things. The course is essentially split into two areas of the park so I would highly recommend a map. I was fortunate to play this course with course designer and Allentown area disc golf legend Optidisc (Jerome) so we had no issues. But the walk after hole 7 and the walk back after hole 16 were very long and could be very confusing. As I said, bring a map or just remember that after hole 7 you will need to walk across the road and then another 500 feet to get to the next hole. The walk is definitely worth it but be prepared!

As stated above, this course is very short. The variety on the distances is not great but the course was not intended as such. This is not a huge con for me but its worth pointing out that this is, for the most part, a par 3 course.

It would have been nice to include distances on the signs. I found myself asking for distances often as I don't think those were included on all of the signs. Most of the holes were shorter so this wasn't a huge deal but its at least worth nothing.

NOTE: This course is challenging to find. If you type the course into your GPS, it may not seem right but it does take you right to hole 1! You actually have to go down an alley to get to the course so if it feels wrong its probably right. I only put this in the cons because it may be helpful to have a sign right at the start of this alley road to direct disc golfers to the course.
Other Thoughts: I played this course in the middle of an 8 day, 16 course road trip. We played Brent Hambrick, Iron Hill, Maple Hill, Nockamixon, Wickham, Warwick, Black Falls, Brewster's Ridge and a few more in between. I can honestly say that my buddy and I had the most fun on this course compared to any of the other courses. While this course certainly isn't a championship level course, it is a 10 on the fun factor scale. While Jordan, Tyler, and Nocky get all of the local love in Allentown, this course HAS to be played if you are going to be in the area because it truly is a ton of fun. I did not play well in my round there and went OB seven times but I still had a ton of fun.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Upon Further Review

2-4    1/1/2014   11/11/2013
Review By: Bleeder973
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2014
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Vast array of challenges and diversified baskets. Tee boxes are looking great! 19th Basket adds a nice touch to the personality of the course. Obvious signs that the course is always improving. Love how the water 18 plays into the mix. The rewards of a solid drive are awesome on many holes where the fairways are tight.
Cons: Keeping players who've never played the course before in mind, navigation can be a bit tough.
Other Thoughts: Admittedly, my rush to review this course earlier was premature and completely unfair. The group who maintains the course and play here are a great group. I can definitely appreciate the course in its current form more now after playing a few other courses.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Small Course in a Nice Town

5+    9/19/2013   9/19/2013
Review By: patlgn
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2014
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes for a par 3 course- requiring many different types of shots. There are a handful of grip-and-rip holes, as well as several where the utmost accuracy is needed. Most holes have alternate basket and teepads, so the course can change from day to day. The wooded stretch in the back provided some challenging fairways and elevation changes. The course is also lovely and usually well-maintained by the park and a group of local volunteers. I've lost count of how many times I've seen deer and other wildlife here, and the view on hole 12 looks like it should be on a calendar.

Also, pretty solid rubber mat teepads on most holes, but newer pavement tees are being put in on a lot of the holes.
Cons: The course is only par 3's. For a newcomer getting from hole 7 to 8 could be confusing.
Other Thoughts: Water is a factor for the majority of the holes. Make of that what you will.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A very good Short Course

1    7/6/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16
This review was updated on 7/25/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple tees and excellent baskets
-Good signage and directions around the course
-Set in a beautiful park
-Really unique holes and great variety of shots
-Great use of the creeks requiring thoughtful, strategic golf
Cons: -The inconsistent size and materials of the tees led to some awkward run ups
-The club used the land available to them, but the fact that holes 8-15 are accessed by crossing two roads and 16's fairway is still a con
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course and found it a challenging, unique brand of golf. The close proximity of so many baskets to creeks puts a premium on smart golf and precise execution. Considering the land they had to work with i think the designer did a great job designing a course to fit the space available. The course is full of mature trees and well kept grassy areas making for a pleasant walk. The club seems really active on this course and i'm sure it will only improve.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Fun Course

2-4    6/28/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: DAMAGER
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun easy course to play, Par 3's. Lots of open grass holes to let lose on. Fun over and near water holes.
Cons: Can get muddy. Easy to go OB with water close to most pins.
Other Thoughts: Hard to find the driveway in to the parking lot. Long walk to back 9 over 2 streets.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

They Nailed it!

1    5/22/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Full 18 hole course set in multi-use park in small town. Every tee had good, flat tee pads with rubber mats. Baskets were also all in excellent shape.

Park and course were well groomed. Grass was short and undergrowth was minimal. Everything is well tended and cared for. Nice job by the park department or local volunteers.

Good variety of shots. There are some straight tunnels, lefts, rights, ace runs, and even a couple long holes. Nothing is boring or repetitive. Course plays mostly as a wooded technical course with a couple chances in the open.

Course design does a great job of keeping discs and golfers from interacting with other park users. Holes near the walking path are facing away from it, and I didn't ever think there was a spot where I would have to wait for another person to make a safe shot. Well done.

The creek(s) is used throughout the course to add some risk to holes that are all fairly short. Many times the baskets are close enough to the creek to make you think about how to make your shot. It is not a disc eater, but will add to your score if your can't hit your spots. It makes a few simple ace runs or simple birdies a little more interesting.

There is a couple baskets on hillsides and small hills to keep things mixed up. Good variety all the way around.
Cons: Most of the holes are short Par 3s. Only 2 or 3 holes where you really need any type of driver.

Signs were either non existent or very rudimentary. And upgrade would be cool.

Navigation is a little tricky. Especially the walk from 7 to 8. Bring a map if you can.
Other Thoughts: This course really impressed me. No, it is not Tyler or Nockamixon. But it does a great job of fitting a fun course in a park with other activities. It keeps everything safe, and there is enough variety here to keep things fun. The navigation is a little tricky, but that is a small price to pay for better shots, and no conflicts.

Holes 3 and 4 are the big open holes that let you breathe a little. 3 is about 500' and 4 around 400' Plenty of room to throw something however you'd like too.

Hole 12 is a great looking hole with the creek as a fairway and the basket on one side with a stone bridge tunnel behind it.

17 is a tunnel with the basket perched across the creek. But this time there is an OB line right in front of the basket too. Depending on your ability it makes you think twice when trying to park a shot near the basket.

18 is another cool hole that only plays 220', but crosses the creek twice and has enough trees to keep the shot interesting. It's really a very nice hole.

Thanks to Optidisc for recommending this course. I'll be sure to stop here again when I am in the area. It probably won't be the best course you've ever played, but it does a really good job at being what it is. Just a fun course in a clean, well kept park.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Sellersville

1    5/25/2013   5/25/2013
Review By: adlacro
Played: 69  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with easy to see DIScatcher baskets in all like new condition. Tees are either flypads or bricks laid out with okay run-up room. Very nice mix of righty/lefty holes with lots of challengin putts. Several elevated baskets come into play as well as water on many holes, usually around the greens, making the challenge that much better. There are also other layouts available and some alt. tee placements. Well designed. Well maintained. Not far from other great area courses and amenities. Course plays out of way of most other park attractions. Definitely fun. 18th hole one of the best I've ever played, with the triple OB.
Cons: Part of the course is on a flood plain, so take care if the rains have been heavy recently. There isn't too much in the way of elevation, but whatever is there is used quite well. Quite challenign to perhaps overwhelming for less experienced players, keep that in mind.
Other Thoughts: As mentioned, the eighteenth alone is a standout. It's only 220 ft., but the water snakes around the hole so that the landing area isn't very big, so close rounds b/w you and others stay interesting. The fun factor here is definitely high and I hear plans are in place to make this even better. Course designer Jerome and others have done a very good job with the land available to them while staying out of the other park areas. The path only comes into play on maybe two holes, so well done to all. Totally worth the trip if you are in the Quakertown, PA area already at Nockamixon.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Elevated Water

1    4/27/2013   5/6/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Well designed:
* Despite playing near two paths in a park popular with walkers, the tees-fairways-baskets are placed such as to minimize negative interactions.
* Makes good (frequent) use of the shallow, not overly broad stream, i.e. only a few places where your feet may get wet, minimal chance for disc loss.

Practice basket. Practice area, i.e. room to work on approaches and drives, too.
Cons:
Prone to dampness. Varies from quite flat to mostly flat, but does utilize what little elevation is available.

A bit of a dead-time walk from 7 to 8 - at least connecting hole 16 exists for the walk from 15 to 17.
Other Thoughts:
Course is located in a popular public park, playing near a small stream, across open spaces, within tiny patches of woods, and around scattered hardwoods.

Parking, via an alley, can be found near tee-1, or a larger lot next to Walnut Street, walking across the road, then open space, then road, to start at tee-8. Between the online map and the many directional arrows, navigation was quite simple. W/o the map, just realize that holes 1&2 are on the other side of the small parking lot from tee-3.

While there a couple of holes where you can launch your favourite distance driver, the course is on the shorter side, averaging about 290', with half the holes under 250'. With over 2/3rds of the holes having their baskets near the water, and some of the baskets raised, a very accurate approach/midrange game will be needed.

Holes range from wide open to fairly tight, and everything between, but nothing unfair, and mis-throws will typically be easy to recover from. A fairly even blend of lefts/rights/straights are needed off the tee, only a few being sharp.

Tees areas range from fully-outfitted (i.e. hard pad, bench, sign, baghooks, trashcans) to minimal (the tee location, nothing else).

Favourite Hole: #12. The ~200' fairway is a small stream, needing a touch of turn or fade at the end, depending upon basket position. Too long, and you enter the tunnel from which the water flows!

Good course, making the most of the available natural resources, definitely worth a visit if nearby. Avoid being too left/right/long, or be wet!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nice course!

1    4/30/2013   4/30/2013
Review By: Dupree721
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course is a great place for disc golfers new and experienced.
- The course offers a great mix of shots from left to right, straight and right to left.
- The course offers heavily wooded shots, water hazards (had to fish out two discs during my round) and wide open fairways where you can really rip your discs.
- Elevated baskets really add to the variety this course offers you.
- This course is maintained very well and you can tell from the teepads, trash cans and fairways. It was a nice treat playing in such a clean park.
Cons: - I had difficulty finding the first tee, perhaps I just parked in the wrong lot though. However, once I found hole 3 and 18, I knew I was close.
Other Thoughts: This course just adds to the fun that is located within Bucks and Montgomery County. You can start the day here and head to Tyler or Nockamixon to round out the day.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.