Sellersville, PA 
Sellersville DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #4 (Taken 8/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   3 / 380ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A very good Short Course

1    7/6/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 39  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 7/25/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple tees and excellent baskets
-Good signage and directions around the course
-Set in a beautiful park
-Really unique holes and great variety of shots
-Great use of the creeks requiring thoughtful, strategic golf
Cons: -The inconsistent size and materials of the tees led to some awkward run ups
-The club used the land available to them, but the fact that holes 8-15 are accessed by crossing two roads and 16's fairway is still a con
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course and found it a challenging, unique brand of golf. The close proximity of so many baskets to creeks puts a premium on smart golf and precise execution. Considering the land they had to work with i think the designer did a great job designing a course to fit the space available. The course is full of mature trees and well kept grassy areas making for a pleasant walk. The club seems really active on this course and i'm sure it will only improve.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Fun Course

2-4    6/28/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: DAMAGER
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun easy course to play, Par 3's. Lots of open grass holes to let lose on. Fun over and near water holes.
Cons: Can get muddy. Easy to go OB with water close to most pins.
Other Thoughts: Hard to find the driveway in to the parking lot. Long walk to back 9 over 2 streets.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

They Nailed it!

1    5/22/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Full 18 hole course set in multi-use park in small town. Every tee had good, flat tee pads with rubber mats. Baskets were also all in excellent shape.

Park and course were well groomed. Grass was short and undergrowth was minimal. Everything is well tended and cared for. Nice job by the park department or local volunteers.

Good variety of shots. There are some straight tunnels, lefts, rights, ace runs, and even a couple long holes. Nothing is boring or repetitive. Course plays mostly as a wooded technical course with a couple chances in the open.

Course design does a great job of keeping discs and golfers from interacting with other park users. Holes near the walking path are facing away from it, and I didn't ever think there was a spot where I would have to wait for another person to make a safe shot. Well done.

The creek(s) is used throughout the course to add some risk to holes that are all fairly short. Many times the baskets are close enough to the creek to make you think about how to make your shot. It is not a disc eater, but will add to your score if your can't hit your spots. It makes a few simple ace runs or simple birdies a little more interesting.

There is a couple baskets on hillsides and small hills to keep things mixed up. Good variety all the way around.
Cons: Most of the holes are short Par 3s. Only 2 or 3 holes where you really need any type of driver.

Signs were either non existent or very rudimentary. And upgrade would be cool.

Navigation is a little tricky. Especially the walk from 7 to 8. Bring a map if you can.
Other Thoughts: This course really impressed me. No, it is not Tyler or Nockamixon. But it does a great job of fitting a fun course in a park with other activities. It keeps everything safe, and there is enough variety here to keep things fun. The navigation is a little tricky, but that is a small price to pay for better shots, and no conflicts.

Holes 3 and 4 are the big open holes that let you breathe a little. 3 is about 500' and 4 around 400' Plenty of room to throw something however you'd like too.

Hole 12 is a great looking hole with the creek as a fairway and the basket on one side with a stone bridge tunnel behind it.

17 is a tunnel with the basket perched across the creek. But this time there is an OB line right in front of the basket too. Depending on your ability it makes you think twice when trying to park a shot near the basket.

18 is another cool hole that only plays 220', but crosses the creek twice and has enough trees to keep the shot interesting. It's really a very nice hole.

Thanks to Optidisc for recommending this course. I'll be sure to stop here again when I am in the area. It probably won't be the best course you've ever played, but it does a really good job at being what it is. Just a fun course in a clean, well kept park.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Underrated Gem

5+    2/18/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: Shamis
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is really well done. There is a great mix of open holes, wooded holes, and water shots. They also spice things up with a lot of raised baskets that make for interesting putting.

I love the 18th hole. A true island green. You have to really commit on this hole.
Cons: The long walk in the middle is annoying. And it is often very muddy.
Other Thoughts: For a great day of disc golf hit nockamixon first, and then this course. They are only about 20 minutes part.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Way to go Optidiscic

1    10/13/2012   12/10/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 271  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 13.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- I Got to Play with Opti. Optidiscic hit me up because he knew I was coming through his region and told me they were having their weekly singles event on Saturday at 10:00 AM. We played on the same card and had a great round. Not only was it cool to play with him because he is one of the more recognizable names on DGCR, but it was cool to play with him because he designed the course… and was cool as hell too.
- Use of the Creek. Due to a decent sized, shallow, creek that flowed through the park, Sellersville had some amazing pin positions. I could easily state that more than half the holes had water within 30' of the basket. The use of the creek turns what would be a rather ordinary park course into something much greater and much more fun to play.
- The Extras. Opti and his crew have really done a great job with the added amenities. There are great next tee arrows and a few directional signs that explain two rather long transitions that happen in the course. They have also installed an island green and a few raised baskets.
- Holes 17 and 18… super fun finishing holes. Both had amazing pin positions with exceptional use of the creek. Hole 17 was 280' with the basket on the other side of the creek, which really makes you think strategically about your drive, approach shot and putt. Hole 18 was a short putter Hole that had an island green created by an ox-bow in the creek. You either park it… or, proceed to the drop zone.
Cons:
- Two Awkward Long Walks. There are two really long walks on the course that need to be navigated. You literally have to leave one part of the park, cross the street and walk through another section of the park, and cross another street to get back onto the course. However, there would have been no other way to have an 18 hole course; and, as mentioned above, they have great signage explaining what to do.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. I played Sellersville on my last day of a 10-day, 16-course roadtrip that included some of the best courses in the upper North East, including: Iron Hill, Maple Hill, Warwick, Joralemon and Tyler… and, while Sellersville isn't on the level of those courses in terms of "Championship greatness", it is FUN as HELL. I had a great time playing with Optidiscic and his boys. The use of the creek on 90% of the courses' holes was fabulous. The amenities -- in terms of next tee-signs/arrows, tee-pads, and extras around the pin positions (raised basket, brick lined OB, etc…) -- were done with care. Etc… Optidiscic has really created a super fun city park course that is appropriate to a wide variety of golfers, beginners to pros alike.
- My Score: -4 (with a few bogeys and a 4 putt on the first hole - Yikes!)

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

two 9 holers squeezed together

1    12/7/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: So much more character has been added since making the move to 18 holes. Several scenic holes have been added.
Hole 12 throws at a tunnel under a bridge with a creek separating the 2 possible pin locations. In the right lighting it is nearly calendar worthy.
After hole 7 there is a sign with written directions and a visual map to get to hole 8. If that is not enough there are numerous bright yellow arrows to guide you the entire wat to hole 8.
13 throws up rolling hills and will soon have an interesting second pin position.
Hole 16 has a small "waterfall" next to the basket. Hole 18 is old hole 9 where you throw over the S shaped creek.
Course is constantly changing. Jerome is always on the course looking for ways to tweek the course.
Lots of water provides numerous risk vs. rewards.
10M marks have been put in most holes so you know where the putting circle is.
Many of the holes had 2 pin positions and 3 tee areas.
Interesting practice hole
Porto-potty on site, several trash cans that are frequently emptied, and there was a map at hole 1.
After playing so many courses in sketchy areas it was very nice to play in a small town course that I am 90% sure is protected by Sheriff Andy Taylor and Barney Fife.
Cons: If you can not find the basket, look next to the water. a majority of baskets are right on the edge of water which can be seen as gimmicky.
Navigation is quirky. You play the first 4 holes then walk back past 1 to play 5-7. then you have the long walk across the street to the new holes. You play 7-16 and have another walk to get to 17 and 18.
If you are looking for championship caliber golf, go back to Nocky. This course is more family friendly and less stressful.
One of the holes had black netting that was impossible to see. The first set of netting was clearly for safety, but I was not a fan of the netting near the basket that offered a blind surprise obstacle.
Due to vandalism, signage is minimal, but adequate. You are not going to see perfect tee signs here, it is simply not a priority for the designer.
Other Thoughts: NO ALCOHOL! This course is a dry park. Nearly all of the neighbors are on board, but if their properties become littered with beer cans, or they are bothered by loud vulgar players, they can shut down the course.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good use of busy park

1    9/14/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 40  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.3 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I thought was cool with Sellersville was that it is segmented into a sort of "outside 9" and an "inside 9"--holes 1-7, 17, and 18 (outside) are in the main section of the park, while holes 8-16 (inside) are in a more remote satellite portion of the park that requires a quarter mile hike to and from this Middle 9. Though I suspect it has to do with added holes and park layout, I would like to add originality points toward my rating anyway, because that is a unique touch that discards the traditional front 9/back 9 concept as yesterday's fad. The method of naming outside and inside was based on the idea of looking at a linear score card (the beginning and end holes are on the outside of the line, middle holes on the inside) Besides the layout, there are quite a few positives about Sellersville. For one, it is a par 3 course with moderate hole length, meaning pars aren't too difficult but birdies are harder to come by. This climate of difficulty gives novice, rec, intermediate, and advanced players a challenge since their goals are different....more inexperienced players strive for par, while more skilled players strive for birdies. Pro's however will find this course a little too easy I imagine (coming from a borderline Intermediate/Advanced player who shot a 55 first time here), and would probably shoot in the mid 40's. Many holes, especially on the Outside 9 in main section of the park have signs, but I recall some of the Inside 9 holes lacking them. The tee boxes were decent for all holes when I played. This is mostly an open course dotted with obstacles. There are plenty of trees but I wouldn't call more than a few of the holes "wooded." While there are some elevation changes in the Inside 9 satellite part of the park, this is mostly a flat course, but the hole design makes good use of what's available. I liked the wealth of water around the course (a creek that plays into about half of the holes on the course in some form or fashion and a pond on hole 15). The Outside 9 in main section of the park mostly require straight accurate shots. There isn't much in the realm of bootlegs, but some baskets are tucked away to add difficulty. On the Inside 9 in other portion of park, this is the exact opposite--elevation, bootlegs, creative lines calling for hyzers and annies alike. Something else cool--not only is there a practice basket but a tee box, too, that creates a short little ace run practice hole! Nifty...
Cons: There was a little bit of confusion finding the tee for hole #4. In my opinion, the wooden arrow saying next tee was misleading and pointing somewhere the tee was not. An epic pause in play walking between hole 7 and 8 and hole 16 and 17...from what I understand this course used to be only 9 holes, so I'm guessing that if we wanted 18, they needed to jump into that farther away section of the park. The grass on holes 13 and 14 was unacceptably high. I nailed a 375-400 footer dead center of fairway on 13 that took us 10 minutes to find even with a good reference mark. Some of the holes are pretty close together and could potentially be a safety hazard. There's a lot of kids, dog walkers, and other non-DGers all over this very public park. I had someone pick up my drive to return to me, which always sucks, considering it is an act of kindness, but that gets aggravating in either case. I also got a mean look for throwing a bomb that sailed a little far right on hole 3 but still didn't come anywhere close to hitting the pedestrians (it's like they had no idea it was a course also and were 'annoyed' that I 'chose' that particular place to throw my weird frisbee). This course is right in a populated suburban town in a well-known to locals public park, so while it is a really nice course, you have to be patient and accepting of others, as regular park guests will outnumber DGers. Additional thought: the entrance as mentioned in the description is in fact very much so disguised as a driveway and you will probably pass it as you recognize while driving by that you should've turned there, but no worries, a u-turn fixes that!
Other Thoughts: Hole 12 was really cool. You shoot along side but over a creek toward a tunnel that passes under a road, with the basket on the opposite side of the creek at the tunnel entrance. Sellersville makes a great warm up round before hitting Nocky, only 9 miles away, on a double round day. Kudos to the design--a successful use of a course in a busy park.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Sellersville DGC

2-4    7/15/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: shawny0123
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great use of the tight terrain
- Good mix of short and long fairways
- Good course to play when you don't feel like playing a physically demanding course
Cons: - A few ankle breaking holes in some of the fairways (hole 6 to be exact)
- RHBH biased
- Built in the middle of a heavily used park, hole 18 imparticular can have people in the way
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time as an 18 hole course this weekend and was very happy with the new holes and how the course plays now as a whole. As mentioned above they did a great job using the tight space they had to put in a large variety of fun holes to play. The use of water on many of the new holes is a great way to add challenge and hole 12 with the water tunnel as a back drop is just gorgeous. My only real complaint is the course is very RHBH biased when it comes to pin placement. I honestly think over half the holes have the pin off to the left. It's really my only complaint but not a big enough deal I don't plan to play this on the regular now that it is a full 18.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.