Sellersville, PA 
Sellersville DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12   (Taken 8/2012)



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    7/8/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 140  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 14.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is just flat out fun. End of story. This course is very short compared to the other courses in the area but don't let that take anything away from the course. On a scale of 1 to 10 this course rates as a 10 on the fun factor.

I love courses that have interesting greens and Sellersville had some of the most interesting and memorable greens that I have ever played. Don't take this next point the wrong way: this course doesn't have super fairways or memorable holes as you are standing from the tee. What this course has are memorable greens that make an average hole truly above average. The pins on this course are literally tucked right next to water hazards. If your shot is even off five feet on some holes you will be in the water. While this may be frustrating for some it is unique and memorable to me. This course takes what you "think" a disc golf green should be and turns it upside down.

For me to give high ratings to a course I love water hazards. Without water hazards this course would be a solid 3 but the water hazards truly add a full point of value to the course. Not only are the greens interesting but they are challenging and extremely memorable.

The attention to detail on this course is truly out of this world. Some of the teeboxes look like they would have cost hundreds and hundreds of dollars. Also, there are nets and fences strategically placed to protect players on different holes from getting hit on another hole.

This course truly makes you think hard about your shot in every possible way before committing to your line. This course is full of risk/reward shots. There were a few times when I had a 35 foot putt and had to decide whether or not to lay up or go for it. A few times I got burned and went in the water just past the pin and a few times I made the putt. This is not frustrating disc golf - this is disc golf at its best. If you have decide whether to lay up a shot that short that is a good hole and the designer has done a good job.

This course is also a quick play and is truly a refreshing course to play. Putting all of these things together makes this a 4.0 course.
Cons: Every course has flaws and Sellersville has a couple. I consider navigation and flow of the course one of the most important things. The course is essentially split into two areas of the park so I would highly recommend a map. I was fortunate to play this course with course designer and Allentown area disc golf legend Optidisc (Jerome) so we had no issues. But the walk after hole 7 and the walk back after hole 16 were very long and could be very confusing. As I said, bring a map or just remember that after hole 7 you will need to walk across the road and then another 500 feet to get to the next hole. The walk is definitely worth it but be prepared!

As stated above, this course is very short. The variety on the distances is not great but the course was not intended as such. This is not a huge con for me but its worth pointing out that this is, for the most part, a par 3 course.

It would have been nice to include distances on the signs. I found myself asking for distances often as I don't think those were included on all of the signs. Most of the holes were shorter so this wasn't a huge deal but its at least worth nothing.

NOTE: This course is challenging to find. If you type the course into your GPS, it may not seem right but it does take you right to hole 1! You actually have to go down an alley to get to the course so if it feels wrong its probably right. I only put this in the cons because it may be helpful to have a sign right at the start of this alley road to direct disc golfers to the course.
Other Thoughts: I played this course in the middle of an 8 day, 16 course road trip. We played Brent Hambrick, Iron Hill, Maple Hill, Nockamixon, Wickham, Warwick, Black Falls, Brewster's Ridge and a few more in between. I can honestly say that my buddy and I had the most fun on this course compared to any of the other courses. While this course certainly isn't a championship level course, it is a 10 on the fun factor scale. While Jordan, Tyler, and Nocky get all of the local love in Allentown, this course HAS to be played if you are going to be in the area because it truly is a ton of fun. I did not play well in my round there and went OB seven times but I still had a ton of fun.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Upon Further Review

2-4    1/1/2014   11/11/2013
Review By: Bleeder973
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2014
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Vast array of challenges and diversified baskets. Tee boxes are looking great! 19th Basket adds a nice touch to the personality of the course. Obvious signs that the course is always improving. Love how the water 18 plays into the mix. The rewards of a solid drive are awesome on many holes where the fairways are tight.
Cons: Keeping players who've never played the course before in mind, navigation can be a bit tough.
Other Thoughts: Admittedly, my rush to review this course earlier was premature and completely unfair. The group who maintains the course and play here are a great group. I can definitely appreciate the course in its current form more now after playing a few other courses.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Sellersville

1    5/25/2013   5/25/2013
Review By: adlacro
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with easy to see DIScatcher baskets in all like new condition. Tees are either flypads or bricks laid out with okay run-up room. Very nice mix of righty/lefty holes with lots of challengin putts. Several elevated baskets come into play as well as water on many holes, usually around the greens, making the challenge that much better. There are also other layouts available and some alt. tee placements. Well designed. Well maintained. Not far from other great area courses and amenities. Course plays out of way of most other park attractions. Definitely fun. 18th hole one of the best I've ever played, with the triple OB.
Cons: Part of the course is on a flood plain, so take care if the rains have been heavy recently. There isn't too much in the way of elevation, but whatever is there is used quite well. Quite challenign to perhaps overwhelming for less experienced players, keep that in mind.
Other Thoughts: As mentioned, the eighteenth alone is a standout. It's only 220 ft., but the water snakes around the hole so that the landing area isn't very big, so close rounds b/w you and others stay interesting. The fun factor here is definitely high and I hear plans are in place to make this even better. Course designer Jerome and others have done a very good job with the land available to them while staying out of the other park areas. The path only comes into play on maybe two holes, so well done to all. Totally worth the trip if you are in the Quakertown, PA area already at Nockamixon.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice course!

1    4/30/2013   4/30/2013
Review By: Dupree721
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course is a great place for disc golfers new and experienced.
- The course offers a great mix of shots from left to right, straight and right to left.
- The course offers heavily wooded shots, water hazards (had to fish out two discs during my round) and wide open fairways where you can really rip your discs.
- Elevated baskets really add to the variety this course offers you.
- This course is maintained very well and you can tell from the teepads, trash cans and fairways. It was a nice treat playing in such a clean park.
Cons: - I had difficulty finding the first tee, perhaps I just parked in the wrong lot though. However, once I found hole 3 and 18, I knew I was close.
Other Thoughts: This course just adds to the fun that is located within Bucks and Montgomery County. You can start the day here and head to Tyler or Nockamixon to round out the day.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sellersville DGC

5+    4/4/2013   4/4/2013
Review By: stout202
Played: 50  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has really taken off since being expanded to 18 holes. One of the best aspects of this course is variety. You get wooded holes with moderate length, tight wooded holes that require pin-point line shaping, a few open bombs, elevated baskets, elevation changes, etc. Every hole now has two baskets and two tee-pads which adds to this variety.

A small creek runs through a majority of the course so OB water comes into play on many of the holes. This provides an interesting risk v. reward scenario on nearly every hole. This tends to be particularly true near the baskets; accurate up-shots and solid putting are crucial at the Ville.

My two favorite holes and what I consider to be the signature holes of the course are holes 12 and 18. Hole 12 is a 230 ft slight hyzer shot with an OB creek as a fairway and a beautiful view of the train tracks and tunnel as you stand on the tee-pad. Trees line both sides of the fairway so you need to shape your shot perfectly to get your 2. 18 is a short (220 ft) straight shot that requires you to carry over the snaking creek twice to get to the green which lies on a peninsula. If you are not feeling bold you can always lay-up on the middle island and play for the 3, but it is certainly a birdie-hole.

Finally, another great aspect of the course is the many added amenities and constant improvement all throughout the course. Benches, signage, 10 m markers, trash cans, OB lines, bridges, stepping stones, and more. Overall Sellersville provides a great disc golf experience.

Cons: Because the course is in a low-lying area of the town it can become very soupy, especially after it rains. The open fields on holes 3,4,13,14, are the worst culprits.

Navigation can get a bit screwy and there are two places where you have to take a relatively long walk to get to the next hole. I know the challenges the course designer faced with the available space so it is a necessary evil, but still a slight pain in the butt.

Safety is always a concern when playing in a public park. The designer took great lengths to minimize this risk but is important to aware of your surrounding and realize we are sharing the park with other activities.
Other Thoughts: I have to admit I may be slightly biased as I am on the small team of volunteers who works hard to make this course what it is. However, I feel I gave a fair and accurate review of the course and encourage any local player to make the trip; its worth it. With so many world-class courses in the area it would be hard to make the case to choose Sellersville over Nockamixon, Tyler, or Jordan Creek. However, it does provide a nice complement to these courses and is probably the only difficult all par 3 course in the area. It is a great course for any level of player...beginners can get through and have fun without wanting to quit disc golf and there is enough to challenge even the pro level player. Sellersville is an excellent course that is continuing to get better and better...cheers

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    2/18/2013   2/27/2013
Review By: Hartley444
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the great things about this course if the upkeep and constant changes. The course is constantly upgrading what does not work so well and changes pin positions based on players feedback. Each hole is looked at regularly to fix any problems with drainage, steps, etc. It has a few holes where you can really air things out and also holes that are tight and technical. It also is a great layout given the ground available. Holes 12, 13, 17 and 18 are particularly awesome. Hole 13 was recently changed so the basket is extremely high off the ground and is a one of a kind. Very awesome! There are also alternate tee off locations if you are up for doubles rounds
Cons: It is still a new course so some holes are still a work in progress. Hole 9 tee could be better in particular. If the tee was moved to a more flat surface that would probably help fix the unlevelness of the blocks.rubber.
Other Thoughts: Excellent work by all volunteers and people who maintain/upgrade the course. Neautiful park and passing people always seems to be friendly.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

1    8/20/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: GMarlin13
Played: 45  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great work Jerome! This course was great for both experienced and non experienced players. The holes aren't ridiculously long so its good for newer players, but experienced players will have a challenge to make birdies. The course is all Par 3's but you have to be precise on many of the holes. Trees line some fairways and water comes into play on some holes. 18 is a great hole that, if played right, can be easily birdied. But if played wrong can end up with a wet disc and a higher score. Lenape Park and the surrounding area the course is on is very scenic and relaxing. There is also a sweet practice hole to get you ready for the round or unload your bag and try for an ACE!
Cons: -There is a short walk in between holes 8 and 9 and 15 and 16. The course is marked great with maps and arrows so it isn't difficult to navigate, just a little more exercise in between those holes.
-Mild shrubbery, weeds, prickers
The entrance to the park looks like a driveway, but isn't. This site has a good description of where to pull in.
Other Thoughts: I thought this course was great. I would compare it to a mini Nockamixon. I recommend it to all levels of players.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hot like fire!

1    8/4/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: Theli420
Played: 57  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This review is from a mid-pack AM2 player. This course has a nice mix of open and tight wooded holes.

The really open holes (3 and I believe it was 14) are 400+ which allows you to open up and let it rip. However, do not mistake openness for weakness. 3 has some guardian trees that if your approach shot goes the wrong way, you will go from a 3 to likely a bogey or worse. 14, which is a slight right to left hole, has the creek right behind it that if you overthrow your approach/putt/tee shot (if you have the distance), you will pay dearly. There are a few other open-ish holes as well. But, those two stick in my memory the most.

The tightly wooded holes are a variety of distances and turns. My most hated hole is #2, a RHBH anhyzer from tight woods into a more open area with lots of trees and a creek off to your right. As a lefty, you have a backhand lane, there. But, it's a strange angle. I try to anny a FH through the gap. Even still, it's very fair in that you hit your line, you will get out alive. 16 has an epic waterfall (Usually... The drought has taken it from a flow to a trickle) near the pin. Adding to the variety is that some of these holes do not have high ceilings. #16 is one of those. Also, #14 has some branches that extend, forcing you to go low. My favorite hole of the tight wooded ones is probably #7, as I am a LHFH thrower, primarily. It's a super tight Teebird flick for me. It is one of those 90% half mental holes, where if you psych yourself out, of course you are going to hit an early tree. #11, while not tightly wooded, is my favorite of the new 9. It's a gentle LHFH ace run, with the creek running the length of the hole on the right. Make sure that RHBH or LHFH has some fade at the end or you'll be wet! #9, uphill and super tight, is probably the most challenging of the tight wooded holes in my opinion. It turns a little to the left. And, at 380', it is quite a beast to even have an attempt at par.

This course ranks up with Nocky and Tyler in terms of having to be precise on every throw. It makes you think about risk/reward, quite a bit. Most greens have water behind or to the side of them. There are also some elevated baskets that come into play, along with random chicken wire fences if you go the wrong way, and one or two mandos.

Alternate Tees - All levels of players can play this course and have some fun. There are short tees, usually marked by a colored paver or slab of wood. Some flypads exist on the new 9 for alt tees.

Did I mention there is water everywhere? #18 forces you to throw over the creek twice. But, don't go too far, creek behind the basket too! 220 feet of absolute madness. I would say at least 65-75% of the holes has the creek or pond potentially coming into play.
Cons: There are only a few, which keeps me from putting this to a 4.5 or 5.0.

There are no par 4's or 5's. While a lot of this issue is alleviated by the creek/pond being present, and much of this is of no fault to the designer with the land given, it still managed to creep through in my reviewing though process.

Speaking of the water, since the creek is low right now, it's sometimes hard to tell where the OB begins and ends. I noticed 17 has yellow pavers present along the creek, which makes me think that this is being worked on.
Other Thoughts: When I played the original nine, I thought of how much potential there is if this course goes 18. I was right. The new 9 is absolutely epic. The course is getting beaten in very quickly. I was surprised to see this with the new 9 not being installed for very long.

A few things:
1. The entrance to the parking lot where hole 1 is looks like a residential driveway. Be careful not to overshoot it. If you do, there is another parking lot where you can start on 7 or 8.

2. Some of the new 9 has some tall grass. If you play after a rain or early in the morning, prepare to have some wet legs and shoes in the summer.

3. There are two long walks, I believe it is 7 to 8 and 16 to 17. Wooden Arrows in the ground, and maps, are your friend!

I am extremely happy to see another course in the area of Nockamixon. You can play Sellersville after getting humbled by Nocky, to get humbled some more. Or, you can use it as a warm up, with 563 being really close by. This course was very well thought out, and makes use of all the available land. Jerome, great work designing this course! And, whoever maintains it, wonderful job! I will be back as much as possible to play this. There is fun and a nice challenge around every corner!! This is a thinking persons course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.