Disc Golf Store
Sellersville, PA 
Sellersville DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #16 (Taken 8/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Approach



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
Underrated Gem

5+    2/18/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: Shamis
Played: 41  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is really well done. There is a great mix of open holes, wooded holes, and water shots. They also spice things up with a lot of raised baskets that make for interesting putting.

I love the 18th hole. A true island green. You have to really commit on this hole.
Cons: The long walk in the middle is annoying. And it is often very muddy.
Other Thoughts: For a great day of disc golf hit nockamixon first, and then this course. They are only about 20 minutes part.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    2/18/2013   2/27/2013
Review By: Hartley444
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the great things about this course if the upkeep and constant changes. The course is constantly upgrading what does not work so well and changes pin positions based on players feedback. Each hole is looked at regularly to fix any problems with drainage, steps, etc. It has a few holes where you can really air things out and also holes that are tight and technical. It also is a great layout given the ground available. Holes 12, 13, 17 and 18 are particularly awesome. Hole 13 was recently changed so the basket is extremely high off the ground and is a one of a kind. Very awesome! There are also alternate tee off locations if you are up for doubles rounds
Cons: It is still a new course so some holes are still a work in progress. Hole 9 tee could be better in particular. If the tee was moved to a more flat surface that would probably help fix the unlevelness of the blocks.rubber.
Other Thoughts: Excellent work by all volunteers and people who maintain/upgrade the course. Neautiful park and passing people always seems to be friendly.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Way to go Optidiscic

1    10/13/2012   12/10/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 278  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- I Got to Play with Opti. Optidiscic hit me up because he knew I was coming through his region and told me they were having their weekly singles event on Saturday at 10:00 AM. We played on the same card and had a great round. Not only was it cool to play with him because he is one of the more recognizable names on DGCR, but it was cool to play with him because he designed the course… and was cool as hell too.
- Use of the Creek. Due to a decent sized, shallow, creek that flowed through the park, Sellersville had some amazing pin positions. I could easily state that more than half the holes had water within 30' of the basket. The use of the creek turns what would be a rather ordinary park course into something much greater and much more fun to play.
- The Extras. Opti and his crew have really done a great job with the added amenities. There are great next tee arrows and a few directional signs that explain two rather long transitions that happen in the course. They have also installed an island green and a few raised baskets.
- Holes 17 and 18… super fun finishing holes. Both had amazing pin positions with exceptional use of the creek. Hole 17 was 280' with the basket on the other side of the creek, which really makes you think strategically about your drive, approach shot and putt. Hole 18 was a short putter Hole that had an island green created by an ox-bow in the creek. You either park it… or, proceed to the drop zone.
Cons:
- Two Awkward Long Walks. There are two really long walks on the course that need to be navigated. You literally have to leave one part of the park, cross the street and walk through another section of the park, and cross another street to get back onto the course. However, there would have been no other way to have an 18 hole course; and, as mentioned above, they have great signage explaining what to do.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. I played Sellersville on my last day of a 10-day, 16-course roadtrip that included some of the best courses in the upper North East, including: Iron Hill, Maple Hill, Warwick, Joralemon and Tyler… and, while Sellersville isn't on the level of those courses in terms of "Championship greatness", it is FUN as HELL. I had a great time playing with Optidiscic and his boys. The use of the creek on 90% of the courses' holes was fabulous. The amenities -- in terms of next tee-signs/arrows, tee-pads, and extras around the pin positions (raised basket, brick lined OB, etc…) -- were done with care. Etc… Optidiscic has really created a super fun city park course that is appropriate to a wide variety of golfers, beginners to pros alike.
- My Score: -4 (with a few bogeys and a 4 putt on the first hole - Yikes!)

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

two 9 holers squeezed together

1    12/7/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: So much more character has been added since making the move to 18 holes. Several scenic holes have been added.
Hole 12 throws at a tunnel under a bridge with a creek separating the 2 possible pin locations. In the right lighting it is nearly calendar worthy.
After hole 7 there is a sign with written directions and a visual map to get to hole 8. If that is not enough there are numerous bright yellow arrows to guide you the entire wat to hole 8.
13 throws up rolling hills and will soon have an interesting second pin position.
Hole 16 has a small "waterfall" next to the basket. Hole 18 is old hole 9 where you throw over the S shaped creek.
Course is constantly changing. Jerome is always on the course looking for ways to tweek the course.
Lots of water provides numerous risk vs. rewards.
10M marks have been put in most holes so you know where the putting circle is.
Many of the holes had 2 pin positions and 3 tee areas.
Interesting practice hole
Porto-potty on site, several trash cans that are frequently emptied, and there was a map at hole 1.
After playing so many courses in sketchy areas it was very nice to play in a small town course that I am 90% sure is protected by Sheriff Andy Taylor and Barney Fife.
Cons: If you can not find the basket, look next to the water. a majority of baskets are right on the edge of water which can be seen as gimmicky.
Navigation is quirky. You play the first 4 holes then walk back past 1 to play 5-7. then you have the long walk across the street to the new holes. You play 7-16 and have another walk to get to 17 and 18.
If you are looking for championship caliber golf, go back to Nocky. This course is more family friendly and less stressful.
One of the holes had black netting that was impossible to see. The first set of netting was clearly for safety, but I was not a fan of the netting near the basket that offered a blind surprise obstacle.
Due to vandalism, signage is minimal, but adequate. You are not going to see perfect tee signs here, it is simply not a priority for the designer.
Other Thoughts: NO ALCOHOL! This course is a dry park. Nearly all of the neighbors are on board, but if their properties become littered with beer cans, or they are bothered by loud vulgar players, they can shut down the course.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good use of busy park

1    9/14/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 40  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.3 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What I thought was cool with Sellersville was that it is segmented into a sort of "outside 9" and an "inside 9"--holes 1-7, 17, and 18 (outside) are in the main section of the park, while holes 8-16 (inside) are in a more remote satellite portion of the park that requires a quarter mile hike to and from this Middle 9. Though I suspect it has to do with added holes and park layout, I would like to add originality points toward my rating anyway, because that is a unique touch that discards the traditional front 9/back 9 concept as yesterday's fad. The method of naming outside and inside was based on the idea of looking at a linear score card (the beginning and end holes are on the outside of the line, middle holes on the inside) Besides the layout, there are quite a few positives about Sellersville. For one, it is a par 3 course with moderate hole length, meaning pars aren't too difficult but birdies are harder to come by. This climate of difficulty gives novice, rec, intermediate, and advanced players a challenge since their goals are different....more inexperienced players strive for par, while more skilled players strive for birdies. Pro's however will find this course a little too easy I imagine (coming from a borderline Intermediate/Advanced player who shot a 55 first time here), and would probably shoot in the mid 40's. Many holes, especially on the Outside 9 in main section of the park have signs, but I recall some of the Inside 9 holes lacking them. The tee boxes were decent for all holes when I played. This is mostly an open course dotted with obstacles. There are plenty of trees but I wouldn't call more than a few of the holes "wooded." While there are some elevation changes in the Inside 9 satellite part of the park, this is mostly a flat course, but the hole design makes good use of what's available. I liked the wealth of water around the course (a creek that plays into about half of the holes on the course in some form or fashion and a pond on hole 15). The Outside 9 in main section of the park mostly require straight accurate shots. There isn't much in the realm of bootlegs, but some baskets are tucked away to add difficulty. On the Inside 9 in other portion of park, this is the exact opposite--elevation, bootlegs, creative lines calling for hyzers and annies alike. Something else cool--not only is there a practice basket but a tee box, too, that creates a short little ace run practice hole! Nifty...
Cons: There was a little bit of confusion finding the tee for hole #4. In my opinion, the wooden arrow saying next tee was misleading and pointing somewhere the tee was not. An epic pause in play walking between hole 7 and 8 and hole 16 and 17...from what I understand this course used to be only 9 holes, so I'm guessing that if we wanted 18, they needed to jump into that farther away section of the park. The grass on holes 13 and 14 was unacceptably high. I nailed a 375-400 footer dead center of fairway on 13 that took us 10 minutes to find even with a good reference mark. Some of the holes are pretty close together and could potentially be a safety hazard. There's a lot of kids, dog walkers, and other non-DGers all over this very public park. I had someone pick up my drive to return to me, which always sucks, considering it is an act of kindness, but that gets aggravating in either case. I also got a mean look for throwing a bomb that sailed a little far right on hole 3 but still didn't come anywhere close to hitting the pedestrians (it's like they had no idea it was a course also and were 'annoyed' that I 'chose' that particular place to throw my weird frisbee). This course is right in a populated suburban town in a well-known to locals public park, so while it is a really nice course, you have to be patient and accepting of others, as regular park guests will outnumber DGers. Additional thought: the entrance as mentioned in the description is in fact very much so disguised as a driveway and you will probably pass it as you recognize while driving by that you should've turned there, but no worries, a u-turn fixes that!
Other Thoughts: Hole 12 was really cool. You shoot along side but over a creek toward a tunnel that passes under a road, with the basket on the opposite side of the creek at the tunnel entrance. Sellersville makes a great warm up round before hitting Nocky, only 9 miles away, on a double round day. Kudos to the design--a successful use of a course in a busy park.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

1    8/20/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: GMarlin13
Played: 45  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great work Jerome! This course was great for both experienced and non experienced players. The holes aren't ridiculously long so its good for newer players, but experienced players will have a challenge to make birdies. The course is all Par 3's but you have to be precise on many of the holes. Trees line some fairways and water comes into play on some holes. 18 is a great hole that, if played right, can be easily birdied. But if played wrong can end up with a wet disc and a higher score. Lenape Park and the surrounding area the course is on is very scenic and relaxing. There is also a sweet practice hole to get you ready for the round or unload your bag and try for an ACE!
Cons: -There is a short walk in between holes 8 and 9 and 15 and 16. The course is marked great with maps and arrows so it isn't difficult to navigate, just a little more exercise in between those holes.
-Mild shrubbery, weeds, prickers
The entrance to the park looks like a driveway, but isn't. This site has a good description of where to pull in.
Other Thoughts: I thought this course was great. I would compare it to a mini Nockamixon. I recommend it to all levels of players.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hot like fire!

1    8/4/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: Theli420
Played: 57  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This review is from a mid-pack AM2 player. This course has a nice mix of open and tight wooded holes.

The really open holes (3 and I believe it was 14) are 400+ which allows you to open up and let it rip. However, do not mistake openness for weakness. 3 has some guardian trees that if your approach shot goes the wrong way, you will go from a 3 to likely a bogey or worse. 14, which is a slight right to left hole, has the creek right behind it that if you overthrow your approach/putt/tee shot (if you have the distance), you will pay dearly. There are a few other open-ish holes as well. But, those two stick in my memory the most.

The tightly wooded holes are a variety of distances and turns. My most hated hole is #2, a RHBH anhyzer from tight woods into a more open area with lots of trees and a creek off to your right. As a lefty, you have a backhand lane, there. But, it's a strange angle. I try to anny a FH through the gap. Even still, it's very fair in that you hit your line, you will get out alive. 16 has an epic waterfall (Usually... The drought has taken it from a flow to a trickle) near the pin. Adding to the variety is that some of these holes do not have high ceilings. #16 is one of those. Also, #14 has some branches that extend, forcing you to go low. My favorite hole of the tight wooded ones is probably #7, as I am a LHFH thrower, primarily. It's a super tight Teebird flick for me. It is one of those 90% half mental holes, where if you psych yourself out, of course you are going to hit an early tree. #11, while not tightly wooded, is my favorite of the new 9. It's a gentle LHFH ace run, with the creek running the length of the hole on the right. Make sure that RHBH or LHFH has some fade at the end or you'll be wet! #9, uphill and super tight, is probably the most challenging of the tight wooded holes in my opinion. It turns a little to the left. And, at 380', it is quite a beast to even have an attempt at par.

This course ranks up with Nocky and Tyler in terms of having to be precise on every throw. It makes you think about risk/reward, quite a bit. Most greens have water behind or to the side of them. There are also some elevated baskets that come into play, along with random chicken wire fences if you go the wrong way, and one or two mandos.

Alternate Tees - All levels of players can play this course and have some fun. There are short tees, usually marked by a colored paver or slab of wood. Some flypads exist on the new 9 for alt tees.

Did I mention there is water everywhere? #18 forces you to throw over the creek twice. But, don't go too far, creek behind the basket too! 220 feet of absolute madness. I would say at least 65-75% of the holes has the creek or pond potentially coming into play.
Cons: There are only a few, which keeps me from putting this to a 4.5 or 5.0.

There are no par 4's or 5's. While a lot of this issue is alleviated by the creek/pond being present, and much of this is of no fault to the designer with the land given, it still managed to creep through in my reviewing though process.

Speaking of the water, since the creek is low right now, it's sometimes hard to tell where the OB begins and ends. I noticed 17 has yellow pavers present along the creek, which makes me think that this is being worked on.
Other Thoughts: When I played the original nine, I thought of how much potential there is if this course goes 18. I was right. The new 9 is absolutely epic. The course is getting beaten in very quickly. I was surprised to see this with the new 9 not being installed for very long.

A few things:
1. The entrance to the parking lot where hole 1 is looks like a residential driveway. Be careful not to overshoot it. If you do, there is another parking lot where you can start on 7 or 8.

2. Some of the new 9 has some tall grass. If you play after a rain or early in the morning, prepare to have some wet legs and shoes in the summer.

3. There are two long walks, I believe it is 7 to 8 and 16 to 17. Wooden Arrows in the ground, and maps, are your friend!

I am extremely happy to see another course in the area of Nockamixon. You can play Sellersville after getting humbled by Nocky, to get humbled some more. Or, you can use it as a warm up, with 563 being really close by. This course was very well thought out, and makes use of all the available land. Jerome, great work designing this course! And, whoever maintains it, wonderful job! I will be back as much as possible to play this. There is fun and a nice challenge around every corner!! This is a thinking persons course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Sellersville DGC

2-4    7/15/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: shawny0123
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great use of the tight terrain
- Good mix of short and long fairways
- Good course to play when you don't feel like playing a physically demanding course
Cons: - A few ankle breaking holes in some of the fairways (hole 6 to be exact)
- RHBH biased
- Built in the middle of a heavily used park, hole 18 imparticular can have people in the way
Other Thoughts: I played this course for the first time as an 18 hole course this weekend and was very happy with the new holes and how the course plays now as a whole. As mentioned above they did a great job using the tight space they had to put in a large variety of fun holes to play. The use of water on many of the new holes is a great way to add challenge and hole 12 with the water tunnel as a back drop is just gorgeous. My only real complaint is the course is very RHBH biased when it comes to pin placement. I honestly think over half the holes have the pin off to the left. It's really my only complaint but not a big enough deal I don't plan to play this on the regular now that it is a full 18.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sellersville DGC

5+    7/6/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 30  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played the 18 hole course a few times and am very pleased with the overall experience.

Older holes (1-7, 17, 18): Each hole on the is somewhat unique: dogleg left, dogleg right, open field fairway, elevated basket, baskets near water, and narrow fairways lined by trees. Holes 17 and 18 (old holes 8 and 9) are tremendous finishing holes that allow you to remember the course after you've left. The older portion of the course is very flat and the underbrush isn't too terrible, making disc retrieval relatively easy. Tee pads are rubber and in good shape. The handwritten tee signs are accurate and useful.

New holes (8-16): present many challenging basket locations near the creek and utilize the new land to add some distance to the overall average distance of the course. Hole 10 was a challenging narrow fairway that is ace-able at 200 ft or so, but also can be a headache and instant bogey (or worse) if you hit a tree and end up in the drink or with no second shot to speak of. Hole 11 (tunnel vision) provided a really cool visual off the tee and is also a fun ace run. The newer holes incorporate some elevation changes, making it feel different than the original holes. Hole 15 had a low tunnel under trees as a fairway, adding another unique shot to the course. The baskets are easy to spot and, of course, in great shape. I had no problems navigating the new holes on the course even without a map. Even though just sharpie on wood, tee signs are more than adequate. The grass was mowed, and overall park maintenance was good.
Cons: When I reviewed this course as a 9-holer, I stated that navigation was a bit screwy the first time out if you park in the wrong lot. I followed the driving directions on this site and ended up parking by tee 6. I ended up playing the tees in this order: 6, 7, 8, 1-5, 9. This is only an issue the first time through, but I definitely got in the way of other golfers as I tried to find my bearings. Having played numerous times now, it is quite easy to get around, but the lot by tee 1 is a little hard to find for newer people.

The new holes center around a pond which would have made a nice hole (throw over the pond), but maybe there were issues with the township, I obviously can't say. With all the open land, it would have been nice to perhaps incorporate a longer hole, such as a par 4 (course is all par 3). Overall, the course favors RHBH throws with a number of left doglegs (1, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 14).
Other Thoughts: I was impressed with how well the course was integrated into the park without obstructing other activities, such as the walking path near the older holes. Having alternate tees marked in the grass is really nice if you come here often and want a different perspective on things. The course really tests your mid range and putting due to basket locations so close to the water. Nothing too deep that you couldn't go and fish it out, but still enough to make you think twice about your shot. The new holes are a welcome addition and provide a good utilization of what looks like previously unused land. Every time I go, there are improvements, such as the fence to protect the teepad of hole 10 from the drives on hole 9. It also introduces a fun (not so fun) new obstacle. I applaud all of the work done by the volunteers to make this course what it is, tremendous job.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.