Sellersville, PA 
Sellersville DGC Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12   (Taken 8/2012)



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Sellersvilles theatre of disc golf

1    4/13/2016   4/13/2016
Review By: joshfullam
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well thought out with tight driving holes for the most part. All par 3 course that is a quick play. Like the practice hole with the circle landing area. Water in play a lot which keeps it challenging in spots and fun. Great tee pads--long and well maintained.
Cons: None or no good hole map at the tees. Course is separated by two roads to cross. Easy on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Nice little short course. Will be back to play again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun in the Snow

1    4/9/2016   4/9/2016
Review By: Glitch
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of diversity in the types of shots and terain

The water is an added dificulty which makes it very fun
Cons: There are alot of shots you could loose a disc on, best to use a floater on most of the holes with water around them.

Some spots become very swampy in wet seasons
Other Thoughts: The first time I tried this course was a two disc tournament, and it was very fun. I never got to play this course until today, and I think I'll be back soon to try it again when it isn't a cold wet day. Besides today's temperatures I had a lot of fun and wished I did better, there's always next time.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Your putter sleeps with the fishes

5+    4/1/2016   4/7/2016
Review By: Chet
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Big flat grippy paver tee boxes on every hole. Most have 2. I played a tournament here a couple of summers ago and found out some of the holes even have a third, "Tournament tee." There's a big map at the kiosk by the practice baskets tee. Most holes have a trash can or bucket. All the holes have multiple pin positions. Good mix of open and wooded holes. Makes you throw every shot you know how to throw and you'd better know how to throw more than one. It has some really long holes for a par 3 course, two are over 400 feet and another feels like it is because the basket is up 2 hills. Hole 18 is one of the coolest signature holes anywhere! This course is really well kempt, mowed, trimmed and no trash laying around.
Cons: Getting from 7 to 8 is a trek, especially when there's deep snow. Sometimes the creek is mucky by 1, 2 and 18 and you can lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: Lots of elevated baskets here. Lots of baskets on the edge of the creek beds, so lots of OB water easily found. One hole even uses OB water as it's fairway through the woods. If fishing your disc out of water and circling the numbers on your scorecard really bothers you, you're probably not going to like it here, if you think that's just part of the fun, this course is a lot of fun.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sellersville

5+    3/11/2016   3/11/2016
Review By: dave greene
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is my home course...very challenging ..lots of ob....water, water,an more water...I love this course,it just hates me...lol...very well maintained...trash cans everywhere...Must play if your in the area...easy to navigate... Tags 10 on Saturdays...one of the many great courses in the area
Cons: No night play...
Other Thoughts: Bring a receiver,ab make sure your name an # us on your disc

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

I'm OB? You're OB! This whole course is OB!

5+    2/27/2016   2/29/2016
Review By: Zunz
Played: 77  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 2.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: FUN!!!!!
Challenging
Large variety of shots/angles
Multiple signature/picture holes
Great locals
Cons: It can be a little hard to navigate the first time or 2 (the map makes this no problem)
The walk between 7 and 8
There can be mud
Other Thoughts: Sellersville holds about as much fun as you could possibly pack into a disc golf course whether you're playing by yourself, with some friends, or if you show up at their weekly tags (Saturday at 9:45) or dubs (Daylight Savings Time Mondays at 5:30) rounds. And this park has as much disc golf as could be fit into the available park property without having to worry too much about hitting other players or park patrons. What you do have to worry about here, is water. Water OB comes into play on almost every hole and my bad throws are so bad I've managed to find it on holes where it shouldn't have factored in.
There is a huge map on the board by hole 1. Make a note of where hole 8 is and how to get there. If there is little league baseball going on, there is a hot dog stand by hole 7's tee. In warmer months, there is often an honor box and cooler by tee #9, the money raised helps pay for gas for the lawnmowers (This part of the course especially is maintained by the local club and not the parks service.)


The red practice basket is 188'8" and was donated by the local fire company that was established in 1888. Having lost all of the trees in the field over the past couple of years, this is an open straight throw from either tee. There is now an alternate pin position on the right edge of the yellow brick OB circle that plays this hole like an island green. A miss off the tee has you throwing 3 from, "The Pedestal of Shame", a block of concrete (with the front edge painted yellow) to the left across the road.

Hole 1 is a tightly wooded fairway with trees creating a narrow point about half way to the basket after which the wider fairway is dotted with small trees, many lines but much to hit. Both pin positions here have the creek right behind them.

Hole 2 is a narrow wooded fairway that turns gently right through the trees before opening up to a field about &#8532; of the way to the basket. The basket positions are all guarded by several large, low hanging trees. There is a creek running along the entire right side of this hole. This is the first hole where there is netting in the trees, in this case off to the right of the tee, that eliminates possible lines but mostly saves some of the really bad throws from going in the water. Good luck finding and then hitting a line through the woods if you go off the fairway here.

Hole 3 is a wide open field shot to basket positions protected by trees. Longer throwers will have multiple lines to get to the basket, there's a huge hyzer approach, but for most of us it's a long straight throw setting up an approach from the field into the treed area.

Hole 4 is a longer wide open throw but the water OB comes back into play long or right of the basket along the latter half of the fairway. This is the first of the elevated basket holes with both pin positions up on concrete pillars. There's a sparse wall of trees separating the fairway from the green.

Hole 5 is back into the woods for a fairly tight fairway but an ace run in either the straight or left pin positions. The OB creek comes into play if you go long. There's one horizontal branch/tree that hangs out into the fairway that forces you to keep your throw fairly low.

Hole 6 is an annie or flick for righties. The creek here runs along the entire right side of the fairway and the long pin position is precariously close to it. There are a bunch of large trees guarding the basket in either position.

Hole 7 is a straight throw with a very small doorway to get through the wall of trees about 20' in front of the tee box. There are lots of trees here and several nets strung in them to eliminate some of the throwing lanes. The baskets are well guarded with large trees.

Here's the navigation bummer of the course. Although it's awesome that they got the land to build 9 more holes after the first 9 were so well received by the town, you have to walk across 2 streets and a field (off to the side of 16's fairway) to get to them. There is a sign next to one of the positions for basket 7 but it can be hard to find and I think the first time we played here my friends and I didn't find 8-16.

Hole 8 is a long semi-open fairway. There are a few huge trees in a straight line to the right and a pond and then creek off to the left. The trees make for a low ceiling. The straight pin has OB water right behind it and the left pin is elevated (another concrete pedestal) and has OB water left and long.

Hole 9 is the first time elevation comes into play with a slight uphill on a tightly wooded fairway to a pin set off either to the right or left.

Hole 10 has a sharp uphill right in front of the tee. The first third of this hole has a very tight wooded fairway before getting to a more open area in the middle. The pin to the right makes this hole play annie or flick. The basket is set into a hillside with a bunch of medium sized tree trunks right in front of it. The hill makes a great backstop so you don't have to worry too much about overpowering your upshot or putt (or drive if you have a longer arm than most). The straighter basket plays slightly downhill from the open middle area with a defined fairway and possible water OB if you go really long.

Hole 11 plays downhill to a basket off to the left or a basket more to the left. The early part of this fairway has lots of trees that make for a fairway no more than 6' wide. They are hit so often they have pads and boards nailed to them to protect them. If you get through the trees and down the hill to where the open greens are, all you have to worry about is the OB water RIGHT behind the basket in either position.

Hole 12 is one of those signature/picture holes. The entire fairway here plays over the OB creek the whole way to a basket which is set on either side of a stone tunnel that the creek flows through. The creek bends allowing a couple of trees to be growing dead center in the throwing lane. This is one of those holes where every throw, even a short putt, can go OB. It's not hard to go OB twice on this hole.

Hole 13 is really 2 different holes depending on where the the basket is. If it's to the left, it's the long tee (by the tree) that plays to a basket up a hill behind a plateau. I've seen a few players who can make the ace run here, but for most of us the goal is to get up onto the plateau to have a look at an uphill birdie.
The alternate pin or, "Basket in the Sky" is an elevated basket (built up ground and a concrete pedestal) on the edge of the plateau that throws from the tee on the right (when looking at the basket). The only sage tournament advice I have on this course is for this basket... No matter how close you are, lay up until you can drop it in. If you want to card a 3 or a 4 and not an 8 or worse, LAY UP!

Hole 14 plays from an elevated tee through a tree door (from the lower alt tee here you could barely call it a window) out to an open field. As with hole 5, there's one big branch out in front of the tee that really makes you keep your throw low. There is a line of large trees of the way to the greens. Going long or fading out left on this hole can put you in OB water. The shortest pin position is an elevated basket in a tree stump. An approach at any position from the left will have a low ceiling.

Hole 15 is a straight throw with 2 rows of early trees making for a very tight throwing lane. I've seen people with power go over or around them but seemingly not with any more or less success than people who try to go low and straight. There's a slope down and left away from the straight pin, the longer pin is down the hill with guardian trees and OB water just to the left of the basket.

Hole 16 is across the street and down the hill. It's an anhyzer or flick with water guarding the entire right side of the fairway and both pin positions are on the edge of small slopes down to the creek. There are some trees and a particular low hanging branch early that makes you either go low or throw out really wide left.

Hole 17 is a bit of a walk across another street and along side 7's fairway. There are 2 pin positions, one on either side of the creek. There's a fairly large straight throwing lane at them between two rows of large trees. There are also several throwing lanes at the short pin through the trees out to the left for flicks or annies. I've seen bad throws at 17 chain out of 6's basket.

18 is another signature hole. From the tee, the creek makes an S in front of you with the basket tucked into the second curve which means you have to cross the creek twice before you get to the basket and if you go long or fade left it's there waiting for you again. Anything wet off the tee and you're throwing from the drop zone on the island (walk across the little dam just left of the tee). From here you're still throwing across the water but regular OB rules apply. Did I mention there are trees everywhere? There are 2 reasonably wide doorways to get through on both edges of the central island and then one large tree looming on the small patch of land the basket is on just waiting to toss what you thought was a pretty good throw backwards into the creek. If you want to take most of the water out of play, there's an alternate tee off to the right of the main tee. You still have water left and long, but you're not throwing over the creek (twice).

Final Thoughts: I once played a course called, "The University of Out of Bounds"... That place ain't got nuthin on The Ville! They used ropes and gimmicks everywhere like Sellersville's practice hole does (The "Fire Hole"), Sellersville just has water Everywhere! I don't care who you are, a clean round here is hard to do. I've laid up from 15' here only to have my disc hit the ground exactly where I wanted it to but grow legs, get up and run down to the creek 2' behind the basket. It's the kind of course where you can throw two rounds, be in the exact same throwing groove all day and still have a double digit difference in your scores. On 13 of the holes here you can chain out and then end up in the water! On several of those, you can do it from multiple pin positions. If you're the kind of person who is frustrated by OB water, this probably isn't the course for you.
I've played club rounds and made friends on courses all across the country and have to say the group of regulars at Sellersville are about as good as it gets. The volunteer maintenance is top notch, especially around the tournaments they run here. They will show you the course, teach you to play (or help you get lots better), show you around other courses and even show you where to get the best cheeseburger known to mankind.
There are a ton of other courses in the area, including several that have hosted Pro Worlds and other big tournaments, there are even a few closer than Sellersville (including Tyler), but this is the course I play the most because of how much flat out fun it is to play here.

Final Final Thought: If you have some sort of retriever for getting your discs out of water, BRING IT!!!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Welcome to Sillysville

1    7/5/2014   1/4/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 152  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 9.8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 Discatcher baskets with dual tees either rubber or brick on the majority of holes providing good variety playing well from the novice to advanced level player. Tricky basket placements near water provide the biggest challenge and keep this course interesting. There are a few chances to air out a drive although the course is more on the short technical side placing a premium on accuracy. Well maintained course with erosion control around the water and rubber protection for trees that are prone to taking hits off the tee. Practice basket and portapotties by parking lot.
Cons: Nothing major. Course lacks in tee signage and the navigation is a bit weird having to cross two non-park roads twice during a round and having a feeling like this can't be the right way. Bring a map if playing the first time. A couple holes backtrack to the next tee and a couple holes play a little too close together for comfort. Not a fault of the course, but the land is pretty flat so there's not much wow factor or more interesting variety elevation wise here. Not two loops back to main parking lot, although it does to the parking lot I parked in.

Just note that my GPS took me to the wrong parking lot by hole 7 and walking to hole 1 from here is a hike. The park is fairly active with other park users and disc golfers, but the other park users seemed to steer clear of the course. Also there was a motorcycle cop roaming around the paths looking for riff raff.
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoyed my round at Sillysville, I mean Sellersville and I'm rating this course as good. I played here after Nockamixon and it's safe to say these are two very different courses catering to different players. This is just like my opinion, I understand since the course is on the short and flat side but I thought the basket placements were a little repetitive on the ridiculous often being raised and right next to water hazards tending to feel like a one trick pony, as if missing your putt wasn't bad enough, you might be adding a penalty on top rubbing salt into your wound. This is fun stuff in recreational rounds, but not so much in a competitive round. Hole 7 was my least favorite being a short poke and hope of pine plinko to the basket. Hole 18 was probably my favorite with the snaking creek up the fairway and behind the basket. Great way to finish the course!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun water filled course

1    12/29/2014   12/29/2014
Review By: seanyboyhoward
Played: 33  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets were in good shape, tee pads were well constructed. The use of the water was excellent in most cases. Practice tee/basket was something you don't usually see gave me a nice warm up rather then just putting.

Course was clean and well groomed.

Hole 12!
Cons: SIGNAGE! There is none. each hole is just a tee box and a hole number. No par or distance or guidance to the next holes or the area surrounding the hole. Arrows under the basket help but were not always available.

Signage- There is water all over the course.( which i love) but As i drove to some holes i had no idea there was water directly behind or surrounding the basket.


Other Thoughts: It seems that there is a large disc golf community that play this course, someone paint on the pavers or under the hole number the distance of the hole. And perhaps provide additional next hole signs. If this course had signage it would be one of my favorite courses because of its short technical nature.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Quality

2-4    10/10/2014   10/11/2014
Review By: Afropirg
Played: 24  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 1.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - you putting game has to be on or you pay.
- Good variety of shots
- Great for new players but still challenging for experienced players
- Water comes into play often
- Well maintained course.
- Great community of Disc Golfers
Cons: - Not all the holes have a map of the hole at the tee.
- Could be hard to navigate for someone who's never played the course before.
- If you don't like to drive over water you might not like the course.
Other Thoughts: Played two rounds back to back. I live close to Sellersville but have never played, don't know why I overlooked this course.

Your putting has to be on. SDGC will punish you if you're not accurate with your putter. Many of the baskets are very close to OB water.

I know the SDGC has been working at adding permanent tee boxes which is great. Think about half the tee boxes have tee signs which can be an issue on the holes that don't.

The course is spread out. From the basket on 7 to the tee box on 8 you have to cross a street, open field and another street. There is a sign explaing where to go.

For a par 3 course its very well done. I would say this is a bit harder than Boyertown's course causee of the OB water.

The course does have some very long holes pushing 400'. So you can air it out a bit.

While playing I meet a couple of guys from the club. Very friendly. Looking forward to getting out there again and maybe getting in on there tag rounds.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    7/8/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 160  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 16.1 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is just flat out fun. End of story. This course is very short compared to the other courses in the area but don't let that take anything away from the course. On a scale of 1 to 10 this course rates as a 10 on the fun factor.

I love courses that have interesting greens and Sellersville had some of the most interesting and memorable greens that I have ever played. Don't take this next point the wrong way: this course doesn't have super fairways or memorable holes as you are standing from the tee. What this course has are memorable greens that make an average hole truly above average. The pins on this course are literally tucked right next to water hazards. If your shot is even off five feet on some holes you will be in the water. While this may be frustrating for some it is unique and memorable to me. This course takes what you "think" a disc golf green should be and turns it upside down.

For me to give high ratings to a course I love water hazards. Without water hazards this course would be a solid 3 but the water hazards truly add a full point of value to the course. Not only are the greens interesting but they are challenging and extremely memorable.

The attention to detail on this course is truly out of this world. Some of the teeboxes look like they would have cost hundreds and hundreds of dollars. Also, there are nets and fences strategically placed to protect players on different holes from getting hit on another hole.

This course truly makes you think hard about your shot in every possible way before committing to your line. This course is full of risk/reward shots. There were a few times when I had a 35 foot putt and had to decide whether or not to lay up or go for it. A few times I got burned and went in the water just past the pin and a few times I made the putt. This is not frustrating disc golf - this is disc golf at its best. If you have decide whether to lay up a shot that short that is a good hole and the designer has done a good job.

This course is also a quick play and is truly a refreshing course to play. Putting all of these things together makes this a 4.0 course.
Cons: Every course has flaws and Sellersville has a couple. I consider navigation and flow of the course one of the most important things. The course is essentially split into two areas of the park so I would highly recommend a map. I was fortunate to play this course with course designer and Allentown area disc golf legend Optidisc (Jerome) so we had no issues. But the walk after hole 7 and the walk back after hole 16 were very long and could be very confusing. As I said, bring a map or just remember that after hole 7 you will need to walk across the road and then another 500 feet to get to the next hole. The walk is definitely worth it but be prepared!

As stated above, this course is very short. The variety on the distances is not great but the course was not intended as such. This is not a huge con for me but its worth pointing out that this is, for the most part, a par 3 course.

It would have been nice to include distances on the signs. I found myself asking for distances often as I don't think those were included on all of the signs. Most of the holes were shorter so this wasn't a huge deal but its at least worth nothing.

NOTE: This course is challenging to find. If you type the course into your GPS, it may not seem right but it does take you right to hole 1! You actually have to go down an alley to get to the course so if it feels wrong its probably right. I only put this in the cons because it may be helpful to have a sign right at the start of this alley road to direct disc golfers to the course.
Other Thoughts: I played this course in the middle of an 8 day, 16 course road trip. We played Brent Hambrick, Iron Hill, Maple Hill, Nockamixon, Wickham, Warwick, Black Falls, Brewster's Ridge and a few more in between. I can honestly say that my buddy and I had the most fun on this course compared to any of the other courses. While this course certainly isn't a championship level course, it is a 10 on the fun factor scale. While Jordan, Tyler, and Nocky get all of the local love in Allentown, this course HAS to be played if you are going to be in the area because it truly is a ton of fun. I did not play well in my round there and went OB seven times but I still had a ton of fun.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Upon Further Review

2-4    1/1/2014   11/11/2013
Review By: Bleeder973
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2014
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Vast array of challenges and diversified baskets. Tee boxes are looking great! 19th Basket adds a nice touch to the personality of the course. Obvious signs that the course is always improving. Love how the water 18 plays into the mix. The rewards of a solid drive are awesome on many holes where the fairways are tight.
Cons: Keeping players who've never played the course before in mind, navigation can be a bit tough.
Other Thoughts: Admittedly, my rush to review this course earlier was premature and completely unfair. The group who maintains the course and play here are a great group. I can definitely appreciate the course in its current form more now after playing a few other courses.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.