Topeka, KS 
Lake Shawnee Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish   (Taken 7/2009)
Course Sign



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Lake Shawnee - North Course

1    5/23/2014   5/23/2014
Review By: Jayhawker10
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was in the area for the day and had the afternoon off so I decided to check out the most highly rated course in town (per DGCR). Whether or not it is the best course is neither here, nor there. It is the only one I have played in Topeka though.

- Being that I am of novice/intermediate skill level, this course was a pretty good fit. I can only drive about 225 right now so making par was a fair challenge for my skill level.

- The back 9 in general was designed well for my style of play.

-Plenty of parking and I know there are bathrooms within a short drive.

- The baskets have big number signs on top of them making locating the baskets, for the most part, relatively easy. Of course, I could not locate 17 but determined it was buried in the woods through a process of elimination.

- Some of the nicer tee boxes I have played on. Long enough and make of concrete that has minimal cracks or issues.

- Plenty of benches if you need to sit to rest or if you are waiting on the group in front of you.
Cons: - The 18th...where do I start. I didn't even attempt to tee off from the box for fear of losing a disc in the water. Instead, I teed of from about 30 feet from the shoreline. I can see how higher skill level people would enjoy this hole.

- Holes 3 through 9 are somewhat repetitive as they zig-zag across a field with little elevation change.

-Some holes have markers that state their numbers, others do not.

- There are not multiple basket locations, as stated on here. And there are not multiple tee boxes for each hole either. I don't have a problem with this though.
Other Thoughts: DGCR states that there is a south course on the other side of the park road but I looked and did not see any baskets. I did not look hard but I could have missed them. I would not say that this is a must play but, in the case that it is the superior course in Topeka, it was worth the stop. I know people said this is close to a disc golf shop (LSDiscs). I would have stopped but my phone gave me the location as being a persons home so I skipped for today. Overall, I would recommend this course but would like to play the others in the area before going back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

my favorite topeka course

1    4/29/2013   5/3/2013
Review By: shaun103183
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: beautiful lake scenery, water comes into play 3-4 times , plays pretty quick for a 18 hole course. i love holes 14, 15 and 18. there is a practice basket wich is nice helps give you something to do on busy days. the make good use of the elevation there.
Cons: wish it was longer , first couple baskets a lil narrow
Other Thoughts: lsdiscs is 2 blocks away

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hilly by the lake!

5+    6/17/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: DisCat13
Played: 110  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 15.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course sits on the SE side of the biggest lake in Topeka. The holes are easy to navigate for the most part and have great use of trees, elevation changes, and water. The holes are also a good mix of lengths ranging from 216'-415'. The area is very well trimmed and maintained at all times. There are plenty of trash cans and benches throughout the course as well. There is also a water fountain ny #11 tee as well as a walking/biking trail. In addition to this the baskets are in great shape and the tee pads are huge. Lastly, there is so much to do around the lake. There are grills, picnic tables, playgrounds, bathrooms, and even the lakes swiimming beach can be seen from the course.This course is a must stop in Topeka as it is just one of two 18-hole courses here!
Cons: The area is generally pretty breezy to the winds coming off of the lake. Water comes into play on the back nine which is great, but if you aren't careful you could be leaving with 2-3 discs less then you started with. Navigation can be tricky on a couple of occasions (after #5 go up the big hill & after #11 go down the hill). Very minor cons here, the pros clearly out weigh them.
Other Thoughts: #1- Through two trees (at the tee) and around a row of other trees that the pin lies behind.
#s 6,11,13,15- All great downhill bombing opportunities.
#18- Signiature Hole. This beauty sits atop a high hill as many others do. The hole extends to a cove in which your disc must clear to reach the pin on the other side. This hole is also downhill and requires a hefty throw to make it over the water.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a trip

5+    9/10/2011   2/8/2012
Review By: Natedoog
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: easy to tell where you're going, Pin placement is good. LS Discs is pretty close if you lose something in the lake. aceable and birdieable holes.
Water holes give this place the challenge it needs

Cons: No signs to help you find it if you aren't around, also no signage by the tees to show distance or anything. except for the holes around the lake no real challenges. Dries out slowly
Other Thoughts: Great atmosphere, great place to practice, you can even take a swim at the end to cool off on a hot Kansas Day

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course!!!

1    5/2/2010   5/2/2011
Review By: tmenold
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very nice course for an intermediate player (not a lot of ways to lose a disc, unless you throw it in the water)! Beautiful course beside the lake!
Cons: I am an intermediate player and if you played this course a lot it may lack a little challenge. Although this is the best course I've played and will be back many more times to play it!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good road trip stop

2-4    12/28/2010   12/28/2010
Review By: kcplease
Played: 101  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well manicured in a park setting that does not share space with other activities-no picknickers on the fairway here. Concrete tees are in good shape as are most of the baskets, but I'll get into that a bit later. Trees are mostly mature and provide a decent amount of challenge. This course does, for the most part, favor the RHBH player, with the exception of holes 17,14, 8, and 3. Good variety of lengths keep you guessing on which disc to throw which always provides a fun challenge. Course flow well for the most part and makes good use of the hills around the lake.
Cons: The water is not always utilized to the extent it could be. Often the tee for the next hole is too close to the basket of the previous which can be a problem if the course is backed up. Trees don't provide much of a challenge for the post part and it seems the baskets are almost never in the most interesting of their pin locations. Tee signs would be a really nice addition. This can be seen as a pro to those who call this their home course- the baskets are all mixed and matched- Some are 20 year old DGAs, some brand new Mach 3's and everything in-between. You must adjust to the basket.
Other Thoughts: There is a severe lack of great land for courses in Kansas, and although this isn't a bad course, it isn't really a good one either. It's not a course to go well out of your way to play, but if you happen to be in the area, it's worth an hour of your time.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/27/2010   9/28/2010
Review By: kevinmzane
Played: 90  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has been nicely groomed every time I have been out here, and is very easy to navigate without a map. There are nice benches on the course and a couple of trash cans. Multiple pin placements that seem to be moved often. The teepads are large and in great shape. There isn't much elevation on this course, but enough to have some fun with and what they had to work with was used very nicely. I especially like how some of the baskets on the back 9 were in risky areas and the shot on 18 over the cove although it would definitely be overwhelming for beginners or rec players.
Cons: No restrooms on or near the course. There were no signs with any hole info other than hole #s on a stone next to the tee pad. Most of the front 9 can be pretty boring, especially on a calm day since there isn't much to navigate around and the wind would be your only hope for much of a challenge. A couple of the baskets could use some minor work, but nothing that would cause any trouble.
Other Thoughts: Maybe something as simple as some designated fairways with some marked OB would make the front 9 more entertaining.
Of the 3 courses I am familiar with in Topeka, this is always my first choice while passing through town.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 tops in topeka

1    7/3/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: very nice park, well maintained. nice teepads at every hole, easy to follow. water comes into play on a few of the last holes. good use of elevation. multple pin placements were available
Cons: was pretty windy when i played here, not really a con but more of a challenge.
Other Thoughts: the baskets were unique, some looked home made, this was definitly the better of the two 18 hole courses in topeka. there was a lot of un used land around the lake that was screaming to be used for an additional course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Throw ‘em Hard & Put ‘em Away Wet

1    4/27/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is mostly wide-open, with a few trees, some water, and it has some slight elevation. This well maintained park has some nice park benches near many of the nice concrete tees. Each of these tees have a small 2-foot cement post with the hole number on it. The baskets are in pretty good shape. Navigation here was fairly simple as there are arrows below each basket pointing to the next tee. There are a few holes where water behind a basket, a protected pin, or tree blocking the obvious path can make things interesting, but this is not as common as the wide-open fairway. The 18th hole is a fun shot over a small cove. You can go for the basket that carries over lots of water or take a narrower shot just get to the other side. Either way, if you are short, you just put your disc away wet.
Cons: If you heard rumors that there was 2 courses hear like I did, it is not true. According to the people at the park, this is the only course in this park. There is not much of a challenge here and I found that to be a disappointment. There weren't any actual tee signs here with any kind of hole information. There were hardly any trashcans and no signs of a bathroom close by.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was just OK for me. I was kind of anticipating the holes that were by the water or sunk back into the bushes or having water to throw over so much, that most of the course turned out to be kind of a let down. It was sad that all the challenging holes were right at the end of the journey instead of being spread out more during the round. It is still a very nice park and a clean place to play.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty surroundings, cool water shot, but lacks some challenge

5+    9/26/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 317  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained park. For at least the front nine, not much potential for losing a disc (The back nine is a different story). The open nature of the course, coupled with some moderate elevation, will provide beginners with a great place to learn how to manage wind. Arrows on the cement circles which surround the pins show direction to the next hole. You can also play some cool safari shots if you get bored with the traditional layout. The water shot over the cove on 18 is challenging. Small arms will likely not be able to get it over from the teepad, but there is room to park a layup on the shoreline. (Just don't go too far). Some of the pin locations on the back nine, some of which are tucked in the woods also have some good rollaway potential, so watch out on your approaches.
Cons: Big arms and pro level players will likely find this one a bit underwhelming. Rounds in the low 40's by pros aren't uncommon here. Nearly all of the pins can be parked easily provided you don't encounter a tree (and several of the holes don't have many to encounter). Wind, which can blow quite furiously here, may be your biggest obstacle to scoring well.
Other Thoughts: Yeah, its not blessed with the best set of trees, or a high degree of challenge, but I kind of find this course to be undervalued. Pros kind of look down upon it because its too easy. Rec players with just a few discs may shy away from it because of the water threat. It does compliment the Crestview course across town rather well. Worth a quick round if you're in Topeka.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.