Pineville, LA
Kees Park Share



Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Catch a quick game.

1    9/16/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: Mung
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Free, close to town, shaded/cool, well manicured, short, lots of birdie potential.
Cons: Terrible tee boxes, deep ditch along #4 & 5, only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a neat little 9 holes course, that can be played on a lunch break(during our brief spring/fall when the temp isn't terrible). The tee boxes are rubber, and too short or misaligned. Otherwise, it's a great short course, all under a tree canopy of pines, hickory and oaks.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Can you fit 9 holes in 4 acres? Why yes you can.

1    7/13/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 24  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 1.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is easy to get to. It is free. It is a short walk - you can play this whole course in less than 30 minutes. It is shaded and has mature trees. This would be a great course for teaching new players and children to play, as long as they are wearing good shoes (see Cons below). The more I play this course, the more I am learning to appreciate it for what it is. It's a good course for a very short course.
Cons: Broken glass and other building materials around the first tee area along with old asphalt shingles which makes me wonder about roofing tacks. Big ditch along holes 4 and 5. This is a drainage ditch that apparently picks up some nasty stuff when it rains. Forget about scrambling down and up after a rain, the sides are steep and slippery. This course holds water in a lot of places despite having a drainage ditch run through it.

It takes a while to find the first tee. Seriously, I'd never thought about it before, but fat, red numbers on baskets are almost impossible to read in the shade. Could basket designers not use high contrast black and white, and thinner numbers? This is an issue on this course, you can see 4-5 baskets from the first tee. Better make sure you know which one is number "1" before you throw. Also, these holes are crowded in on each other. Mutliple groups playing at once could be a problem.

UPDATE: I forgot to mention that the tees are 4x4 feet squares of rubber matting that were apparently placed on the ground with no attempt to level the ground first (or pick up broken glass). This essentially prohibits any run up if you need on. To be fair, most of the holes are so short that you won't need one. The rubber mats are actually more of a tripping hazard than an aid to throwing.
Other Thoughts: There is more water on this course than just holes 4 and 5. There is a creek behind the basket on hole 3 that could easily come into play. You could also get there along the second hole and it is reachable from the first tee.

If you are in the Alexandria area, play the Buhlow and Martin Park Courses if you want a challenge. If you have small kids or are looking for a quick game, Kees Park is a good choice. It will be cooler and a much easier walk and the kids can play at the playground after you finish your round.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 New, fun course.

5+    7/9/2012   7/11/2012
Review By: n8hobbs
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Overall I'm new to disc golf, I've only started playing in May since the Buhlow course opened. So now we have this smaller course, it requires more finesse shots and control then some of the long distance shots Buhlow requires. I think what's also great about this course is that the whole family can enjoy it. It's not too long where kids will get tired and older ones won't have to worry about walking long distances. Course layout is very nice, I love the different shots you can do on various holes.
Cons: I don't have much to say as it's mowed, no huge bushes or limbs that are in the way. There is a bayou/ditch that runs along holes 4 and 5, if you throw right, you'll most likely be in it. I've thrown in there a few times, and some of my friends, we just walk down there and grab it though as it's not full of water, just about ankle deep. Parking could be improved, only able to park about 4-5 cars before getting in the way of hole 9.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really have enjoyed this course and will continue to. If you wanna play a quick game, this is perfect, if you wanna play 18, just restart on hole 1 and try to have a better back 9. I think everyone in the Pineville/Alexandria area should definitely play this course at least once, because once you do, you'll love it too.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.