Lubbock, TX 
Mae Simmons Park Share
Uploaded By: Giantjerk Hole #6 (Taken 8/2013)
-- / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Unique Basket Art

1    5/25/2014   5/26/2014
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4 Years
Pros:
- Concrete tee pads, adequate signs
- Mostly shaded
- Great use of elevation
- Variety of open and tight holes
- No easy holes, no impossible holes - every one is challenging, yet accessible
- Interesting sculptures and artwork on top of the baskets
- Water hazard in play on several holes, but easy to avoid
- Hole 6 - The Hunger Games!
Cons:
- Litter everywhere. Some from disc golfers, some from flooding and water run-off
- Would have liked to have more of a bomb to throw on the elevated teepads (6, 8, 17)
- Layout is confusing... bring a map
Other Thoughts:
Played during the rainiest weekend in recent Lubbock history, I think. The ground was a little muddy, but I can't hold that against this course. The litter was really bad, but if the community would come together and help clean it up, they'd have an excellent little course.

 Great, Groomed and Tough

5+    8/10/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: dac252
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes. It has difficult tree holes, long open holes and fun downhill holes. It is challenging and fun. Concrete on every tee and clearly marked. Cool metal designs on all the baskets. Great for new and experienced players. Hole 13 is tough! Constantly being improved.
Cons: Right now it's a little over grown but it's not hard to find your discs.
Other Thoughts: I'm not from Lubbock and have played courses all over the US. This isn't the best course I've played but it ranks up there. In just the past year it has improved to go from a regular to ok course to a phenomenal course. In response to the earlier reviews, the tees have been clearly marked and the course is no longer confusing.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Experience

1    3/23/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: Beginner@51
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Several holes of high level of difficulty, interesting lay-out. Many trees block both the sun and wind. Challenges your accuracy and obstacle avoidance skills.
Cons: Unmarked tees and occasional confusing pad locations.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

5+    5/7/2013   5/7/2013
Review By: jalowtx
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is fun and difficult at the same time. It is pretty versatile where every basket is different witch keep players on their toes. Once you have been a couple of times the confusion of finding the tee boxes goes away as their are paths to the next one you just have to pay attention for them. The course layout is well done as it is all woven together so you can go and play 18 without taking up all day.
Cons: The only con for this course for me is that a sewer line runs along side of the course and it gets a little smelly at times. Other than that it is a good course for they group to go and have fun.
Other Thoughts: If you love trees you will love this course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mae Simmons Park

1    1/27/2013   1/27/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2013
Pros: I really enjoyed the difficult and technicality of the course. They recently have added tee pads, which is very nice compared to the unlevel dirt that you had to throw on.I liked the uniqueness of each of the baskets. They all have some cool designs. The course doesn't favor righties or lefties but definitely test your ability to throw on a line. I also really like the mando's because they make the course even that much tougher.
Cons: In my original review my cons included lack of tee signs and signage. However, since then they have addressed those issues and even added in benches on many of the holes. The maps were nice and gave accurate locations for the baskets. The only other issue is the trash that is scattered across the course. I know it is not their fault because after rains the trash gets washed down to the course.
Other Thoughts: *I also updated my original review from a 3 to 3.5 because they address some of my issues that I originally had with the course*

 Awesome Change of Pace

5+    7/15/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: ChampionWraith
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New course that has great potential! Shaded for most of the course if you want to get out of the heat. Awesome shot on #6 off the top of the hill. Mando routes make it challenging. Great change of pace!
Cons: If you don't know where the basket is, take your time to walk down and find it. Most are hidden within trees. Definitely a little to overcrowded with trees for my preference. Also, park seems to be a water run off: ton of trash. Some holes run parallel which makes it confusing for beginners. It is apparently easy to lose a disc of there (I found 3 the first day out) so pay attention if your looking to keep your plastics.
Other Thoughts: Take a trash bag please and do something good for the people who spent valuable time and money to make this course possible. Take care of our parks!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.