Howard, WI 
Pamperin Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 452ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Pro Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Take your Pamperin

1    5/28/2012   6/5/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Mach baskets with number plates are some of my favorite baskets.
2) Dual tees, alternating long and short makes for 18 different holes. Some of the tees are different lines, others are just additional distance.
3) In my opinion 5 or 6 of the holes are fun and interesting, while a few are boring and simple. I really enjoyed Holes #3, 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8, but this is enough to make this course enjoyable and above average.
4) Beginner friendly course for the most part, but it will challenge you in the woods.
5) Nice park with a nice clean creek running through the course. There is a really cool suspension bridge over the river and it has the feel of a really old park.
6) Good balance of open, moderately wooded, and densely wooded. I enjoy the variety for sure.
7) Elevation comes into play on a few of the holes while 3 holes remain completely flat. Some is moderate elevation change, and some is extreme, while other holes have the potential for roll-a-ways and potential tough lies on side hills.
8) Excellent distance variation, with a lot of holes in the 100's, 200's, and 300's including a couple in the 400's.
9) Brick paver teepads are done pretty well and set inside of a metal form to keep the bricks from shifting. I was surprised when I saw these that they were in good shape. I never had a problem with a brick or them being inconsistent.
Cons: 1) Park doesn't open until 8 AM, this isn't a huge negative, but I was here at 7 AM (after a 2 hour drive from Milwaukee) so I had to keep driving to other courses and come back.
2) The walk from 2 to 3 can be confusing, if you walk left of the pond you might feel like you are lost and won't find the tee, or you can walk right up #4 fairway and then #3 fairway . . . either way is awkward.
3) Compaction and erosion is obvious here . . .lots of bare soil with little to no turf. The woods have a lot of this and even some areas on the grassy holes have bare soil.
4) It is a little dangerous with the walking path running right along #1, #2, and then right up the fairways on #3 and #4.
5) Some directionals are needed to help with navigation from 2 to 3 and to 7 long tee.
Other Thoughts: This is a course with great balance, I do not really consider it an 18 hole course because only a few of the holes really change a lot with a different tee, other than just adding distance. I played both tees simultaneously so that I could see the entire course.
The disc golf was fun, challenging, and enjoyable, but the walking path danger, along with the compaction and erosion took a little away from this course, but I truly cannot believe this course is rated as low as it is. I think it is at a minimum an average course if not slightly above average because of the variety.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Quick Stop

1    8/7/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: CoolEggman
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Brick Tee Pads
Double Tee Pads on all 9 holes
Park is kept up very well, minimal chances of losing discs
OK distance and hole design for the land that was available
Cons: Alt tee pads are numbered 10-18 but don't really change the way the holes are played, just add distance.
Next hole locations are not marked
Flow, you have to walk down 3 & 4 to get to 3 pad
Couple of tees and pins are vandalized
Other Thoughts: 1/10 - Straight, left to right, flat, open
2/11 - Straight, right to left, flat, open
3/12 - Straight, left to right, flat, corridor
4/13 - Left to right, flat, corridor/trees
5/14 - Straight, flat, open
6/15 - Straight, uphill, heavily treed
7/16 - Straight, flat, corridor
8/17 - Straight, right to left, downhill, corridor
9/18 - Straight, left to right, flat, open

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Decent

1    5/26/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: hebsonc9121
Played: 74  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The 9 hole was fun but the next tee isn't marked very well if at all. Good distances on the FIRST 9 they thought it out well.
Cons: I hate the fact that they use the same pins for the next 18. It makes you not want to even play as there could be problems with others just beginning to play the first 9? What were they thinking that only one group of disc golfers play at a time? This is ridiculous, there is definitely sufficient land space for an additional 9 pins I don't understand it. And why did they make you pass three holes to get to one tee box also didn't think about if other discers were out playing. This would be very hectic on a nice day, good thing I played in the rain.
Other Thoughts: Wonky course mapping but plays well as a 9 hole if you figure it out, but I believe GB has better courses to offer.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = Bery Bery strong 9-holer

1    6/26/2010   2/28/2011
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed this course a lot. As an 18 holer, it would be average at best (most likely below), but as a 9 holer (which it most certainly is), it is pretty high on that separate list I keepů.hence the grade of 87 = B+ = 3.5 discs. But, to get to that high a score, I am doing something I normally do not do and that is play the best tee for each hole. Since walking the same land twice would not feel right (and they want you to do that and call it an 18 holer??), I think I am justified.

What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses (over 110 played):

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C+
(There is not a ton of decision making on most holes or punishment for poor shots. But, if you play the gravel path/road and beyond OB, that adds some spice in some places. There are a few trees on some holes that split the fairway and make you decide how to carve things up, but those choices are pretty rudimentary.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me (I rate only from the long tees). I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == A
(Using the "best of" holes makes this course right in my wheelhouse for fun and challenge. This is what makes me want to get back out there over and over in an attempt to conquer the course. And it is what sets this apart from the vast majority of 9-holers I have played.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B
(Although the holes that curve all seem to be of the left-to-right variety, there are holes that definitely force you to throw the other way too. The wooded holes 6-8 play up and down a hillside which is a nice break from the otherwise mostly flat and more open feel of the course.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+
(While the gravel path is prominent in the course, for some reason it strikes me more as quaint than distracting. Sure, I would prefer a total natural feel, but the seclusion and the feeling that the road leads off into the wilderness added to the mystique. The stream that runs the length of the course and the pond at the back end of the course add a really nice touch to the aesthetics.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == NA. 0 bonus points for this

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Its only nine holes...

1    11/23/2010   1/23/2011
Review By: ACE_Holes4Life
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Pay-to-play, sparsely enforced. Okay use of available real estate (not the best piece of land for disc golf).
Cons: IT'S ONLY 9 HOLES WITH 2 TEE PADS, NOT 18! Some holes require you to walk the length of the fairway, then turnaround and play.
Other Thoughts: Worth playing once and marking on the list...

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course In Green Bay Area

5+    7/5/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: Ace D
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Large, brick tee pads offer good footing. Holes 1, 2, 4, 5 and 9 are closer to the civilian area of the park and have well-maintained grass. About half of the holes' signs are still intact. Good half-and-half mix of short (200-300 foot), wooded holes and long (350-400 foot), open holes. Equally playable for backhand and sidearm throwing styles. Course traffic is almost always light, so it's possible to arrive at the course and tee off without waiting. Mature trees are a strong presence on the course.
Cons: Hapless civilians often stumble into the disc area of the park and can unknowingly hold up play. Playing the same fairways twice to make 18 holes can get repetitive. Lack of trash cans on the course causes litter to build up. Course closes at dusk which may cause evening rounds to be cut short by a patrolling park ranger. Lake on right side of hole 4 can eat any discs that get an unlucky tree kick.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the Green Bay area and don't want to travel far, this course is the best option for a short 9-hole round or full 18.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Park

5+    12/19/2009   1/15/2010
Review By: shoe59
Played: 58  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Brick/paver tee pads, dual Pro/Am tees on every hole (I'd say it's worth it to give both a shot). Signs on every hole show distances
-Good variety of RHBH/LHBH shots required. Good mix of long and short holes as well
-Nice scenery. Cross the creek to get to tee #1. There is a pond near hole 3, and a hill on private land where I've seen turkeys before. The creek is in play on holes 1 and 9 if you really shank it bad (w/ roll).
-Open and wooded holes, the open holes all have at least 1 major obstacle to shape your shot. The wooded holes are shorter but offer some small elevation changes. The open holes are longer, which will provide a challenge for beginners and rewarding birdie opportunities for advanced players and big arms.
-Hole 3 is a nice hole (although it comes with one major Conů)-- a flat shot through a tight but fair gap. 368' from pro tee, 224' from am tee - the gap is tighter from the pro tee. If you look at the posted picture from the long tee, the basket is in the "dark spot" to the right of the path. http://www.dgcoursereview.com.../ecf6b46e.jpg
Cons: Cons:
-Hole #3 is just a major debacle in course flow, although it's worth it to play the hole. It's set up so that you have to walk down the path to the tee pad, and throw right back where you came from. When there's a group playing ahead, you have to wait for them to throw before you walk to the pad
-Some of the tee pads aren't aligned perfectly, and have metal edging that sticks up a bit. I would say there are only 1-2 holes where this is a problem though, and not a huge one. The pads are longer on some holes than others, the shorter holes have shorter pads.
-Only 9 holes.
-Many walkers in the park. There's a gravel walking path that comes into play on holes 1, 2, 3, and 4.
-No bathrooms/water/vending machines available that I'm aware of.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice park where people fish, picnic, and bring their kids - there is a HUGE wooden playground if you have kids (this could keep them occupied for quite a while ;-) if you have someone to watch them while you play). There is some sort of odd looking building, with a bronze dome roof - I'm not sure exactly what it's for. Some sort of community building perhaps.

There is a park attendant that comes around every now and again on his 4-wheeler, he tries to get everyone out of the park before sunset.

Right off of Hwy 29, could get a quick round in before you skip town?!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/18/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: rscd20
Played: 54  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great combination of open and wooded holes
Great flow from hole to hole with one exception
Beautiful scenery playing along the river
Cons: Not really 18 holes. Alt pads are often just longer pads, that don't provide a difference of shot, just longer.
Signs not maintained and vandalized
Other Thoughts: Great park with plenty to do to make a day out of it. Little annoying to get to, where the entrance is not where you would expect it to be.
Watch out for wild turkeys and kids playing in the river
Great, old suspension bridge to cross over from parking lot to play the course

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 NOT 18!!!!

5+    9/6/2008   9/11/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 168  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2009
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course does offer a good mix of terrain and variety of shots. You get some slight uphill and downhill on a wooded ridge, and water hazard risk as well. As far as balancing elements of course design and terrain features, Pamperin does a pretty excellent job.
Cons: Some people may try and convince you that this is an 18 hole course. That is STUPID! But, even the signs are labelled as 1-18. Don't be fooled. There are only nine baskets, and two tees for each. Each one of those tees is given a hole number, fooling you into playing an 18 hole course. This is FOOLISH. It is like saying that every course with multiple tees have that many more holes, no one would do that! Anyway, enough digression on this idiotic thing that bugs me. What is truly a con are the other people in the park. There is a walking trail (paved and offroad) that lots of people, oblivious to disc golfer, use with no thought to hurry up some or wait for a group of discers. If you play here, you will be the minority and your game will be put on hold as people let their kids run around in your fairways and climb on the baskets occasionally. There are only 9 holes, so you cannot get the great balanced variety that deserves a high rating. Most of the holes are simply open too (3 in the woods, 1 near water). The elevation of the wooded ridge is not enough to satisfy your thirst to bomb one downhill either. The tees are made up of brick pavers that are VERY slippery when wet, and not exactly the best traction in any condition.
Other Thoughts: The course suffers from the park itself. The fact that they try and label it as a 18 hole course is absolutely absurd! For a 9 holer, it is fairly good though because it does offer decent balance and variety - just not perfect variety and balance. It could be better, and is easily a full disc below all of the other courses I have rated as 3.5. It is about in the middle of all the 9 holers I've played - Marinette City, Willow Run, and Forest Junction are all quite a bit better. As far as the immediate Green Bay area, Pameprin is probably one of the best, and if you don't mind playing just 9 baskets, this course has the best variety.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love or hate it

5+    9/9/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: GB Phil G
Played: 101  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Presents a decent challenge. It has a variety of drives. Straight and long. Short accurate uphill. Anhyzers. Small trees big trees thick brush OB, nice elevation on the short wooded holes, and some openess too. Get your birdies and feel good course. The park is scenic and has Duck Creek filling an old quarry running through it. The park is large but most is used for park equipment, picnicing, and a pavilion for receptions and parties. Leaving room for only nine baskets and two sets of tee pads. But it all looks very nice. Sandhill cranes, ducks and different fish can be seen frequently as you play along the river.
Cons: The walking trail. People will surely be in your way once. The signs are messed up by hole 3 and elsewhere. The long walk to 3 is annoying. Its only nine holes you play twice from the different pads to make 18 holes. Worse yet in mid summer they will kick you out well before sunset to "close the park". I'm also not a fan of the pads. They are brick, some are wavy and sunk at the front. Some are pointed in wrong direction and theres a metal edge that sticks up around the pad to trip on.
Other Thoughts: If you don't want to get kicked out playing close to dusk then park by hole 3 on end of park rd. I really like playing here, it is a typical challenge, the birdies are here just gotta keep your head in the game to get them. Here's where I edit myself. Rating 2.5 (gotta get my ratings even across the board) Heres where it gets docked points. Walking trail goes right through middle of course, affects 4 holes directly. Its only nine holes. Signs won't help any first time players. A couple tee pads pointed 25 degrees in wrong direction. Nobody maintains course, basket locations will never change. The county will not let league play happen, its an "organized event" to them and requires signed agreements and proof of insurance. Nobody wants to deal with the county because of their rules. It used to be pay to play..... Its a nice place to play with your friends, diverse challenge and has a clean park atmosphere, the only aspects keeping it from a zero.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.