Burbank, CA
DeBell DGC Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #6 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 200ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
9 Hole Gem in Burbank

2-4    12/1/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: Discette
Played: 232  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 17.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is located on a nicely manicured small 9 hole ball golf course. This lush green oasis is a welcome change from the more desert like courses in the area.

This is a short and straightforward course. It is ideal set up for families and new players while advanced players can work on approach and accuracy skills. The price is good for all day.

Nice amenities. There is a pro shop and restrooms at hole 1/9. The staff was super friendly and helpful. They seemed genuinely happy to have disc golfers around. Benches and trash cans throughout course.

The course is well groomed and easy to follow. . Designers did a great job working with the available terrain and trees. A baranca (drainage creek) runs through the course and comes into play on several holes.

Design roughly follows the ball golf layout. The golfers were all nice and respectful of the disc golfers. Ball golfers only seemed to take a little longer to play. It was about half and half for golfers to disc golfers.

The designers made good use of the trees and elevation to provide appropriate challenges. Course provides a great chance for advanced players to practice the putt and approach game. Compact design enables players to get in a quick round or two or three!

I certainly enjoyed the opportunity to make some ace runs at holes. Just because some of the holes are short, does not make them an easy two. Players still need to avoid the greens, the baranca, the trees and deal with the wind.

A great workout for such a compact course. The gradual elevation changes can really add up, especially if you play fast or if you play more than once. Strollers that can handle thick plush grass will have no problems.

Other than hole 1, the tees are natural grass. The tees are moved to keep the turf nice and green. It is a short course, so full size pads are not really necessary.
Multiple pin placements on most holes will rotate on a regular basis.

Easy to reach from the I-5 Freeway.


Cons: Didn't see any signs for disc golf on the course, but the map on this site works fine, even if alternate pins are in use.

Natural grass tees may be a con for some players. At these distances, tees are not really necessary.

Not really a con for a nine hole course, but this is a short course. Not likely to challenge those looking to throw big distance. But here in So Cal where land is at a premium, another course is always appreciated.

Can get stuck behind slower playing golfers. All the golfers and disc golfers I saw here looked like true beginners or kids.
Other Thoughts: Maybe this course doesn't get much love because it is in Burbank.

Compared to most nine hole courses I have played, this is one of the best and my rating reflects how this compares to those other 9 hole courses.

Easy to reach off the I-5 Freeway. Definitely worth the stop to check it out if you are driving by. It would be easy to get in 18 holes in a hour if not crowded.

Seriously considering trying golf here for the first time since my youth.

Print the map from here. Pro shop was out when I played.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth the drive

1    8/11/2012   8/11/2012
Review By: strotter
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really nice grass. Well groomed.
Cons: No signs on tees. Two orange rocks mark each tee. Had to spend a lot of time looking for the tees. Found it very annoying. I'm sure they have to be adding signs. Only 9 holes. Had to pay $6 (weekend)
Other Thoughts: I commend a "ball" golf course for adding disc golf. However, I think they would benefit from asking some locals to come up with a more challenging lay out. If you live within 30 minute drive, it would be worth the drive just for variety. If you are traveling, not worth doing.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Opening Day

1    7/15/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: xuaeded
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good terrain, very little dust, good shade. Some good technical throws. The designers did the best they could. A better disc course than ball.
Cons: Shortish. Grass tees marked by painted rocks.
Other Thoughts: Came here opening day and the place was packed with familiar faces. It is a welcome addition to the Socal disc-golf scene. It is the fourth course in "disc golf alley" in the foothills north of L.A. There are now four courses (Oak Grove, Verdugo, and Sylmar) within a ten mile stretch near the 210 freeway.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good clean beginners course

1    7/15/2012   7/15/2012
Review By: Danger
Played: 86  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy terrain for walking (all grass)
Varied elevation
$4 weekday / $6 weekend keeps the riff raff out
Discatchers
No blinds
Nice neighborhood
Varying, swirling winds (haven't felt wind in 5 days, haven't felt wind since I left)
Benches, trash cans, and water fountains for all you amenity chasers :)
Cons: Short
Natural tees (assuming this will improve)
No multiple tees (was told this will improve)
Very small piece of land, difficult for any reliable expansion to occur. Unless we expand to the 18 hole...which would be awesome.
Other Thoughts: DeBell Disc Golf is the latest 'Disc on Ball Golf Course' in the Los Angeles area and it is the most tame one yet. This simple 9 hole course sits on about 10 acres of rolling hills below a debris basin bordering an upscale neighborhood. A variety of trees including maple and pine trees shape lines on the course and typically will not allow errant discs to pass through. A concrete river-type-thing runs through the center of the course, and as of now does not play OB.

The course begins strong with a set of downhill holes, the first being a very obtainable steeper shot and the second I believe is the longest on the course. Look for the orange rocks (maybe more colors in the future?), which indicate the tee. They will be near the ball golf tees, within about 50 feet or so...our course follows the same layout as the existing course. Temporary tee signs were set up with distances on them, but I'm not sure if these will last or if something will replace them once they tweak all the tee locations. Beyond the 2nd hole, distances shorten up but the course opens up a bit for holes 6 and 7.

Once across the ravine on hole 4, the remainder of the course reveals itself to players as the majority of it is visible from that point...and it's not very large. Nonetheless, these holes are not just straight-forward pitch and putts; most incorporate a substantial turn, and there is even a nifty triple mando on hole five (a tunnel, and later a tree that you shouldn't pass). Additionally, the ball golf greens were on several occasions placed in the 'wrong' landing zone providing additional punishment for the wrong shot. For example, on a left dogleg, the bolf greens were dead ahead. Remember, ball golf greens play OB at these courses.

Hole 9 appeared to be the designers favorite hole, a right dogleg over a ravine with substantial tree coverage. This hole still needs a little time to mature but while it does not look very obtainable off of the tee, we found that our drives were all within long-birdie range, as was the case on several previous holes. That tends to happen when most holes are in the 250 foot range :) My favorite part about hole 9 was the fact that the ball golf green is right where a well thrown straight shot would land, which provides a challenge for beginner players.

Locals, please be sure to get up to this course and support the Disc on Ball Golf movement. It's not going to really win you over with its mega extreme challenges, but its always nice to have a new course. If these struggling Par 3 courses (and they are EVERYWHERE) start to pull profit from disc, we will see more disc golf installments...simple as that. This is a great course to visit if you are introducing somebody to the sport: It's clean, quiet, fun, and straightforward. In addition, it's pretty hard to lose a disc here. On both of our visits we saw a few 'disc golfers' but more importantly saw a bunch of kids and families throwing disc which is great! Something we just don't see too often in LA. I wish Zach and everybody at DeBell all the best with the evolution of the course as well as a local club. This is now the closest disc golf course for millions of residents in the Eastern San Fernando Valley. Oh, and props to Burbank for having the Mayor come out for the opening day ceremonies, what a great way to make us feel welcome in their city!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.