Burbank, CA 
DeBell DGC Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #5 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 215ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Little Throw On A Three Par Golf Course!

1    6/17/2014   7/4/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: DeBell DGC is set on the grounds of a typical little Three Par Ball Golf Course. As with most of these three par courses, the grounds feature a good amount of varied elevation and scattered trees, great terrain for disc golf. You tee off the grass with the tees being marked by the little round blue balls, just like a real golf course. The baskets are Innova with the yellow bands and are easy to spot here. The $5 to play on weekdays ($7 on weekends) is fairly steep and will probably keep many players away. It makes much more cents if you plan on playing multiple rounds to get the bang for your dollars.

The distances aren't long but there are some technical holes which require proper placement of your shots. The golf greens are considered OB which add to the course's difficulty.
The wind was blowing pretty good on the day I played. I understand that's pretty much the norm here.

I liked # 9 as the signature hole. it's about 400' over a drainage ditch/creek and through a gap in the trees to a basket somewhat up the hill heading back to the clubhouse/pro shop.

Everyone seemed pretty comfortable and welcoming having disc golfers on the course. This was the first of three of these Par Three Ball Golf Courses I played in SoCal.
Cons: $5 or $7 to play is steep especially if you only play one round.
The course, while wonderfully maintained by disc golf standards, was not perfectly green and beautiful like many golf courses.
It's a recreational course in both length and difficulty.
Other Thoughts: Wishing I was younger (Yeah, OK, much, much younger) because as I was leaving there was a group of extremely hot young (HS) girls starting to play a round of three Par.

I'd play this course if I lived close and it was convenient. The cost would probably detract me somewhat but it certainly does help keep the rift-raft away and away from the nubile young girls.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun beginner course

1    5/26/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 754  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course follows a short par 3 golf course, even though the maintenance isn't top notch by golf standards it's still impeccable for disc golf. The fairways are nicely mowed, and the course is clean and trimmed. The golf greens add some OB challenge, often in the vicinity of the basket so you have to decide whether you want to risk going right at it or leave yourself a longer putt and avoid the chance of a penalty.

The course is surprisingly technical for a shared layout, the tees and pins are placed creatively so they still follow the flow of the golf course but the trees on the edges of their fairways make nice obstacles for us. There's a semi-tunnel shot and a couple low ceilings to navigate, and to get your birdies you'll have to execute a few different lines. The alternate pin placements didn't change things drastically, but they'll help reduce wear and they make for enough of a change to raise the replay factor some.

The tees are level with plenty of room for a runup. The grass is kept nicely, so it provides fine footing when dry. The baskets are in good shape. The layout is easy to follow, and there are only a couple blind pin positions so there's not too much wandering or scouting necessary.
Cons: This course is clearly designed to be approachable for beginners, so the hole lengths aren't really a challenge for experienced players, nor are the lines really tricky enough to need a full set of shots. There is no signage for the golf course, so you have to do some guessing on hole lengths, but the layout is still easy to follow. The natural tees were fine to throw from, but several were showing wear and could turn into an issue if they're not moved around or covered with a more durable material.
Other Thoughts: This kind of golf course makes for a good venue for a shared course. The clientele are more casual, so there weren't any conflicts even with several groups of players of both sports sharing the course. It's very beginner friendly course that will challenge a new player without being frustrating. Experienced throwers won't find a ton of challenge, it's a fun mid and putter course without much penalty for missing your line.

The cost is a little high if you're playing just one round, but if you're staying for a few it's entirely reasonable. This course is worth a look if you want to introduce a less outdoorsy person to the sport, just don't come here expecting gold level challenge.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great 9 holes, with a catch

5+    4/15/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: IsThisThingOn
Played: 17  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - good shot variety (left and right)
- lots of elevation change without being oppressive
- very well maintained
- multiple pin placements REALLY change the course
- despite being annoyingly high, the green fees do keep out the usual d-bags we've all met at every course in the country
Cons: - $5 on weekdays and $7 on weekends is obscene for disc golf. I don't mind paying a couple of bucks, but we're paying to maintain the crappy greens for the ball golfers. $2-3 would be reasonable.
- No signage and no course map. It's relatively easy to follow but would be nice anyway.
- BALL GOLFERS - this is a course for duffers. Since the course only lets ball golfers play one round, a lot of them will shoot 3-4 balls per hole. Most of them are nice enough to let you play through, but it can get annoying.
Other Thoughts: By far the best 9 hole course I've played. Only moderately challenging but with nice ace runs on 4-6 holes depending on pin placement A great place to take newer players while still enjoying yourself.

I would have given this 4.5 but the high green fees take off a full point. Lots of us are 3-5 day players and that starts to add up. It would be great if they'd offer a monthly membership at a reasonable price.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

9 Hole Gem in Burbank

2-4    12/1/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: Discette
Played: 242  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 18 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is located on a nicely manicured small 9 hole ball golf course. This lush green oasis is a welcome change from the more desert like courses in the area.

This is a short and straightforward course. It is ideal set up for families and new players while advanced players can work on approach and accuracy skills. The price is good for all day.

Nice amenities. There is a pro shop and restrooms at hole 1/9. The staff was super friendly and helpful. They seemed genuinely happy to have disc golfers around. Benches and trash cans throughout course.

The course is well groomed and easy to follow. . Designers did a great job working with the available terrain and trees. A baranca (drainage creek) runs through the course and comes into play on several holes.

Design roughly follows the ball golf layout. The golfers were all nice and respectful of the disc golfers. Ball golfers only seemed to take a little longer to play. It was about half and half for golfers to disc golfers.

The designers made good use of the trees and elevation to provide appropriate challenges. Course provides a great chance for advanced players to practice the putt and approach game. Compact design enables players to get in a quick round or two or three!

I certainly enjoyed the opportunity to make some ace runs at holes. Just because some of the holes are short, does not make them an easy two. Players still need to avoid the greens, the baranca, the trees and deal with the wind.

A great workout for such a compact course. The gradual elevation changes can really add up, especially if you play fast or if you play more than once. Strollers that can handle thick plush grass will have no problems.

Other than hole 1, the tees are natural grass. The tees are moved to keep the turf nice and green. It is a short course, so full size pads are not really necessary.
Multiple pin placements on most holes will rotate on a regular basis.

Easy to reach from the I-5 Freeway.


Cons: Didn't see any signs for disc golf on the course, but the map on this site works fine, even if alternate pins are in use.

Natural grass tees may be a con for some players. At these distances, tees are not really necessary.

Not really a con for a nine hole course, but this is a short course. Not likely to challenge those looking to throw big distance. But here in So Cal where land is at a premium, another course is always appreciated.

Can get stuck behind slower playing golfers. All the golfers and disc golfers I saw here looked like true beginners or kids.
Other Thoughts: Maybe this course doesn't get much love because it is in Burbank.

Compared to most nine hole courses I have played, this is one of the best and my rating reflects how this compares to those other 9 hole courses.

Easy to reach off the I-5 Freeway. Definitely worth the stop to check it out if you are driving by. It would be easy to get in 18 holes in a hour if not crowded.

Seriously considering trying golf here for the first time since my youth.

Print the map from here. Pro shop was out when I played.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Not worth the drive

1    8/11/2012   8/11/2012
Review By: strotter
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really nice grass. Well groomed.
Cons: No signs on tees. Two orange rocks mark each tee. Had to spend a lot of time looking for the tees. Found it very annoying. I'm sure they have to be adding signs. Only 9 holes. Had to pay $6 (weekend)
Other Thoughts: I commend a "ball" golf course for adding disc golf. However, I think they would benefit from asking some locals to come up with a more challenging lay out. If you live within 30 minute drive, it would be worth the drive just for variety. If you are traveling, not worth doing.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Opening Day

1    7/15/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: xuaeded
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good terrain, very little dust, good shade. Some good technical throws. The designers did the best they could. A better disc course than ball.
Cons: Shortish. Grass tees marked by painted rocks.
Other Thoughts: Came here opening day and the place was packed with familiar faces. It is a welcome addition to the Socal disc-golf scene. It is the fourth course in "disc golf alley" in the foothills north of L.A. There are now four courses (Oak Grove, Verdugo, and Sylmar) within a ten mile stretch near the 210 freeway.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good clean beginners course

1    7/15/2012   7/15/2012
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy terrain for walking (all grass)
Varied elevation
$4 weekday / $6 weekend keeps the riff raff out
Discatchers
No blinds
Nice neighborhood
Varying, swirling winds (haven't felt wind in 5 days, haven't felt wind since I left)
Benches, trash cans, and water fountains for all you amenity chasers :)
Cons: Short
Natural tees (assuming this will improve)
No multiple tees (was told this will improve)
Very small piece of land, difficult for any reliable expansion to occur. Unless we expand to the 18 hole...which would be awesome.
Other Thoughts: DeBell Disc Golf is the latest 'Disc on Ball Golf Course' in the Los Angeles area and it is the most tame one yet. This simple 9 hole course sits on about 10 acres of rolling hills below a debris basin bordering an upscale neighborhood. A variety of trees including maple and pine trees shape lines on the course and typically will not allow errant discs to pass through. A concrete river-type-thing runs through the center of the course, and as of now does not play OB.

The course begins strong with a set of downhill holes, the first being a very obtainable steeper shot and the second I believe is the longest on the course. Look for the orange rocks (maybe more colors in the future?), which indicate the tee. They will be near the ball golf tees, within about 50 feet or so...our course follows the same layout as the existing course. Temporary tee signs were set up with distances on them, but I'm not sure if these will last or if something will replace them once they tweak all the tee locations. Beyond the 2nd hole, distances shorten up but the course opens up a bit for holes 6 and 7.

Once across the ravine on hole 4, the remainder of the course reveals itself to players as the majority of it is visible from that point...and it's not very large. Nonetheless, these holes are not just straight-forward pitch and putts; most incorporate a substantial turn, and there is even a nifty triple mando on hole five (a tunnel, and later a tree that you shouldn't pass). Additionally, the ball golf greens were on several occasions placed in the 'wrong' landing zone providing additional punishment for the wrong shot. For example, on a left dogleg, the bolf greens were dead ahead. Remember, ball golf greens play OB at these courses.

Hole 9 appeared to be the designers favorite hole, a right dogleg over a ravine with substantial tree coverage. This hole still needs a little time to mature but while it does not look very obtainable off of the tee, we found that our drives were all within long-birdie range, as was the case on several previous holes. That tends to happen when most holes are in the 250 foot range :) My favorite part about hole 9 was the fact that the ball golf green is right where a well thrown straight shot would land, which provides a challenge for beginner players.

Locals, please be sure to get up to this course and support the Disc on Ball Golf movement. It's not going to really win you over with its mega extreme challenges, but its always nice to have a new course. If these struggling Par 3 courses (and they are EVERYWHERE) start to pull profit from disc, we will see more disc golf installments...simple as that. This is a great course to visit if you are introducing somebody to the sport: It's clean, quiet, fun, and straightforward. In addition, it's pretty hard to lose a disc here. On both of our visits we saw a few 'disc golfers' but more importantly saw a bunch of kids and families throwing disc which is great! Something we just don't see too often in LA. I wish Zach and everybody at DeBell all the best with the evolution of the course as well as a local club. This is now the closest disc golf course for millions of residents in the Eastern San Fernando Valley. Oh, and props to Burbank for having the Mayor come out for the opening day ceremonies, what a great way to make us feel welcome in their city!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.