Disc Golf Store
Franklin, MA 
Dacey Fields Share
Uploaded By: jkmello Hole #1 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 180ft.   4 / 244ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Long Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great Course

2-4    11/7/2014   1/19/2014
Review By: seanyboyhoward
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a variety of selection in elevation, hole location, distance...etc. The holes that have tee pads are perfect, nice and long! The course is difficult because of the amount of trees on the course. you need to find a line and hit it our you will hit a tree.
Every hole is different and the wooded area is beautiful!

Cons:
Other Thoughts: I came back to this course from NJ and the changes that have been made are incredible. Great job to whomever is working on this course. This is one of the best courses i have played! Keep up the great work!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Coming Along Well

2-4    10/31/2013   11/1/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 120  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice piece of land, and whoever is working on the course has done a lot of work to carve a course out of the woods.

The terrain is similar to Borderland but with more elevation. Nearly every hole has at least a bit of elevation change. Hole 16 has a pretty big dropoff (something like 250 long and 30 feet down) and forces a forehand or turnover line to reach the basket. Two holes (5 and 6, I think) have baskets perched on rocky bluffs about 10 feet above the rest of the fairway, making for some nice risk/reward putts.

16 of the 18 holes are in the woods, but the two that aren't have awful rough that you'll want to avoid. A small creek comes into play on hole 1.

The wooded fairways here are pretty wide. It will take a pretty bad shot or a bad richochet to end up in the rough. You can occasionally get away with some bad tee shots, but there are plenty of trees and often multiple lines. I think the replayability here will be high as you discover optimal landing areas and lines. These are important because there are four or five legit par 4's or very difficult par 3's. Holes range from about 200-450 feet. The course starts off shorter and gets longer as you proceed, but there are a couple birdie runs late in the round to provide some variety.

Navigation is generally pretty good. They make great use of white "next tee" signs. You won't need a map here.

The blue tee pads are starting to be installed. Several are in, several are dug up to remove rocks and roots, and others are still natural. The red and yellow tees are marked with flags but are pretty rough.
Cons: Most of the "cons" are a reflection of where the course is in its installation, not oversights by the designers. The tee signs are hand-drawn and show the rough direction of the fairway, but only some shoe distance. Navigation between holes in the area around 3-7 and 17-18 needs a few more "next tee" signs.

I'm not sure that three tees on each hole are necessary. I played the blues and reds. The blues are longer and force somewhat tougher lines. The reds gave better looks at birdies but still had some challenge. I didn't play the yellow tees and probably never would. Hopefully the designers focus on completing the blue tees, as true beginners probably won't care about or need great tee pads.

There aren't many signature holes here. The holes with the elevated baskets are memorable, and the two open holes break things up, but many of the other fairways are pretty similar. That said, the holes are certainly not boring, and I think the designers are using the land well.
Other Thoughts: I'm impressed with the amount of work done here. I visited a month ago and when I came back this week, several tees were installed as well as sturdy walkways over the marshy areas. There were workers when I was there carting in rocks for the base of more tee pads.

This is a much-needed course within the 495 loop and is only slightly farther from Boston than Borderland. I will revise my review as more work is done here. This will easily be a 3.5 and maybe a 4.0 when all is said and done, and it is more than playable in its current state.

UPDATE: There are now two sets of tees: the blues and the whites. The whites are consolidated from the old red and yellow-flagged tee areas. I applaud this change. About half the tees have rubber pads, and two have wooden raised platforms with rubber pads. Keep it coming.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the woods

5+    10/29/2013   10/30/2013
Review By: andrew02038
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is very wooded, which places a premium on accuracy over distance. This differentiates it mechanically and aesthetically from many of the other courses I've played. The length and trajectory of the holes are varied and engaging.
Cons: The course is still undergoing refinements necessary to make it in league with courses like Maple Hill. The formal tees are still under construction, as are the walkways. Markings between holes can sometimes be a but unclear.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really enjoy this course. I find it fun and well-designed, especially considering that it's free. As the remainder of the refinements come to fruition, this course will get even better.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not There Yet

1    10/3/2013   10/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There is potential in this course, and it seems as if some work is still going on, so it could get better but it's just not there yet.

There is potential for not just good, but great holes. Some of the natural elevation changes could be used to make fantastic layouts. Though none are perfect as is, a different tee layout or some careful tree removal could make these hole something special.

It's also clear of low brush to a large extent. How much of that is natural and how much is intense work I can't say, but it's a nice feature.

The work that is going in is impressive, the series of bridges that cross streams and muddy areas is amazing and among the most impressive I've seen. Thanks to being able to avoid these areas, the terrain that is used is dry, dry, dry.

A ton of the course flows through some of my favorite terrain. Wooded, with fairways and rough composed of standalone trees. I do prefer the ratio of trees to be more noticeable between the fairway and the rough, but that could still be fixed.

It also flows very nicely from hole to hole. Signs are typically not needed as there is one path leading away from the green. The paths are very well maintained and easy to follow.
Cons: There are a few major problems, however, which keep the rating from being higher.

The fairways. Not great. Not terrible for the most part, but in a lot cases trees should come down so that there is a fairway instead of an area that has been cleared of brush, like a lot of them are currently.

The tees: Now, I'm not someone who insists on poured tees. Natural tees can suit me just fine. I do prefer them to flat. These are not. Moreover, they are often punctuated by stumps that demand attention during tee shots. The signs boast of three tees, and this too is unnecessary. One good tee is preferable to three dangerous/hard to find ones.

The signs: I'm not sure if these are even meant to be permanent. Either way, they are insanely vague. With baskets that are often blind to the tee, a distance is helpful. These signs main purpose is to indicate a tee.

The exposed rock: There's way too much of it and many an awesome drive could hit the ground an smash hard into a a rock sticking up a foot off the ground.
Other Thoughts: I would like to see what this course looks like down the line. I would not be surprised if it is a much better course in the future as most of the problems are solvable.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

2-4    8/22/2013   8/22/2013
Review By: backbeat21
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice challenging course that keeps you guessing with some short holes in the beginning leading to some really long ones in the middle.
Cons: Marking is still a little rough. It's pretty easy to find the next whole and the blue tees, but par's aren't marked and the other tee boxes can be tough to find.
Other Thoughts: Flew in from out of town for a week and got to play this one four times through the week. Definitely a great course and a nice challenge.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Work In Progress

1    8/3/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: sega
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Love the location, layout is nice and the thoughtfulness of having multiple sets of tees. Also HUGE positive to have the practice pin as well. Love the work being done - great progress folks!
Cons: Still a work in progress. Signage needs a little updating - I got a little off track quite a few times. Also the amount of poison ivy on many of the holes is a little bothersome. Will be better in the fall when i play with pants on instead of shorts! :)
Other Thoughts: Again - directional signage and a more updated (and printable) map to follow.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Coming Along

1    5/27/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: HomemadeBasket
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.2 Years
Pros: Baskets are mint.
Challenging, tight course with 3 sets of tees on each hole.
Great setting in the trees, very enjoyable course to play.
Mix of shots needed, a few different elevation shots as well.
Mostly in the shade, big plus during summer.
Lots of trash cans, place was pretty much spotless.
Practice basket.
Lots of space to warm up.
Port-a-potties by parking lot.
Lots of parking
Cons: Some tee boxes have major roots, rocks, and stumps sticking up.
Next Tee Signs need to be updated, larger, and more frequent. Paths should be marked a bit more clearly.
Tee Signs need distances and par on them.
18 needs a mow (but rest of course is looking good).
Other Thoughts: Had a really nice time here.
First time playing.
Course is really coming along and has some real potential to be a a top notch course.
Rubber Tee pads would work well here.
The layout is tight and seemed to favor flick (RHBH,I was throwing my forehand a bunch, seemed like more than usual, which is cool : ).
No doubt I'll be back here soon.

 Needs some work.

1    1/13/2013   1/22/2013
Review By: Pelon11587
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is quite large and has a lot of potential. Wood walkways are placed over much of the muddy thoroughfares. "Next Tee" signs are extremely helpful.
Cons: The basket diagrams are drawn in marker. The weather has washed them into messy tie die, I had to look up online the pars for each basket, most tee offs are puddles of mud, and the 17 to 18 basket is a backtrack.
Other Thoughts: Granted this is a new course and improvements are being made but at its present state it is no 4. I went to this course thinking it was in league with Maple Hill, Pyramids, Borderland, and Tully Lake. I was disappointed. I will go back in the summer in hopes it will be finished.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Just keeps getting better

5+    12/25/2012   1/2/2013
Review By: cedman1981
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a fantastic addition to MA disc golf. Still in the rough stages of being built, but it gets better every time I play. Great mix of shots. Gorgeous scenery. Brand new baskets. PLUS we finally have a metrowest course?! What's not to love?
Cons: The only negative aspects to the course are things that I'm hesitant to even call cons:
1) No teepads = Some dicey footing on some holes.
2) Slightly confusing tee signs
3) Can be a bit tricky finding the next tee if you aren't familiar with the course.

I almost didn't want to include these because they are all things that are either currently being worked on, or the course designers have stated are already planned for 2013.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoy playing the course. Some very interesting holes requiring a wide array of shots. I love that a lot of the holes really require you to think your way through to make sure that you have a lane for your next shot.

Also a BIG fan of the fact that short tees have recently been put in. I like to play with my gf when we can, but she's a very casual player and would quickly get frustrated by how long some of the tee shots are. The short tees really open the course up to all levels of disc golfers.

In just the 3 months I've been playing here, I've seen incredible amounts of progress. Can't wait to see what this course looks like by summer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Excellent addition to NE disc golf scene

5+    10/20/2012   10/21/2012
Review By: jkmello
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The construction of Dacey Fields brings the first 18 hole disc golf course to metrowest. Dacey was built with a "disc golf first" mentality. Rather than trying to squeeze a course into some open space, Dacey was carved out of a 100 acre+ forest behind a multi-use town park. The landscape of the course is diverse and includes old farm roads and orchards, dense pine grooves, old growth hardwood forests with massive oak and maple trees, and a wide gently sloping hill which comes into play on holes 6-16.

The majority of holes here have a long drive to start. There are 13 holes over 280ft long and 8 par 4's. No two holes are alike at Dacey. The course demands a wide range of skills to compete and is a definite challenge for seasoned disc golfers. Great combination of dog leg left/right, up and downhill. Excellent use of terrain with shots over streams, off cliffs, through large fields, and carving through trees. Challenging greens with several elevated baskets.

Definitely play here the first chance you get. You won't be disappointed.
Cons: Work during spring & summer 2012 was focused on clearing fairways and trails and setting baskets. Tees are still natural. Work on rubber tees to begin in spring 2013.

Several small patches of poison ivy on holes 4 and 18. Nothing crazy (grass height or lower). Will be managed by the town over time.
Other Thoughts: Follow the white arrows to get around. All trails are cleared, although there is a large trail network on the course. Just follow the arrows and you're good.

Work is still ongoing to clean up and improve the course. If you're interested in volunteering, you can follow Dacey Fields Disc Golf on either facebook (https://www.facebook.com/DaceyFieldsDiscGolf ) or NEFA (http://forums.nefa.com/).

This course exactly what the sport of disc golf needs to grow and expand; a challenging course on a beautiful piece of property that is easily accessible.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.