Battle Creek, MI 
Dexter Lake Church Share
Uploaded By: jonesydesign Hole #2 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I pray, while someone down the street gambles

1    7/27/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1180  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hole # 1 blind basket, had to go over a little knoll as the fairway went leftwards

hole # 2, trees in your face off the teeing area, with the parking lot the length of the fairway all on the left side of the hole. Your not going to throw a straight shot.

I also liked hole # 7 which the basket was in a grove of pine trees with a semi steep slope surrounding the back side of the green

and I liked # 8 which have the most defined fairway on the course IMO, but was also a hard hole for a LHBH player. As it was tight for the beginning of the fairway, then it opened up a bit with the basket so far left that there wasn't to many ways that one could throw their disc through the pine grove that surrounded basket # 7)

Good Flow.
Cons: Dirt tees and broken tees signs and no facilities we're the only major flaws, I saw on this 9 hole course (But I doubt very seriously that the Church goers are the one's to blame for the broken tee signs).

No restrooms, (unless the church was open)
Other Thoughts: I like courses on Church Properties, as I'm hoping that the youth ministries of these churches (that have courses) have some kind of youth DG days or leagues.

Within a mile of the Firekeepers Casino and close to the Interstate.

when one plays a 9 hole course, one expects a very recreational type of course. This course is for the rec to advanced player and has a couple of challenging holes.

Ample parking.

Veterans Memorial between # 2 basket and # 3 tee.

As mentioned before, within a mile of the Firekeppers Casino on the East side of Battle Creek.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

shallow and pedantic

1    4/3/2013   4/3/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- Plays through the front yard of a large church. VERY wide open with minimal trees or elevation change.

Baskets-- Brand new ChainStars. nice and visible and grippy! in great repair

Navigation/signage-- signage is basic at best but the navigation is relatively easy.

Impossible to lose a disc here unless you really shank it into the woods badly.
Cons:
Boring-- course provides no real challenge. the day I was there it was extremely windy and that was about the only challenge I had. without elevation change and without much in the way of foliage there isn't much to write home about.

risk/reward/challenge-- not really any to speak of.

Tees- sand and logs mainly. though they're not bad I guess.

Other Thoughts: I would guarantee this course was designed by a disc golfer as there are lines to be followed BUT, a destination course this is not.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Open Course

2-4    7/14/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: Ricky_Rick
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Signage for each hole
* Designated tee areas (sand)
* Baskets at every hole
* Wide open on most holes
* Great practice course
* Good use of land available
* Easy to get to from Highway
Cons: * Sand instead of Concrete Tee pads
* Grass not watered, burned up & hard
* Just 9 holes
Other Thoughts: Had a good time playing this short, wide open course. Easy to navigate holes, good use of land available. More of a practice course than a destination course. Good for beginners.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Amatuer friendly

5+    7/9/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: SlothsLair
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - It's never crowded
- There are a couple holes to air it out and a very technical hole to challenge you.
- Easy to navigate from hole to hole
- Clearly marked tee signs
Cons: - A couple of the tee boxes are loose sand.
- It is a very short course
Other Thoughts: Hole 7 will challenge anybody. There is no straight forward approach, as the basket is in the middle of a copse of trees.

Brand new course, first opened on I believe 6/30/2012.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.