Sioux City, IA 
Western Iowa Tech Community College Share
Uploaded By: OldEnough2TB   (Taken 6/2013)
Course Sign



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice course that is close to home

5+    4/12/2015   4/12/2015
Review By: Moonman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a decently well kept up course that can challenge even the more experienced players with some skill shots.
The pros of this course are...
- Nearby parking
- Well kept course (always mowed)
- Challenging at some points
- But still easy enough for the average player
- Uses a wide variety of shots and approaches
- Uses the land well
Cons: - Flooding in some spots (when heavy rain)
- Easy enough to lose discs in tall grass past holes, or in woods
- Small concrete tee off pads
- Relatively same distance of hole length
Other Thoughts: It is a great course for the average joe player and the beginning player. It can be very forgiving in some spots, but ruthless in others. I am from the area, so it is a great course to go out too and get some throws in.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Simple, good course

5+    4/5/2015   4/7/2015
Review By: wolf pack
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is fairly simple, but with some added twists to challenge veteran players. Some of the pros on this course include:
*Nearby parking
*easily navigated course
*Variety in length
*Fairly well kept
*Recently added concrete tees
Cons: There is some flooding that can happen on the #6 fairway if there has been rain in the area. The recently added concrete tees could be extended another couple of feet to give more room for drives.
Other Thoughts: I am from around the area, and I find this course to be a perfect choice to come out with some buddies and have a fun round of disc, nothing to serious. This is not one to go out of your way for, but if you live within 15-20 miles, stop by and give it a quick throw.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

OK course for the land it's on.

1    8/8/2014   8/9/2014
Review By: cydisc
Played: 171  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 19.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good elevation
- Good variety of hole lengths
- Signage OK.
- Course navigates well
Cons: - Dirt tees
- A little unbalanced in shot shapes (more on this below).
- Ground can get sloppy at the bottom.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I decent 9 holes for a community college and a good addition to the school's recreation offerings.

The course starts and ends in roughly the same place, by a parking lot near what appears to be the school's student center. The course is pretty wide open but quite hilly. My only beef with the design is that when there is a line of trees on one side, it's always on the right side. It could stand to have at least one hole that would force you to throw a right to left shot.

In my opinion, it's probably the best of the three courses in the area, which is too bad, because SC has lots of great parks that could certainly support a very good course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Use the Woods!

1    9/4/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 356  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Some decent elevation, 2 especially comes to mind.
-Trees in the way here and there.
-Nice baskets
-The distance was fairly varied and not too short. A good amount of distance for most disc golfers.
-Signs aren't too bad. Informative enough.
Cons: -Pretty open, I would have much preferred it if the holes would go into the woods more. It would also block the sun and the wind much more than it does now. I don't know why they worked along the edges of the woods instead of going in there.
-Some of the fairways crossed and got really close together. Shouldn't be a real problem unless this course gets a lot more popular.
-Natural tees. I am wondering if those will be updated further.
Other Thoughts: Sioux City is in desperate need of a legit disc golf course. There isn't one in the whole area. This and Sertoma are decent but not great 9 holers and Crystal Cove in South Sioux is worse and 18 holes. I wouldn't say that any of these courses are really worth stopping at but they would suffice if you lived in Sioux City.
-I think this course has a decent amount of room for both improvement on its current layout and for expansion. That would be exciting.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short course, good to play every now and then

1    8/5/2012   8/4/2013
Review By: govigsfly
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good for beginners. Some very interesting shots (uphill and downhill). Designer was very creative with the space. Short and can play fast if you are looking for a few quick rounds.

Cons: After a few times playing this course it would get dull fast.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course on small college campus!

1    7/14/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: FredHJ12
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice course for college students, or residents in the area.
-Beginner friendly!
-The baskets were new and in excellent shape.
-No tee boxes yet, but it appears that they will be put in soon.
-Same goes for tee signs, they more than likely will be put in soon.
-Good distance variaton--a few around 400, but also a few around 200.
-Good use of the land there to have trees and such in the fairways to create a bit of a challenge.
-It is a challenge to birdie the holes, but it is fun in the process.
-One hole sticks out to me, Hole 4. The tee is right in front of a line of about 8-12 trees, and the basket is right behind the last tree. That hole is fun!
-Another hole that is another of my favorites is hole 2--a straight bomb shot down a hill. Unleash your driver on this one!
-I was told by a worker on the campus that they will be putting discs for sale in a building on the campus near the course... Sweet!
-I'm sure that Alumni of WIT will have a great time here!
Cons: -Only 9 holes.
-I'm guessing it is still in the process of being completed--No legit tee signs or tee boxes yet.
-This is only a concern on hot days, but there was no shade to take note of, except near the baskets of a few.
-Intersecting fairways--could be a hassle if there are multiple people on the course.
-There is a slight chance of tossing a disc into some trees.
-It doesn't seem like there was much thought put into this course--just seems slopped together.
Other Thoughts: I stopped here with my dad and we had a very good time. It was his first time but he still did quite well. It is a nice little course for beginners. I prefer Sertoma to this, but this is much better for first timers. I still recommend this to everyone because it is still fun and a good challenge!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.