Seattle, WA
Mineral Springs Park Share
Uploaded By: Adrenalinedan Hole #16 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee: Basket down and to the right hiding in the group of trees.



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
A fun round, but not too challenging

5+    7/29/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: b-mart
Played: 42  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Being the only course in Seattle proper, this place instantly gets a bump in the estimation of many. Plus Lowell Shields designed it way back in the day and can still be found selling discs out of his van on any given evening. He did an amazing job of putting a full 18 hole course on to a tiny slice of land that nobody cared about. I drove by this place a thousand times and didn't even realize it was a disc golf course until I picked up the game myself.
The layout is well thought out and pretty challenging for being such a short course. Elevation comes into play on almost every hole, and you need to have some control to score low here. It's not heavily wooded, but the lines are still tight. There's plenty for any type of shot too. There's a nice mix of right and left turning shots here, and a mix of open to wooded shots as well. You have your open field holes like 1/10, tighter lines like 9/18, and maddening approaches like the current hole 14. You need most of the shots in your bag during any given round here.
Any course with quality baskets and concrete tees gets a bump from me as well. For being such an old course, this one is in remarkably good condition.
Cons: It's been said on here a million times before. The course is just too condensed. This is the first course that I heard the word "fore", and it's necessary. I've had a Wraith whizz by my head while standing on a teepad. Not on a fairway. A teepad. You have to call fore on just about every hole if your disc doesn't do exactly what you tell it to. If you're like me, your discs seldom do what you tell them to… While I appreciate how amazing it is that Lowell fit 18 holes here, it's just incredibly dangerous to have so many intersecting fairways and so few mandos. There are four holes that throw across the same clearing at the beginning. That in itself should scare you.
Then there's the navigation. While there's a map at the entrance, it isn't very helpful or clear. My first time there (years ago), I would have been lost if it hadn't been for some friendly locals. Even now when I return, I normally forget which basket I'm supposed to be throwing to. Only about half of the teepads are marked, and a lot of the baskets are blank as well. On my last round I did notice some new basket numbers though, and Lowell was reconfiguring parts of the course. So this could all change in the near future.
As always, my last "con" has to be mentioned since 98% of readers on this site seem to throw farther than me… The holes are all crazily short. The only "long" ones are downhill, so most players should be okay with a putter or mid.
Other Thoughts: As I've stated, a lot of the tees are missing signs. The four that throw across the same field are the most confusing. The one closest to the street is Hole 1, and I think that one is marked. From there it goes 17, 8, and 10. 10 goes to the same basket as 1, and the baskets for 17 and 8 are hidden from view in the brush to your right. Look at the map or ask somebody. Or just fling a disc in there and yell "fore". A lot of the course is a nine hole played twice. For example, 1 and 10 are thrown to the same basket. The same is true for 2/11, 3/12, and 6/15. Everything else is thrown from a different pad to a different basket, so make sure you know which basket you're going for.
All in all, North Park is an enjoyable round. You just have to know somebody or go early. It does get crowded, and the groups of locals can seem a bit cliquish to outsiders. But if you know someone, just don't care what people think of you, or go early enough in the morning that you get the course to yourself, you can have a fun round where you can work on your mid- to short-game on a rather challenging course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Techincal but fun

2-4    9/20/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: bleds
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.9 Years
Pros: * Super convenient for most Seattleites.
* Good concrete tee pads
* Given the limited space a good layout.
* plays fast. good quick fix
Cons: * super tight spacing. fair amount of disc dodging
* a little confusing to navigate given the close proximity of tee pads and baskets.
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to where I live. By rights it ought to be my home course, but it's just too tight and technical for regular play...at least for me.

I do play it regularly but mostly when I'm in the neighborhood and just want to stop for a quick round.

flying discs in all directions!

2-4    7/11/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 58  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.7 Years
Pros: - Solid technical hole design for such a small property. The holes are diverse enough to require a decent shot selection and even after you double back and play from different pads it gives the hole a different look in most cases. You will even throw at different baskets from different pads sharing the same holes as the front 9.
- Nets are in place to keep people safe on other holes where necessary since the property is so small.
- Locals were friendly and seemed to be doing a good job maintaining the course. I didn't see any litter or loose debris anywhere.
- Can be played quickly, lunch-break style since property is so small.
Cons: - The holes are very close together, again, due to the overall size of the property. The nets help, but there are a few sections of the course in which it is hard to tell if the group in front is clear so communication (yelling "clear!!" or "fore!!") is a must here.
- This course gets crowded! This means lots of waiting on the teepad during peak times. That, combined with the close proximity of the holes to one another and it is apparently not uncommon for people to get tagged by a flying disc. (happened twice in the one day I was there). One of the locals joked to me that if you play this course enough, getting hit by a disc is practically a rite of passage.
Other Thoughts: Not my top choice in the Seattle area but if you've played all the others in the area, this one is still a good fun challenge. If you want to play when it's not crowded then weekday mornings might be your best bet.

 Decent park

5+    3/29/2012   3/29/2012
Review By: GiggleWorks
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like the park. Its highly technical, and a good challenge. While I have parred white river and Steilicoom, I still can't par this one yet. Not that its much harder, just a lot more technical. Easy to follow.
Cons: In the rain its very muddy. And all the other usual cons here...when it gets crowded sometimes you here "fore!" being shouted every few seconds. The underbrush is easy to lose a disc in and the holly bites.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think its a great course. May not be as good as the big 18 hole courses, but enjoyable and I play it everytime I am in North Seattle....

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Small Setting-Fun Course

1    7/6/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: MudDisk
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Friendly locals welcomed us and invited us to join in the weekly doubles;
Compact design in small urban park;
Easy to find and get to;
Safety nets to keep discs on course/protect the trees/keep discs out of adjoining yards
Cons: The doubling back can be confusing if you are trying to play the full 18;
Popular course-some slow down to wait for groups ahead of us;
Some crossing over of fairways getting from holes to next tee
Other Thoughts: While on recent family vacation, tried out this course located in a small neighborhood park. We happened on the Wed (?) weekly doubles and were encouraged to join in, but passed. Friendly locals made us feel welcome right from the start. A bit crowded, but that made it easy to find the holes and tee pads, so we just followed along. A large group of local teens made the going a bit slow, but they allowed us to play through no problem. I guess better they were on the disc golf course than selling drugs on the street corner. A good afternoon/evening outing and again a fun and different way to vacation and connect with the local folks. Not the usual tourist stuff but well worth packing a few discs in your carry on.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Where are the Windmills

1    3/20/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: bbobsuek
Played: 77  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 21.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tight. Technical. Requires a Bagful of shots. Funky
Cons: Typical Seattle signage /layout...it is like a badge of honor to know the layout. Funky
Other Thoughts: It was hard for me to give a 3 but the thing is I MUST go back and try to conquer some of those lines. The place is nothing if not unique.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Technical and Crowded

1    4/25/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: rstaats
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Good elevation change without being extreme
- well manicured/maintained park
- a challenging course
- concrete pads
- ample seating, seats at most tees
- because of a mild grade throughout the park, rain won't pool and turn the ground to mush. A definate plus in our moist climate
Cons:
- lots of double back
- many time you must cross a fairway to get to the next hole
- many missing tee signs
- course is quite confusing past hole 9 (explaination below)
- very busy
Other Thoughts: Over all, this was worth playing and is a course I'll return to multiple times.

Lots of trees, well defined fairways, reasonable amount of shrubbery without being over grown and disc hungry.

This is a small lot, but they've done alot with it. 2 tees on every hole, 2 baskets on about half of them. This makes finding where you need to throw very tough on the back 9, and the missing signs don't help that. It's a park in the city, so it's not suprising, but sad to see signs missing.

Because of it's small size and how many people are playing, there are alot of chances to be hit by a disc. Many adjacent fairways, and spots where even a mildly errant shot will get in the middle of another team's game.

Additional note : this course has something I've never seen before. On nearly every hole, there are very tall 6 inch poles, cemented in the ground to protect the trees from disc beatings. With as dense as this course is, to protect most of the trees, you'd need alot of poles. They have them. Someone on the course design crew must have stock in an aluminum company or something because there are ton of them, many over 20 feet high. An interesting idea, albiet odd. Something I've never ever seen before.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet

5+    3/2/2001   3/2/2010
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very cool course that I learned the importance of throwing a good shot! This course is very short but has tons of fun holes on it. The elevation is great for such a short course making a roll away or a bad putt means you could turn an easy 2 into a 4 or higher. The unique obsticles such as nets makes for an interesting round as well. The location is great because it is right off the highway making for an easy trip into the park. This course will make you hit your lines and make you make a shot when you need too. Lots of great people here and always lots of fun. Dual tees make for a full 18. The course was alawys in good shape and well manicured as well. Very beginner friendly too.
Cons: There are tons of people here most of the time but it flows pretty well not making a round last forever. It is a small course so you might have to wait at times but not too bad. No bathrooms. Navigation could be an issue but because of the many locals you will find your way around without any hard times.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to hit if you are in the area but not the best by any means. This was a fun course that I hit many times just to change the scenery and to enjoy with the locals. For the land that was available and for what is here we should all be proud and thankful!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Feat of Disc Golf Design

5+    3/11/2011   9/11/2009
Review By: cefire
Played: 627  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 14.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Convenient Location - This course is in the heart of northern urban/suburban Seattle very conveniently located between the two north/south main drags (Aurora and I-5). It is a fairly easy stop off on the way from or to other courses in the area. The course is located on a very small (~4 acre) plot and has dual tee/baskets for a total of 18 holes, about 13 of which are unique (i.e. tees/baskets are not just 5 feet further back).

Unique holes - Because of the elevation, nets/poles, shrubs and ground cover, some of these holes are quite unique both in strategy and appearance. A previous reviewer was correct in stating that there are
several holes where an easy par save can be made by net redirection when
no direct approach to the basket is available. The drive on hole 5 and 7 can also benefit from a planned net bounce.

OB - This can be both a pro and a con. The OB is marked with rock rings
on 3,6,7,12,15,16 and small concrete pools on hole 4/13. Much of it is
fair and if your shot lands in these places, it likely deserves additional penalty, but at the same time, there is a pretty large luck factor because the penalty areas are so small.

Design - After having played this course many times, I'm still finding different lines and better ways to play several of the holes. That said, there are many holes where strategy is pretty simplistic and just a matter of execution. To consistently score well on this course, it definitely helps to have some patience and an eye for probability of success (think Stokely's base 10 method) off the tee as trees run through several fairways and the obvious line may not yield the best score over time.

For the land available, it really is a feat of disc golf design to make such an interesting and challenging course.
Cons: Sometimes Crowded - The first course I played this course was after moving to Seattle and the late summer afternoon I played it was extremely crowded and made for a hectic round. I didn't think I would play here all that often after this first impression, but you just have
to find the right time to play it. Not every day is jam packed like that and in the late evenings the course gets much less play than between 4-7pm. In winter, one can be completely alone on the course most afternoons and on colder/rainier weekend days.

Nets/Poles - Some people are annoyed by the poles but I'm not sure why except that they make a loud noise which alerts everyone in the park about your most recent blown drive. The nets could be a larger problem for first time players as they are transparent from the teepads. Especially on holes 5/14, the nets are hard to see and close to intended
flight paths.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

North Park

5+    3/1/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 187  Reviewed: 182  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2013
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great usage of land in this small park, they fit nine holes with duel tees to make eighteen and a couple of extra baskets for the "back nine". Good challenge with technical shots, including tunnel shots and a couple of dog legs going right and left. This was the second course I ever played and I remember it kicking my butt, and four years later it still gives me fits every once in a while. Almost no chance of losing a disc and the one time I did a local called me and gave it back.
Cons: This course is right next to a community college and when school gets out this course gets extremely busy, playing here on a weekend when it's nice outside is near impossible. People play it thier own way and your not really sure when someone is playing on your hole or not. The crowding and the frequent crossing fairways make this a dangerous course, there is a high probability of getting hit with a disc. There is no hole for airing it out but with the space you can understand.
Other Thoughts: They put in large poles and strung nets between them to protect trees, cars, and other golfers. I played it before the nets and after and I like the nets they won't hurt your drive unless you throw it offline anyways and they do a good job of protecting what they are supposed too. Mineral springs (or North park as the locals call it) will challenge your midrange, putting and short driving game fairly well, if you want to play with the least amount of people possible go during the week before two in the afternoon.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.