Disc Golf Store
Seattle, WA 
Mineral Springs Park Share
Uploaded By: Adrenalinedan Hole #6 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 285ft.   3 / 321ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Technical and Crowded

1    4/25/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: rstaats
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Good elevation change without being extreme
- well manicured/maintained park
- a challenging course
- concrete pads
- ample seating, seats at most tees
- because of a mild grade throughout the park, rain won't pool and turn the ground to mush. A definate plus in our moist climate
Cons:
- lots of double back
- many time you must cross a fairway to get to the next hole
- many missing tee signs
- course is quite confusing past hole 9 (explaination below)
- very busy
Other Thoughts: Over all, this was worth playing and is a course I'll return to multiple times.

Lots of trees, well defined fairways, reasonable amount of shrubbery without being over grown and disc hungry.

This is a small lot, but they've done alot with it. 2 tees on every hole, 2 baskets on about half of them. This makes finding where you need to throw very tough on the back 9, and the missing signs don't help that. It's a park in the city, so it's not suprising, but sad to see signs missing.

Because of it's small size and how many people are playing, there are alot of chances to be hit by a disc. Many adjacent fairways, and spots where even a mildly errant shot will get in the middle of another team's game.

Additional note : this course has something I've never seen before. On nearly every hole, there are very tall 6 inch poles, cemented in the ground to protect the trees from disc beatings. With as dense as this course is, to protect most of the trees, you'd need alot of poles. They have them. Someone on the course design crew must have stock in an aluminum company or something because there are ton of them, many over 20 feet high. An interesting idea, albiet odd. Something I've never ever seen before.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet

5+    3/2/2001   3/2/2010
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very cool course that I learned the importance of throwing a good shot! This course is very short but has tons of fun holes on it. The elevation is great for such a short course making a roll away or a bad putt means you could turn an easy 2 into a 4 or higher. The unique obsticles such as nets makes for an interesting round as well. The location is great because it is right off the highway making for an easy trip into the park. This course will make you hit your lines and make you make a shot when you need too. Lots of great people here and always lots of fun. Dual tees make for a full 18. The course was alawys in good shape and well manicured as well. Very beginner friendly too.
Cons: There are tons of people here most of the time but it flows pretty well not making a round last forever. It is a small course so you might have to wait at times but not too bad. No bathrooms. Navigation could be an issue but because of the many locals you will find your way around without any hard times.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to hit if you are in the area but not the best by any means. This was a fun course that I hit many times just to change the scenery and to enjoy with the locals. For the land that was available and for what is here we should all be proud and thankful!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Feat of Disc Golf Design

5+    3/11/2011   9/11/2009
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Convenient Location - This course is in the heart of northern urban/suburban Seattle very conveniently located between the two north/south main drags (Aurora and I-5). It is a fairly easy stop off on the way from or to other courses in the area. The course is located on a very small (~4 acre) plot and has dual tee/baskets for a total of 18 holes, about 13 of which are unique (i.e. tees/baskets are not just 5 feet further back).

Unique holes - Because of the elevation, nets/poles, shrubs and ground cover, some of these holes are quite unique both in strategy and appearance. A previous reviewer was correct in stating that there are
several holes where an easy par save can be made by net redirection when
no direct approach to the basket is available. The drive on hole 5 and 7 can also benefit from a planned net bounce.

OB - This can be both a pro and a con. The OB is marked with rock rings
on 3,6,7,12,15,16 and small concrete pools on hole 4/13. Much of it is
fair and if your shot lands in these places, it likely deserves additional penalty, but at the same time, there is a pretty large luck factor because the penalty areas are so small.

Design - After having played this course many times, I'm still finding different lines and better ways to play several of the holes. That said, there are many holes where strategy is pretty simplistic and just a matter of execution. To consistently score well on this course, it definitely helps to have some patience and an eye for probability of success (think Stokely's base 10 method) off the tee as trees run through several fairways and the obvious line may not yield the best score over time.

For the land available, it really is a feat of disc golf design to make such an interesting and challenging course.
Cons: Sometimes Crowded - The first course I played this course was after moving to Seattle and the late summer afternoon I played it was extremely crowded and made for a hectic round. I didn't think I would play here all that often after this first impression, but you just have
to find the right time to play it. Not every day is jam packed like that and in the late evenings the course gets much less play than between 4-7pm. In winter, one can be completely alone on the course most afternoons and on colder/rainier weekend days.

Nets/Poles - Some people are annoyed by the poles but I'm not sure why except that they make a loud noise which alerts everyone in the park about your most recent blown drive. The nets could be a larger problem for first time players as they are transparent from the teepads. Especially on holes 5/14, the nets are hard to see and close to intended
flight paths.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Frustrating, but convenient

1    8/9/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: coredog
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Convenient location in North Seattle. Highly technical course (the challenge is enjoyable). Netting to prevent discs going into busy streets. Little walking (is that really a pro?)
Cons: Frustrating layout...small course. dual tee pads and shared baskets. Totally agree that is near impossible to navigate the first time. Feels WAY more busy than it really is because of the small size of course.
Other Thoughts: I won't play it again, but I understand that it would be a convenient residential course.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

North Park

5+    3/1/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2014
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great usage of land in this small park, they fit nine holes with duel tees to make eighteen and a couple of extra baskets for the "back nine". Good challenge with technical shots, including tunnel shots and a couple of dog legs going right and left. This was the second course I ever played and I remember it kicking my butt, and four years later it still gives me fits every once in a while. Almost no chance of losing a disc and the one time I did a local called me and gave it back.
Cons: This course is right next to a community college and when school gets out this course gets extremely busy, playing here on a weekend when it's nice outside is near impossible. People play it thier own way and your not really sure when someone is playing on your hole or not. The crowding and the frequent crossing fairways make this a dangerous course, there is a high probability of getting hit with a disc. There is no hole for airing it out but with the space you can understand.
Other Thoughts: They put in large poles and strung nets between them to protect trees, cars, and other golfers. I played it before the nets and after and I like the nets they won't hurt your drive unless you throw it offline anyways and they do a good job of protecting what they are supposed too. Mineral springs (or North park as the locals call it) will challenge your midrange, putting and short driving game fairly well, if you want to play with the least amount of people possible go during the week before two in the afternoon.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Positive Feedback

1    5/25/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: python6114
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging Course, Narrow Fairways mostly and friendly locals willing to help you find the next tee spot. Trees challenge every shot
Cons: Extremely difficult to navigate, there are two holes that you tee off up hill about 250 feet from basket and then the next hole is right next to the original tee spot. Yes they fit a lot of disc golf on tiny property, but the course design could be a little better. There is 4 tee pads that shoot the same fairway so it can get pretty confusing. A lot of shared baskets and tee pads.
Other Thoughts: All and all it is worth it to try it, I didn't find it very challenging I am a beginner and shot a +2 on the first 11 holes, but then as the course got a little more confusing and I couldn't find the baskets I dropped shots more because I didn't know where to throw to then anything else. I wish some disc golf course designers took lessons from golf course design and plan on putting tee boxes next to the end of previous holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love/Hate Relationship

5+    5/3/2009   5/3/2009
Review By: chow
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As the other reviews have said, they were able to fit a lot of disc golf in a tiny space. After playing here I always do better at the bigger more wide open courses in the area, like Lakewood. Forces you to really think about each shot since the fairways are all pretty tight except 1 & 10. The course is always pretty clean and well maintained.
Cons: Can get a little crusty sometimes....wedged between I-5 and Aurora Ave in Seattle it's a big plot of land that the homeless and malcontents like to use...watch out for biohazards :)

But for a park in a major metro area...we deal with these things.
Other Thoughts: If the city would put a Honey Bucket up, that would be awesome. Any kind of doubles round or ace pot turns this place into a disc golf parking lot.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Mineral Springs Park

2-4    1/20/2009   1/20/2009
Review By: hyzer7
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great course design. They were able to fit a lot of holes into limited space efficiently.
- Easy to find lost discs. The woods aren't that thick so if you go into some bushes you'll be able to find your disc fairly quickly.
- Challenging, but not too hard. I have played for less than a month, and was able to move through this course with ease.
Cons: - It takes a game or two to figure out where every hole is at, and which tees and pins are holes 10-18.
- Busy course. Not too bad when I went, but I can see the potential for a busy course if the weather is good.
- There are poles and trees that get in the way of drives and some fairway shots.
Other Thoughts: If you need any help finding a hole, just ask, most of the people I asked were able to help me figure out where I was going.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/8/2009   1/15/2009
Review By: Lost in the Brambles
Played: 67  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/17/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete tee pads
- A good use of the space provided
- Locals do a good job on the upkeep
- A course to practice your accuracy
Cons: - Very small space
- Five back 9 holes are shot from a tee pad 10 ft behind the front pad
- Can get very crowded (might as well yell fore on every shot)
- Tons of nets, trees, and poles
- No map...so if you haven't played there can be hard to navigate
- Poor signage

Other Thoughts: This course can be real frustrating, finesse is needed or it could be a long round. Like I said it's a great place to improve your accuracy through the tight corridors.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 TIGHT!!!!

1    11/15/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: mreed12
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 19.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenges all aspects of your throwing. Narrow tight fairways that take even tighter corners! Lots of blind shots into the woods and oput of the woods. Best course I have ever played that sits on .5 acres.
Cons: Nothing is marked, no maps available except here online(but it is not even correct). The tee diagrams are not correct, ended up playing the front nine twice b/c it was just to damn hard to figure out on my own!
Other Thoughts: If you are use to grip and rip courses then it will challenge you b/c allmost all shots demand preceise shots. It will be a course I play a lot due to the technically challenging nature of it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.