Seattle, WA 
Mineral Springs Park Share
Uploaded By: Adrenalinedan Hole #4 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 285ft.   3 / 297ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Short & Technial Minutes from Downtown Seattle

5+    8/31/2008   9/12/2008
Review By: lari
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Technical course that makes you really think about your throws, encourages a wide variety of styles
- Some elevation change, esp elevated tees on 5 and 6
- Very close to downtown Seattle
- Good community, lots of friendly regulars
Cons: - Short...
- Not really 18 holes, there are a number of holes with dual tee pads, and some are literally right next to each other - does not even change approach angle
- There are poles and nets to keep you from throwing into the street/other holes - makes more technical, but also frustrating
- You will never find the holes in order without a good map, or someone who has played before
Other Thoughts: Not my favorite course, but man is it convenient. There are a couple of holes that I really like, and a couple of throwaway. If you are in Seattle, and looking for a quick 9+ holes, you cannot complain about having this course nearby. Great for beginners, especially if it is not crowded, but still a challenge.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mineral

8/6/2008   8/6/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a great variety of shots and looks here, open, tight, doglegging, ranging from open to dense forest, some tee boxes elevated. Many of the baskets are in the most interesting mix of bushes and trees and elevation that have an entirely different look and feel when approach from another side. The course plays quickly either because of its small size or speedy crowds. After around here you feel like part of a disc golf community because of the close proximity to other golfers. The nets and poles not only protect the trees, they protect you. A player in north Seattle does not have to drive far to play this course. You hear the traffic nearby but you are within your personal oasis the entire round. This park is the least repetitive duel-tee-to-make-18 course I've ever played, the designers should pat themselves on the back for maximizing land use.
Cons: Because of the duel tee layout and the random mandos, even with a map it can be very confusing to navigate by yourself. I've played this park a bunch and it gets very crowded. "Fore" is commonly yelled.
Other Thoughts: This course could be the most use I've ever seen on a small piece of land. Perhaps this course could set the standard for urban disc golf. Mineral Springs, shows that it's possible to have disc golf in an urban setting with little land. If you thought disc golf couldn't work in the heart of the city, I think you should tour this place.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Course Designer Must Be a U of Wash. Engineering Grad

4/26/2008   4/27/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 609  Exp: 36.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Squeezing 18 holes into this 3 or 4 acre plot of land is pretty amazing in itself. But the designers here have impressed me with some raised tee boxes with steps leading up to them. Great use of the land. All together, it makes for some fun throws. The park itself, is a lovely little wooded gem within the city.
Cons: I understand it gets crowded but I couldn't find anyone to help me find my way. It's a little difficult to navigate the first time. I'm not sure about the poles in the middle of the course. They're protecting trees? Or are they planning on hanging more nets? How does one thin pole do much protecting?
Other Thoughts: The nets are interesting indeed. Not only do they keep discs off the busy streets but I'm sure the regulars know how to use the nets to their advantage. It's probably a stratigic move to hyser your shot off the net on #2 or #3. On #4, I thought I had a pretty good approach to the basket until I realized that I had hit a net there.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 North Seattle aka Mineral Springs

5+    1/4/2007   3/31/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 183  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2011
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Considering the amount of land this course resides on it is extremely well layed out. This course is very tight and if not careful can destroy your chances of shooting at or under par. Although there are not a lot of opportunities for big drives, the few chances provided are essential and must be capitalized on in order to do well. Although the poles can be considered a con, being the environmentlaist I am, I like the fact that they protect the trees. The nets and poles add an interesting feel to the course and feel like the future of 21st century disc golfing considering how difficult it is to find land let alone use it for disc golfing.
Cons:
The course at times is way to busy considering its size. Thursdays and Saturdays can be crazy so it is wise to find out when random doubles and tournaments are being held. Trash is also another problem. There are a lot of alcohol bottles and cans around and the cigarette butts can be too much at times. Even though there are garbage cans located on the course, it just seems like the amount of garbage coming in far outways the garbage going out.
Other Thoughts:
For being located on the outskirts of Seattle, this course is a lot of fun and great for mid-range and putting. It is very difficult and should not be seen as easy because it will have the last laugh if your not careful. The time and effort put into the course is apparent and I am proud to have the opportunity to play on a course such as this.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A Day of Disc in Seattle!

6/18/2007   3/31/2008
Review By: weum107
Played: 108  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In beautiful Seattle....has nice views, excellent foliage and trails and functional O.B. nets. Does a lot with very little relative space. Very excellent sitting and resting spots throughout. Good tee boxes. Picturesque and serene.
Cons: A bit cramped. Somewhat confusing alternate tees for 18, but a nice local fella helped me get it.
Other Thoughts: The second of 2 Seattle area courses i was lucky enough to hit up on my summer vacation in 2007. Nice local dudes showed me some of the nuances of this beauty as i trudged through a few 18 hole rounds in my day of fun. When my gal is with me, she can barely get through 18 but if I am alone and the weather permits, three or even four rounds are a given. Thanks to the nearby Arby's for the bathroom facility....nice course....

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  My Home Course

10/2/2007   10/3/2007
Review By: RainCityGolfer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very technical, tight fairways, tricky approaches and greens
Cons: Small, dangerous due to close proximity to other fairways, crowded, mostly unmarked
Other Thoughts: Love this course!!!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Seattle's Gong Show

1    7/10/2007   7/10/2007
Review By: Tim_the_Enchanter
Played: 72  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Close, convenient location to downtown Seattle. Extremely challenging for being on such a small plot of land, the holes themselves are designed very well. Usually very well maintained, a pretty little park with a nice variety of plant life.
Cons: Biggest gripe: it gets REALLY crowded REALLY quick, also lots of rec. players--nothing wrong with that necessarily, but it slows things down even more. Being so small and cramming 18 holes into it, there are some flow issues (you finish in the middle of the park and have to walk through several fairways to get back to your car, for example). Also, a couple holes you shoot to a basket behind another one...can be confusing.
Other Thoughts: The signature of this course, besides its small size, is the plethora of steel poles and nets installed throughout the park--resulting in lots of pings on bad throws. The poles are installed to protect the trees, and the nets to keep discs in the park. They weren't always there, and a lot of people gripe about them. Since I started playing after they were installed, they've never really bothered me. Metal poles are a bit of an eyesore, but they do protect the trees. And there have been numerous occasions when I've been saved by one of the nets protecting a teepad.

Although maps exist, its a good idea to have someone show you around, it can sometimes be confusing to know which tee to throw from and which basket to aim at. It's a cool little course, just try to play it in off-peak times.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.