Carmel, IN 
Lawrence W. Inlow Park Share
Uploaded By: ajbova   (Taken 8/2012)
Practice Basket



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Great Beginner Course & Quick work out.

5+    9/6/2013   9/11/2013
Review By: ghostkid
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course for Beginners and a quick short game/approach/Putt course. It has a Practice put game basket that my son loves to warm up on. The playground and water splash park are nice. Very clean bathrooms. Great to break discs in on with out loosing them like you can on other courses. Has a nice wooded section to get a taste of the woods. A true friendly fun introduction into disc golf. Only one disc really needed.
Cons: -it's short, no drivers needed unless just breaking them in.
-no bag really needed.
-you can't finish a beer before your done.
-Really there is nothing wrong it's what it's supposed to be. A introduction to Disc Golf.
Other Thoughts: There are three other courses nearby for more experienced people. This is a perfect one to warm up on then hit one of the others nearby or to build up your skills to work up to the other courses. Great for Families after a few time around you can cool off in the Splash park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    12/9/2012   12/13/2012
Review By: ajbova
Played: 72  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course. New tees, new signs, new baskets. It was designed to teach new players how to play disc golf not to mention it is ADA Certified.

It has mulch around every basket and throughout the woods.

It has great variety. There are holes in the open (1 & 9), holes with w few trees (1, 2, & 3), and heavily wooded holes (5 - 8). There are also a few holes with tall grass bordering the hole (4 & 9).

Since it was built for beginners, an intermediate or professional has a great chance to get a hole in one on any hole. If you miss, you will gain great experience putting on holes in the open and in the woods.

This is a great practice course for more expended players. A change of pace if you are looking for a relaxing day of disc golf.

A great course to take you friend, child, elder, significant other, etc. to teach them how to play.
Cons: The holes are short. If you are looking for more of a challenge, The Hills is not even a half mile away and Dillion is about a mile and a half away. If you want less of a challenge, play a loop of 1-4 & 9. Holes 5-8 are in the woods and use the same path for entry/exit.

Course can be busy. I have never ran into this soccer practice issue but I have ran into several large groups playing disc golf. These groups seem to throw multiple discs at a time in attempt to get an ace. (Confidence builder can be a Pro I guess)

I personally have never experienced a con for this course. Great use of land, great area of town, and built for a purpose.
Other Thoughts: I was extremely impressed with this course. Dennis does a great job with his course design. I took my girlfriend here over the summer to teach her disc golf and now she is no longer afraid to play a more challenging course with me.

I can't wait for the trees on holes 1-4 to grow a little bit. It will provide that much more of a challenge, not to mention shade!

If you come with kids there are a few playgrounds, a splash park, and nice trails in the woods.

Once you have mastered this course, feel free to visit the other courses in Northeast Indianapolis (Carmel, Fishers, Noblesville, and Castleton) for more of a challenge.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

great warm up course

2-4    11/18/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: bradtollefson
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like to play this course with my putter. It's a nice mix of open and wooded holes. None of which require a great arm. The wooded holes are a bit tight but doable.
Cons: may not be playable on a busy day. we've been lucky and always had the park to ourselves.
Other Thoughts: Great playground if you have kids.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Family Friendly

5+    9/4/2012   10/4/2012
Review By: jeffhoots
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Take the kids! The distances, from 120 to 185 feet, are family friendly.

Take yourself! A great place to practice an experienced putt and approach game. Enough trees to force you to shape your shots.
Cons: Short. A typical driver thrown by an experienced thrower will go past the baskets.

The grounds are also used for other events, like youth soccer practice, dog walking (watch your shoes!), and other family park type events.
Other Thoughts: I credit this course for helping my wife and kids get excited about disc golf. The quality of the grounds, the excellent baskets, and the shorter distances made the sport accessible to all of us.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Perfect for its purpose

2-4    9/21/2012   9/28/2012
Review By: k2Keith
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice pads, signage and baskets. Easy to follow markings. GREAT for bringing your kids or practicing with your mid-range/putter. Nice mix of open field and woods.
Cons: No real cons, this is perfect for it's purpose. This is not a place for big D. You won't need a driver. Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: Play it with your kids. Play it with your mid-range/putter. Great place to fine tune your aces.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Waterpark

5+    9/9/2012   9/12/2012
Review By: Sstetson21
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2014
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy to see holes and next tee boxes. Newly made course so concrete pads and maps are very nice! Good for practicing mid range/putting game.
Cons: The holes are so short! only averaging about 120ft. definitly a beginners course. The first couple holes are by the waterpark thing and if its during the day it loud with children running around. The wooded holes seem like they rushed on it and you really have no strategy throwing through the trees, to many trees blocking holes on most holes.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Date: 11/19/2012 Designer Response by: MacDaddy
The course is designed to be a teaching course for kids, families and new players, as well as even ADA park users. The 4 holes in the woods have the fairways fully mulched, from tee to pin. Each of the 4 has a distinct route to teach the student; hyzer, straight, an-hyzer, and S flight. You can trust that a great deal of time and thought went into those holes in the woods. And the average hole length is aimed at a 5th grader. So, you can probably play disc golf better than a 5th grader!

 It is what it is

2-4    8/19/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: wake911
Played: 44  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -practice course for advanced players
-great way to teach people disc golf
-enough trickery between the trees right by the baskets and then the woods to give some thought to your approach shot
Cons: -I'm not giving this any negatives. It was built with a purpose, and it meets that purpose very well. Beginner/Youth/hopefully ADA course, that anyone can play and work on their game.
-ok, 1 negative. #4 is a bit silly with the tall grass.(could lose ADA due to that, and possibly need to widen the paths in the woods.
Other Thoughts: Nice little "long putt" course. i played it with just my long and short putters. It was fun, throwing 100-150 slow turnover approaches, with the shot to get an *ace* on each hole is fun. With all the courses in the area, i don't have a place to practice my 100-150' shots, since i never land in that distance, so i use this course for that.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice beginners Course

1    8/5/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: Dcolosi
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played this new course with my two girls. This is a nice course for kids being rather short. As a beginner I found it challenging enough especially holes 5-8 in the woods. Nice concrete pads, new baskets and I like the practice putting basket. Plenty of parking and restrooms which are nice when you have kids.
Cons: Short course for advanced and more experienced players. Hole 4 basket sits in tall vegetation and stray shots can be hard to find. The holes in the woods are tight for novice players.
Other Thoughts: This park gets used a lot in Spring and Fall by Carmel Dads club soccer teams. Practices will start soon and it could interfere with the course. Especially since the parents tend to sit near the bank under the trees. If they do the will be directly in the path between tee to basket. Just be aware that if you want to play on a weekday you could run into a lot of people in the way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quick and Easy... but fun

5+    8/3/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: madman1101
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great tee pads.
New Discatchers
Not heavily wooded but enough trees to make things interesting.
Plenty of ace runs (got my first ever ace on hole 3)
Plenty of Birdieable holes
A good warm up for nearby Dillon and VERY nearby Northview
Practice basket with distances marked out.
Restrooms nearby and a water playground for kids, three playscapes for kids to play on while you disc golf.
Cons: Very short, but being ADA approved and Kid friendly, not a big deal.
Easy to lose sight of discs long on hole 4 and in leaves on holes 5-8
Be weary of kids running between playgrounds
Other Thoughts: A fun little course, quick and easy to play. Good practice for "S" Curves and putter drives. always fun to play. Can be played in under half an hour, perfect for a quick round. Have fun!!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Neat little pitch and putt

2-4    8/3/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: Grungedude42
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very clean park. Looks well maintained. (Update: Parks department started to let this go this past summer. Watch the tall grass and bushes growing into #4, and the ground wasps got real bad on #6. Spit and polish means more than usual to me on such an intimate, purpose driven course. Gonna take half a disc for that )
-Trees in wooded area aren't very dense, but dense enough to get the point across.
-Bathrooms and water fountains are nearby, new and clean.
-Shelter on site with grills
-Every hole is aceable, but very few 'gimmes'. Each provides a touch of tricky elements.

Cons: -Trees need maturing, but that will come in time.
-Short holes, leaves you wanting to rip a drive, but there's no where to do it.
-Some tees are within shanking distance of the previous basket. Watch your back!
-Played twice in under 40 minutes. No alternate tees to spice things up.

Other Thoughts: Good place to practice approach shots and putter drives. Every hole is easily reached with a putter, leave the mids on up in the car.
Good course for the intent. While the holes are short, each provides a touch of tricky, well except 9.
The course manages to be short and entry level without feeling like a mini-golf course. No windmill gimmicks or shenanigans to be found. Neat little place to pitch and putt.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.