Vista, CA 
Brengle Terrace Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #1 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 318ft.   3 / 318ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Varied Terrain

5+    8/26/2014   8/29/2014
Review By: endermetal
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brengle Terrace Disc Golf Course is set up around a public park. The course makes very good use of the land and avoids the major pedestrian walkways. I first played here a month ago, and the layout seems to have been improved on from its previous incarnation. The course plays in such a way that very few of the fairways cross one another. Overall great design and layout.

Several of the holes are unique and offer a different challenge. Indeed, the variety of holes is quite impressive: tight, wooded and technical; open fairways with minimal hazards; epic downhills and everything in between. The course does not seem to be heavily favored to any one particular throwing style, and a variety of shots may be needed. Definitely the single most distinguishing factor--and what I found to be most impressive--is the amount of elevation change and the variety of terrain this course offers. Some of the views are also quite spectacular, which I would partially attribute to the maintenance of the course; the trees are well trimmed and the grass is always cut and green.

The tee pads and baskets are in good condition. The tee pads are mostly of the rubberized variety, and I didn't see much deterioration or unevenness. Trash cans are located throughout the course

There is a refrigerated drinking fountain in the indoor sports building to the left of hole 3, which is a huge bonus as it can get quite hot during the summer.

The course is not crowded at all, and generally the disc golfers you run into are friendly and will let faster groups play through.
Cons: The tee signs do not contain any information other than the hole number. This can prove to be frustrating at times if there are OB areas, unseen hazards, etc.,

While the overall layout of the course makes sense by going in a clockwise direction around the amphitheater, there are a couple of holes that are difficult to find. This is exacerbated by the fact that there is no information on the tee signs. There are a couple of separate signs posted on fences that give a written description of where the next hole is located, but having this information on a tee sign depicted by a graphic would be more helpful. After playing the course once or twice, this becomes a non issue though.

I do not recall benches on any of the holes, although this is not a huge negative for me as I'm somewhat young and in decent shape. I could see this being a bigger issue for folks that need to frequently sit down.

The number of uphill throws is slightly more than I would prefer. The course is more or less divided equally into 1/3 uphill, 1/3 downhill, and 1/3 level shots.
Other Thoughts: Brengle is a newer course, and I applaud the designers and the amount of effort that went into constructing it. I believe the course is still unfinished and, with time, could potentially become the premier disc golf course in San Diego County.

This course provides a very PHYSICAL workout--you will constantly be climbing up multiple hills. I personally found this to be a positive as I enjoy doing cardio. Others may be deterred from playing here for the very same reason.

I took a look at the photos of the old layout, and was really interested in 14 and 15. It would be nice if they could bring those back somehow and remove the somewhat mundane 6 and 7 holes.

The course really starts to come into its own beginning with hole 8. Not that the first 7 holes are bad, they're just not as good as some of the latter holes. My personal favorite is 10, which is this neat little secluded wooded tunnel that requires precision control to get in range for a birdie. Other standout holes would be 8, 9, 13, and 15.

During my first play through, I thought hole 5 was going to be located beyond the baseball fields to the left where there is a densely wooded canyon. However, I quickly found out no holes were located here and hole 5 was in the opposite direction. I wish some holes would be placed here. The canyon provides a truly awesome jungle atmosphere, and would offer a unique experience in the disc golf world--utilizing this part of the park would only enhance the course and increase its reputation of offering interesting and varied environments. I understand making this a reality would require a ton of work, as several plants would need to be removed (and may prove to be illegal if it's a protected area). I could also see this as possibly interrupting the flow of the course without modifications. If holes were to be placed here, I see a few possible solutions to keeping the course at 18 holes:

• Remove holes 1 and 4 and start the course at hole 2
• Remove holes 6 and 7 (these were the least memorable holes of the entire course for me)

Brengle Terrace is a very enjoyable course that every serious disc golfer in San Diego should check out. I find myself playing here and at Kit Carson often to avoid the crowds at Morley Field.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

To Be Continued…

1    10/29/2013   11/1/2013
Review By: Magiken
Played: 43  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
• After the first few holes, you get to some pretty varied shot selections
• Nice views/surroundings
• Tees are great (rubber mat variety)
• Baskets are fine
• Course is easy to find
• Water/restrooms
• Great park with lots of amenities
Cons:
• Where are the stinking signs?!?!?
• Not easy to navigate
• People/park goers are in play in a few spots
• One or two shots might be a bit unfair
Other Thoughts:
Tips:
• Ignore course maps I, II, and III in the Links section (which I would have loved to have known ahead of time)
• When you pull in the parking lot, go right, drive a bit, and look left up the hill for the silver "AMERICA" sign. Holes 1 and 2 are there.
• Bring some good climbing shoes
• Be aware that this appears to a prime spot for canoodling. I must've passed at least 4 couples on my trek doing some form of heavy petting. Awkward…

Random Thoughts:
This will be an unfinished review as I'm pretty sure I was playing an unfinished course, because right now there are only hole number markers. No maps. No signs. No luck finding your way around, and this is a huge park, with some lengthy transitions between holes. The maps that are linked can kind of get you headed in the right direction, but I basically had to wander around to find the next hole, and in the hilly/rocky section, that sucked. Now that I've ranted… I do like the variety of holes here. Granted it's a little slow starting as the first 5-7 holes are fairly straightforward and not terribly difficult. Things change on #8, which incidentally is one of the coolest tee pad locations I've ever seen. Bravo on that one. But that's where the fun starts. Just about every hole after that up until maybe 18 has some major tree action and some serious risk/reward shot making. I mentioned that a couple holes might be unfair because I really didn't see any attack angle to the shot. It just seemed like the plan was to huck it into the trees and hope, but that's not a huge deal to me really. I'm not the type that demands every hole be aceable, or even birdieable. So overall I was not disappointed in the variety of shots presented to me.

Bottom Line:
I'll have to come back to see how this course finishes up but I do think it's headed in the right direction. It's a very nice park with tons of potential that looks like it will be taken advantage of. I'm looking forward to a return visit, that is, when the signs are done….and the map.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    9/1/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 26  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Incredible variety: wooded, open, technical, bombs, uphills, downhills, sideslopes, fallaways, seriously good exercise!
Cons: Signage is as weak as it gets! No info whatsoever.
Other Thoughts: This is very challenging course yet very fun. You will work up a serious sweat hiking up and down the peak as holes 6-16 flow up and down and around the hill. This course is like a more challenging Morley with much more elevation. Well worth the effort!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

bring you hiking boots

1    5/1/2013   5/1/2013
Review By: hyper_hippo18
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Very good variety of throws to be used
-pretty decent tee pads
-pro shop
-parking is not an issue
Cons: -pretty wooded
-lots of walking up and down (im not being lazy, but the heat may have been a factor)
-needs to be more signs for tees and pin locations
-can get hot
Other Thoughts: When you throw a good throw, it feels like you're a pro. In contrast, if u mess up, it lets you get creative to save par. Lots of walking, but distance can be cut down by getting a map in the pro shop or in the main offices. There are lots of chances to perfect your throws, so get ready to learn. Have fun!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

needs signage

2-4    1/2/2013   1/2/2013
Review By: adazm
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: def fun course! great elevation change.
challenging to shoot under par for sure.
Cons: no signage means a first time player there wil be guaranted to get lost :(.
no distance markers :(
maps should be more readily available.
Other Thoughts: tons of potential once the course gets worked in.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hills and Navigation

5+    11/24/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 35  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Parking/Directions- Big park with lots of parking, you might want to be strategic with where you park but you should never lack a space, and easy to find a quick drive from the freeway.
Shot Variety- Good mix of up hill, downhill, left, right, wide open, wooded, pretty much a little of everything. The alt T locations they use for tourneys can also lend ALOT of length to the course if you want to bomb a few holes.
Double Gap Holes- a few of the holes require you to throw through a gap, across a field and through another gap, for me placement shots like this are very entertaining. Hole 8 is my favorite of the group, great turnover shot with my fuse.
Exercise- With all of the hill climbing here walking 18 is a pretty good workout, with DG as my only real exercise this is a real bonus.
Hole 5- A short hole that plays through a very tight creek with a few VERY tight lines available. I could throw 10-20 discs on this trying to get through, very entertaining.
Cons: Navigation! - There are a few gaps between holes that really left me confused the first time I was out here by myself, 2-3, 17-18 are the worst but there are a number of other poor spots.
Signage- there are tee markers but no real signs of any kind, this would really help with the Nav. issues as well as giving golfers a little more info on each hole.
Other Thoughts: My biggest takeaway from playing here is parking in the lot towards the end of hole 17 is the way to go. A bit of a walk to start your round at 18 but means you dont have an awkward long walk at the end of your round.

Also probably not a place to take beginners, playing behind a group of folks on their second or third time out, the creek holes were a mess for them, literally 10 throws later they had given up and walked to the next hole.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The most uphill throws ever!

2-4    10/13/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 34  Reviewed: 20
This review was updated on 12/16/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful unique course. Definitely get your hiking boots ready, this course is physically demanding to walk. Alot of uphill and downhill walking keeps you on your toes. The views on this course are easily the best of the San Diego/North County area disc golf courses.
- Hole 3 is the highlight of the course for me. Its a "top of the world" type hole with such a magnificent view.
-Hole 7 is another highlight with the prettiest guarded basket of the bunch
Cons: Not many cons imo, but here are some things worth mentioning:
- I would start on hole 18 as hole 1, since its by the parking lot and end with hole 17 as your last hole. Not sure why they labeled the course this way, but starting on hole18 will make sense to you if you look at the course map
- the most uphill throws I've ever thrown on a course. this wouldn't be bad if you were rewarded with more downhill throws.
- no signage yet, but hopefully that gets installed soon
Other Thoughts: - not a beginner friendly course (not necessarily a con, but fyi)
- I'd really like to give this 3.75, but you can't give that rating on dgcoursereview. I've only played it once, but it is such a beautiful and challenging course and I can't wait to try it again.
- No signs, just posts. I recommend you play with someone who knows the course or you bring a map (hole 10 on the map seems inaccurate to me...its at the bottom of the hill but the map implies its next to basket 9 which is at the top of the hill, the rest of the map is fairly accurate otherwise).
- I'd also avoid going on an extremely hot day because walking this course is demanding
----------------------------------------------------------------
-Now that I've played this course a couple of times, I still feel this may very well be the best course in the San Diego area overall; beautiful views, unique challenges, and not overly crowded. I still would not recommend bringing a beginner out here to learn though, it is quite a challenging course (in a good way). I throw both RHBH and RHFH and noticed I favored throwing my RHFH alot; alot of the course is uphill throws and sometimes the hills are so steep that your footing almost demands a FH throw, especially if you get stuck on a hill with lots of woods and little space to work with. Holes 9 and 11 are the steep hills to watch out for, especially on hole 9; one bad landing and you can get the "roll of death" towards the bottom of the hill.
-Another thing I noticed is that if you park in the main parking lot by the basketball courts, you may want to start at either holes 16 or 17 as your first hole.
Once Brengle gets some signage, I'll give this course a 4.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Variety mix course

5+    7/26/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: patdb23
Played: 40  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Brengle Terrace disc golf course provides a variety of skill shots with scenic hilltops, downhill & uphill elevated sloped holes, and a mix of tight technical to open field shots. This course provides a wide variety of mixed holes to challenge every aspect of your game.

To start off, this course is centrally located throughout the city park making use of the land to avoid park users. There's a amphitheater, playground area, botanical garden, and a park center that share the area and somehow the San Diego Aces club was able to manuever around and design this course with the approval of the Vista City Council.

The course has rubber teepads on all current of the 16 holes, and there are still 2 holes to build through a forest of trees lined up with some sporatic poison oak. The poison oak will be removed and the holes (14 & 15) should be in place in the next month or so. Plans to install tee signs and a course directory are in place (money needs to be raised). A small but new disc golf shop is open near hole 17. Plenty of parking all throughout the park, with other activities around including basketball, baseball, and horseshoes pits.

The first two holes are wide open uphill shots with wind and elevation in contention. Hole 3 has a magnificent hilltop view of the park with a signature tee area facing a downhill slope with basket finishing left throwing into an uphill headwind. Probably one of the more unique holes you will every come across. Hole 4 is a putter shot 250ft downhill with a treachorous dropoff behind the basket. Hole 5 runs through a wooded canopy covered dry creekbed with serious trees lined up between tee and basket. Great tee area with natural seating to rest under the trees for a brief break.

Hole 6 shoots back uphill with a small window to contend with and the basket is guarded by several trees. The walk to hole 7 meanders uphill some ways, but you'll find this tee with a small window to punch out into the open field a unique challenge. The basket nestles on top of a small mound covered with trees for a scenic view. Bring out your hiking shoes for the next 4 holes as you shoot back and forth from out of the trees across a sloped fairway and back into wooded areas. These are tight technical shots, and hole 9 & 11 play way uphill and to the right. Favorable for LHBH or a righty sidearm, or a serious uphill RHBH anhyzer.

Hole 12 & 13 have low ceiling flat fairway shots with OB road to the left (that shouldn't come into factor). Both baskets play alongside slopes, so careful not to shoot past or you face a more challenging putt.

Hole 14 & 15 are currently in the works. Hole 16 shoots slightly uphill with open fairway and then the remaining 60ft around the basket are various small thorn bushes to watch out for. Hole 17 plays on a grassy fairway about 250ft, finishing to the right. The final hole 18 has three teepads with two of them throwing out into an open grass parking lot. The third shorter position plays alongside the street with a line of trees on the right. The long propad plays over 900ft.

The course is still in its early stages and as more players come out, I'm sure some lines will be carved out on the more challenging holes. Overall, this course will challenge you both physically and mentally. It helps to be a lefty or have a decent righty sidearm or turnover shot.
Cons: - New course that still has work to do, signs need to be installed, hole 14 & 15 not in yet.
- Very lefty friendly, don't be surprised if you hear this course dubbed "Lefty Revenge".
- Pro Shop is on hole 17, and then there is a long, long, long walk to hole 18. I suggest having hole 17 as 18, and make orginal 18 as hole 1; we shall see.
- Still need to open up some lines on a few holes.
- Some holes still have a lot of natural debris to remove, and finding discs on a couple holes will be a challenge.
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to seeing how this course really turns out and what changes will be made down the road. Has a long way to go to become a mature course, but give it time. This course is really unique and provides a lot of different challenges, well worth to check it out.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond in the Rough

1    7/19/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: rmcguire86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes and trees: a major plus given the usually open design of southern california courses.

A couple of "signature holes," especially the ones that run through the dry creek bed in the middle of the course.

Long course, probably half again as long as kit carson.

The course is challenging from both a disc golf perspective and a physical perspective. Wear some good shoes and long pants.

Great design. Puts the holes in places that don't appear to be used by regular park goers all that often. In fact, it appears that there will not be many problems with conflicting park use in most areas.

Free!

Pro Shop will be on site (off of hole 17.)
Cons: Kind of way out there if you don't live in North County.

A lot of trash, but this is probably due to the fact that the course is relatively new and some of the places that they've cleared out appear to be hobo homes/teenager smoking hangouts. If you play, try to pick up some of the crap!
Other Thoughts: This isn't really a pro or a con, but just be aware that the course has not been completed yet. A lot of this review is based on the potential of the course. I'll revisit this after everything is done and reevaluate the course, but I expect my score to go up.

There is a lot of brush that still needs to be cleared, rubber tee pads need to be put in on most holes, and two holes haven't been completed yet. If anyone lives in San Diego and has some free time on the weekends, I urge you to get out and help these guys finish up. Go to the San Diego Aces website for more info.

Also, the signage hasn't been put in yet, and course navigation is not intuitive. There are several places where you cannot see the next tee pad from the previous pin. The Aces have put up a map on their website at http://sandiegoaces.com/2012/...park-update/. I recommend you print it out and take it with you. If I hadn't met a guy who had been part of the work parties I would never have been able to find my way around.

Finally, one final note, but I think the course would benefit by starting at the current Hole 18 and finishing on Hole 17, for several reasons: (1) there is a parking lot right next to Hole 17 and the pro shop is off of that hole, (2) there is a long, uphill walk to hole 18 that really breaks up the flow of the course, and (3) 17 is at the end of a downhill/flat portion anyway. I plan to play the course like this in the future, but it would be nice if the designer could make that change officially.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.