Vista, CA 
Brengle Terrace Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: onemilemore Hole #7 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 307ft.   3 / 307ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
One of my favorites

1    7/6/2015   7/22/2015
Review By: cxr1037
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
Pros: - A lot of different shot varieties here. I find myself using a good range of discs on this course.
- Rarely crowded. Sometimes there's a big group going slow but I've always been able to play right through with no problem.
- Some nice views of Vista on certain holes.
Cons: - Park-goers sometimes get in the way. I've seen people picnicking in fairways, kids playing on teepads, etc.
- Can be a bit hard to follow if it's your first time. There are signs, but there are a few large gaps from hole to hole (another reviewer points them out).
- A good amount of elevation change here means it's a physical course. If you're not in good shape or it's the middle of the day in summer, it can be a very tiring course.
Other Thoughts: They change the basket locations from time to time, but most holes only have one set of tee pads (the exceptions are #5 [on the top of the hill along the fenceline, R of regular pad], #17, and #18).

I love this course and would play every day if I could!

Fun course, lots of elevation.

1    12/23/2014   12/23/2014
Review By: NSDallin
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good teepads and quite a few "go this way" signs, especially when its a far distance. I wouldnt have known how to get from 7 to 8 if there wasnt a little sign that said "walk across the road to the left of the gazebo". Those "this way" signs on certain holes were very nice.
- Great use of the elevation and distance of the perimeter of the park.
-nice innova baskets.
- Friendly locals that helped me find where hole 1 was and navigate the course the few times i got lost.
- Nice array of shots needed.
Cons: -The layout has been changed and a lot of the maps online are of the old layout.
- a lot of holes have far walks between them and were very disconnected. especially holes 4 to 5, 7 to 8, and 16 to 17.
-Hole 4 often times has people just 50-100 feet to the left of the basket in danger if you arnt accurate with your drive.
- No distance or map on the teesigns. Just a sponsor name and a hole number.

Other Thoughts: This is a fun course with good basket and pads, that runs around the perimeter of a park with gardens and walkways in the middle of the park. The course is very well taken care of and is loved by the locals i can tell. The few times i got turned around or lost i could just holler a question to sometime passing by and they were happy to guide me to my next hole. Very nice locals. The course is split into a few sections. Holes 1-4 are in one area, holes 5-7 are another pocket, holes 8-16 all connect well together, and holes 17 and 18 are a pair. as long as you can find your way between holes 4-5, 7-8, and 16-17 this course is easy to navigate and play in a short amount of time. Highly recommended. It demands every kind of shot. left, right, and straight shots are all here. a few blind holes, and a lot of elevation. Its a gem.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Brengle - the best of SD

5+    12/21/2013   5/20/2014
Review By: The_Warwolf
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 5/26/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course really gives you a chance to pull out every shot in your bag. It's set in a beautiful park and somehow manages to avoid the majority of park goers.

UPDATE: New signage has been added to each hole and they've put up some indicators to point toward the next pad. Very helpful.

The course is challenging and a few of the holes you have to be somewhat conservative and accept that par is a good score. The guys over at Kinetic and SD Aces have done a great job refining the layout and it presented a great tourney course for the SD Open.

There's a pro shop with some really great people who carry a decent selection of discs and gear.

Because there is hardly ever a crowd I'd rate this one higher than Morley, of course I also used to live 10min from the park. I think Kit Carson gets a few too many park goers to compare.
Cons: If it's your first time out there you might get lost between 11 and 12 or finding your way through 13-16, although like anywhere else once you've seen each hole they're not as hard to find.
Other Thoughts: If you're into the craft beer scene SD North County is where it's at. Stop by Mother Earth for a beer after the round (my personal favorite micro-brew).

Also, if you recall (from the old layout) holes 14 and 15 those were very challenging and a lot of fun, I definitely miss those holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/18/2012   12/19/2012
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 79  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The north San Diego guys have done it again. Another quality course that offers a lot of fun and a good degree of difficulty.

- Elevation change: From start to finish the hills come into play on this course. Holes 3 and 4 offer some downhill open shots, but it seems like there are more uphill shots than downhill. Which is a pro because it makes the holes play longer.

- Overall couse design is solid, it makes you use every shot in the bag to get the best score. I have found myself resorting to overhand shots and every get-out-of-trouble shot I an to get to the basket.

- Good use of obstacles: Most holes have both early trees guarding the tee pad and late trees guarding the basket. Most holes are birdi-able but it takes a shot that clears both gaps cleanly.

- Difficulty: this course can be very punishing if you are not on your game throwing accurately. The distances are reachable allowing most players the opportunity to score well, but the course can become punishing very fast if you go off the fairway, or hit an early tree.

- On the whole the course is a great challenge and a lot of fun. It offers good distance and gives you a chance to air it out but most importantly it rewards accurate shots and smart decisions. This may be my new favorite course in san diego.
Cons: - Navigation is the biggest con right now. If you are visiting the course for the first time be sure to print out the map. Or better yet find a local to tag along with. There are long gaps between holes and not much in the way of signage. It can be very frustrating without a guide.

- Holes 14 and 15 play very tightly wooded. There was a lot of gripeing about these holes during the SoCal champs with a lot of players saying they were more "luck holes". I personally kind of like them but be warned these 2 holes may ruin your round.
Other Thoughts: Thanks for all the work put in by the course designers and workers to put in a new quality course in north san diego. I fell in love with this course the first time I played it. It seems like a course where you could shoot a 5 down one day, then shoot 5 over the next day.

This course is a great addition to the area and is one I plan on visiting any time I'm in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/2/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: BZoods
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot going for it. It's a nice change of pace as compared to the other San Diego courses. Many of the holes are challenging, but not to a point that they become frustrating. The only holes that I've ever ran into other park users more than once are 7 and 8. Other than that, the course does a good job of staying away from other park users.
Many uphill shots, which create for longer feeling throws.
Extremely fair course, in my opinion. It rewards good shots, but punishes bad ones as well.
Cons: Almost no signage, and can be difficult to navigate if you're new to the course.
Some more benches and trashcans would be nice, as well.
Not the best flow of the course. Starting at hole 1 will leave you with a long walk between 17 and 18 at the end of your round. There's a few alternate starting spots that could create better flow (11,12,14,16,17 are all pretty good holes to start on)
Other Thoughts: Some reviewers seem to think this is a lefty leaning course, but I just don't see it. On many of the holes that are "lefty" holes, there's still great lines for RHBH throwers (not necessarily turnover shots, either)

This course can wear you down. It's hilly, there's long walks between holes. It's very important to wear a good pair of shoes.

The proshop is definitely nice to have on site. Mike, TJ, and Courtney are always really helpful and they have a great selection (an earlier review said it was a small shop, but I've noticed a dramatic increase in stock in the past 10 weeks since I first visited the pro shop).

Overall, this is the best course in North County (Possibly all of San Diego county, depending on who you ask).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not a walk in the park

1    9/8/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: jtrod
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some of the earlier reviews detailed the course very nicely
Very scenic and some challenging shots
Pro Shop near hole 17
Several holes for sidearm or left handers
Since its in a regular park, you could bring the family to picnic while you play
Cons: Make sure you bring a "large" water bottle, there isn't many places close to the course to get water.
Some of the tee pads are very small.
Due to the terrain, disc golf carts are not recommended
Other Thoughts: When the signs are installed the course will deserve a higher rating. Perhaps they should change the numbers of the baskets and start hole 1 near a parking lot.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.