Vista, CA 
Brengle Terrace Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: onemilemore Hole #11 (Taken 10/2012)
3 / 278ft.   4 / 278ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Approach



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >

5+    12/18/2012   12/19/2012
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The north San Diego guys have done it again. Another quality course that offers a lot of fun and a good degree of difficulty.

- Elevation change: From start to finish the hills come into play on this course. Holes 3 and 4 offer some downhill open shots, but it seems like there are more uphill shots than downhill. Which is a pro because it makes the holes play longer.

- Overall couse design is solid, it makes you use every shot in the bag to get the best score. I have found myself resorting to overhand shots and every get-out-of-trouble shot I an to get to the basket.

- Good use of obstacles: Most holes have both early trees guarding the tee pad and late trees guarding the basket. Most holes are birdi-able but it takes a shot that clears both gaps cleanly.

- Difficulty: this course can be very punishing if you are not on your game throwing accurately. The distances are reachable allowing most players the opportunity to score well, but the course can become punishing very fast if you go off the fairway, or hit an early tree.

- On the whole the course is a great challenge and a lot of fun. It offers good distance and gives you a chance to air it out but most importantly it rewards accurate shots and smart decisions. This may be my new favorite course in san diego.
Cons: - Navigation is the biggest con right now. If you are visiting the course for the first time be sure to print out the map. Or better yet find a local to tag along with. There are long gaps between holes and not much in the way of signage. It can be very frustrating without a guide.

- Holes 14 and 15 play very tightly wooded. There was a lot of gripeing about these holes during the SoCal champs with a lot of players saying they were more "luck holes". I personally kind of like them but be warned these 2 holes may ruin your round.
Other Thoughts: Thanks for all the work put in by the course designers and workers to put in a new quality course in north san diego. I fell in love with this course the first time I played it. It seems like a course where you could shoot a 5 down one day, then shoot 5 over the next day.

This course is a great addition to the area and is one I plan on visiting any time I'm in the area.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hills and Navigation

5+    11/24/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Parking/Directions- Big park with lots of parking, you might want to be strategic with where you park but you should never lack a space, and easy to find a quick drive from the freeway.
Shot Variety- Good mix of up hill, downhill, left, right, wide open, wooded, pretty much a little of everything. The alt T locations they use for tourneys can also lend ALOT of length to the course if you want to bomb a few holes.
Double Gap Holes- a few of the holes require you to throw through a gap, across a field and through another gap, for me placement shots like this are very entertaining. Hole 8 is my favorite of the group, great turnover shot with my fuse.
Exercise- With all of the hill climbing here walking 18 is a pretty good workout, with DG as my only real exercise this is a real bonus.
Hole 5- A short hole that plays through a very tight creek with a few VERY tight lines available. I could throw 10-20 discs on this trying to get through, very entertaining.
Cons: Navigation! - There are a few gaps between holes that really left me confused the first time I was out here by myself, 2-3, 17-18 are the worst but there are a number of other poor spots.
Signage- there are tee markers but no real signs of any kind, this would really help with the Nav. issues as well as giving golfers a little more info on each hole.
Other Thoughts: My biggest takeaway from playing here is parking in the lot towards the end of hole 17 is the way to go. A bit of a walk to start your round at 18 but means you dont have an awkward long walk at the end of your round.

Also probably not a place to take beginners, playing behind a group of folks on their second or third time out, the creek holes were a mess for them, literally 10 throws later they had given up and walked to the next hole.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/2/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: BZoods
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot going for it. It's a nice change of pace as compared to the other San Diego courses. Many of the holes are challenging, but not to a point that they become frustrating. The only holes that I've ever ran into other park users more than once are 7 and 8. Other than that, the course does a good job of staying away from other park users.
Many uphill shots, which create for longer feeling throws.
Extremely fair course, in my opinion. It rewards good shots, but punishes bad ones as well.
Cons: Almost no signage, and can be difficult to navigate if you're new to the course.
Some more benches and trashcans would be nice, as well.
Not the best flow of the course. Starting at hole 1 will leave you with a long walk between 17 and 18 at the end of your round. There's a few alternate starting spots that could create better flow (11,12,14,16,17 are all pretty good holes to start on)
Other Thoughts: Some reviewers seem to think this is a lefty leaning course, but I just don't see it. On many of the holes that are "lefty" holes, there's still great lines for RHBH throwers (not necessarily turnover shots, either)

This course can wear you down. It's hilly, there's long walks between holes. It's very important to wear a good pair of shoes.

The proshop is definitely nice to have on site. Mike, TJ, and Courtney are always really helpful and they have a great selection (an earlier review said it was a small shop, but I've noticed a dramatic increase in stock in the past 10 weeks since I first visited the pro shop).

Overall, this is the best course in North County (Possibly all of San Diego county, depending on who you ask).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

The most uphill throws ever!

2-4    10/13/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 34  Reviewed: 20
This review was updated on 12/16/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful unique course. Definitely get your hiking boots ready, this course is physically demanding to walk. Alot of uphill and downhill walking keeps you on your toes. The views on this course are easily the best of the San Diego/North County area disc golf courses.
- Hole 3 is the highlight of the course for me. Its a "top of the world" type hole with such a magnificent view.
-Hole 7 is another highlight with the prettiest guarded basket of the bunch
Cons: Not many cons imo, but here are some things worth mentioning:
- I would start on hole 18 as hole 1, since its by the parking lot and end with hole 17 as your last hole. Not sure why they labeled the course this way, but starting on hole18 will make sense to you if you look at the course map
- the most uphill throws I've ever thrown on a course. this wouldn't be bad if you were rewarded with more downhill throws.
- no signage yet, but hopefully that gets installed soon
Other Thoughts: - not a beginner friendly course (not necessarily a con, but fyi)
- I'd really like to give this 3.75, but you can't give that rating on dgcoursereview. I've only played it once, but it is such a beautiful and challenging course and I can't wait to try it again.
- No signs, just posts. I recommend you play with someone who knows the course or you bring a map (hole 10 on the map seems inaccurate to me...its at the bottom of the hill but the map implies its next to basket 9 which is at the top of the hill, the rest of the map is fairly accurate otherwise).
- I'd also avoid going on an extremely hot day because walking this course is demanding
----------------------------------------------------------------
-Now that I've played this course a couple of times, I still feel this may very well be the best course in the San Diego area overall; beautiful views, unique challenges, and not overly crowded. I still would not recommend bringing a beginner out here to learn though, it is quite a challenging course (in a good way). I throw both RHBH and RHFH and noticed I favored throwing my RHFH alot; alot of the course is uphill throws and sometimes the hills are so steep that your footing almost demands a FH throw, especially if you get stuck on a hill with lots of woods and little space to work with. Holes 9 and 11 are the steep hills to watch out for, especially on hole 9; one bad landing and you can get the "roll of death" towards the bottom of the hill.
-Another thing I noticed is that if you park in the main parking lot by the basketball courts, you may want to start at either holes 16 or 17 as your first hole.
Once Brengle gets some signage, I'll give this course a 4.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not a walk in the park

1    9/8/2012   9/8/2012
Review By: jtrod
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some of the earlier reviews detailed the course very nicely
Very scenic and some challenging shots
"Free"
Pro Shop near hole 17
Several holes for sidearm or left handers
Since its in a regular park, you could bring the family to picnic while you play
Cons: Make sure you bring a "large" water bottle, there isn't many places close to the course to get water.
Some of the tee pads are very small.
Due to the terrain, disc golf carts are not recommended
Other Thoughts: When the signs are installed the course will deserve a higher rating. Perhaps they should change the numbers of the baskets and start hole 1 near a parking lot.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun park course

1    8/12/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large multi-use park, and mostly does a nice job of avoiding conflicts with other park uses. Elevation comes into play on many of the holes, with several tough uphill shots that add to the effective length and difficulty of the course. A couple pin positions have great roll-away potential, adding some challenge to the short game. Despite several fairly open shots off the tee, many of the pin positions are guarded with brush or trees to keep the shot a little more interesting. A handful of holes are tighter and force some different line shaping, offering a little more rough to punish errant shots.

The baskets are brand new, and catch well. The park seemed to be well taken care of, despite earlier reviews to the contrary we didn't find too much trash, obviously a lot of work has gone into building and cleaning this course. The rubber tees are fine, most are level and smooth and they offer plenty of grip.
Cons: A couple holes play right over or next to picnic areas, potentially a major safety issue on a popular day. Several tees are right near the previous basket, so watch out for errant shots by groups behind you. There are a couple really long walks, and with no signage it can be a little difficult to follow the course your first time through. It would be nice to have some idea of hole lengths and layouts, and maybe some next tee signs to help with the flow.

The course is pretty short and open overall, I liked the use of the elevation to add some challenge and the wooded sections of the park are nice, but there just isn't enough land to stretch it out or make it a truly challenging layout. It felt like there were a lot of holes that threw uphill, and a lot of downhill walks to the next tee. I enjoy the challenge of throwing uphill, but it's always nice to get the payoff of a fun downhill shot and that doesn't really happen here.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course challenging but approachable. There are enough obstacles and challenges to push newer players to learn different lines and how discs fly with moderate elevation changes, but not so much rough that it will get frustrating. More experienced players won't find a ton of challenge, but there are a handful of holes that offer the chance for creativity and punish poor execution. I had a good time here, and will definitely be back.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Variety mix course

5+    7/26/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: patdb23
Played: 40  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Brengle Terrace disc golf course provides a variety of skill shots with scenic hilltops, downhill & uphill elevated sloped holes, and a mix of tight technical to open field shots. This course provides a wide variety of mixed holes to challenge every aspect of your game.

To start off, this course is centrally located throughout the city park making use of the land to avoid park users. There's a amphitheater, playground area, botanical garden, and a park center that share the area and somehow the San Diego Aces club was able to manuever around and design this course with the approval of the Vista City Council.

The course has rubber teepads on all current of the 16 holes, and there are still 2 holes to build through a forest of trees lined up with some sporatic poison oak. The poison oak will be removed and the holes (14 & 15) should be in place in the next month or so. Plans to install tee signs and a course directory are in place (money needs to be raised). A small but new disc golf shop is open near hole 17. Plenty of parking all throughout the park, with other activities around including basketball, baseball, and horseshoes pits.

The first two holes are wide open uphill shots with wind and elevation in contention. Hole 3 has a magnificent hilltop view of the park with a signature tee area facing a downhill slope with basket finishing left throwing into an uphill headwind. Probably one of the more unique holes you will every come across. Hole 4 is a putter shot 250ft downhill with a treachorous dropoff behind the basket. Hole 5 runs through a wooded canopy covered dry creekbed with serious trees lined up between tee and basket. Great tee area with natural seating to rest under the trees for a brief break.

Hole 6 shoots back uphill with a small window to contend with and the basket is guarded by several trees. The walk to hole 7 meanders uphill some ways, but you'll find this tee with a small window to punch out into the open field a unique challenge. The basket nestles on top of a small mound covered with trees for a scenic view. Bring out your hiking shoes for the next 4 holes as you shoot back and forth from out of the trees across a sloped fairway and back into wooded areas. These are tight technical shots, and hole 9 & 11 play way uphill and to the right. Favorable for LHBH or a righty sidearm, or a serious uphill RHBH anhyzer.

Hole 12 & 13 have low ceiling flat fairway shots with OB road to the left (that shouldn't come into factor). Both baskets play alongside slopes, so careful not to shoot past or you face a more challenging putt.

Hole 14 & 15 are currently in the works. Hole 16 shoots slightly uphill with open fairway and then the remaining 60ft around the basket are various small thorn bushes to watch out for. Hole 17 plays on a grassy fairway about 250ft, finishing to the right. The final hole 18 has three teepads with two of them throwing out into an open grass parking lot. The third shorter position plays alongside the street with a line of trees on the right. The long propad plays over 900ft.

The course is still in its early stages and as more players come out, I'm sure some lines will be carved out on the more challenging holes. Overall, this course will challenge you both physically and mentally. It helps to be a lefty or have a decent righty sidearm or turnover shot.
Cons: - New course that still has work to do, signs need to be installed, hole 14 & 15 not in yet.
- Very lefty friendly, don't be surprised if you hear this course dubbed "Lefty Revenge".
- Pro Shop is on hole 17, and then there is a long, long, long walk to hole 18. I suggest having hole 17 as 18, and make orginal 18 as hole 1; we shall see.
- Still need to open up some lines on a few holes.
- Some holes still have a lot of natural debris to remove, and finding discs on a couple holes will be a challenge.
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to seeing how this course really turns out and what changes will be made down the road. Has a long way to go to become a mature course, but give it time. This course is really unique and provides a lot of different challenges, well worth to check it out.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond in the Rough

1    7/19/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: rmcguire86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes and trees: a major plus given the usually open design of southern california courses.

A couple of "signature holes," especially the ones that run through the dry creek bed in the middle of the course.

Long course, probably half again as long as kit carson.

The course is challenging from both a disc golf perspective and a physical perspective. Wear some good shoes and long pants.

Great design. Puts the holes in places that don't appear to be used by regular park goers all that often. In fact, it appears that there will not be many problems with conflicting park use in most areas.

Free!

Pro Shop will be on site (off of hole 17.)
Cons: Kind of way out there if you don't live in North County.

A lot of trash, but this is probably due to the fact that the course is relatively new and some of the places that they've cleared out appear to be hobo homes/teenager smoking hangouts. If you play, try to pick up some of the crap!
Other Thoughts: This isn't really a pro or a con, but just be aware that the course has not been completed yet. A lot of this review is based on the potential of the course. I'll revisit this after everything is done and reevaluate the course, but I expect my score to go up.

There is a lot of brush that still needs to be cleared, rubber tee pads need to be put in on most holes, and two holes haven't been completed yet. If anyone lives in San Diego and has some free time on the weekends, I urge you to get out and help these guys finish up. Go to the San Diego Aces website for more info.

Also, the signage hasn't been put in yet, and course navigation is not intuitive. There are several places where you cannot see the next tee pad from the previous pin. The Aces have put up a map on their website at http://sandiegoaces.com/2012/...park-update/. I recommend you print it out and take it with you. If I hadn't met a guy who had been part of the work parties I would never have been able to find my way around.

Finally, one final note, but I think the course would benefit by starting at the current Hole 18 and finishing on Hole 17, for several reasons: (1) there is a parking lot right next to Hole 17 and the pro shop is off of that hole, (2) there is a long, uphill walk to hole 18 that really breaks up the flow of the course, and (3) 17 is at the end of a downhill/flat portion anyway. I plan to play the course like this in the future, but it would be nice if the designer could make that change officially.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  work in progress

2-4    7/20/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: Leatherface760
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: good vareity of holes. used the space they had pretty well. lots of trees blocking shots(yes to me this is a pro) over all pretty fun course. lots of walking up hills(yes a pro to me)
Cons: too many people in park, no signs yet, needs some work.couple of the holes WAY too short.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.