Mint Hill, NC 
Mint Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
4 / 231ft.   4 / 231ft.   3 / 231ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Ultimate Beginner Course

1    11/16/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 200  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mint Hill is as good a course for the novice as I could imagine. If I lived in Charlotte this would be the place for introducing new players to the game. Unlike many newbie-friendly courses, this one looks like a real course. It is a real course, only smaller and easier.

It's not just an open space. It's a real course, with nice baskets, and helpful signs, and useful tees. It sports real fairway. Nicely-mowed, manicured fairways lined with trees. They are very generous and not overly long, but they present an accurate picture of what the game is about without frustrating new players with holes that will take multiple short drives to traverse.

There is a little bit of distance, with the last three holes measuring over three-hundred feet. New players will learn to throw straight sooner rather than later, because while this course is forgiving, it is rewarding to better throws.

There is elevation. There are uphills and downhills here. New players will grow accustomed to throwing uphill and downhill.

Honestly, I can see this course appealing to true novices, making their way up the fairway in 50-foot chunks, to red-level players learning their discs before moving up to some of the big boys in the area. It's a very well-kept and pretty little park that I hope introduced numerous players to the game over the years.
Cons: It's great for who it is meant for, but experience players will find little of interest here. The combination of fairly short holes and fairways that will seem like open fields to those who have played much in Carolina means that there is not a significant challenge here for those seeking one.

Other Thoughts: For veterans, the joy here is in seeing a friend or family member throw a disc for the first time and just possibly grow to love the game. Mint Hill isn't just beginner-friendly. It's a beginner's paradise.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Develop Your Skill at Mint Hill

5+    5/23/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: dndelli
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you live in the vicinity of Mint Hill Park, this is a great course for beginners to learn the basics of the game. With a lot of open, straight fairways, you don't have to worry too much about what line you are throwing. For more experienced players this course becomes a great pitch-and-putt course to use for ace runs.

Hole 1 is a great long, open, straight shot with short and long pads to use as you work on increasing the length of your drives. Hole 2 gives beginners their first look at uphill drives without being overly demanding. Hole 3 is a great slight downhill drive, with a single tree in the fairway to make things interesting. (Experienced players can make this an unofficial Mando, and increase the challenge by trying the route to the right of it.) Hole 4 is a neat little uphill shot with a lot of pines scattered across the fairway. Excellent for learning how to choose which line to throw. A good hyzer bomb on the right side still works great for those trying to park the green. Hole 5 will give beginners a good look at putting on a slope. (Should they play it safe and approach, or go for it. I like to turn my putter upside down and give it a nice shove if I am feeling unsure if I can sink the putt.) Hole 6 has two routes to take. A very thin, and challenging RHBH route, or an easier RHFH route for those that want an easy green. (Don't overthrow here.) Hole 7 is the most challenging hole of the course with multiple routes to take. Giving beginners a chance to experience the hole in a variety of shots. Hole 8 is another long straight shot with a few trees that manage to thin the line a little. Hole 9 is a slightly uphill version of Hole 1 with a more narrow fairway. Windy days can be a problem for the back tee pad on this hole, but it is still manageable.
Cons: Unless experienced players get creative, this course can become stale quick. A putter is really all that is necessary to do well here at the higher levels. The use of DiscCatcher Sports as opposed to DiscCatcher Pros is also disappointing. They have a tendency to spit your disc back out since they lack the double chains (making Ace runs less exciting.) When you are learning how to play, you might throw a bad line and end up in the brush filled cedar trees. Though the last time I played here I noticed a lot of foot traffic has cleared up the rough quite a bit. This should make losing a disc, pretty hard. (But those Cedar Trees can still be tricky.) So can the thorn thicket on Hole 6 if you overthrow. (But you can always wait for it to rain, then check the creek bed for your plastic.) The course used to be in pristine condition, always, but grafitti is taking its tole on this quaint little 9-er. Some of the tee pads could use some trimming. Hole 1's short pad is so covered in run-off mud that grass is growing on top of it. It also seems that the one tee that provided a real challenge for intermediate-experienced player (the long tee on Hole 7) seems to have been removed. This doesn't keep me from walking to its old location and tossing. Hole 6's RHBH route is constantly overgrown, which isn't too upsetting since most seem to like to throw a Side Arm here, but it would be nice to have all the options the designer wanted us to have.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of a downsized version of Eastway. Open straight fairways (just shorter and less challenging). The park itself is great, and the course is amazing for recreational players who are just getting into the sport. It's not a course I would drive out of my way to play, but I occasionally stop by when I am already driving by it. Throw in mandos, and try less popular routes to create a more challenging experience for yourself. It would be fun if they park decided to add a few more challenging holes in the woods across the creek from Hole 6, but I don't plan to hold my breath waiting for that to happen. For now Mint Hill will just be a nice, relaxed place to take people I am teaching the game, as well as a nostalgic throw back to when I was learning the game myself.

This is a great beginner course, and despite the graffiti, and trash, it is still a good place to learn the game. I would love to see some effort be put into cleaning it up a bit. If the course was in the condition it was in 4-5 years ago, I would have definitely given it a higher rating.

Favorite Holes: 1, 5, 7

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

So many Eagles!

2-4    8/19/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 211  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Its a fun little course to play and not too tough for beginers.

If you decide to play by posted par you will shoot the biggest negative of your life on a 9 holer

the use of elevation is pretty good for what little there is. Good mix of left to right and straight.


Cons: Litter is really bad.

Next tee signage is pretty rough and there are a few places that can be confusing. Its also pretty tough to find hole 1.

it's been pretty crowded both times Ive gone. mostly players with 1 or 2 discs.

No benches or garbage cans

Barbed wire fence next to a few of the holes that you can easily throw over and have a time getting your disc back.
Other Thoughts: This course gets lost in the shuffle of all of the 18 hole courses in charlotte however I feel like it is my favorite 9 hole course. If you are finishing up your day and youre in the neighborhood it is a fun course and is right next to 485. Not worth driving out of your way but if youre nearbye stop for a quick round

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Generous Par

1    2/19/2011   2/19/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2011
10 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: - Concrete Tee pads
- good signage and flow
- 2 tees on 1 and 18
- Great course for beginners and rec players.
- Baskets in good shape
- Bathrooms, playground, and trash cans among available ammenities.
-good use of land, some elevation changes come into play.
Cons: -Second pad on 1 is the same as the other pad, but back 40 feet, no added benefit or change in the hole.
- Eagle opportunities abound (if you play it as posted), several par 4's that are under 250 feet and aceable.
- The hole variety is limited.
- advanced players can play all par 3's and still seek more challenge.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid course that can be played very quickly, but does not have any holes that you will find memorable.
Course is easy to find with lots of other activities.

10 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/5/2010   1/5/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is definitely a hidden secret amongst all the Charlotte courses. While you have all the big, tough courses in the area, this is the little engine that could. Nothing flashy about it, but always solid. This course has a traditional golf course layout with distinct fairways, thick rough and good variation. The more open holes, especially #1 & #9 have a distinct links-type course feel to them where you have to keep shots low and out of the wind.
- Good hole layouts and great use of land. With limited space, this course does a great job using elevation, as well as natural fairways.
- Elevation plays a big factor on holes #2 - 7. For example, on #3 - 259 foot downhill hole - I've thrown a Roc 50 feet past the hole with little effort, but on #4 - 204 foot uphill hole, I've had to throw an Eagle just to get to the basket. Granted, there are other factors in play - i.e. the thick trees on #4s fairway - but still, #3 plays a lot shorter than #4.
- Great risk/reward. Every hole is a birdie opportunity (assuming you play #7 as a par 4). But with thick, tree-lined fairways and/or windy conditions, every hole is also a bogey chance. Trees are thick, but fair, on most holes to the point of throwing short distance just to get back on to fairway, instead of advancing towards basket. Accuracy is of greater importance than distance on this course.
- Great course to introduce new people to the game. As mentioned above, this course isn't going to overwhelm people with difficulty, so there shouldn't be too much of a frustration/intimidation factor for newbies. Shorter holes will also appeal to the non-big throwers.
- Course is easy to navigate. There's a natural flow, and short walk, from one basket to the next tee. The only semi-long walk is from #1's basket to #2, and that has a sign. First-timers will have no problem navigating the course. With the way the course is set out, you can even jump holes easily, so if you only want to play the open/drivable holes, you can keep going back and forth from #1 to #9 without having to walk any further.
Cons: The woods are thick, fair, but thick. If you land in the woods, be prepared to possibly spend some time searching for your disc. The only way you're really in trouble searching for a disc is if you land in an evergreen. They suck discs in, and rarely drop them to the ground, so make sure you look up when searching. The evergreens (naturally) remain full year around, so don't expect any relief in the winter.
- The fence that runs alongside #7 & #9 stinks. There's no opening in it until near the basket for #9. So if you throw a shot over the fence, especially on #7, you every can try to jump the barbwire or have a long walk up and back to retrieve a disc. It's an added problem on #7 because the fairway is narrow. At least on #9, there's a split fairway, so you can throw the side away from the fence.
- There always seems to be a crosswind on the fairways for #1 & 9, which comes from an open field next to the park. It's a right-to-left wind on #1 and left-to-right on #9. Of all the times I've played the course (at least 20+ times), I'd say there's been some crosswind at least 3/4 of the time. It's not always strong, but it can be enough that you need to adjust your shots accordingly.
- Other than that, just small, petty stuff. The baskets aren't perfect, a couple are slightly bent. It's not a major issue. Some people may have a problem with the trees on every hole. There isn't a huge variety in the holes, in that there is only 1 dog leg. The others are relatively straight with some variation based on the baskets.
Other Thoughts: This is the best 9-hole course in the area, and the best one I've played so far. For only 9 holes, the course has plenty of personality. Holes #1 & 9 are good to practice driving; #2 is a great ace hole; #4 is always an interesting decision to throw through or over the trees.
- As with all 9-hole courses, you can play through in no time, and should be able to play through twice (for a full 18) in less than an hour. The course never gets backed up with players, but always has people playing. Even on a cold, blustery weekday afternoon, I saw 4 other groups playing the course.
- It's a great park with plenty of ammenties - ballfields, picnic area, playground, restrooms, walking trails,water fountain and drink machines. Good for th entire family.
- The course is set as a 9-holer, so don't expect expansion. That said, I've always wondered if it were 18, how it would compare to Reedy Creek.
- It is less than 15 minutes from Reedy, so you can play both courses in an afternoon.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Mostly Lovely Green, Grass Fairways!

1    7/17/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First, the official name of this park is "Park On Fairview" not Mint Hill Park. At least that's what is says on the sign out by the street. The park is fairly large multi-purpose park with all the usual goings on. But the course itself is set beyond the kiddie play area. The only thing golfers have to contend with is a walking/jogging trail. The course has multiple teepads, single chain discatchers and nice signs at the tees. The first hole is an open 300 footer across an field. The rest of the holes are then, morel like golf course holes, with lovely, natural grassy fairways. Not fairways chopped out of woods like many disc golf courses but grassy natural feeling fairways. The roughs are particularly thorny and hard to locate errant throws in. Most holes are between 200 and 300 ft. A few are shorter. It's not a pitch and putt but plays more like a recreational/intermediate course. If you play the listed pars, you should be looking at some eagles as some of the par 4's are basically just par 3's on most others courses. # 6 is a 226 ft. blind, anhyser shot listed as a par 4. I parked it for a gimmee eagle. I think most players would just play it as a par 3.
Cons: It's too short to be taken real serious as any kind of championship course. But I think it's fine if you're looking to practice a new throw. Or teaching someone how to play. You're out in the sun a lot. Bring water on those hot Carolina days.
Other Thoughts: It's a very pretty course with it's lovely fairways. The fence is a minor inconvience on #'s 8 and 9. I don't think other park users would ever be much of a problem. It's not a destination course. It's just an enjoyable little 9 holer.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Not so much a secret anymore

5+    5/13/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2011
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice 9-hole course. A deceivingly open course.
Hole 1- open field, great warm-up and a bag emptying opportunity
Hole 2- excellent ace opportunity for RHBH players. 150', basket offset to the left.
Hole 3- straight shot with a large tree in the direct path from tee box, slightly downhill.
Hole 4- a cluster of good sized trees crowd the entire fairway about 50-100' away from the tee.
Hole 5- steep decent about 100' from basket, rollers beware.
Hole 6- a right bend benefits LHBH players, a flick shot for RH players serves well, good ace possibility.
Hole 7- the most difficult on the course, par 5. Tight fairway to the right and left of a bunch of trees. Right fairway guarded by two trees, Left fairway bordered by a fence to the left, OB.
Hole 8- Straight shot, hole valleys halfway to basket. Cluster of trees to the front/left of basket.
Hole 9- Straight shot, semi-open fairway. This shot is downwind 95% of the time.

This course provides nice, concrete tee pads, tee signs with maps, and old DisCatcher baskets. Most of course is openish, grassy with very defined fairways. Maintained very well.
Cons: Briars and underbrush line most of the holes, which could leave you searching for a disc for some time. Not very secluded, with a walkway along holes 1-6 and fence/road along 7-9.

No benches, Baskets are single chain, and don't catch very well.
Other Thoughts: There is no white tee pad for hole 7, was eliminated when fence along roadway was installed. Pictures of course are somewhat outdated, trees are much larger, and fence is very much in play along holes 7 and 9. Excellent beginners course. Course offers a great day of play with friends, and fast play(group of 2 can play 9 holes in under 30 minutes). Check it out.

Favorite Hole: 5

Least Favorite: 9

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Easy and fun

5+    10/7/2008   2/7/2009
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2010
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for beginners, great to learn on. Variety of shots required. Mostly open layout with great flow from hole to hole. Well maintained. Great navigation. Great for teaching beginners to play.
Cons: It's really a Par 3 course with one Par 4 (Hole 7). Relatively easy, if you stay out of the woods. The Cedar trees eat discs. Can be hard to find wayward discs. Could use more alternate tees and baskets.
Other Thoughts: Great variety of holes that produce some really fun shots. Easy if you play the posted pars, much more difficult to score well if you play it as a Par 3 course. I played this course every day for four months and never got tired of it (then I was re-assigned to another town). Lots of traffic in the afternoons and weekends.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    11/11/2010   1/20/2009
Review By: willstradamus
Played: 32  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Open, grassy, with trees bordering both sides of most fairways which makes for beautiful course. Enough trees in the fairways to force different lines. Nice tee pads and signs. A verity of distances even when playin all "short" tees. Park is very well kept and in a nice area. Payground, tennis courts, volleyball courts and nature trails make for a nice family outing.
Cons: Only nine holes. Not all holes have long tees. I tend to have trouble finding my disc when I shank one into the pine trees and foilage.
Other Thoughts: This Course would be one of my favorites if it was an 18 hole course. I love the fact that it has woods and grass on almost every hole. Definitly worth playing.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center