Disc Golf Store
Mint Hill, NC 
Mint Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
4 / 325ft.   4 / 325ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Ultimate Beginner Course

1    11/16/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 199  Reviewed: 197  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mint Hill is as good a course for the novice as I could imagine. If I lived in Charlotte this would be the place for introducing new players to the game. Unlike many newbie-friendly courses, this one looks like a real course. It is a real course, only smaller and easier.

It's not just an open space. It's a real course, with nice baskets, and helpful signs, and useful tees. It sports real fairway. Nicely-mowed, manicured fairways lined with trees. They are very generous and not overly long, but they present an accurate picture of what the game is about without frustrating new players with holes that will take multiple short drives to traverse.

There is a little bit of distance, with the last three holes measuring over three-hundred feet. New players will learn to throw straight sooner rather than later, because while this course is forgiving, it is rewarding to better throws.

There is elevation. There are uphills and downhills here. New players will grow accustomed to throwing uphill and downhill.

Honestly, I can see this course appealing to true novices, making their way up the fairway in 50-foot chunks, to red-level players learning their discs before moving up to some of the big boys in the area. It's a very well-kept and pretty little park that I hope introduced numerous players to the game over the years.
Cons: It's great for who it is meant for, but experience players will find little of interest here. The combination of fairly short holes and fairways that will seem like open fields to those who have played much in Carolina means that there is not a significant challenge here for those seeking one.

Other Thoughts: For veterans, the joy here is in seeing a friend or family member throw a disc for the first time and just possibly grow to love the game. Mint Hill isn't just beginner-friendly. It's a beginner's paradise.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Develop Your Skill at Mint Hill

5+    5/23/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: dndelli
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you live in the vicinity of Mint Hill Park, this is a great course for beginners to learn the basics of the game. With a lot of open, straight fairways, you don't have to worry too much about what line you are throwing. For more experienced players this course becomes a great pitch-and-putt course to use for ace runs.

Hole 1 is a great long, open, straight shot with short and long pads to use as you work on increasing the length of your drives. Hole 2 gives beginners their first look at uphill drives without being overly demanding. Hole 3 is a great slight downhill drive, with a single tree in the fairway to make things interesting. (Experienced players can make this an unofficial Mando, and increase the challenge by trying the route to the right of it.) Hole 4 is a neat little uphill shot with a lot of pines scattered across the fairway. Excellent for learning how to choose which line to throw. A good hyzer bomb on the right side still works great for those trying to park the green. Hole 5 will give beginners a good look at putting on a slope. (Should they play it safe and approach, or go for it. I like to turn my putter upside down and give it a nice shove if I am feeling unsure if I can sink the putt.) Hole 6 has two routes to take. A very thin, and challenging RHBH route, or an easier RHFH route for those that want an easy green. (Don't overthrow here.) Hole 7 is the most challenging hole of the course with multiple routes to take. Giving beginners a chance to experience the hole in a variety of shots. Hole 8 is another long straight shot with a few trees that manage to thin the line a little. Hole 9 is a slightly uphill version of Hole 1 with a more narrow fairway. Windy days can be a problem for the back tee pad on this hole, but it is still manageable.
Cons: Unless experienced players get creative, this course can become stale quick. A putter is really all that is necessary to do well here at the higher levels. The use of DiscCatcher Sports as opposed to DiscCatcher Pros is also disappointing. They have a tendency to spit your disc back out since they lack the double chains (making Ace runs less exciting.) When you are learning how to play, you might throw a bad line and end up in the brush filled cedar trees. Though the last time I played here I noticed a lot of foot traffic has cleared up the rough quite a bit. This should make losing a disc, pretty hard. (But those Cedar Trees can still be tricky.) So can the thorn thicket on Hole 6 if you overthrow. (But you can always wait for it to rain, then check the creek bed for your plastic.) The course used to be in pristine condition, always, but grafitti is taking its tole on this quaint little 9-er. Some of the tee pads could use some trimming. Hole 1's short pad is so covered in run-off mud that grass is growing on top of it. It also seems that the one tee that provided a real challenge for intermediate-experienced player (the long tee on Hole 7) seems to have been removed. This doesn't keep me from walking to its old location and tossing. Hole 6's RHBH route is constantly overgrown, which isn't too upsetting since most seem to like to throw a Side Arm here, but it would be nice to have all the options the designer wanted us to have.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of a downsized version of Eastway. Open straight fairways (just shorter and less challenging). The park itself is great, and the course is amazing for recreational players who are just getting into the sport. It's not a course I would drive out of my way to play, but I occasionally stop by when I am already driving by it. Throw in mandos, and try less popular routes to create a more challenging experience for yourself. It would be fun if they park decided to add a few more challenging holes in the woods across the creek from Hole 6, but I don't plan to hold my breath waiting for that to happen. For now Mint Hill will just be a nice, relaxed place to take people I am teaching the game, as well as a nostalgic throw back to when I was learning the game myself.

This is a great beginner course, and despite the graffiti, and trash, it is still a good place to learn the game. I would love to see some effort be put into cleaning it up a bit. If the course was in the condition it was in 4-5 years ago, I would have definitely given it a higher rating.

Favorite Holes: 1, 5, 7

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great 9-er!

1    3/19/2013   3/22/2013
Review By: BennettUA
Played: 91  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 10.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a great little 9-er! As far as 9-hole courses go, this is one of my favorites.
The holes are challenging without being supremely long. Great use of the elevation on the grounds -- if you imagined this plot of land without the course on it, this layout would be optimal for using the ups and downs of the hills here.
Great blend of shots -- uphill and downhill, left and right, open and alley shots. Long and short tee shots, even a couple blind tee shots.
Old school Charlotte signage with all pertinent info.
Easy to navigate, save for finding the first hole, but the description on the course page got me there. Locals park on a side street, near where 9 finishes.
Doesn't interfere with the rest of the park, except for a walking trail which is off the fairways.
Cons: Baskets are older and single-chained.
Some graffiti on the signage, especially the last few holes.
I've heard this place gets popular with big groups and single-discers, but I didn't have any traffic just after work on a gorgeous day.
Other Thoughts: Park seems like a great place for the family. Bathrooms and a nice walking trail. I didn't see any trash cans on the course, but it's only 9 holes, so pack in and pack out!

This is one of the most fun 9-hole courses I've ever played. Feels like an older, seasoned Charlotte course that got cut in half. Not overly challenging, but far from easy -- great for anyone wanting to play disc golf -- newbies will love this course, and seasoned veterans will see that while it's not the toughest course around, it's not wide-open, repetitive flat shots either.
Favorites were:
-- #3, downhill blind through a wide tree fairway;
-- #7 -- longest hole, uphill blind into the trees to set up your second shot, or go way around the left side and hope to find a line at the basket.

Charlotte offers a wealth of courses. If you're coming for a disc golf road trip, I can guess which courses you'll hit, and this won't be on that list. However, if you're here for an extended period, live here, or just want to get in a quick 9, Mint Hill will give you a full smile with only half a course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

So many Eagles!

2-4    8/19/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 204  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Its a fun little course to play and not too tough for beginers.

If you decide to play by posted par you will shoot the biggest negative of your life on a 9 holer

the use of elevation is pretty good for what little there is. Good mix of left to right and straight.


Cons: Litter is really bad.

Next tee signage is pretty rough and there are a few places that can be confusing. Its also pretty tough to find hole 1.

it's been pretty crowded both times Ive gone. mostly players with 1 or 2 discs.

No benches or garbage cans

Barbed wire fence next to a few of the holes that you can easily throw over and have a time getting your disc back.
Other Thoughts: This course gets lost in the shuffle of all of the 18 hole courses in charlotte however I feel like it is my favorite 9 hole course. If you are finishing up your day and youre in the neighborhood it is a fun course and is right next to 485. Not worth driving out of your way but if youre nearbye stop for a quick round

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little 9-holer!

1    4/7/2011   4/8/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course in a multi-use park. Course it located off to one side of the park away from other park users and activities. Good concrete tee pads with short and long pad available for some holes. Signs are adequate and tell you what you need to know. Navigation is a piece of cake. I had no issues locating next basket. Course flow is smooth and brings you in a nice loop.

Just what I'd call a pretty little course. Uses elevation well and has several holes that play up and down a hill. Mostly wooded fairways by normal standards, but probably considered more open for NC. Terrain reminds me a lot of some of the courses in Nashville. Nice hills with some well defined fairways that have just enough mature trees in play to keep you on your toes. This course also have a few holes with a little bit of length so you're not totally just threading putters through the woods like at some 9 hole courses.
Cons: Not really any glaring problems at the course. Hole 1 is probably not the best way to make a first impression, but for the most part this course is a fun little place to play. Probably if you're an advanced player this course may be too simplistic or short, but I found most of the holes to be well designed, and at least had some risk if you couldn't hit your shot.
Other Thoughts: I don't play a ton of 9 hole courses so I was pleasantly surprised by this one. While not a perfect course, it did force me to break out more than just my putters, and gave me enough challenge that I got in the woods on a couple of occasions. Don't let the 1st hole fool you, this is a cool little 9 hole course that is worth your time if you are in the area.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Generous Par

1    2/19/2011   2/19/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2011
10 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: - Concrete Tee pads
- good signage and flow
- 2 tees on 1 and 18
- Great course for beginners and rec players.
- Baskets in good shape
- Bathrooms, playground, and trash cans among available ammenities.
-good use of land, some elevation changes come into play.
Cons: -Second pad on 1 is the same as the other pad, but back 40 feet, no added benefit or change in the hole.
- Eagle opportunities abound (if you play it as posted), several par 4's that are under 250 feet and aceable.
- The hole variety is limited.
- advanced players can play all par 3's and still seek more challenge.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid course that can be played very quickly, but does not have any holes that you will find memorable.
Course is easy to find with lots of other activities.

10 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Lost my thrill at Mint Hill

1    7/15/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7.1 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very well-defined fairways, concrete tees, multiple tees available, tee signs, the whole nine yards available in a very well-manicured park. It's one of those "sorta wooded" courses, not really in the woods because there's no shade to be had, more like a park garden with little trees like cedars and brush gone fallow used to line the fairways. It flows well enough and the baskets are great, very visible with yellow tops and basket bottoms. The wire-frame baskets were deep, fat-bottomed baskets that would have given Freddie Mercury something to sing about.
Cons: Some tees had broken beer bottles all over them. The pars are extremely forgiving, I don't believe in anything being over a par 3 unless it's at least over 330' or more realistically 350-400' and this course had a couple holes under that range as par 4's and 5's. There's no sign that I could see that actually shows you where to find the course, hang a right out of the parking lot (away from the ballfields), past the playground towards the fence at the top of the hill out there in the open. The pro tee is hard to see because it's almost completely washed over with red mud/dirt. There are some long and short tees, but they're all virtually right behind the other with about 20-30' between them, and none of the longs are very long, this course is really short, only a couple in the 300' range. I loved the baskets but they had single chains only, so don't be surprised when piddly hole # 2 with its 150' of ego stroking length spits out your Cubby Ace.

Playability: Not much variety here, all mostly short and straight with some slightly bothersome tree-lined fairways that cause you to sort of turnover or hyzer your disc a little bit here and there.

Elevation: Nil.
Other Thoughts: Signature Hole: #4. There's really not much of a fairway on this little hole, just a platoon of skinny pines huddled together, as if to say, "Red rover, red rover, send your drive on over," which is exactly what you do, hyzer spike over them b/c they're only ~30' tall at the most. Also a good FH roller hole.

Hole #'s 8 and 9 specifically were really nice and much more challenging, S-curving enough to actually make you think about disc placement. If most of the course was like these two, I'd have no problem rating it in the 3.0-3.5 range. Alas, as it stands now, Mint Hill reminds me of the uglier friend of a group of hot, college girls. You could score well and easily with Mint Hill and it's got a nice personality but every fiber in your body is telling you that you'd rather take the risk of getting rejected by the more daunting Hornet's Nests and Renny's of Charlotte.

This isn't a bad course, and if amenities and things like signs and concrete tees rate high in your book, then you'll like this course more than I did. But from a playing perspective, there are just so many better options. HOWEVA, if I wanted to bring an initiate into the world of DG, this is a great course for that.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 holer

5+    2/25/2010   2/25/2010
Review By: prototypicalDave
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well maintained course with a relatively decent range of difficulty.

The open field on #1 is really great for learning drive technique.

It's usually not very crowded. I play it several times a week when I am working from home and I have never had to wait or been rushed on a hole.

Most of the holes reward accuracy over distance.
I love wide open fairways, but they don't make me a better disc golfer. I have learned my mid range game here, and I think that I have benefited from it.
Cons: That being said there are a couple of holes that seem like throwaways (#2 for instance).

It really could use a few more holes.There seems to be enough room on the site for a few more at least.

The evergreens in the rough will EAT your discs. I have never had more trouble retrieving a wayward disc than I have had here.
Lot's of briars in the rough too.

Sometimes the park has been closed for no obvious reason.

Several times I have had a creepy security guard follow me around in his all-terrain golf cart.
It's nice to know that they are there, but don't park on the fairway!

Dog poop is a hazard.
Other Thoughts: It seems I have more cons than pros for this place, but nonetheless, I love it. Admittedly the fact that it's within 3 miles of my house is nice, but even without that, I would make the drive out to play it if I wanted to work on my game in peace.

Like I said above, the mix of challenges is really conducive to working on most aspects of the game.

Also the park staff really takes care of it.They've recently repainted the baskets, and after the recent crappy weather, they hit all of the tee pads with an edger and swept away all of the accumulated clay and dirt.

All in all a good course. Thanks to Mint Hill for providing it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course if you throw short drives like me.

2-4    1/29/2010   2/3/2010
Review By: ReedyCreekProduct
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: VERY easy to get to. Just hop right off of 485 and you're almost at the first tee.

Nicely-defined fairways and tree clusters. It's like a shrunken ball-golf course.

Good signage.

Seems like a safe park.
Cons: Don't bother if you want 18 holes, or want to throw massive drives at every tee pad.

While the grassy, planned fairways are pleasant and a nice contrast to the nearby Squirrel Lake course, part of me feels guilty because of the possible environmental impact of keeping up such a "lawn".

There might be one or two holes(maybe just one) where you'll have to keep a lookout for people on a nearby walking trail. It's never been a problem for me.
Other Thoughts: I personally love this course because I can't throw the big drives anyway. A great place for kids, beginners, average players, mildy-injured players, "just for fun" players, and aging players who can't throw as hard as they used to.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Most beginner friendly Charlotte course

1    1/23/2010   1/23/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1) Concrete tees are always a plus. The second tees on 1, 7, and 9 are also concrete and nicely sized. They are also rough for a good grip on your drive.

2) Disc Golf sign at the parking lot to help direct you to the course from the parking lot. It not only helps people looking for the disc golf course but it also makes the public aware of the sport as well as non dg'ers that there is a course out there. they might just think people are out there throwing "frisbees" around. It gives some credibility to the sport.

3) Nice signage. I have seen these signs before on different courses and I like them. They have big lettering and numbering, clear differences between tees, and all the necessary info along with a diagram of the holes. All ina ll some of the better signage I have seen. Functional but not decorative, which is fine in my book.

4) Very nice park. It is not a Mecklenberg county park, but it does a good job to represent the area it is in. There are multiple activities there including a walking track, walking trails, disc golf, baseball, an open field for all sorts of activities, and a playground for kids. All in all another great park for the Charlotte area.

5) This is the only full size course in the metro Charlotte area with fairly open fairways. There are avenues to hit and some woods on the course but the fairways are more forgiving.

6) Obviously the most beginner friendly course that truly represents the game. Cameron Yards can be an equivalent, but I think it doesn't truly show what courses can be. This one is a full fledged DG course and can be enjoyed by so many people, especially beginners.

7) I think there is more potential here for more holes. I might be a really short 18 hole course if it were to expand but there are so many lanes in through these trees that could be more holes. Perhaps a multiple tee course to make 18 holes would be more appropriate here. They could make 18 holes with only 9 baskets pretty easily.

8) Nice variety of shot shaping available on this course. There are hyzers, anhyzers, straight shots, s curve holes, and multiple option holes available on this course. I think this variety makes this course as good as it can be.

9) Moderate hills make this course as good as it can be. Sure it doesn't have as much challenge due to elevation on this course, but the hills are rolling and do force some different shots.

10) Good turf, probably the best turf on Charlotte courses. Sure most of the Charlotte course are densely wooded, but some of them do have turf in areas. This is well maintained and is nice to have a course that isn't all compacted soil.

11) This course does do a good job of using the limited space. It fits 9 holes into a pretty tight area of the park, also an arra that wouldnt be usable by any other sport without major excavation or soil work.

12) Natural flow of the course is pretty good except for the fact that there look to be lanes to throw down all over the place.
Cons: 1) The wooded spots on the course are not in the fairways, but if you go errant and get a kick into the wooded areas you wil struggle to get out cleanly. They are dense and they are evergreen so there will always be something in your way to try and advance the disc up the fairways.

2) Directional signage would be helpful in a few spots for beginners or first timers. The reason I say this would be helpful is because there are all sorts of avenues that could look like holes. There are basically pockets of trees that these holes wind through and around and you may struggle for a few seconds to find the appropriate spot for the next tee.

3) You might think that this course is forgiving, but if you are errant or you hit the wrong tree, you will be punished if you are in those dense cedar tree wooded area. I was surprised on a few occassions where I had no way to advance my disc when I was 10' off the fairways. Sure the fairways are wider and more forgiving, but once you leave the fairway they are punishing . . . almost too punishing for what I consider to be the most beginner friendly course in Charlotte.

4) Doesn't really challenge the above average player.

5) The long tees are only on 3 holes, so even if you play the long tees, you are still playing a beginner course.

6) Course has almost no variety because it plays mostly open with tight woods on either side of the forgiving fairways. Sure it has some elevation, but it would still be nice to see some more variety like maybe a hole in the dense woods, or a water shot included somehow. It is very monotonous.

7) Duece or die for advanced players. I think this is a negative because I like more variety.

8) Walkpath comes into play along a couple holes. Not as bad as many courses I have seen but still mentionable. It never crosses a path only errant shots would hit the path, but again, still worth mentioning.

9) Baskets are a little old with some rust on some of them. They still catch just fine but the aesthetics of the baskets are starting to decline.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course and definitely a course needed in the Charlotte area. It serves its purpose by providing a course without dense woods on every shot. It isnt as forgiving as you might think because once you get off the fairways you might as well be in the dense woods because you are not advancing the disc at all! I did have a good time playing here despite having a good round at Reedy beforehand, but this simply is only an average to slightly above average course. The beginner can enjoy it and the advanced or pro player can shoots for aces and birdies on every hole. Like I said it is an important course for Charlotte as it gives an outlet for many people to play a different type of course. This course gets a three becuase it serves a purpose no other course in the Charlotte area offer. It caters to beginners. If it was surrounded by average course it would get a 2.5 from me, but because it is the most accepting of beginners it gets a 3 from me, even though I no longer consider myself a beginner.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.