Mint Hill, NC
Mint Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
4 / 226ft.   4 / 226ft.   3 / 226ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    1/5/2010   1/5/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 9.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is definitely a hidden secret amongst all the Charlotte courses. While you have all the big, tough courses in the area, this is the little engine that could. Nothing flashy about it, but always solid. This course has a traditional golf course layout with distinct fairways, thick rough and good variation. The more open holes, especially #1 & #9 have a distinct links-type course feel to them where you have to keep shots low and out of the wind.
- Good hole layouts and great use of land. With limited space, this course does a great job using elevation, as well as natural fairways.
- Elevation plays a big factor on holes #2 - 7. For example, on #3 - 259 foot downhill hole - I've thrown a Roc 50 feet past the hole with little effort, but on #4 - 204 foot uphill hole, I've had to throw an Eagle just to get to the basket. Granted, there are other factors in play - i.e. the thick trees on #4s fairway - but still, #3 plays a lot shorter than #4.
- Great risk/reward. Every hole is a birdie opportunity (assuming you play #7 as a par 4). But with thick, tree-lined fairways and/or windy conditions, every hole is also a bogey chance. Trees are thick, but fair, on most holes to the point of throwing short distance just to get back on to fairway, instead of advancing towards basket. Accuracy is of greater importance than distance on this course.
- Great course to introduce new people to the game. As mentioned above, this course isn't going to overwhelm people with difficulty, so there shouldn't be too much of a frustration/intimidation factor for newbies. Shorter holes will also appeal to the non-big throwers.
- Course is easy to navigate. There's a natural flow, and short walk, from one basket to the next tee. The only semi-long walk is from #1's basket to #2, and that has a sign. First-timers will have no problem navigating the course. With the way the course is set out, you can even jump holes easily, so if you only want to play the open/drivable holes, you can keep going back and forth from #1 to #9 without having to walk any further.
Cons: The woods are thick, fair, but thick. If you land in the woods, be prepared to possibly spend some time searching for your disc. The only way you're really in trouble searching for a disc is if you land in an evergreen. They suck discs in, and rarely drop them to the ground, so make sure you look up when searching. The evergreens (naturally) remain full year around, so don't expect any relief in the winter.
- The fence that runs alongside #7 & #9 stinks. There's no opening in it until near the basket for #9. So if you throw a shot over the fence, especially on #7, you every can try to jump the barbwire or have a long walk up and back to retrieve a disc. It's an added problem on #7 because the fairway is narrow. At least on #9, there's a split fairway, so you can throw the side away from the fence.
- There always seems to be a crosswind on the fairways for #1 & 9, which comes from an open field next to the park. It's a right-to-left wind on #1 and left-to-right on #9. Of all the times I've played the course (at least 20+ times), I'd say there's been some crosswind at least 3/4 of the time. It's not always strong, but it can be enough that you need to adjust your shots accordingly.
- Other than that, just small, petty stuff. The baskets aren't perfect, a couple are slightly bent. It's not a major issue. Some people may have a problem with the trees on every hole. There isn't a huge variety in the holes, in that there is only 1 dog leg. The others are relatively straight with some variation based on the baskets.
Other Thoughts: This is the best 9-hole course in the area, and the best one I've played so far. For only 9 holes, the course has plenty of personality. Holes #1 & 9 are good to practice driving; #2 is a great ace hole; #4 is always an interesting decision to throw through or over the trees.
- As with all 9-hole courses, you can play through in no time, and should be able to play through twice (for a full 18) in less than an hour. The course never gets backed up with players, but always has people playing. Even on a cold, blustery weekday afternoon, I saw 4 other groups playing the course.
- It's a great park with plenty of ammenties - ballfields, picnic area, playground, restrooms, walking trails,water fountain and drink machines. Good for th entire family.
- The course is set as a 9-holer, so don't expect expansion. That said, I've always wondered if it were 18, how it would compare to Reedy Creek.
- It is less than 15 minutes from Reedy, so you can play both courses in an afternoon.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Great course

5+    11/26/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: Patrick21892
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great course for an easy playing experience with fair basket placement and smooth transition form hole to hole.
-Never overcrowded, although its never completely empty either.
-very open fairways for the most part, and overall a very fun course to play.
Cons: -I've played here hundreds of times and every once and a while when i come the grass will be in pretty bad shape around a couple of holes (poorly cut), but its really not that big of a deal, just an observation.
Other Thoughts: I recommend this course to anyone who is in the area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Drove a good ways and had fun

2-4    10/2/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: albert8fish
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variety, play longs for the back nine on a beautiful Carolina fall day.I was bored in the city and this cured me.I still believe in playing as many courses as you can, and if you live in Charlotte you should take some time to play the courses that are not big project works.Worse thing that can happen is fresh air and throwing things.If you ace every hole I will retract my statement.
Cons: When you throw into the rough, it is thick, but passable My friend lost a firebird in the top of a pine tree, but that was odd not a real con..Found or way around fine.Short course but fun.
Other Thoughts: Get on down to Mint Hill if you are foundered on mega courses, bring a handful of discs and play like the old days.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mostly Lovely Green, Grass Fairways!

1    7/17/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First, the official name of this park is "Park On Fairview" not Mint Hill Park. At least that's what is says on the sign out by the street. The park is fairly large multi-purpose park with all the usual goings on. But the course itself is set beyond the kiddie play area. The only thing golfers have to contend with is a walking/jogging trail. The course has multiple teepads, single chain discatchers and nice signs at the tees. The first hole is an open 300 footer across an field. The rest of the holes are then, morel like golf course holes, with lovely, natural grassy fairways. Not fairways chopped out of woods like many disc golf courses but grassy natural feeling fairways. The roughs are particularly thorny and hard to locate errant throws in. Most holes are between 200 and 300 ft. A few are shorter. It's not a pitch and putt but plays more like a recreational/intermediate course. If you play the listed pars, you should be looking at some eagles as some of the par 4's are basically just par 3's on most others courses. # 6 is a 226 ft. blind, anhyser shot listed as a par 4. I parked it for a gimmee eagle. I think most players would just play it as a par 3.
Cons: It's too short to be taken real serious as any kind of championship course. But I think it's fine if you're looking to practice a new throw. Or teaching someone how to play. You're out in the sun a lot. Bring water on those hot Carolina days.
Other Thoughts: It's a very pretty course with it's lovely fairways. The fence is a minor inconvience on #'s 8 and 9. I don't think other park users would ever be much of a problem. It's not a destination course. It's just an enjoyable little 9 holer.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Whet your appetite for Charlotte DG

5+    7/13/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: innovator
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole 1 is great for warm up. Nice long direct shot at basket. Can try a number of different throws. Just watch you don't drop a bomber to the left on a jogger. Really a par 3 except for maybe hole 7. However, if you go by posted pars, you will feel on top of the world!
Cons: Needs 9 more holes. Would be nice to see 9 go through the wooded area of the park as a contrast to the first 9.
Other Thoughts: Not crowded most of the time. Excellent, fun course for a quick 9. Gives one an opportunity to try a variety of shots in a relatively forgiving area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not so much a secret anymore

5+    5/13/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2011
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice 9-hole course. A deceivingly open course.
Hole 1- open field, great warm-up and a bag emptying opportunity
Hole 2- excellent ace opportunity for RHBH players. 150', basket offset to the left.
Hole 3- straight shot with a large tree in the direct path from tee box, slightly downhill.
Hole 4- a cluster of good sized trees crowd the entire fairway about 50-100' away from the tee.
Hole 5- steep decent about 100' from basket, rollers beware.
Hole 6- a right bend benefits LHBH players, a flick shot for RH players serves well, good ace possibility.
Hole 7- the most difficult on the course, par 5. Tight fairway to the right and left of a bunch of trees. Right fairway guarded by two trees, Left fairway bordered by a fence to the left, OB.
Hole 8- Straight shot, hole valleys halfway to basket. Cluster of trees to the front/left of basket.
Hole 9- Straight shot, semi-open fairway. This shot is downwind 95% of the time.

This course provides nice, concrete tee pads, tee signs with maps, and old DisCatcher baskets. Most of course is openish, grassy with very defined fairways. Maintained very well.
Cons: Briars and underbrush line most of the holes, which could leave you searching for a disc for some time. Not very secluded, with a walkway along holes 1-6 and fence/road along 7-9.

No benches, Baskets are single chain, and don't catch very well.
Other Thoughts: There is no white tee pad for hole 7, was eliminated when fence along roadway was installed. Pictures of course are somewhat outdated, trees are much larger, and fence is very much in play along holes 7 and 9. Excellent beginners course. Course offers a great day of play with friends, and fast play(group of 2 can play 9 holes in under 30 minutes). Check it out.

Favorite Hole: 5

Least Favorite: 9

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 A- = Almost as good as a 9-holer can be

5+    7/16/2008   4/23/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B+
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Best kept secret

5+    4/5/2006   3/4/2009
Review By: blugrassr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is (or was, I have not played it in a few years) the best kept secret in Charlotte. I have played this course all days of the week and on the weekends and have never had congestion issues. This is a quick course to play, you can play a couple of rounds and still get the honey-do list done. Well laid out easy to follow. Always in great shape. This is the course I started on and and would reccomend to anyone just starting out.
Cons: This course will teach you to stay in bounds, briars are plentiful!! I have also found many a disc in the brush as well=] Hole 1 and 9 are wide open and there always seems to be a decent wind to work with.
Other Thoughts: I rated this course a 4 becuse of it's fast,fun play. It is not the most challenging course in the area but it is fun to play, frustration level = 1. Enjoy this little sweet spot if you get the chance

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Easy and fun

5+    10/7/2008   2/7/2009
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2010
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for beginners, great to learn on. Variety of shots required. Mostly open layout with great flow from hole to hole. Well maintained. Great navigation. Great for teaching beginners to play.
Cons: It's really a Par 3 course with one Par 4 (Hole 7). Relatively easy, if you stay out of the woods. The Cedar trees eat discs. Can be hard to find wayward discs. Could use more alternate tees and baskets.
Other Thoughts: Great variety of holes that produce some really fun shots. Easy if you play the posted pars, much more difficult to score well if you play it as a Par 3 course. I played this course every day for four months and never got tired of it (then I was re-assigned to another town). Lots of traffic in the afternoons and weekends.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    11/11/2010   1/20/2009
Review By: willstradamus
Played: 32  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 15.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Open, grassy, with trees bordering both sides of most fairways which makes for beautiful course. Enough trees in the fairways to force different lines. Nice tee pads and signs. A verity of distances even when playin all "short" tees. Park is very well kept and in a nice area. Payground, tennis courts, volleyball courts and nature trails make for a nice family outing.
Cons: Only nine holes. Not all holes have long tees. I tend to have trouble finding my disc when I shank one into the pine trees and foilage.
Other Thoughts: This Course would be one of my favorites if it was an 18 hole course. I love the fact that it has woods and grass on almost every hole. Definitly worth playing.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.