Mint Hill, NC 
Mint Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
5 / 363ft.   5 / 476ft.   3 / 476ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Good course for all

8/5/2008   8/5/2008
Review By: Mystery
Played: 57  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.6 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course with lots of elevation and fair basket placement.The transition from one hole to the next was very smooth. Tee boxes were concrete and of sufficient size. The signage for the course was accurate. Some holes had multiple tees. The baskets were Innova Discatchers and in good shape. Fairways were very well defined. If you had an errant shot, you were penalized but not persecuted.
Hole # 4 had lots of trees between the tee and the basket for a very interesting experience. Hole #5 was a slightly blind, downhill shot. The catch is that the basket is situated feet from a nice slope, so that overshooting could be bad. Hole #6 is a great anhyzer shot.
There are lots of great shots and most holes are of good length.

Cons: The powder-coating was flaking and rusting on most baskets, but this was just cosmetic.
Other Thoughts: Hole # 7 was bordered by a barbwire fence on the left. The fairway was tightly lined to the right by brush and trees. The best play would be straight and flat or a left to right shot over the fence to the basket. Right to left shots could go out of bounds. #9 has the same fence in play on the left. Avoid the briars to the right on the short 2nd hole.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, and great for practice

5+    7/12/2008   7/16/2008
Review By: JD Heel
Played: 80  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great practice course. It's hillier than it seems at first glance, so the elevation helps test different throws.

- It's definitely a fun course. #1 is a great hole to empty the bag, and #2 is a great ace hole. I always enjoy playing Mint Hill.

- Not crowded at all. I see other players around every now and then, but I've never had to wait on someone else to throw.
Cons: - As mentioned before, it's all out in the open - even the "wooded" holes. That said, it can get quite hot in the summer. Of all the courses around Charlotte, this is surprisingly the one that seems to drain me the most in the heat because there's no protection from the sun. Stay hydrated.

- The basket on #9 is currently leaning forward quite a bit and makes for a distracting putt.
Other Thoughts: - Perhaps more than any other course around, the trees/brush will catch your shots and hold them up if you throw into the woods. Be sure to look for that if your throws get a little wild. A couple of times I've searched around for a disc that I was sure made it to the ground, only to look up and see it stuck in a tree.

- #9 runs alongside a road and cornfield on the left. If you're a RHBH thrower like me with a tendency to sail your shots wide left, be careful when you tee off from the long tees. I'm ashamed to say that I've ended up in the cornfield before on a windy day.

-This course leaves you wanting more... in a good way. There is talk of expanding it to 18, and that will really take it a step up if it ever happens. For now, it's about the best 9-hole course around.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Out in the open

4/26/2008   4/26/2008
Review By: powell7020
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2008
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great place to play if you want to get a tan as most holes are out in the open. You have to work to lose a disc. This course has ace opportunities. The open spaces on this course gives you a chance to really rip some off of the tee.
Cons: Some holes especially numbers one and nine are very windy. Not as challenging as other courses in the area.
Other Thoughts: Fun to play. Not often crowded.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.