Course Extinct
Sandpoint, ID 
The Vandal DGC Share
Uploaded By: DoubleB  
Aerial View



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Sadly Going Away

2-4    11/12/2013   2/10/2014
Review By: fuegoador
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete pads, fairly easy to navigate, good hole diversity.
Cons: Multi-use area that shares space with a ball-golf driving range and a biking trail so you had to watch out for people participating in those areas.
Other Thoughts: The land this course was on was owned by the University of Idaho and they have kicked the disc golf course off their land. The City of Sandpoint has stepped up and given access to some of their land nearby (<2 miles away on Baldy Mt. Rd.). The project is currently about 40-50% complete as of 2/2014. 1/2 of the baskets have been moved and the fairways are mostly in place. They're going to finish out fairways and basket installation before finishing up with pads/signs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

fun

5+    7/22/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: Bdemko
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: variable terrain, and nicely maintained
Cons: some tee boxes are hard to find at first
Other Thoughts: this course plays through the research center and allows players to walk through all sorts of types of trees and even some domesticated huckleberries. really nice when they mow. the multi use feature is also great and there never really seems to be too heavy demand.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

1    11/8/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: Kris C
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: NEW TEEPADS!! Concrete blocks set inside of a frame. The course is well laid out with alternate basket locations for most holes.
Cons: No signs can make it a little difficult to navigate in places, but with all the work they're doing out there, I'm sure signs will be up by spring.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Hidden NorthWest Gem!!

2-4    9/3/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: Simmeltron
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Such a beautiful lush course on a marvelous piece of property. Has elements from many different terrain types. Has huge bombs on long grassy fairways with slightly rolling hills. Has short technical shots inside of tightly treed fairways. Even a small pond shot that is just beautiful to see. Uses the slight elevation changes that the property offers very well. Entire property is quite large so hole design was well thought out instead of just "making it fit/work". Family/Am teepads allow for all skill levels. Some pads just shorten up the shot, but some pads actually give a different view at the basket and an alternate entry point.
Cons: Course is brand new so it is still under construction. Tee pads are made concrete paver blocks, some family tees are not yet completed (6 to go as of this review) but I am sure will be very soon. No tee signs/course map yet, some holes have a considerable walk to next tee so if you don't have a map or know the course you could be in trouble. Print a map here and all is well.
Other Thoughts: This course was built on a University of Idaho agriculture program piece of land. This program has cultivated the land to have many different sections with different types of plants and trees in different areas to give different holes a much different feel. Such a cool experience that must be played to understand! There is a very cool looking mushroom/basket paybox for the $1 per round. IMO, a very worthy fee for a new course that will definitely need TLC/maintenance to keep the course looking sharp! This is manicured green resort style disc golf at its best!!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very Well Done

2-4    9/15/2012   9/16/2012
Review By: General Scales
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely gorgeous. With so many different kind of tree's, the scenery is always changing. Two teepads per hole make it easy to bring people from beginners to the pro's. Great mix of open and wooded. Great mix of distance from big bombers to short, technical, hit your line style holes Makes good use of the available elevation of the land. Rolling hills are awesome places to put baskets. Makes throw a variety of shots to be successful (hyzers, anyhyzers, overhands, rollers).
Cons: Teepads still need work. Pro pads are all filled in now with paver's stones but the family pads are still gravel. I'm sure this will be remedied shortly. A couple holes have a poke and hope feeling. Sometimes a huge walk from hole to the next pad. Multiple pads don't actually change much about a shot besides distance. Too far away from me to play as much as I want.
Other Thoughts: The course is well done and flows extremely well. The 1 dollar donation per player per round is totally worth it as all that money will go back into the course. While your in Sandpoint, go downtown, check out the gorgeous town. Stop by Mickduff's Brewery and get some delicious food and beer and enjoy the scenery. I will be making the trip back here many times.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Worth playing every day!

5+    9/7/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: purl0w
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well thought out and laid out course. Each time I play I think I will master it this time and each time I am challenged in a new way. Enough open space to keep the amateur playing yet enough difficulty because of the trees to continually challenge the pro.
Other Thoughts: Sandpoint finally has a course and is that more perfect of a town because of it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Can't wait until finished!

1    8/22/2012   8/24/2012
Review By: Dadio
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 30.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2014
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: In an Ag Extension area so there is a very cool variety of trees planted in farm plots. A very different forested look. Some holes also play in the forested verge of the local river so get some fairly thick natural forest with marsh if you overthrow.
While permanent signs aren't up yet it is fairly well marked with paper plates at Pro/Am tees and showing way to next tee. Very cool sculpture in Parking lot for donations and good maps and scorecard available at kiosk altho map printable from here was slightly easier to follow.
Nice selection of tees and pars so players of different levels will be challenged but still have fun.

Good News! Met one of the guys helping with course and were told Tees are almost done. Yay! Stopped by and most of the main tees(not alts) are done with paving stones and look great. Very well done and look forward to throwing off them. :-)
Cons: Only real complaints are about level of finish(temp signs, no trashcans) and I know this will continue to improve as this is a very new course. Some shots through tree plots lack a defined lane, but I am not completely sure this should be a con as trees are fairly widely spaced on the worst of these.
Other Thoughts: We really enjoyed playing this course, totally worth the drive up from Spokane. A very nice addition to the North Idaho courses. I look forward to playing it in the future and expect when it is finished will rate as a 4 or 4.5. I will update review as this happens. :-)
WARNING!!!! This course is gone and needs to be marked RIP. Baskets moved to different land about a mile away, course called Baldfoot. Worth playing.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great balance

1    8/6/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: MikeHuck
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 23.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A little of everything on this course because it used to be an agriculture campus. So, you get some water, some fields, and a wide variety of trees. Just enough elevation changes to make it interesting. Fun, fun, fun.
Cons: Need signs and some work on the tee boxes, but it sounds like that is already the plan. So, I'll keep having fun on it until that happens!
Other Thoughts: Thanks to all the sponsors and workers that made this course happen! Finally in Sandpoint!!! Let's keep donating to make it better and better

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A tip

1    7/23/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: Dieno
Played: 32  Reviewed: 16
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: looking good - i like the walnuts and acorns
Cons: poor tee boxes - easy fix - see below
Other Thoughts: to fix poor tee boxes - on a rainy day pack in some portland cement, mix it in with the gravel and get concrete.. problem solved

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 GREAT JOB!

2-4    7/23/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: Yoduh
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Really used the small amount of elevation well. The paper plate tee-signs reminded me of camping. The holes had good shot selection and varience. I can't wait to play a tourney up there.
Cons: I could see a couple holes that could use a tree removed or a different pin. The tee's were rough. I threw from the side on quite a few of the holes. The boxes would be great if they were bigger and had pavers or rubber mats on them. I alost fell twice and a friend of mine did and landed in the splits. With proper tee's I'd give the course a perfect 5
Other Thoughts: I heard that one person built this whole entire thing. Mad props to that guy!!!!!!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.