Longueuil, QC 
Parcours Ile Charron (PIC) Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #2 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 156ft.   3 / 204ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
October 30th morning stretch up!

2-4    10/30/2016   10/31/2016
Review By: Micquebec
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The starting tee's are phenomenal in their design (Interlocking cement blocks)
- Both "Long" and "Short" Tee's have the same design (interlocking cement blocks)
- Good mix of long and short holes
- Magnificent scenery in a couple holes
- Excellent idea for using the land around a city utility (water treatment building)
- Easy parking
- Practice basket
- Clear sign (a red wooden arrow) at each basket for directing to the next hole.
Cons: - Could be inconvenient for people without a car in the "off-season" (april to june and september-october) of the ferry connecting to the mainland (the course is on an island in the middle of the St-Lawrence river)
Other Thoughts: - Very family friendly course with a lot of open space. This can be a plus or a minus for some. For me, it's a big plus since my wife, daughter and son can enjoy the game while I get better at it myself.
- Take care on hole number 13, the long tee can be disastrous with the shot going overwater. It's the most beautiful hole of the course, by the way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

sweet course

1    5/1/2016   5/4/2016
Review By: TXDiscDude
Played: 90  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.4 Years
Pros: Really cool course
good balance of shots for beginners and advanced players.
good baskets
Cons: needs concrete pads
a few more trash cans
Other Thoughts: Really beautiful course
More scenic sunset spots then most places I've played.
Played a round with Will.
Nice guy showed me every shot

Un parcours avec de bonnes conditions de jeu

2-4    8/6/2012   11/3/2015
Review By: Thomas 19
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: La cadre est agreable et le terrain est tres bien entretenu. Le site est peu frequente par les promeneurs ce qui ameliore les conditions de jeu.
Les corbeilles installees sont aussi de qualite.
Cons: Le parcours reste un peu banal.
Les tees de depart ne sont pas evident à reperer et il serait interessant d'avoir un peu plus de signaletique.
Le site est egalement difficile d'acces quand on a pas de voiture.
Other Thoughts: Je pensais que les parcours sur le continent americain serait plus difficile qu'en France. Cela n'est en fait pas le cas pour celui de l'île Charon avec ses 9 premieres corbeilles plutôt faciles.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun Little Recreational Course On A Great Piece Of Land!

1    7/11/2015   7/11/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1006  Reviewed: 956  Exp: 38.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First of all, this parcel of land with it's rolling hills, mature trees, lake, wildlife and lovely green grass is a pretty sweet spot on which to build a disc golf course. The course plays partially around what other reviewers have said was once a hotel. The baskets are Innova models with the yellow band. Some of them have the number on them. All of them have a little wooden, red arrow pointing the way to the next tee box. Thank you to whoever placed these on the baskets. They made navigating the course a breeze. The tee pads are natural and fairly rough and uneven in places. There are patio stones painted white for the longs and red for the short tees. The hole numbers are visible on most of these blocks. The reds are like, beginner easy.

The course is recreational in length/difficulty but has it's charm and challenge as well. There are a number of really fun throws here.
# 3 was just a cool downhill with kind of a natural fairway, problem 280'. A fun ACE run for many plaers.
# 13 was a blind, pretty scary look, over the water, over the marshes, to a basket hidden up behind a tree.
# 15 was a very cool little peek-a boo hole where the top of the basket is just barely visible and it sits near enough to the water as to provide that little extra challenge.
And then the finishing hole, # 18, is a long downhill tee shot, but the basket is then tucked up behing a tree starting up the hill again.
Cons: My # 1 complaint here would be with the directions and just finding the course. The streets don't seem to be marked. We asked one couple. They were from Norway! We drove around the national park and finally talked to a ranger. She wasn't for sure but pointed us in the right direction. Gees, a small sign or two pointing the way would really help.
Second, the natural pads are pretty bad. They're rough, uneven, too short in places. They could use some work.
Third, the course could really use a course sign at the beginning. Just something letting players know that they found the course and are ready to begin their round.
Other Thoughts: This part of Canada has a real shortage of courses. So I'm here on a absolutely beautiful July evening and there is only one other group playing this beautiful little course. Come on boys, the ice has all melted! Time to move out to the disc golf courses! Get some sun on those pale white bodies that look like they spent the winter in a flour sack! There's only like 3 courses in the whole Montreal area. This place should be packed with you hosers, EH?

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/7/2014   7/12/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 160  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 16.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course with a buddy of mine in July 2014 and we really enjoyed this short course. We enjoyed the course enough to actually play it twice!

The course was a fun little course that had some holes that were a little challenging on the back nine. The front nine essentially was full of deuce holes while the back nine had some more challenging holes.

The course offers a few holes with water hazards, even though it would be challenging to get your disc into the water and lose your disc.

The course actually had a little bit of elevation: holes 8 and 9 played slightly uphill while a few holes on the back nine offered some slightly downhill holes.

The back nine did a good job of using out of bounds and paths to make some interesting greens. Holes 15 and 16 were the best two holes on the course, in my opinion. They were both short holes but both are surrounded by roads and a path that define a green that is challenging if you play it as out of bounds. It is recommended that you do this to add some challenge to the holes, according to a few locals we talked to.

Navigation was REALLY easy on the course as each basket had an arrow attached to the bottom of the basket that signified where to walk next. We had no problem finding the holes. Honestly this is a huge deal for me as it is extremely frustrating to play a course and not know where to go. This course did a MARVELOUS job of directing you to the next hole so it gets major points in that regard.

There weren't a ton of blind shots so there wasn't a lot of walking up to figure out what hole you were throwing. This made for a fun, short and enjoyable round. If you are in the area I would recommend this course for an easy play!
Cons: The main con I have with this course is that the teepads are natural and for the most part only defined by a little rut in the ground where you can tell other players have played. I would consider giving this course a higher rating if they upgraded the pads to concrete.

Even though the course was fairly easy to navigate, I would recommend putting a sign in the parking lot or on the road to signify that you are at least getting near the course. It was extremely challenging to find the course (see below for directions).

Some of the holes on the front 9 were very easy and didn't offer a lot of challenge. This is not a huge con for me because I think its good to have variety but I wanted to make players aware that this course was not meant to be super challenging.
Other Thoughts: NOTE: This course is very challenging to find so I can give some good advice. The course is right next to a hotel that is no longer in operation and can be seen from the interstate. The other side of the interstate looks like a park and it is a docking area but does not include the course. The park is on the other side of this area across the road and is actually right next to the National Park. Park in the parking lot across from the hotel (about 500 feet) near a building that looks like a water treatment plant. Walk to the back of the parking lot over the hill and you will see basket 7. If you walk 500 feet to your right you will see holes 1 and 9, which tee off in the same area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course in Montreal

1    7/29/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: billcoke
Played: 102  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Course plays on the grounds of a hotel and is very well groomed. You won't be searching for discs unless you are really off the course.

* Course is in a nice park area that is clean and pleasant to walk.

* Course layout makes good use of the available land and provides a good course for those in the area to learn the game with some challenge for the experienced player.

* I enjoyed this course and it affords some excellent views of the river and city.

* My thanks and congratulations to whoever is putting in the time to create this course.
Cons: * It was a bit difficult to find the course as it is located on an island on the St. Lawrence river and the roads consist of a bunch of one way roads. Some signs indicating where to park would have been helpful.
Other Thoughts: * I played on at 9AM Sunday morning during my visit to Montreal and didn't run into any locals. But from the wear at the tee areas you can tell that some folks are playing.

* You can also see where the local community of disc golfers is clear some of the "rougher" areas where the hotel/park doesn't mow.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.