Disc Golf Center
New Brunswick, NJ
Rutgers, Douglass College Share
Uploaded By: JonathanJ Hole #17 (Taken 12/2008)
3 / 192ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Super fun old school course

1    11/16/2013   11/16/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 1.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome dg scene- there is a club called the nj disc devils which maintains the course. There is a lot of tournaments here, and a bunch of pdga's as well

Fun factor- because of the fact that you can play almost every hole with a putter or midrange, and most holes are ace runs, especially nine.

Nice updated tee signs- it seems as if the tee signs were updated recently they were nice and well thought out.

Open 24 hours- alot of people like to play glow here, because the holes are so short and there is not as many people walking around at night

Navigation is pretty easy next tee arrow signs and arrow on basket number plate.

Variety- for a very short course, it has its fair share of tight, open, right turning and left turning shots. Great use of the land available
Cons: Natural tee pads- boards mark the front of the tee pads on some holes, most are filled with mulch or just a worn in spot of dirt.

Safety- i can imagine this place being a zoo during the school day and it would make some holes almost unplayable at some times. Due to the limited amount of land available, some holes play close to each other, so always keep aware and duck when somebody yells fore.

Short- this can be a con for some as you can end up throwing putters and midranges mostly. However, it was fun for me, because i enjoyed all the ace runs and birdie opportunities.
Other Thoughts: Check out the new jersey disc devils on facebook, they have random draw doubles and they usually use alternate longer tees which i hear are much more difficult.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Scarlet Fever!

1    8/10/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Not too far off I-95 and right in the heart of Rutgers University

- Good signage and navigation throughout the park; pretty difficult to get lost.

- Because the course is so short, there are alternate tee locations on many of the holes. They're denoted by little red dots about 50-100 feet from the original tees and are usually on pavement walkways to make teeing off easy. Look around on many holes, and you'll find them.

- Nice network of locals, who were helpful and even took me around the course to show me the layouts and the alternate tee locations.

- Several ace run opportunities.

- The locals have done a good job of taking a course that is antiquated in many aspects and improving it to make it more acceptable for modern disc technology without pulling the course altogether. Alternate tee placements, mandos, and an addition of extra holes make the course tournament worthy for events such as the Jersey Jam. A local even told me that they sometimes throw out of a basement stairwell in the one school building on #18. It's that kind of stuff that makes this a special place.
Cons: - Teepads are so worn-in that they can fill with water when it rains and get quite muddy. Erosion due to use has led to muddy fairways and paths, as well.

- Holes are very short, even with the alternate tees. A putter or mid-range only round would be ideal for the original tees.

- Pars are out of whack, but I think most people are smart enough to play them as par 3's.

- Course can get very busy with both golfers and non-golfers. I played here around 7pm on a Friday and it was loaded. Not sure how busy it is at other times during the day.
Other Thoughts: It's the home of the Cubby Ace, and I can see the potential for some ace runs. Don't let this course deceive you, though: it's precariously placed with many trees to send your drives flying in a different direction.

From the original tees, the course is a 2. The alternate tees, however, bump it up to a 2.5, IMO. All in all, I really enjoyed playing this course due to its ease, network of friendly players, and history of being one of the oldest courses in the northeast.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A short "Situation"-al Course in Jersey

2-4    8/19/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice use of what little land the college allowed. Although short the basket placement does make the shots somewhat challenging (some more than others). 18 baskets in an area where that is a premium! The low hanging trees make for a nice short technical course.
Cons: Did I already say short? Old baskets in fair to bad shape. Very old and even the baskets are short in height, adjust your putts. No maps, tee boxes or signage. Didn't see any water or restrooms anywhere if you weren't a student.
Other Thoughts: Ok, I couldn't help the Jersey Shore reference in the title, sorry. This course almost rated a 3, simply because of the fun factor, but the shortness, difficulty in flow from front nine to back nine (for first time players) and condition of baskets held it back.
That being said, it was a good time of DG. Despite the lack of distance, the basket placement and the trees caused for you to be pretty technical, which made this course a surprising challenge at times. You will use different throws throughout. When you find Hole 1 behind the white building (Eggelston, I believe) if you are like me and my son, you will look at the distance from tee to basket and say "Really?" But fear not the distance and challenge increase as you move on. Overall if you live in Jersey or New York, this would be the place to play! Now coming up from Virginia and playing some of the courses down south, Rutgers just wouldn't be worth a road trip. Still for a Disc Golf starved area, this is a gem and is definitively DTP (Down To Play for those not familiar with the Jersey Shore lingo).

NOTES: Holes 3 and four start the tight fairways and the neat challenges to get to the baskets.

After Hole 8 be sure to walk around the front of building 72 Lopman Drive (Lorec Classroom Office, If I remember correctly) to find the tee for Hole 9.

Favorite Holes:

Hole 9: Wow! What was it 55-65 feet! A true ace run, but the low hanging trees and sloping hill make for a fun ace run.

Holes 10 and 11 are fun for the water OB (10) and the uphill elevation change (11).

Hole 18 Short but if the parking lot surrounding the basket is OB (which we played it as) then it is a tough approach with a lot of risk.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best College DGC

1    6/27/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: Jeffrey2636
Played: 39  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 Holes on a College Campus! Beautiful campus. Safe shots, hard to lose a disc.
Cons: Old Course, could use some sprucing up.
Other Thoughts: I have now played a 4 college campus courses and This is #1 of the 4. It is amazing that they fit 18 holes on this piece of land but it uses the terrain well. The trees on campus add a bit of challenge to an otherwise short course. Don't pay attention to the par ratings and play everything as a 2 for an added challenge. There are very few to no other courses in this area so a definite play when you're here. Parking can be a bit tricky if you follow the Long/Lat from the info but the locals are friendly and the campus is a quiet solitude of the bustling town around it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Home of the Cubby Aces

2-4    1/24/2012   6/29/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Set on the Rutgers campus, this course is one of the oldest in the nation. Due to the old disc technology when it was built, it is short. It is laid out in the middle of campus amongst the trees and grass and buildings. It is an enjoyable, technical play with a variety of shots required. It is a wonderful place to learn the game, but also a place for great players to work on their game (remember, even long courses will still require short and long "approach" shots and putts!)

The old school targets act as a bonus challenge, as the shallow baskets require real accurate putts!

The locals are fantastic and you usually won't have problems getting someone to play a round with you.

The course is open 24 hours, and is fairly well lit, but I highly recommend having lights on your disc.
Cons: During school hours you will find yourself waiting for pedestrians on the pathways. If you dont have patience to wait, or dont like an audience, then wait till class is out!

The course is not terribly challenging in the risk/reward department as it lacks OB (from what I recall), and is mostly flat.
Navigation is an issue on some holes so bring the map! The tees are all dirt (the College won't allow them to install proper tees) and the distances are not really accurate on the signs.
Other Thoughts: 5 star hospitality! I showed up on a Wed. evening to join up with the Disc Devils group for random doubles. Very nice people who made me (an out of towner) feel at home then invited me out for wings and brews afterward.

The bonus is that we played many of the long tees which they use for the Jersey Jam tournament which really added to my experience. Look for little flag markers (that may be) behind the tees and you have found the "Longs". I was told that they leave these until they destroyed by weather or pulled out. Or just sign up for the Jersey Jam - I hear it's a great time.

One last note - Cubby is the local legend that plays here frequently and has something like 500 aces. The club told me he's aced every single hole on the course right handed, left handed, backhand, sidearm. Crazy achievement, considering none of the holes are "gimme" aces!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Frisbee Golf

2-4    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: Cyclops
Played: 69  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 23.1 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is part of the history of disc golf. In the early days when you used Frisbees to play. By today's standards most would call it a pitch-n-put course. But there is a little secret that a local has to show you. The long tee positions for every hole, but maybe 2 or 3. In some cases you are adding 50-100 feet and on others it changes the drive from the tee. The long tee position changes the line for the fairway to basket. Almost all holes are able to be easily played with mids and putters even from the long tees. We got lucky and met a local helping to set-up for the Jersey Jam. He played some of the round with us and gave us some insight how to find the long tees;
Look for green flags normally back behind the tee signs. Some are mowed over and not easy to locate.
Also look for yellow wooded pegs in the ground for the long tee.
Red dots or a spray painted line on the asphalt walkways.
On 17 use the tee for 16 and on 18 which is located around the back of the building from 17's basket. Before you get to the tee sign look to your right about 75' back from the tee sign there is like a step up near a entry way. That's the long tee it's marked but you have to look for it. After you have played the long tees once or twice through. You'll be good to go. Also compared to many courses the rough here isn't sticker bushes and 3 foot high grass fields.
Cons: We played early on a Saturday morning during summer break. Throwing from or over walkways can be a waiting game. Even in the off school periods there will be joggers and other people just walking. Look and wait.
I had expected at least the grass to be mowed in the campus area. I guess the college is saving money in tough economic times.
These are Mach I baskets with a second set of chains added in the inner ring. The basket itself is more shallow, some are wobbly and some just seem low. In a way this kind of adds to the challenge. Because you can expect blow troughs, skip and bounce outs.
Other Thoughts: Over all, if you are in the area give it a run. Would I make a special trip just to hit this course? After playing a few rounds I would have to say......no. There really isn't any other choices in this area for a better course and the locals are friendly. This is a community course and a great place to learn the game. Truth be told this is a fun course and beginner friendly.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Someone called this Puttgers, I laughed...

2-4    2/20/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: crouchingwombat
Played: 52  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.3 Years
10 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I love the convince of this course, if I were a student here I would play twice a day.
The holes here are laid out pretty well and there isn't much searching for the next tee. I also enjoyed the mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots. I flick and backhand so it was nice to switch it up.
It is very easy and possible to play this course with one disc. My favorite hole was the 50 foot hole, I tried a few times to get my first ace with no luck. I think the hole is #10...
Cons: Well, it's a bit hard to find the first time. Some "Disc Golf" signs around campus would be nice. I parked a bit away from where I was suppose to. I played this in the middle of the weekend when it was freezing so there were no problems with students walking around but that could be a pain in the butt during school. Some holes are close to the buildings but it isn't that bad.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad little course, I enjoyed my self and I'm sure with some return trips I could get a pretty kick ass score. I wonder what the course record is. If I lived in NJ I would come here every now and then, this course can really help with your short game.

10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course.

2-4    9/18/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 54  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2009
5 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: A nice layout with some very technical shots. No long drives so beginners would benefit here. Reasonably well marked. Because it is on a college campus it is well maintained. I believe this is a course where people of all ages could enjoy themselves. With the good walkways because you are on a college campus and other facilities available it is alot of them
Cons: Because it is within the confines of a college be very careful when school is in session. There are students everywhere and they do not pay attention.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place for buddies to get together and play. The course is fun and the scenery is good.

5 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.