New Brunswick, NJ 
Rutgers, Douglass College Share
Uploaded By: mrbeaudette Hole #9 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / --   3 / 112ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Old School Disc Golf

5+    4/4/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: Disc Fiend
Played: 61  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: one of the only 18 hole courses in the central Jersey area and is a fun course to play. It's not too challenging but is still an enjoyable course nonetheless. Beginners will have no problem throwing a decent game here and seasoned players will enjoy this course because of the potential ace opportunities presented at every hole. It is also one of the oldest courses in America which is pretty cool.
Cons: The holes are short, real short. Like I said in the pros, you may enjoy the shortness of the holes if your a beginner or a long-time player that wants to go ace hunting, but if you want to throw long bombs all day or play challenging holes this is not your place. I enjoy this course but I only play it occasionally(once every couple months, even though I only live 20 minutes from it)because of the shortness of the holes. Also, the baskets are real old and weathered.
Other Thoughts: If you live in the area and haven't played it, I would suggest checking it out. It isn't a bad course, but isn't a great course either. Whenever I get in the mood to play this course I do enjoy it though.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 solid, fun course

5+    7/1/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: krauset2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good diversity of holes. alternate flags completely change the layout of some holes and add distance on others for more variety. forgiving rough, tough to lose a disc.
Cons: navigation is easy once you have played, but signage could be better with explaining where the next tee is located. distances/pars on the tees are not accurate. natural tees get muddy sometimes and signs can get in the way of drives due to small tee areas.
Other Thoughts: no huge distance holes here, but the variety of shots makes for a really fun 18.

the course is short, but not automatically easy. lots of trees and low hanging branches make things difficult enough. the low baskets add to the challenge, but playing here too much can cause low putting when playing other courses.

the alternate flags change up the course and make for some fun holes. they are somewhat tough to find, but after playing the course a few times and seeing other players shoot from them they are not too hard to spot (look for red flags and white spray-painted numbers).

this is the best course in the piscataway area, fun enough to keep coming back

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 RU ready

1    8/11/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: alienfrog1
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is an easy find anywhere in central jersey. This is a great spot to take someone just getting into the sport. Small course, but dense trees on holes require good placement. Grass was short and it seems relatively impossible to lose a disc, which is always a plus.
Cons: Course guide lists some holes as 3s and 4s, but predominantly is should be 2's and 3s.
Other Thoughts: I'll definitely check the course out again when I'm back in the area. Sometimes it is hard to figure out where the T's are, but a little logical exploring will help.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    1/9/2010   3/7/2010
Review By: Dogstar21
Played: 53  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course nestled in a college campus. The original course, as designated by the signs, is a pitch and putt course, with holes averaging just over 200'. Play with the locals, and they can show you the alternate tees - which brings the average hole length closer to 300'. Both layouts are mostly flat (a few holes have some elevation) and moderately wooded (plenty of trees, but open lines to the pin). The course isn't particularly challenging (apart from the finicky, thin-chained mach 1 baskets), but it makes for a nice, casual round of disc golf.
Cons: The course offers enough variety not to be boring, but doesn't require a golfer to use all of the tools in their bag. Pedestrian traffic can be a bit of a nuisance on a few of the holes when classes let out.
Other Thoughts: For a seasoned disc golfer, the short course (from the tee signs) doesn't provide much of a challenge (fine for going ace-hunting). Your best bet is to find a local to show you the long tees, which offer a reasonable layout for an enjoyable round of golf. The Jersey Jam is a very well run event, which is played on a layout containing 9 of the "long" tees plus an additional 9 using the temporary or otherwise modified holes. The Jam layout is significantly more challenging than the standard layouts (in part due to OB). It has a strong local community, which has good turnout for weekly doubles (Tuesday nights) and hosts a good number of events, including it's premier event, the Jersey Jam.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Bag Full of Putters, A Course Full of Fun!

1    1/11/2010   1/13/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Rutgers Disc Golf is not your typical course. It's a unique piece of disc golf history that any serious DGer should attempt to play one time. It was built in 1978 and shows it's age in it's wear and it's extremely short fairways. This would be seen as a negative usually, but this is exactly why it's so much fun. Every hole is a birdie waiting to happen and this is the rare course that has you making ace runs all day long. If you can't enjoy yourself here...your dead. Now don't go get all snobby and assume this course is below your skill level. The fun here is in weaving your putter amongst tall trees and difficult lines that may seem awkward to anyone who started playing in the age of the high speed driver. This is a throwback course and finesse and skill are rewarded here. You earn your birdies here. Hole #3 was my favorite...a dual fairway, heavily wooded by old thick pine trunks with several difficult routes to the basket but which one to choose? Holes 9-12 were a fun stretch as well. #9 being the infamous 57 foot skip ace hole. I emptied my entire bag (all 12 putters LOL) on this one and was miffed that I never caught metal once. I actually hyzered down the hillside and took a 3 on it! 10-12 are delightful holes that offer the only elevation on the course. This course is about refining your approach game and having fun. It's perfect for students as it whets the beginner appetite and is somewhere different skill levels can play together and everyone can enjoy the course. The expert will enjoy the nuances and the line shaping and the beginner will not be overwhelmed with length or punitive schule. (zero undergrowth despite entire course being wooded) The course is lighted at night and your allowed to play it 24 hrs a day! There are longer tees set up that stretch the course out to over 7000 ft including more open holes and utilizing the large pond nearby. (I am not sure where these tees are..contact a local or show up on tue doubles 6:00) There is much fun factor on this course and if you played it multiple times it is conceivable you could get an ace, birdie, par, or bogey on the same hole.
Cons: Tees are just dirt spots on the ground (though you don't need a run up). Signs are often misleading in distance(#1 for instance is marked as 219 ft but I google mapped it at 120 ft) and par (often displaying a par 4 or par 5...it's all 3s here) but you can scout every hole from the tee pad and the funny pars just show you how far the sport has come. You should not need a driver here (a mid-range is pushing it here) Plenty of foot traffic during peak hours I'm sure, but this is somewhere you play off hours, off season or winter. Hole 18 is a bit tough to find as it is on the far side of a building away from the rest of the course. Would have enjoyed just a few holes near/over the pond or fields nearby.
Other Thoughts: I kept hoping to run into Cubby here but it didn't happen. I would love to have a course like this near me. I'd play it every day if I could. I never realized how historic Rutgers University was. A very pretty campus and the site of the first football game ever played in 1869. This disc golf course kind of falls into the same category.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Part of Disc Golf History

2-4    11/21/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 61  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2013
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 hole course is one of the first on the east coast and features a straightforward layout without the bells and whistles present at other courses. Relatively easy to score well yet still attractive for all levels of play with its "unofficial" alternate tee areas. Has some neat holes- 10 and 18 come to mind- and pavement OB areas on several holes keep you honest. RU-Douglass features a good balance of moderately wooded, manageable holes and although there is really only one tee off area per hole, it can be modified to lengthen the course- as is done for the annual Jersey Jam.
Cons: Dirt tee off areas hold puddles after heavy rain, and erosion is a serious issue. Could use directional markers in some spots- it took me 15 minutes to figure out where hole 9 begins the first time I played. Holes 16 and 17 run parallel to one another, and there are always vehicles parked directly in front of the access way in front of the hole 18 tee pad. Beware of students walking to class.
Other Thoughts: One of the oldest courses in the country, Rutgers-Douglass is a very fun play, and over the years the local club has cultivated a loose, fun atmosphere here. R-D presents a challenge, yet is not physically grueling, making it a great place for the casual player. This was the site of my first ever tournament and competitive playing experience, so I will always have a soft spot for it, but judged on it own merits, R-D is not on a par with some of the other 18 hole courses within the NJ/NY/PA region. That said, the "Jam" layout adds immeasurably to the course- the over-the-water hole and 650 foot drive down the hill are outstanding holes which can stand with any two holes anywhere else. Much work is being done here by the local club- beautiful new signs will be installed any day now, "next tee' signs have been created and new tee pads are in the works- all of which will greatly enhance the playing experience. RU is a must play if in the area.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Blast from the Past

5+    11/8/2004   11/8/2009
Review By: Shannon Winn
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 36.3 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Birdies galore for the precise driver. Pleasant atmosphere, especially on a warm early spring day. It's a quick little course that won't take more than an hour or so to play, so you can get a lot of holes in if you make a day of it. The original course can be negotiated with easy-to-throw old aviars and rocs. I've always had fun here.
Cons: Short, and sometimes busy with pedestrians. If you don't go low, scorewise, you'll feel frustrated. None of the holes stand out as particularly difficult, spectacular, or scenic.
Other Thoughts: Installed for the first NON- Rose Bowl WFC in the very early 80's, Rutgers/Douglass holds a special place in my heart because it's the first place I ever won a tournament. Also it's the site where I had two identical aces exactly a year apart- skip shots on hole #9 in the first round of 2 three-round PDGA tournaments, many years ago. So I admit a bias towards the lovely little place. It's been good to me. Play here if you like non-demanding birdie golf.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.