New Brunswick, NJ 
Rutgers, Douglass College Share
Uploaded By: JonathanJ Hole #15 (Taken 12/2008)
3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Like Rutgers, this course is a fine option

1    1/11/2016   3/11/2016
Review By: kindableu
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Provides a quality course in an area of the state that is lacking for courses
-"Pro" tees help add length to the course but they are poorly marked and documented

Cons: -Holes are generally on the shorter side
-Pedestrian traffic so close to pin locations
-Tee pads are in rough shape, even just doing natural tees with stone dust would be a significant improvement. As it stands tee pads are just a patch of dirt
-Parking is tough. You either park several blocks away or risk a ticket from Rutgers police by parking in the more convenient Eagloton Institute lot.
Other Thoughts: Its a fun course but definitely was not designed as the end all, be all, model for other top flight NJ courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Old School Fun

1    1/22/2016   1/23/2016
Review By: whitefedora
Played: 225  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 7.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a neat fairly technical course with 18 baskets. Most of the holes have a directional arrow on the number plate pointing you to the next tee. And most tees are only 50-100ft away, so navigation is relatively easy. The holes offer some mild elevation changes and plenty of trees with completely fair fairways. The course is also open 24 hours a day and has a lot of lights throughout the course because of all the walkways and commons grounds which makes for fun nighttime play. There are also tee signs on every hole that have adequate information and plenty of next tee signs also in the ground which particularly help with the tricky to find next holes.
Cons: The baskets have seen better days, but they are certainly not unusable. Just a few bends in the cages and a couple links were taped together, but they all seemed to catch reasonably well.
The safety is definitely an issue and the course probably shouldn't be played during peak school hours because there are many many walkways that are being thrown over. HOWEVER there is a pro to this that I mentioned in the pros and other thoughts.
The teepads were all natural and most were not all that flat, but the holes are short enough that really everything can be shot from a standstill.

Other Thoughts: ***DISCLAIMER FOR PEOPLE THAT DO NOT ATTEND RUTGERS AND WANT TO PLAY THIS COURSE***

You can NOT park in the parking lots here. You CAN park on the metered street of Suydam St by Nichol Ave. and then walk down Lipman Dr. and on your left hand side you will see hole number 10 right after the parking structure.

All in all, I had fun playing here. Shoot, I even bagged half the course in the dark because there was enough light from the walkways. Really neat to play at night and the lines were fun to shoot at. The course definitely feels like a senior in college designed it (which I believe Dan Doyle was when he did) and just kinda winds through the pine forest that students walk through to get from building to building. Definitely a fun little bag.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short, Technical, Nice and Clean

5+    5/23/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: nwinnie34
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clean signage (besides hole 2) somewhat easy to follow once you have played a few times, technical course with some challenging holes, good mix of holes, great local crowd, met up with 2-3 guys already that were more than welcoming
Cons: longest hole is 280 feet, cant really use any drivers on this course, ALOT of students walking around when school is in which causes delays, course layout is a tad confusing at first
Other Thoughts: My home course, literally a mile down the road, perfect for learning new shots, short game, putting, approach, well maintained, great following of locals, tuesdays are partners night which has a nice following, clean, i play here all the time

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Super fun old school course

1    11/16/2013   11/16/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 65  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome dg scene- there is a club called the nj disc devils which maintains the course. There is a lot of tournaments here, and a bunch of pdga's as well

Fun factor- because of the fact that you can play almost every hole with a putter or midrange, and most holes are ace runs, especially nine.

Nice updated tee signs- it seems as if the tee signs were updated recently they were nice and well thought out.

Open 24 hours- alot of people like to play glow here, because the holes are so short and there is not as many people walking around at night

Navigation is pretty easy next tee arrow signs and arrow on basket number plate.

Variety- for a very short course, it has its fair share of tight, open, right turning and left turning shots. Great use of the land available
Cons: Natural tee pads- boards mark the front of the tee pads on some holes, most are filled with mulch or just a worn in spot of dirt.

Safety- i can imagine this place being a zoo during the school day and it would make some holes almost unplayable at some times. Due to the limited amount of land available, some holes play close to each other, so always keep aware and duck when somebody yells fore.

Short- this can be a con for some as you can end up throwing putters and midranges mostly. However, it was fun for me, because i enjoyed all the ace runs and birdie opportunities.
Other Thoughts: Check out the new jersey disc devils on facebook, they have random draw doubles and they usually use alternate longer tees which i hear are much more difficult.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good, even though it's old

5+    2/28/2015   10/19/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 4/11/2015
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Good signage and navigation throughout the park; pretty difficult to get lost.
- Several ace run opportunities.
- The locals have done a good job of taking a course that is pretty old and improving it to make it more acceptable without removing the course.
Cons: - Teepads are so worn-in that they can fill with water when it rains and get quite muddy.
- Holes are very short. A putter or mid-range only round would be ideal for the original tees.
- Course can get very busy with both golfers and non-golfers.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Home Sweet Home for Me

5+    7/25/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: weencycle
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love this course for many reasons; it's local, it's got a lot of dedicated people taking care of it, it's fun to play, challenging, but not too challenging, nice setting on a college campus, alternate tees (if you know about them), it's got a great history, and they have great tournaments here.
Cons: Some of the holes are a little short, or a little redundant, because they don't have a lot of room to work with here, but it works.
Other Thoughts: The Jersey Disc Devils run a great tournament, the Jersey Jam. Check it out. It's a lot of fun. They lengthen the course with temporary holes, which spread out from the regular course. It's well run. Kudos to them.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Scarlet Fever!

1    8/10/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Not too far off I-95 and right in the heart of Rutgers University

- Good signage and navigation throughout the park; pretty difficult to get lost.

- Because the course is so short, there are alternate tee locations on many of the holes. They're denoted by little red dots about 50-100 feet from the original tees and are usually on pavement walkways to make teeing off easy. Look around on many holes, and you'll find them.

- Nice network of locals, who were helpful and even took me around the course to show me the layouts and the alternate tee locations.

- Several ace run opportunities.

- The locals have done a good job of taking a course that is antiquated in many aspects and improving it to make it more acceptable for modern disc technology without pulling the course altogether. Alternate tee placements, mandos, and an addition of extra holes make the course tournament worthy for events such as the Jersey Jam. A local even told me that they sometimes throw out of a basement stairwell in the one school building on #18. It's that kind of stuff that makes this a special place.
Cons: - Teepads are so worn-in that they can fill with water when it rains and get quite muddy. Erosion due to use has led to muddy fairways and paths, as well.

- Holes are very short, even with the alternate tees. A putter or mid-range only round would be ideal for the original tees.

- Pars are out of whack, but I think most people are smart enough to play them as par 3's.

- Course can get very busy with both golfers and non-golfers. I played here around 7pm on a Friday and it was loaded. Not sure how busy it is at other times during the day.
Other Thoughts: It's the home of the Cubby Ace, and I can see the potential for some ace runs. Don't let this course deceive you, though: it's precariously placed with many trees to send your drives flying in a different direction.

From the original tees, the course is a 2. The alternate tees, however, bump it up to a 2.5, IMO. All in all, I really enjoyed playing this course due to its ease, network of friendly players, and history of being one of the oldest courses in the northeast.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Disc Golf

5+    4/4/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: Disc Fiend
Played: 67  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: one of the only 18 hole courses in the central Jersey area and is a fun course to play. It's not too challenging but is still an enjoyable course nonetheless. Beginners will have no problem throwing a decent game here and seasoned players will enjoy this course because of the potential ace opportunities presented at every hole. It is also one of the oldest courses in America which is pretty cool.
Cons: The holes are short, real short. Like I said in the pros, you may enjoy the shortness of the holes if your a beginner or a long-time player that wants to go ace hunting, but if you want to throw long bombs all day or play challenging holes this is not your place. I enjoy this course but I only play it occasionally(once every couple months, even though I only live 20 minutes from it)because of the shortness of the holes. Also, the baskets are real old and weathered.
Other Thoughts: If you live in the area and haven't played it, I would suggest checking it out. It isn't a bad course, but isn't a great course either. Whenever I get in the mood to play this course I do enjoy it though.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A short "Situation"-al Course in Jersey

2-4    8/19/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 34  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of what little land the college allowed. Although short the basket placement does make the shots somewhat challenging (some more than others). 18 baskets in an area where that is a premium! The low hanging trees make for a nice short technical course.
Cons: Did I already say short? Old baskets in fair to bad shape. Very old and even the baskets are short in height, adjust your putts. No maps, tee boxes or signage. Didn't see any water or restrooms anywhere if you weren't a student.
Other Thoughts: Ok, I couldn't help the Jersey Shore reference in the title, sorry. This course almost rated a 3, simply because of the fun factor, but the shortness, difficulty in flow from front nine to back nine (for first time players) and condition of baskets held it back.
That being said, it was a good time of DG. Despite the lack of distance, the basket placement and the trees caused for you to be pretty technical, which made this course a surprising challenge at times. You will use different throws throughout. When you find Hole 1 behind the white building (Eggelston, I believe) if you are like me and my son, you will look at the distance from tee to basket and say "Really?" But fear not the distance and challenge increase as you move on. Overall if you live in Jersey or New York, this would be the place to play! Now coming up from Virginia and playing some of the courses down south, Rutgers just wouldn't be worth a road trip. Still for a Disc Golf starved area, this is a gem and is definitively DTP (Down To Play for those not familiar with the Jersey Shore lingo).

NOTES: Holes 3 and four start the tight fairways and the neat challenges to get to the baskets.

After Hole 8 be sure to walk around the front of building 72 Lopman Drive (Lorec Classroom Office, If I remember correctly) to find the tee for Hole 9.

Favorite Holes:

Hole 9: Wow! What was it 55-65 feet! A true ace run, but the low hanging trees and sloping hill make for a fun ace run.

Holes 10 and 11 are fun for the water OB (10) and the uphill elevation change (11).

Hole 18 Short but if the parking lot surrounding the basket is OB (which we played it as) then it is a tough approach with a lot of risk.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best College DGC

1    6/27/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: Jeffrey2636
Played: 45  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 Holes on a College Campus! Beautiful campus. Safe shots, hard to lose a disc.
Cons: Old Course, could use some sprucing up.
Other Thoughts: I have now played a 4 college campus courses and This is #1 of the 4. It is amazing that they fit 18 holes on this piece of land but it uses the terrain well. The trees on campus add a bit of challenge to an otherwise short course. Don't pay attention to the par ratings and play everything as a 2 for an added challenge. There are very few to no other courses in this area so a definite play when you're here. Parking can be a bit tricky if you follow the Long/Lat from the info but the locals are friendly and the campus is a quiet solitude of the bustling town around it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.