New Brunswick, NJ 
Rutgers, Douglass College Share
Uploaded By: JonathanJ Hole #15 (Taken 12/2008)
3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 solid, fun course

5+    7/1/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: krauset2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: good diversity of holes. alternate flags completely change the layout of some holes and add distance on others for more variety. forgiving rough, tough to lose a disc.
Cons: navigation is easy once you have played, but signage could be better with explaining where the next tee is located. distances/pars on the tees are not accurate. natural tees get muddy sometimes and signs can get in the way of drives due to small tee areas.
Other Thoughts: no huge distance holes here, but the variety of shots makes for a really fun 18.

the course is short, but not automatically easy. lots of trees and low hanging branches make things difficult enough. the low baskets add to the challenge, but playing here too much can cause low putting when playing other courses.

the alternate flags change up the course and make for some fun holes. they are somewhat tough to find, but after playing the course a few times and seeing other players shoot from them they are not too hard to spot (look for red flags and white spray-painted numbers).

this is the best course in the piscataway area, fun enough to keep coming back

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Home of the Cubby Aces

2-4    1/24/2012   6/29/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 192  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 24.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set on the Rutgers campus, this course is one of the oldest in the nation. Due to the old disc technology when it was built, it is short. It is laid out in the middle of campus amongst the trees and grass and buildings. It is an enjoyable, technical play with a variety of shots required. It is a wonderful place to learn the game, but also a place for great players to work on their game (remember, even long courses will still require short and long "approach" shots and putts!)

The old school targets act as a bonus challenge, as the shallow baskets require real accurate putts!

The locals are fantastic and you usually won't have problems getting someone to play a round with you.

The course is open 24 hours, and is fairly well lit, but I highly recommend having lights on your disc.
Cons: During school hours you will find yourself waiting for pedestrians on the pathways. If you dont have patience to wait, or dont like an audience, then wait till class is out!

The course is not terribly challenging in the risk/reward department as it lacks OB (from what I recall), and is mostly flat.
Navigation is an issue on some holes so bring the map! The tees are all dirt (the College won't allow them to install proper tees) and the distances are not really accurate on the signs.
Other Thoughts: 5 star hospitality! I showed up on a Wed. evening to join up with the Disc Devils group for random doubles. Very nice people who made me (an out of towner) feel at home then invited me out for wings and brews afterward.

The bonus is that we played many of the long tees which they use for the Jersey Jam tournament which really added to my experience. Look for little flag markers (that may be) behind the tees and you have found the "Longs". I was told that they leave these until they destroyed by weather or pulled out. Or just sign up for the Jersey Jam - I hear it's a great time.

One last note - Cubby is the local legend that plays here frequently and has something like 500 aces. The club told me he's aced every single hole on the course right handed, left handed, backhand, sidearm. Crazy achievement, considering none of the holes are "gimme" aces!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Former Student

5+    5/6/2004   4/6/2011
Review By: healsr4f
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good variety of terrain, elevations and distances. The course was always in good condition and I had a lot of good times playing there.
Cons: It's too far away (you know, since the world revolves around me)
Other Thoughts: Haven't played the course in years but thought I would throw in my two cents. This was my first course and still sticks out as the best (although I've only played a few total). There was nothing like rolling out of bed and walking to the course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/12/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course to introduce friends to DG
Good diversity of holes (doglegs, uphill, wooded, open)
Usually someone else on the course to play with if you are alone
Throws aren't too challenging
Cons: Throws aren't too challenging
Short holes
After it rains the tees are filled with water
During school hours parking can be hard to find
Other Thoughts: You can get through the entire course with a mid and a putter, but still it's alot of fun.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Simple

1    7/31/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 46  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Terrain management : 4 Very well maintained and some of the hole had a circle around the pin to signify putting range.
Fun factor : 4
Beginner friendly : 5
Lost disc recovery : 5 I don't think it is possible to lose a disc on this course.
Cons: Pin and tee box quality : 2 Many of the tee areas is just dirt
Other Thoughts: Ease of finding course : 3
Layout : 3
Variety : 3
Hole info : 3
Ease of finding next hole : 3

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 RU ready

1    8/11/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: alienfrog1
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is an easy find anywhere in central jersey. This is a great spot to take someone just getting into the sport. Small course, but dense trees on holes require good placement. Grass was short and it seems relatively impossible to lose a disc, which is always a plus.
Cons: Course guide lists some holes as 3s and 4s, but predominantly is should be 2's and 3s.
Other Thoughts: I'll definitely check the course out again when I'm back in the area. Sometimes it is hard to figure out where the T's are, but a little logical exploring will help.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Frisbee Golf

2-4    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: Cyclops
Played: 74  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 25.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is part of the history of disc golf. In the early days when you used Frisbees to play. By today's standards most would call it a pitch-n-put course. But there is a little secret that a local has to show you. The long tee positions for every hole, but maybe 2 or 3. In some cases you are adding 50-100 feet and on others it changes the drive from the tee. The long tee position changes the line for the fairway to basket. Almost all holes are able to be easily played with mids and putters even from the long tees. We got lucky and met a local helping to set-up for the Jersey Jam. He played some of the round with us and gave us some insight how to find the long tees;
Look for green flags normally back behind the tee signs. Some are mowed over and not easy to locate.
Also look for yellow wooded pegs in the ground for the long tee.
Red dots or a spray painted line on the asphalt walkways.
On 17 use the tee for 16 and on 18 which is located around the back of the building from 17's basket. Before you get to the tee sign look to your right about 75' back from the tee sign there is like a step up near a entry way. That's the long tee it's marked but you have to look for it. After you have played the long tees once or twice through. You'll be good to go. Also compared to many courses the rough here isn't sticker bushes and 3 foot high grass fields.
Cons: We played early on a Saturday morning during summer break. Throwing from or over walkways can be a waiting game. Even in the off school periods there will be joggers and other people just walking. Look and wait.
I had expected at least the grass to be mowed in the campus area. I guess the college is saving money in tough economic times.
These are Mach I baskets with a second set of chains added in the inner ring. The basket itself is more shallow, some are wobbly and some just seem low. In a way this kind of adds to the challenge. Because you can expect blow troughs, skip and bounce outs.
Other Thoughts: Over all, if you are in the area give it a run. Would I make a special trip just to hit this course? After playing a few rounds I would have to say......no. There really isn't any other choices in this area for a better course and the locals are friendly. This is a community course and a great place to learn the game. Truth be told this is a fun course and beginner friendly.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    1/9/2010   3/7/2010
Review By: Dogstar21
Played: 53  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course nestled in a college campus. The original course, as designated by the signs, is a pitch and putt course, with holes averaging just over 200'. Play with the locals, and they can show you the alternate tees - which brings the average hole length closer to 300'. Both layouts are mostly flat (a few holes have some elevation) and moderately wooded (plenty of trees, but open lines to the pin). The course isn't particularly challenging (apart from the finicky, thin-chained mach 1 baskets), but it makes for a nice, casual round of disc golf.
Cons: The course offers enough variety not to be boring, but doesn't require a golfer to use all of the tools in their bag. Pedestrian traffic can be a bit of a nuisance on a few of the holes when classes let out.
Other Thoughts: For a seasoned disc golfer, the short course (from the tee signs) doesn't provide much of a challenge (fine for going ace-hunting). Your best bet is to find a local to show you the long tees, which offer a reasonable layout for an enjoyable round of golf. The Jersey Jam is a very well run event, which is played on a layout containing 9 of the "long" tees plus an additional 9 using the temporary or otherwise modified holes. The Jam layout is significantly more challenging than the standard layouts (in part due to OB). It has a strong local community, which has good turnout for weekly doubles (Tuesday nights) and hosts a good number of events, including it's premier event, the Jersey Jam.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Bag Full of Putters, A Course Full of Fun!

1    1/11/2010   1/13/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 14.2 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Rutgers Disc Golf is not your typical course. It's a unique piece of disc golf history that any serious DGer should attempt to play one time. It was built in 1978 and shows it's age in it's wear and it's extremely short fairways. This would be seen as a negative usually, but this is exactly why it's so much fun. Every hole is a birdie waiting to happen and this is the rare course that has you making ace runs all day long. If you can't enjoy yourself here...your dead. Now don't go get all snobby and assume this course is below your skill level. The fun here is in weaving your putter amongst tall trees and difficult lines that may seem awkward to anyone who started playing in the age of the high speed driver. This is a throwback course and finesse and skill are rewarded here. You earn your birdies here. Hole #3 was my favorite...a dual fairway, heavily wooded by old thick pine trunks with several difficult routes to the basket but which one to choose? Holes 9-12 were a fun stretch as well. #9 being the infamous 57 foot skip ace hole. I emptied my entire bag (all 12 putters LOL) on this one and was miffed that I never caught metal once. I actually hyzered down the hillside and took a 3 on it! 10-12 are delightful holes that offer the only elevation on the course. This course is about refining your approach game and having fun. It's perfect for students as it whets the beginner appetite and is somewhere different skill levels can play together and everyone can enjoy the course. The expert will enjoy the nuances and the line shaping and the beginner will not be overwhelmed with length or punitive schule. (zero undergrowth despite entire course being wooded) The course is lighted at night and your allowed to play it 24 hrs a day! There are longer tees set up that stretch the course out to over 7000 ft including more open holes and utilizing the large pond nearby. (I am not sure where these tees are..contact a local or show up on tue doubles 6:00) There is much fun factor on this course and if you played it multiple times it is conceivable you could get an ace, birdie, par, or bogey on the same hole.
Cons: Tees are just dirt spots on the ground (though you don't need a run up). Signs are often misleading in distance(#1 for instance is marked as 219 ft but I google mapped it at 120 ft) and par (often displaying a par 4 or par 5...it's all 3s here) but you can scout every hole from the tee pad and the funny pars just show you how far the sport has come. You should not need a driver here (a mid-range is pushing it here) Plenty of foot traffic during peak hours I'm sure, but this is somewhere you play off hours, off season or winter. Hole 18 is a bit tough to find as it is on the far side of a building away from the rest of the course. Would have enjoyed just a few holes near/over the pond or fields nearby.
Other Thoughts: I kept hoping to run into Cubby here but it didn't happen. I would love to have a course like this near me. I'd play it every day if I could. I never realized how historic Rutgers University was. A very pretty campus and the site of the first football game ever played in 1869. This disc golf course kind of falls into the same category.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Part of Disc Golf History

2-4    11/21/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 68  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/26/2015
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 hole course is one of the first on the east coast and features a straightforward layout without the bells and whistles present at other courses. Relatively easy to score well yet still attractive for all levels of play with its "unofficial" alternate tee areas. Has some neat holes- 10 and 18 come to mind- and pavement OB areas on several holes keep you honest. RU-Douglass features a good balance of moderately wooded, manageable holes and although there is really only one tee off area per hole, it can be modified to lengthen the course- as is done for the annual Jersey Jam.
Cons: Dirt tee off areas hold puddles after heavy rain, and erosion is a serious issue. Could use directional markers in some spots- it took me 15 minutes to figure out where hole 9 begins the first time I played. Holes 16 and 17 run parallel to one another, and there are always vehicles parked directly in front of the access way in front of the hole 18 tee pad. Beware of students walking to class.
Other Thoughts: One of the oldest courses in the country, Rutgers-Douglass is a fun play, and over the years a loose playing environment has been cultivated. R-D is not physically grueling, making it a great place for multiple rounds and for the casual player. This was the site of my first ever tournament and competitive playing experience, so I will always have a soft spot for it, but judged on it own merits, R-D is not on a par with some of the other 18 hole courses within the NJ/NY/PA region. That said, the "Jam" layout adds immeasurably to the course, and the over-the-water hole and 650 foot drive down the hill are outstanding holes which can measure up to many holes at any other course. Rutgers is in major need of some sprucing up, and it is unfortunate that the genuine and once promising efforts made by several people to upgrade and maintain the course were not encouraged nor appreciated- the course deserves better. That said, RD will always be a good place to play.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.