New Brunswick, NJ 
Rutgers, Douglass College Share
Uploaded By: discgolferjr Hole #1
3 / 138ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 My local course

5+    6/4/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: JonathanJ
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Rutgers is situated on a nicely manicured campus. The 18 holes flow well with most tees visible from the previous basket. The short course is signposted and popular with students and rec players. The longer 'B' layout is marked with orange bricks and is played mostly by local disc golfers. The 'C' layout is a championship level layout that is utilised for the annual Jersey Jam, which includes a couple of temporary baskets.

All layouts require different shots, with accuracy prized over big-arms. (Although some of the Pond/Field holes at the Jam are long) The rough is forgiving, so even if you hit an early tree you can still usually recover for a Par.
Cons: The course is showing its age, some baskets are a little unstable. Spit-throughs occasionally occur for power-putters. Some tee areas are eroded, and it can be hard to find the longer layouts if you're not playing with a local.
Other Thoughts: Rutgers is my local course and I've been playing there at least a couple of times a week for the last 18 months. From the longer tees it provides a real challenge and has helped my game develop.

Come out and join us for Tuesday Doubles at 6pm, it's the best way to see the course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The old man on the block...

2-4    5/21/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 7.8 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Rutgers is a full 18 hole course on a really nice college campus. Its one of the few full 18 hole courses in New Jersey. Rutgers is a short course, but it still has enough trees and challenges to make the course interesting. There are some really fun holes and lots of birdie opportunities to be had. The course is very well kept and there are clear fairways. There are some fun holes including hole 10 which plays along a creek.
There is a great group of local DGers who are out at Rutgers quite often. they know where the extended tees are and playing Rutgers with that makes it much more difficult and challenging. The Jersey Jam annual tournament layout is even better at over 7,000 ft.
Play with the locals if you can, its much better that way.
Cons: This course is old and doesn't show its age gracefully. Some of the natural tees are really worn out and the baskets are all rusted. You'll see lots of drop outs because of the bad condition of the baskets. The signs are pretty outdated (some are missing) and the posted par is laughable.
This course is on a college campus so it is obviously restricted to what one can do on a campus. Pedestrians are always a possible danger and there are several roads that pass very close to the holes so an overshot landing in the road is definitely possible. This is not a grip and rip course.
Other Thoughts: Rutgers has its plusses, but its not a course to travel for. Course baggers can bag Rutgers, Chimney Rock, Greenwood Meadows, and Harry Dunham all in an afternoon, although none of those course are great courses.
Also be careful when you play Rutgers, New Brunswick traffic can be terrible during peak hours.
It would be nice if there were a group of rutgers student DGers who would put some work in on the course. It wouldnt take much to get the course in good shape by fixing signs and baskets and just taking care of them.
Overall Rutgers is a course to play if you are in the area or able to play with some locals.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 I dont get it...

2-4    4/19/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 4/8/2010
0 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: *Close to my sister
*Easy
*Putt sesh
*Maybe mid-range too
Cons: *Poorly marked
*Very short holes
*Adjacent to walking path
*Weaves back and forth
*Similar shots
*Short distances
Other Thoughts: I used to think the 30min drive was worth it but its really not. Last time i went down and some goon in a star trek t-shirt said ther was "a tournament going on persay" haha lame.. After that i figured theres rly no reason to go back unless i end up at that park next to the dining hall and have my discs.
Also some guy whowears a UPS sweathirt and ha a UPS disc golf bag said it was his favorite course, at first i thought he was a cool guy, but it turns out he just like being nic so he could pay ahead of you and steal your discs thn leav before you could find him. Great community of discers they have down there.

0 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Someone called this Puttgers, I laughed...

2-4    2/20/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: crouchingwombat
Played: 52  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.6 Years
10 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I love the convince of this course, if I were a student here I would play twice a day.
The holes here are laid out pretty well and there isn't much searching for the next tee. I also enjoyed the mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots. I flick and backhand so it was nice to switch it up.
It is very easy and possible to play this course with one disc. My favorite hole was the 50 foot hole, I tried a few times to get my first ace with no luck. I think the hole is #10...
Cons: Well, it's a bit hard to find the first time. Some "Disc Golf" signs around campus would be nice. I parked a bit away from where I was suppose to. I played this in the middle of the weekend when it was freezing so there were no problems with students walking around but that could be a pain in the butt during school. Some holes are close to the buildings but it isn't that bad.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad little course, I enjoyed my self and I'm sure with some return trips I could get a pretty kick ass score. I wonder what the course record is. If I lived in NJ I would come here every now and then, this course can really help with your short game.

10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course.

2-4    9/18/2008   12/2/2008
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 54  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2009
5 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: A nice layout with some very technical shots. No long drives so beginners would benefit here. Reasonably well marked. Because it is on a college campus it is well maintained. I believe this is a course where people of all ages could enjoy themselves. With the good walkways because you are on a college campus and other facilities available it is alot of them
Cons: Because it is within the confines of a college be very careful when school is in session. There are students everywhere and they do not pay attention.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place for buddies to get together and play. The course is fun and the scenery is good.

5 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 baby course

1    8/30/2008   8/30/2008
Review By: disc-o maniac
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/7/2009
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice little courses mostly par 3.great layout which requires accuracy not power. very easy hole-in-one length holes(easier said than done) a lot of trees but that adds to the challenge. a must for the begginer level disc golfer
Cons: an extremely small course. one hole is only 57 feet. it had ace written all over it unfortunatley it takes a little more than just luck for that. some holes are in between parking lots so watch out for cars. some signs are missing and others are misleading especially hole #1 which i would say is about 60ft. from the pin but the sign says its 219ft.
Other Thoughts: rutgers is very fun to play and a definate confidance booster especially with the short holes that are practicly begging for you to get a hole-in-one. my first time there i shot 10 under par. very easy and very fun.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great Little Par 3 Course

5+    8/26/2008   8/26/2008
Review By: disc golfer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 15.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2011
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice and short par 3 course. Great mix of holes and different shots. Well designed. All holes are fun to play. Fun for beginners and advanced players alike. Good fairways. Plenty of trees but there's sufficient room to work your disc.
Cons: Try not to play while school is in session during the weekdays Sept. through June. Play weekends or in summer because there are plenty of college students walking the pathways that cross the course. Although it's okay to play while school is in session. One of the shortest holes in disc golf resides here (I think it's hole 9) which may seem a bit silly because it's a putt over a bush from the tee (but fun nonetheless).
Other Thoughts: Rutgers is worth playing because it's fun. Most holes are short but a bit challenging because of the trees. Some of the advanced players have called this course Puttger's (Ha) because they use their putters from the tee on most holes. But you'll see that you'll need your drivers on most of the holes.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Clearly past its prime

2-4    8/14/2008   8/14/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2008
15 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean, safe and well-manicured (though that applies to the campus as a whole, not the disc golf course in particular). Short and easy for beginners, but somewhat tricky for pros thanks to trees on every hole.
Cons: Signs are woefully outdated. Hole 1 says 219 ft but it can't be more than 150; Hole 17 must be shorter than 300. Sign for holes 2 and 13 are missing. Never found hole 18. Only found 2 "advanced" tees, on holes 10 and 11. No teepads, or tee markers even. Most holes are dangerously close to one another. Chains are rusted and very loose.
Other Thoughts: As it is, you can tell this course is from the Sedgley era. And you can tell that Sedgley has had constant improvements and maintenance, while Rutgers has fallen into neglect. The fact that it took until August of 2008 for it to get its first review here should tell you something.

IMPORTANT: I have just played the Jersey Jam, and this extended layout is the cream of the crop. Volunteers created excellent signage and a thorough course guide, there were spotters on the blind / OB holes, and it used the campus with great creativity. Sure, there are still no tee pads, but I would give this version FOUR DISCS and eagerly look forward to playing the Jersey Jam every year.

15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.