Mount Vernon, IA 
Mount Vernon Nature Park Share
Uploaded By: EventHorizon Hole #3 (Taken 3/2013)
5 / 355ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Best beginners course

1    7/20/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 70  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 14.4 Years
Pros: - Ample parking, right in the middle of the course.
- Pretty easy to navigate, you can pretty well see the whole course from any one point. I did use the course map on my phone though.
- Decent signposts with number and distance.
- #3 is the longest hole on the course, and the basket is tucked nicely into a little stand of 3 or 4 trees. Guarded, but still accessible.
- #5 tee is neat, from on top of a little mound throwing through a line of trees. Really doesn't add difficulty, but adds a great feel to the hole. Well done.
- #8 is a great shot down a little hollow. Most scenic spot on the course, great use of space.
Cons: - Tees marked by INNOVA tee markers. All were in place except for one missing on #5. Mostly flat dirt pads, with some remnants of woodchips. Not really running up for any drives on this course though.
- There was a map/scorecard holder at tee #1, but nothing in it. Really not needed though.
- #1 is not only short, but it's an awkward, hard turning R to L shot around trees and into the timber. Unless originally there were less trees, and you could drive through them. My least favorite hole on the course, and unfortunately not a great starting hole.
- #2 tee is overgrown, nearly unplayable straight through the trees. Even if the bushes and undergrowth were trimmed, it's a very tight window, even for a 120 ft hole. Nice idea though, certainly adds variety.
- There IS a line on #6, but it's very small. Short hole without very many options, not my favorite.
Other Thoughts: - I find it quite amazing how 9 holes got packed into this small park, without overlapping or causing major safety concerns. Yes, it's a very short course, but bravo! I think that decision was better than making it a longer 6-hole course.
- There are not very many "beginners" courses that teach new players the value of hitting precise lines. In fact, I don't know that I'd ever played one until this course. Wooded golf is frustrating to new players, but this course can teach those skills without being disheartening. Wonderful!
- For a beginner course, this gets a 4.5/5. In comparison to all other 9 holers, 3.75/5.

Awesome course

1    9/26/2013   9/27/2013
Review By: hevyevie
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good signage at tees. Scorecards are/were provided (I think I got the last one). Good baskets. Excellent use of terrain. Quiet and peaceful for being in town. Laid out nicely so you finish near where you start. Very fun and challenging course for a short nine holer. Friendly locals. Easy to follow from basket to tee.
Cons: Poor parking. There is construction in town now which makes the directions to the park a little confusing. The directions provided here lead you to a dead end street with no parking. However the locals had no problem with me parking my camper along the street. The course had natural tees with wood chips. Some were uneven and could get muddy in spring time.
Other Thoughts: This course has to be the funnest and most challenging 9 hole course I've played. For what it lacks in distance it makes up for in technical skill. Just because the hole is 120ft don't expect aces or even birdies too often. Of all the courses I've played today on my 4 states, 4 courses, 36 hole expirience this one was the best! By far worth the trip from Cedar Rapids to play!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

best SHORT course ive played

1    7/28/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: troyrugg
Played: 52  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: While being a small course w short holes the layout is very impressive! If i was closer id make it a daily course. Lots of hard lines on some very short (120') holes making birdies a challenge at that length. Nice post signage. Found pretty easy to navigate.... although i did turn some signs to actually fqce the basket. Also had a printed map at tee one to carry and return. A nice touch ive never seen
Cons: Signage was facing crazy directions. Turned to help other but who knows if that will stay
Other Thoughts: Already plan to play this again. When in the area

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden, NEW gem

5+    9/25/2012   9/26/2012
Review By: Iowa420DG
Played: 153  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 3.5

Tee pads (2/5); There were no "real" tee pads to speak of. A bunch of unlevel mulch is laid out for tee pads, and at least they are marked by red Innova buttons in the ground.

Baskets (5/5); Brand spankin' new, double chained Innova Discatchers. Numbered with bright yellow tops.

Layout/Design (2.5); The layout makes great use of the small land provided. The course is very short, but contains a nice variety of lines. There are a few shots that I've never seen before. There isn't much elevation or any water to speak of. The course loops well to a parking lot from hole #1 to hole #9. You could experience a little difficulty finding the next tee in order, and it gets kind of confusing with the baskets all cramped in a small area. I've never seen anyone else playing this course, but I can't imagine a tournament being possible; people would be yelling "FORE!" constantly.

Scenery/Surroundings (3/5); The course is extremely clean and well manicured, in a very nice neighborhood. The scenery, however, is very typical of a small-town, Iowa setting, and lacks any eye-popping views. No tee signs. Lots of squirrels dropping nuts, watch out!

Likeliness to Return (5/5); I will most certainly return to this course. It's in great condition, easy to get to, and hardly anyone knows about it! I always have the course to myself. Its a great a place to work on your short game. The new lines and ace runs are very fun. Overall, its my FAVORITE 9-hole course.
Cons: Read above^^
Other Thoughts: I believe this course is Innova sponsored.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Small course=fun

2-4    8/9/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy course to find with parking close to first tee. Lots of details went into this course. The teesigns are merely hole number and distance, but are in excellent shape and each one faces towards you after completing each hole. Thus, navigation is pretty easy. Though there are lack of teepads, there are nice Innova teemarkers on the ground that indicate tee area. Baskets are Innova Discatchers in new condition. Large and small trees throughout the course that come into play on every hole. It is easy to see how well thought out this course is. Though the holes are short, it makes great use of the elevation and trees to make for some fun shots. An excellent course for beginners to learn on. Experienced players can just take a putter and work on their short game and go for aces. The park itself is clean and well mowed. Fairways are easily defined and it would be difficult to lose a disc here.
Cons: It is difficult to really speak of any cons for this course. It is designed as a short 9 hole course for beginners. It does that well. Teepads are dirt/mulch that could become muddy, but minimal run up is needed anyway.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to bring a new player into the game. Easy short holes with just enough challenge that will keep everyone happy. Although I didn't get an ace, it was fairly easy to hit metal on many of the baskets. One of the best beginner courses I have played.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.