Littleton, CO 
Runyon Elementary DGC Share
Uploaded By: preton Hole #3 (Taken 9/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Tees #3-6 and #9 can be found spray-painted onto the drainage channel.



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Randomly Placed Baskets

1    4/10/2014   4/13/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 352  Reviewed: 345  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +Nice DGA baskets with numbers
+Grass looks to be mowed and maintained
+Might get kids into disc golf
+Good place to practice putts and approaches or make a safari round
+Every hole is ace-able
+Easy to find and plenty of parking
Cons: -Don't play during school hours
-I couldn't find any marked tees
-Really no flow to this course at all. The baskets seemed to be randomly placed in the field.
-Fairways cross all over each other. Could be dangerous if a gym class was out there trying to play.
-The course is almost entirely open and flat. There is no risk/reward here or challenge. Very low fun factor. Little variation from hole to hole.
Other Thoughts: -Another school course that was thrown in by some gym teacher or janitor that has never played the game before.
-I probably wouldn't play during school hours. You are unlikely to hit anybody or anything but people might not like random guys walking around the school.
-Only play if you're a course bagger or live very,very close. There's almost always a better option.
-With a redesign and some marked tees, you could maybe design a fun pitch and putt here.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Small and smaller

1    6/7/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: jokingjake
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: You will be the only person here playing. If you feel disc golf is a hard sport, this is your coarse. Good place to practice your short game.
Cons: All the baskets are in an area about the size of a baseball diamond.
Other Thoughts: Tees are made up as you go; pick a spot and throw. Close to the elementary school but not in the same space.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Um only a place to practice

1    1/19/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 115  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great baskets. Area provides opportunity to refine short game. really short game
Cons: Almost everything. The baskets take up a very small area and no rhyme or reason to the layout. If there were some trees great place to practice. I only found one marked tee pad and that was 9.
Other Thoughts: I ended up just playing a game of 21 with my discs shooting from one basket to the next so i could cross this course off. No real reason to ever play again

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Field of Baskets

1    11/17/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 123  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 5.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice brand new DGA baskets
-The course is set in a well groomed and taken care of grass field.
-Slight elevation changes on one or two of the holes.
-Very little chance of losing a disc
-Good open place to work on short drives and putting work
-Introduces kids to the games
-There could be an opportunity to play some safari holes here
Cons: -The course is hard to navigate mainly because of the tee-pads. Tee-pads for Holes 3-6 are marked on a drainage ditch, and the tee-pad for Hole 1 and 9 are marked on a sidewalk. They are nothing but chalk drawing on the concrete and get very easily covered up by dirt or washed away making the course very hard to find.
-Holes 7 and 8 don't have tee-pads, rather hole 7 tees off from the basket for 5 and hole 8 tees off from the basket for 6, which can be really confusing as this is in no way marked on the course.
-Tee-pad 9 is on slanted on a hillside and can be a little hard to throw from
-All of the fairways cross at least one other fairway. If there is another group on the course at the same time there will definitely be conflicts and I recommend keeping an eye out for incoming discs.
-The course has almost no obstacles on it, as it is basically just set in a wide open field. Most of the shots boil down to straight shots with absolutely no risk/reward
-None of the holes are very long (but if you play some safari holes, you can definitely add some distance to a few of the holes)
-This course is close to the playground and other areas and I would avoid playing it during school hours
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is basically an open field with nine baskets thrown into it. It's a good course for its intended target of elementary schoolers to get them playing the game, but for anyone else there is very little of interest at this course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun For All Ages

5+    10/5/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: DumpsterDane
Played: 95  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: At elementary school, so it will encourage young players. It offers a wide range of shots. A great place to practice approach.
Cons: When school is in its best to stay away. Short holes with over lapping fairways.
Other Thoughts: It may not be much, but for what they had to work with i think they did a great job.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Passable course with shortcomings

1    8/25/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: gibster
Played: 46  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 22.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New baskets
Nice area
Hard to lose disc
Good for mid-range and putting practice
You have the course to yourself
Cons: Hard to find tees/no tees
Short holes (< 200ft), beginner course
Presumable course congestion/cross traffic for more than 1 group
Other Thoughts: We had fun trying to make up the tees as we went along. The "course" has some potential, if some of the baskets were moved to more challenging spots, maybe involving the park more, or putting the baskets further out on the field at least. 8 and 9 need to be exchanged so there is no unnecessary walking. For the most part, we used the previous hole as the tee for the next hole. I think 3, 4, 5, 6 have tees in the drainage, 1 can use 3/5 tee, 5 and 6 had a tree "obstacle". Need better marking for tees definitely.
Update 11/23/12 - recalibrating my scores.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 What the ???

1    8/11/2012   8/11/2012
Review By: DRod
Played: 59  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New DGA baskets is about it
Cons: -No tee pads or poor marking. Uses drainage ditch concrete for pads I could find.
-Baskets are very close to each other, appear to be just thrown into the ground
-Poor use of land
-No signage
Other Thoughts: It seems like the school district just bought new baskets as part of a budget/grant expense and threw them into the ground.

There's very little sense you can make of this course except that it's for the little ones to mess around on, but marking on the tee pads that I could find indicate otherwise with a couple 200-300' holes.

I played 4 holes that I basically made up before it started raining and I left.

If someone actually put some time in to design a course layout for the space it could be a nice little 9 hole beginner course. Especially if it could expand into the adjacent park a little.

What a waste of some good baskets.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.