Kentwood, MI 
Jaycee Park Share
Uploaded By: thesamiam Hole #18 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 155ft.   3 / --   3 / 241ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Ghetto Fabulous

5+    7/24/2013   7/24/2013
Review By: jiggastafarian
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short and Technical
Wooded and shady
Nice baskets
No water hazards
Great pads
Various elevation
Tee signs were fairly accurate
Multiple parking lots
Cons: No open fairways
Depending on season leaves can be a real pain
No posted maps(can be confusing for first timers)
Mandos
Peak park times can make for a slow game
Few trash receptacles
Brush poorly maintained
Poison ivy everywhere
2 benches throughout the whole course
No longer a basket on hole 11
Other Thoughts: ****UPDATE****

The basket has been stolen on hole 11.

I learned to play here and in the last year I have improved my short game drastically. Great course to force yourself to learn to throw or hit tree after tree.

I'm a new player and love this course. I play it twice a day, every day it isn't raining in the spring/summer/fall. However this year the upkeep is lacking and the new people in the neighborhood have made it an experience I no longer fully enjoy. Every time I am there the same bunch of kids beg me for my discs, Ask to throw discs, talk smack when you tell them to get their own. In the last week I have witnessed 2 discs stolen and a fight break out because of some adults trying to steal discs. The amount of broken glass on the course is getting out of hand as well. What was my favorite course to play is slowly being shifted to old farm and brewer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Jaycee

1    6/23/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: Jbot49506
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nicely wooded course, it was great on a warm sunny day. The course is short enough you can get two rounds in in 2 hours if you move quickly. The catchers were in decent condition.
Cons: If your looking for distance or open fairways, go to a different course, this course requires thought and more precision.
Other Thoughts: A fun course to check off the list, I plan on playing this course many more times.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Where to next?

1    6/6/2011   6/6/2011
Review By: jarnson
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A great mid-range course with the highest distance about 300ft. Nothing a mid-range / fairway driver wouldn't fix
- Good cement pads, fairly long pads at that
- Signs are great for explaining the hole setup, though finding the next hole is something that would be nice to include
- Baskets are Innova, fairly good condition at that
- Since the course is kind of straight forward, there are mando's, and of course play the paths as OB's
- Has the trees as a good challenge along with mando's and OB's, otherwise, a fairly simple course like Lamar and such.
- Nice direction changes, left than right or right than left, no straight shots, the trees do help.
Cons: - No real water hazards
- A local park, with playgrounds, basket ball courts and tennis courts, along with a baseball field (apparently no one use's it anymore as I am told)
- A little run-down, though kept clean
- Not really a pro type course, with challenges down to 2 on a scale of 5.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, I gave it a 2.5 due to the conditions, shortness, challenges that it had opposed to the ones that would have made it better... It is a nice course, fun, but did not really offer up a challenge worth enough to state this is a "destination" course.

*Bathrooms are locked and unlocked everyday from Spring to Fall, I believe after 10-6pm or later in the evening.*

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Jaycee

5+    4/17/2011   4/17/2011
Review By: E-man
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Technical: Jaycee is a smaller, but fun course overall. Most holes are in 200-300ft range, so birdie opprotunities abound. A few holes are over 300ft, and a couple are under 200 feet. But, there really is no "open" hole here, and this is the biggest pro to me. Line shaping is key to scoring well. The course caters to different throwing styles with a variety of routes on some holes. It covers straight, left, and right holes with a couple of extreme rights.

-Elevation: course makes great use of what little elevation it has. For example, hole 15 plays entirely uphill and has a slightly raised green.

-Pin placements: risky pin locations add a challenge on some holes, either being on a hill or protected by trees.

-Teepads/signs: all holes have concrete tees, though they are a bit too short for me personally. Every hole has a basic sign with a somewhat accurate distance.
Also, a small creek comes somewhat into play on holes 10 and 18 and hole 10 has a mando (no sign) that forces you b/w two trees in front of the tee.
Cons: -Not exclusively for DG: this is a multi-purpose park that I consider to be "inner-city", even though it is in a suburb. It can get busy with DGers, people walking the paths that wind throughout the park, kids on either of the two playgrounds, the basketball/tennis courts, or the tiny baseball field in the center of the park (never once saw baseball played on it).

-Navigation/flow issues: after hole 10, you walk down the path toward tee #3 and take a left/south turn up the path to get to 11. The tee for 12 is up the hill toward the south. You have to walk back down 14s fairway to get to 15. After 15, walk north down the path to 16. See what I mean?

-Leaves/trash/seating areas: Tons of leaves can make finding discs a pain, so keep an eye on them. There are a few trash barrels, but it is still quite littered. There are a couple of benches (tee #6 and #10), but that's it.

-Baskets: a couple have a broken/missing chain and hole 11 basket is a cheap looking single-chain.
Other Thoughts: This by no means a "desitnation" course, but worth a try for those in the area. In spite of the cons, Jaycee is a fun course to play, especially at non-peak times if possible. If I am by myself, I can play in an hour flat. On a really windy day, Jaycee can provide some shelter with all of its trees and they also shade quite nicely.
A bathroom next to the tennis courts is open during the Spring-Fall. The location of it makes it pretty much a before/after round stop though.

Update:The bathrooms get locked/unlocked everyday (Spring through Fall) and are only open approximately 10am to 7pm.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Kind of Fun and Kind of Frustrating

2-4    10/22/2009   10/22/2009
Review By: chad groen
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some nice layouts throughout this course. It has a decent mixture of short and long holes with some doglegs, blind tee shots, and narrow fairways. A baseball field serves as an obstacle for a few holes (I'm not sure how often games are played there, because that could cause problems for disc golfers). A couple holes are located near creeks, and one of them is also located near a playground. The hills in this park can be somewhat of an obstacle on certain holes. Some holes are designed in ways that favor backhand drives while others favor forehand drives. The signs for the basket locations are helpful.
Cons: This park is a heavily wooded area, and unfortunately not many trees were cleared out when they built the course. Some of the holes don't have much of a fairway because of all the trees in the way, putting players (except for those with really good aim and accuracy) in a position in which they just have to throw and hope for the best. Some of the holes are also too short. I once played here a few days after it rained, and most of the tee pads were covered in mud. Most of the tee pads are at ground level (as opposed to being elevated) and the ground in this park is mostly dirt and sand with roots sticking out and fallen tree branches scattered throughout. There's very little grass due to the heavy amount of tree cover shading out the sun. From fall through early spring there are leaves piled up almost everywhere in the park, and it's not too difficult to lose your disc in those leaves. The length of the tee pads are shorter than usual, and they're looking pretty old and roughed up. Some holes are difficult to find, and the park could really use more signs to help guide players in the right direction. They have a few signs, but they could definitely use more. Although I like the way the 18th hole is set up, you need to keep an eye out for kids on the playground. Be careful with your drive on the 10th hole. If your disc goes in that creek, you're going to have a hard time getting it out. Also, mosquitoes can be real bad in this area in the summer.
Other Thoughts: This course favors more accurate throwers who have both a good backhand and a good forehand. There is a decent variety of obstacles and hole designs, but there simply are too many trees throughout this course, putting players in a position in which they need to rely more on luck than skill in order to get a low score on some of the holes. To top it off, the ground and the tee pads can easily be in bad shape due to the weather. This course will test your driving skills, and it has a few fun holes, but overall the average player will have a rough time playing here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Jaycee

1    9/5/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: kingfresh7
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pretty fun course. Has some interesting holes and is a nice technical course. Good mix of shot types needed.
Cons: The course layout is odd, confusing, and at times frustrating. The course is well made for the space it occupies, but the hole progression makes no sense. It can be easy to go to the wrong hole at first. Tight quarters mean that if many people are playing discs can be flying between holes and you may have to wait for people to get our of your shot path. Also, the tee pads are very short so watch your step.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a good course to play, bring some freinds. More fun and a little easier to navigate once you've played a round.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Woods and Leaves

2-4    3/14/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: landon77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 15 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent signs.
Cement tees (albiet very small and in need of upgrading).
Technical course that will challenge your short and long accuracy.
Good Baskets.
Very nice locals who played with us and showed us the layout.
Fun and challenging, I would recommend this course just for the above average technical aspects required to play it. If your a local at this course you could probably play Coldbrook Park in Kalamazoo really well.
Cons: DUMB MANDO SIGNS, don't like em, change the design of the course if you have to, but for me it takes something away from the experience.
Tee pads are a little short.
Lots and Lots of leaves, so it can be easy to lose your disc!
THE biggest con is course layout, I had trouble locating one hole after another, and if I wasn't with someone who knew the course I would have gotten frustrated by this course!
Did I mention lots and lots of leaves?
Some holes are close to walking paths so be careful of unsuspecting people.
Be careful of disc golfers some holes are close to each other and you could hit someone!
Some of the holes had a poor layout and you had to walk back the hole you shoot to play the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Had a good time playing this course. There are just a few things that stopped this course from getting a better rating. Was a little busy but not too bad.
Found a brand new star disc! (Sweet)
Get rid of mando signs and rearrange some of the holes, The course is small but with a little work an improved layout is possible. Pretty area and a nice scenic park.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.