Kentwood, MI 
Jaycee Park Share
Uploaded By: thesamiam Hole #9 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 148ft.   3 / --   3 / 237ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
 Ghetto Fabulous

5+    7/24/2013   7/24/2013
Review By: jiggastafarian
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short and Technical
Wooded and shady
Nice baskets
No water hazards
Great pads
Various elevation
Tee signs were fairly accurate
Multiple parking lots
Cons: No open fairways
Depending on season leaves can be a real pain
No posted maps(can be confusing for first timers)
Mandos
Peak park times can make for a slow game
Few trash receptacles
Brush poorly maintained
Poison ivy everywhere
2 benches throughout the whole course
No longer a basket on hole 11
Other Thoughts: ****UPDATE****

The basket has been stolen on hole 11.

I learned to play here and in the last year I have improved my short game drastically. Great course to force yourself to learn to throw or hit tree after tree.

I'm a new player and love this course. I play it twice a day, every day it isn't raining in the spring/summer/fall. However this year the upkeep is lacking and the new people in the neighborhood have made it an experience I no longer fully enjoy. Every time I am there the same bunch of kids beg me for my discs, Ask to throw discs, talk smack when you tell them to get their own. In the last week I have witnessed 2 discs stolen and a fight break out because of some adults trying to steal discs. The amount of broken glass on the course is getting out of hand as well. What was my favorite course to play is slowly being shifted to old farm and brewer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A lot of course for a little park

1    3/11/2013   3/11/2013
Review By: AKormendi
Played: 65  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 16 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A bunch of different throwing styles at nice technical windows, without being too tight or too open.
Good Signage, makes navigating the unusual flow easy.
Nice tees, good flat concrete.
Quite scenic, and should be even nicer in the summer.
Tricky shots and mandos when necessary to keep you working hard, even though there's not much in the way of long range discing.
Cons: Very little in the way of long distance shots, if you just like to let 450' drives fly this isn't the course for you.
Bad drainage considering how hilly it is. The course was mostly a sheet of ice when I played it, but that didn't stop me from greatly enjoying the round. Probably amazing on a nice summer day.

The flow of the course is a little strange, with a lot of holes all crammed close together. Still, this doesn't really detract much from the course, considering.
Quite a bit of litter.
Other Thoughts: Very nice, especially given the space. This is in a densely populated area, and is one of the nicest courses I've seen in such a small city park. It gives a good experience, with a lot of holes you can be proud to deuce, and a few that will make you work to hit par. Not a destination course, but very much worth your time if you happen to be in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice if you like woods!

1    5/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: JSquizz
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Short, but a challenge. It is a nice little park, but you won't be airing out big drives.
Cons: Can be busy on peak hours, trees demand accuracy so some beginners might not like it.
Other Thoughts: Decent layout, less big parties of people than I have seen at other places. I was told a lot of hoodrats like to hang around here but I had no issues when I played.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Jaycee

1    6/23/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: Jbot49506
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nicely wooded course, it was great on a warm sunny day. The course is short enough you can get two rounds in in 2 hours if you move quickly. The catchers were in decent condition.
Cons: If your looking for distance or open fairways, go to a different course, this course requires thought and more precision.
Other Thoughts: A fun course to check off the list, I plan on playing this course many more times.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/18/2011   4/16/2012
Review By: CDashMAN
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: nice tract through a small neighborhood park
good variety of hole lengths
close to Old Farm so you can play 36 unique holes without driving far
Cons: Some really short holes
Lots of Trees that can be frustrating for newbees
a few holes throw close to walking path
Other Thoughts: got my first ever ace here on hole 11. Almost aced 17. My favorite Grand Rapids course, aces may make me biased!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mostly trees, and some hills

5+    10/3/2011   12/2/2011
Review By: myhouseinthewoods
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This place has lots of trees which can make it a challenge during the summer
Theres some short holes good for people still trying to learn how to throw farther
Benches throughout the park make it possible for anyone to take a rest
Theres a spot in the middle of the park, usually used for baseball, that you can practice throwing your disc at
Cons: There is one hill that is steep!, so bring a hiking stick for that part, or just hurt your back walking up it
The 18th hole can be and mostly is avoided by alot of people because there is a playground right next to it, and basketball courts
On the tenth hole, theres a mando, and a good size creek flowing right by the basket, which disc can get caught into often
Other Thoughts: Even though theres a mando I believe on the 18th hole, it doesnt help with a playground on the side of it, whoever made this course could have put the 18th hole in a better location.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short course

1    6/16/2011   6/16/2011
Review By: Gyro
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has mostly short distance shots.
Good signs to show where the basket is.
Quality tee pads.
Some elevation and nice RH LH shot variety.
Cons: Very confusing to find the next hole in quite a few spots and the whole course wraps around a very small area.
Many obstacles like basketball courts and baseball diamonds.
No water hazards.
Not many distance shots.
Other Thoughts: The park is pretty interesting because of all the really large old trees all around. If the signs showed you were to go next I would give it a little bump up.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Where to next?

1    6/6/2011   6/6/2011
Review By: jarnson
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A great mid-range course with the highest distance about 300ft. Nothing a mid-range / fairway driver wouldn't fix
- Good cement pads, fairly long pads at that
- Signs are great for explaining the hole setup, though finding the next hole is something that would be nice to include
- Baskets are Innova, fairly good condition at that
- Since the course is kind of straight forward, there are mando's, and of course play the paths as OB's
- Has the trees as a good challenge along with mando's and OB's, otherwise, a fairly simple course like Lamar and such.
- Nice direction changes, left than right or right than left, no straight shots, the trees do help.
Cons: - No real water hazards
- A local park, with playgrounds, basket ball courts and tennis courts, along with a baseball field (apparently no one use's it anymore as I am told)
- A little run-down, though kept clean
- Not really a pro type course, with challenges down to 2 on a scale of 5.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, I gave it a 2.5 due to the conditions, shortness, challenges that it had opposed to the ones that would have made it better... It is a nice course, fun, but did not really offer up a challenge worth enough to state this is a "destination" course.

*Bathrooms are locked and unlocked everyday from Spring to Fall, I believe after 10-6pm or later in the evening.*

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good for beginners...

1    5/3/2011   5/5/2011
Review By: kizzle54
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Neat basket layout on a couple holes... rocks and landscaped...

- Straight forward...

- Pretty well maintained
Cons: - Too simple for the experienced player.

- Multiple holes less than 120 feet... Seriously?

- can be pretty crowded
Other Thoughts: Course was mediocre, but did have a couple of memorable holes. Back nine was quite nice, but the front nine was various severely short holes.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short but technical

5+    4/25/2011   4/25/2011
Review By: libertine5010
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Paved boxes, quality baskets and signs help create a great atmosphere. Tree placement can be frustrating but makes for great practice on some trickier technical shots.
Cons: There can be a ton of children and/or families running around. Also, leaves are plentiful all year and can be a real nuisance.
Other Thoughts: A definite must in the Grand Rapids region. It has lots of character.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.