Maysville, NC
White Oak River Campground Share
Uploaded By: willhoit Hole #10 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 285ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Like to play new courses

1    5/24/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: walrussparky
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Lovely place, lovely people. The owner and course designer Doug PDGA #54737 played along. Challenging but reachable water holes. Mature Cyprus natural setting. Worth playing.
Cons: Course lay out is difficult for the first time player. We suggested permanent arrows to next hole showing distance and they agreed.
Other Thoughts: A place of history as Ray and Ruth reclaimed this area from abuse and created the lakes. We traveled to a wedding and just stopped by and they made us feel right at home.

 Fantastic Course in Maysville

5+    4/28/2013   4/30/2013
Review By: Chaingang2
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course makes fantastic use of surrounding scenerey and obstacles. Very challenging for lefties or righties. Plenty of rest spots and seclusion. Nice mix of open/ woods, lots of water in play.
Cons: Plays around fishing lakes, and can get congetsted during the summer.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in eastern NC..... Bring a disc that floats and a cooler for the beer, and have a great time. This is a private course and you must register/ pay before playing.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Why Pay to Play

1    1/10/2013   1/25/2013
Review By: Chingmaster
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The water hazards and scenery are nice.
I like the benches and trash cans throughout the course.
I like the mix of some open and some wooded holes with tight lanes.
Cons: The baskets are reused on different holes.
The baskets are poor in quality.
Other Thoughts: Adding concrete pads to throw from and installing posts to hang bags from would be a nice upgrade. Add more holes along the backside of the Park, and eliminate the reuse of the holes on the first 5 baskets.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    10/20/2012   10/20/2012
Review By: chainbangers
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautiful scenery
-Camping and amenities on site
-Open
Cons: -Poor baskets
-Poor parking
-Poor signage, very confusing
-Can run into fishers/campers
-Can get repetitive with few baskets
Other Thoughts: -Water really psych'd me out, I'd aim away from it but still go near it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/20/2012   10/20/2012
Review By: disc138
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice area
had fun
Cons: cheap baskets
hard to find tee's
not worth paying for
Other Thoughts: watch trying to look for your disc next to the creek next to holes 1-5 if it looks like you can cross your going to sink in some mud!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I love the WOR

5+    7/24/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: willhoit
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 22.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging hole layout- Beautiful scenery- **Camping/fishing/kayaking on site also**
Cons: Need bug spray in the summer
Other Thoughts: This is the perfect spot for a weekend camping trip. Close proximity as base camp to New Bern, Kinston, and Jacksonville disc golf parks also (all within 30 minutes).

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.