Newbury, NH 
Mount Sunapee Resort Share
Uploaded By: great white buffalo Hole #7
3 / 360ft.   -- / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Course!

2-4    8/17/2014   8/18/2014
Review By: ItsLake
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great use of the mountain. Most of the course winds through the mountain in the woods to the sides of slopes making for many technical shots that make the game fun. The holes are quite diverse and offers a wide variety of shot-shaping opportunities.
Cons: Chair lift is only available till 4.
Other Thoughts: Would recommend to friend.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

2-4    9/29/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: rcj333
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Still pretty new to disc golf. We had 4 players of similar ability and played doubles best throw, and were able to one under par the advanced. Love taking the ski lift up. Also like the variety of holes. About the only thing it does not have is a water hazard. I found it challenging, bit did not feel overmatched and felt the pars were fair. Signage is good and finding the next hole is not a problem.
Cons: I would say the "pro" shop is a bit thin, but they do have some discs and some Sunapee schwag.
Other Thoughts: Have been twice and very surprised we have not seen another player there yet. On one hand I like having the course to myself, but on the other I want it to be successful so they keep it open. We drive an hour and think it is totally worth the drive and the 8$

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

New Hampshire's Finest

1    5/22/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: AaronMonier18
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In my opinion this may be the finest course in New Hampshire. It has a great mix of holes and it flows very nicely. After seeing this layout it makes other mountain golf courses look inept. Discatcher baskets and a short and long tee location. I've never taken a chair lift because I've only played it "out of season" (The Terrain Park opens Memorial Day Weekend I believe). Nobody has ever hassled me for hiking up. As a lefty, it helps to have a flick or very strong anhyzer.
Cons: As a freshly cut course the terrain can be rugged at times. When you cut a tree down on a mountain it typically stays there. In the fall it may be possible to lose discs. My only other complaint would be that when you finish 18, your car is downslope a ways if you need to refill your water or grab something out of it. If the lift is operating you may opt to shell out $5. I like the walk up myself.
Other Thoughts: Kudos to the design team. I understand it's the same that designed Pinnacle. After playing both I can see the correlation. They obviously want you to be a good player to score well. I respect that. Due to the resources afforded to a resort like Sunapee this course feels more professional than Pinnacle. Offers a better variety than Beauty Hill. Plays longer than Bellamy. It reminds me a lot of Hyland Brewery's course. Very enjoyable. Recommended.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    9/22/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: davistd0
Played: 42  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Only $5 to play, which includes lift ride to the top of the course.

Practice basket behind the Adventure Park building.

2 sets of wood framed teepads filled with gravel on every hole. None have developed any holes/depressions that might trip you up.

The closer tees significantly shorten the course and provide a completely different look on every hole. Perfect setup for beginners to try the game on.

Tee signs give distance and fairway shape (straight, downhill, slight left, dogleg right, etc…).

No holes play right on top of another.

Easy to follow arrows directing you along well defined paths from basket to next tee.

The rough doesn't hide your discs (except the left side of holes #8 and #17). Very few areas in the rough are covered with dense, low growth vegetation that likes to hide plastic.

Good hole variety. Everything from 200' to 700'. Some holes play up/down the ski trails, which are all short grass. Some holes play up/down glades (lightly treed ski trails off the main trail). Other holes were carved out of the woods specifically for discs. A few holes start in the trees, shot across a ski trail, and end on the opposite side. About half of the wooded fairways have well defined flight routes. The other half have more trees dotting the fairway, leaving you to decide the best path.

Multiple memorable holes. Hole 3's basket sits on top of a big rock, missed putts beware. Hole #7 shots down a 25' cliff, across a 100' wide trail, and then the basket sits amongst towering old pine trees. #8 is a 700' whopper straight down a wide trail. Tough to hold back on the drive, but the thick rough all the way down the left side is very daunting. That rough is very thick and drops steeply away from the trail on #8. Challenge accepted!
Cons: No trash cans on any holes, you have to carry anything with you back to the club house.

Tee signs do not have a map of the hole. Not too big a problem though because most of the baskets can be seen through the trees from the tee.

There are arrows directing you from basket to next tee. However, the arrows are white on brown backing signs so they do not always stand out very well. Just be on the lookout for them and you'll be fine. The arrows could be painted a bright yellow to make them easier to see.

"Pro shop" in the Adventure Park building has a small selection of discs.

Not very close to anything…but then again, few courses in NH are. This one is about 50 min from Manchester, 35 from Concord.
Other Thoughts: A solid pair of hiking boots/sneakers are recommended.

Bring water or buy one in the Adventure Park building. The up/down on the course will wear you out faster than flatland courses.

Hole #1 is just to the left of the ski lift when you get off.

Definitely worth checking out. Check out Sunapee's website for info on the course, mini golf, zip lines, and off road Segway tour.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/12/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 196  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 19.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of open/wooded, left/right/straight, long/short. Very scenic. Fun taking the lift up to hole 1 and the first tee is right by the ski lift drop off point. Very well marked and easy to follow (even on my first time out). Practice basket behind the pro shop. Limited selection of discs but they were all bright colors. You can rent discs too. Maps and score cards also available. All the facilities you'd need. Easy transitions between holes. Creative lines on the longs and the shorts (most shorts are completely different holes, not just a tee pad 80 feet in front of the long tee)
Lots of other activities on the property. Mini golf, zip lines, etc. You can take the lift up (or hike) for multiple rounds. Not very crowded but the people I saw - all very nice.
Also - easy to find the course, and the place has pretty good hours. Opens at 8:00 on Sunday.
Cons: Bugs. I came coated in bug spray and they just thought it was icing. Seasonal - Only open when the ski slopes are closed so there will probably be bugs anytime you can play.
Pay to Play. Five bucks and well worth it but I prefer free.
Other activities - mtn bikers, etc on the open slopes section. Just be careful.
Very few cons
Other Thoughts: Nice gravel tees which are boxed (so the gravel stays) and surrounded by mulch
Tees on the shorts were pretty small. No run up but little need on the shorts.
Lots of rocks and thick woods if you miss the fairway on some holes. Number 8 is the monster 800ft downhill. Err to the rough on the right. The rough on the left is brutal but on the right it's much more manageable.

Could use benches and trash cans

I normally wouldn't rate a course that only has 11 of 18 holes but I would very much recommend the course to other out-of-town vacationers like myself. Even now, half finished. Having hiked back up to play the shorts I got 22 holes and a nice little workout.

I played about an hour after soaking rains ended and conditions were actually quite good. Mossy boulders and steep slopes handled the water well.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 New Course, Fun Round

2-4    8/5/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: roBailey
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic course starting on the top of South Peak of Mt.Sunapee. They have recently completed holes 10&11 and will allow you to ride the lift back up to play twice because all 18 are not open yet. Some interesting holes, including #3; pin drilled up into a rock for added elevation and it keeps a shorter fairway trickier, #7; your throwing off of a 'mountain cliff' across a ski trail back into the woods, and #9 where you have to throw back up the mountain.

This course is well laid out with Short and Long tees. It also has a different par for Pros/Intermediate/Short Tees.

Cons: Not all 18 holes are in yet, but they have their hands full with a bunch of other summer activities going in... so they are planning on having everything ready to play by fall 2012.

Other con is it is seasonal, but this is to be expected with a Ski resort.
Other Thoughts: Remember that you are on a mountain course, so flip-flops and sandals are not a wise choice of footwear - some pathways are steep.

There are a few memorable holes already and they still have 7 uncompleted. This is a course I will play quite often!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.