Voorhees, NJ 
Stafford Woods Share
Uploaded By: MichaelWebster Hole #11 (Taken 5/2014)
5 / 616ft.   5 / 775ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Heck Yeah!

5+    2/18/2017   2/18/2017
Review By: seanyboyhoward
Played: 40  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a gem! Without a doubt the best course in NJ. The updated paver tee pads are incredible! Baskets are in great conditions. Two practice baskets near the parking lot. Great signage as well! Holes are HARD but fair. This course is rewarding of a great shot on the wooded holes, rough is rough but always leaving you with an out and fun to bomb on the open holes! SJDG does a great job with the maintenance and locals are always a blast!
Cons: Nope.
Other Thoughts: With the option of 2 different tee pads and many holes with moving pin locations, this is a fantastic place to play! Playing over water is additionally a good time! I'd encourage people to go play.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

South Jersey's Best

5+    2/10/2017   2/14/2017
Review By: Greybeard
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 2/27/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a great test of skill. You will know what parts of your game need work when you leave here. If your accuracy is off, you will know it. If you don't putt well, you will know it. If your driver game is lacking...well, you get the idea. There are short technical holes, long bomb holes, lefty holes, righty holes, wooded holes, open holes...it's all here. However, what I've found to be the greatest asset of the course is the core group of locals and club members. They are always there, always working on upgrades, and always friendly. The course is loved. And the crew loves to show everyone how great thier course is. You can always find a friendly local to play with if you want. If you want pointers, there are many qualified players you can get in touch with, who'd be glad to play a round with you. A truly great community of wonderful people.
Cons: There are still to many random trees in the middle of the fairways. Hole 11 and 17, to be precise. They are already very narrow fairways. The removal of one or two strategic trees would define your shot line instead of hoping you can make your disc turn three or four times in one throw. On both of these holes it is the second shot I'm referring to, the tee shots are narrow and difficult but fair. The second shot....not so much. The parking lot is terrible. When the rain softens the ground, big mud holes open up. The county and the locals know it, and are working on it, but it's still bad. The lot is better, but still bad.
The lot has been upgraded! The main run in has gotten a coating of rock. Much better now.
Other Thoughts: I credit this course for the recent improvements in my game. I'm no pro, but the time I've spent on this course has definitely taught me well. Sometimes the feedback a course gives you isn't what you want to hear...(usually after it kicks your a$$) But sometimes that's what gets you motivated to work on your weaknesses. That is what Stafford has done for me, and I'm glad it did.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Playing In The Woods =)

5+    11/25/2016   12/5/2016
Review By: HWard_67950
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Wow! Where do I even begin with this course? Stafford Woods is hands down one of the best, most fun courses I've ever played. I'm a big fan of heavily wooded courses. It makes me have to focus on my shot and hit my line, unlike playing an open course that's forgiving. At Stafford if you don't get off of the tee pad, you're in teouble and will have a tough hole. This course has come a long was, just recently as a matter of fact. They have some beautiful paver pads that are long enough I call them "Runways". Stafford has 2 different pad positions and 1 pin location. You can choose to either play shorts if you're a newer player, or longs if you want a real challenge. 2 over water shots, a hanging basket, a basket on top of a hill, it's a disc golfers paradise. If you have not played here yet, I highly recommend it! Go & Throw!!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tough wooded little course

5+    10/19/2016   10/19/2016
Review By: Robbonj
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee pads, seating have been improing every week.
Short and Long tee pads on 12 of 18 holes adds a varied challenge.
Water in play on 2 holes.
A good mix of Wooded and Open fields considering the nature of South Jersey (Arguably 6 "open" holes 4, 5, 6, 7, 15, 16)
Challenges the players to make smart decisions over a variety of shots. A smart player can mitigate the impact of trees and luck.
Cons: Luck is a small factor due to the wooded nature.
Players need to pick up after themselves better, some trash throughout course, not the fault of the course though.
Other Thoughts: The only course I've ever played, so I may be biased but IMHO an AMAZING course for the midatlantic

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Unofficial "home" course

2-4    8/14/2016   9/20/2016
Review By: Strax Sontaran
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Intuitive layout, and "Next Tee" signs to help you along.
-Some open holes, most wooded, but not so tight as to make it unbearably hard
-Course maintenance is ongoing, and this makes for great playing conditions all the time
Cons: -Parking lot could use something besides chipped wood as a surface. If you have a lowered car, be aware of how you enter
-Some high grass on some of the holes will swallow your disc
Other Thoughts: I haven't been playing long, and this is the second course I played. I thoroughly enjoyed it! Tee pads are solid, the course layout makes sense, and the holes are a length that will both challenge and validate a variety of skill levels.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A must play course

2-4    5/8/2016   5/9/2016
Review By: pwolfinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 5/8/16 was my first time playing, but definitely won't be my last. I finished the first round and immediately played a second 18. This course is definitely in my favorites, and has the potential to get even better. For a relatively new course, this 18 plays like a seasoned course; its obvious the club puts a lot of work into maintaining and improving..

When you first arrive, you'll notice a parking area off the street with portable bathroom and baskets. There are multiple practice baskets recessed in the woods on your way to hole 1! While I was there, locals from the club were selling new and used discs, which was great (btw they have a lot of new Trilogy plastic and a nice mix of used discs if that's what you're in to).

The next thing I noticed was how beautiful the wooded area is the course is in. There are multiple rustic hiking trails throughout the course that allow players to navigate the course. The course setting was enough to make it enjoyable.

most holes have multiple tee's and multiple baskets. Signage is good. You will still find challenge playing from the shorts if you don't have much time/daylight, but the longs make the holes even better; either adding length, changing approach angle to fairway, or increased technical shots with more trees.

The layout seemed to favor a RHBH player, but I found myself throwing some forehand shots. There is a nice mix of open and heavily wooded. There is also a nice mix of shorter holes 200'-350' vs 350'-500' when playing the short layout. There are a couple holes (e.g., 11, 15, 16) that you'll need to bomb.
Cons: I recommend printing a map or playing with a local your first round. Even with the signage and "next tee" arrows, it is easy to second guess whether you are headed the right way or not.

Only major layout Con is that hole 18 finishes with a minor walk back to the lot. But the woods are so peaceful I didn't even care!

Not that its a big deal, but the "par" doesn't change when you are playing the short vs long tee position (at least from a signage perspective). I realize if its league or tournament, par doesn't much matter anyway. But there were some par 4's that would likely be a par 3 from the short tee.

I could see leaves in the fall being a problem with discs. Also, the entrance to the park sneaks up on you from the road. There is a small sign, but for a first-timer I almost missed it. The mulched parking lot was also very sogged/muddy lots of rain. Sounded like the locals were hoping for a stone lot in the future.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely loved playing this course. If you are even remotely close to it, I recommend making the trip. The South Jersey DG folks were nice and have a facebook page that will give you some additional information.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun and challenging

1    3/5/2016   4/6/2016
Review By: DiscFlicker77
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great mix of open holes and wooded, technical holes. Some elevation changes make you rethink certain throws.
Cons: Some holes are heavily wooded making it inevitable for one player in your party to hit a tree.

Parking lot is bad and muddy.
Other Thoughts: Water hazard on 2 holes is extremely punishing and nearly impossible to retrieve your disc. My buddy lost his disc in the pond. While we were trying to find it someone else's disc came soaring into the pond from the other tee.

This course will challenge all level of players.

I will definitely be back often.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Review by well traveled player

2-4    3/11/2016   3/12/2016
Review By: ditrynn
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Mix of tight drives and a few open drives. Clean course and failry maintained. Good signage.

Cons: A few poor tee pads.
Entering/exiting the parking lot can be frustrating.
Needs some clearing on a few trees located in some of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good place to work on accuracy off the tee. This is a good "local" course, but it is not a "destination" course. Meaning, one should not drive a ways to play it.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Very good

5+    3/6/2016   3/6/2016
Review By: Gavin0
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The new holes are very good. The old holes are fun too. There are a variety of holes. Not very hard to find discs because the trees are well spaced and there isn't much underbrush
Cons: If you get your disc in the pond, it is impossible to find unless it floats and even if, it is hard to get out.
Other Thoughts: Very challenging because of the high amount of trees.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course - Challenging Holes

1    8/9/2015   8/14/2015
Review By: rmart617
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good for beginners and pros! This course is very clean and nicely maintained. Very narrow throws on some holes that can make it challenging for a beginner and also some wide open tees to really work on your long drives.Water hazards also add a challenging feature. Very well spread out and you hardly run into other players. Best course around if you live in the Burlington County area.
Cons: Very small and unnoticeable entrance off of the roadway.
Other Thoughts: Be careful with ticks as you are literally in the middle of the woods on some holes. Highly recommend using bright disc at this course as many holes have really high grass if you don't hit the fairway.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.