Voorhees, NJ
Stafford Woods Share
Uploaded By: Coasterbrad Hole #7 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 192ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
heavenly

5+    3/11/2014   3/11/2014
Review By: ME220
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: #1 pro for me is that I live .7 miles from the 1st tee. with that having been said, this is my new 'home course'.
#1- nice 1st hole with a slight dogleg right that gives you a taste of just how thick the rough (the trees) may be.
#2- 1st par4 on the course. long gradual bend to the right with a sharp dogleg right at the end.
#3- our introduction to the Stafford pond. the tee has a mound about 20' off the front, upon which is the short tee, which makes for a challenging drive. watch for that pond, we'll be seeing it again soon.
#4- the 2nd par4 allows for a huge righty backhand that could set you up for an easy layup and tap-in birdie, albeit the few trees along this fairway don't come into play for you.
#5- field hole. big arms need only apply for the birdie. beautiful hole. take the time to soak up the scenery walking down this fairway, good chance on seeing the deer heard that roams these woods.
#6- par4 field hole. line of trees down the left side and tall grass down the right. the field ends about 75' before the elevated green.
#7- back across the pond. there is a wicked tunnel that leads up to the waters edge, 300' to the green that is perched on a slope so watch for the roll away into the hazard.
#8- par4 back in the woods with a narrow fairway that doglegs left with more then a few guardians at the turn making an approach to the green challenging.
#9- early dogleg right with two separate lines from which to choose. it's more difficult then it looks because those flight paths are thin.
#10- short straight very narrow fairway. watch that rough, tons of mountain laurel.
#11- par5 double dogleg. small left turn that leads to a sharper right turn that still leaves you just shy of 200' to the basket. beautiful hole.
#12- elevation comes into play here. it plays much farther then it actually is. gradual left turn at the top of the hill will put you on the green.
#13- elevated tee box that's not to much higher then the chains but just enough to affect your drive.
#14- left turning fairway with the thickest mountain laurel at Stafford all along the left and right side of the fairway.
#15- par4 starts in the woods, plays into the field and ultimately back into the woods. chains may be difficult to find if this is your 1st time. chains are just down the slope in the far back left corner of the field.
#16- par4 field hole with a hanging basket. again, enjoy the view of the field for we will be heading back into the woods.
#17- par4 initial fairway is narrow but it opens up once you break through the treeline. another lefty friendly fairway but wide open for a good enough backhand.
#18- nice hard dogleg left finishing hole. some seriously thick rough, crazy amounts of mountain laurel out here, on the left side.
Cons: the parking situation is being sorted out. it's a new course, how can there be any cons???
Other Thoughts: so much potential for this course. it's still in it's infancy but it is growing exponentially. great things to come from this premier course in the future.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/5/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: FlyingHyzer
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great variety in the first 9 holes, wooded, open, and a water hazard (pond on 2 wholes).
-Well designed on the available land.
-Long and short tees for most holes.
-Close to major highways. Plenty of places to eat around the park.
-Nice signage
Cons: -No trashcans throughout the course.
-Used to be farmland, old rusty barbed wire in some areas that you can't see until you're right on it be careful.
Other Thoughts: Well worth a trip out to voorhees, I could play this course all day long.

UPDATE: The back 9 baskets were put in, this course has it all now! If you haven't been here before make sure you find your way here soon. Adam and the South Jersey crew out did themselves, my hat is off to those guys.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

I really like this course

2-4    9/9/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: Fishfood
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I loved the rounds I've played here. It's well maintained, good mix of layout, woods/water/field/OB hazards, making for a challenging round of DG. Chainstar baskets are great. Nice design in a compact area. I understand they may be putting in 9 more holes...BRAVO if they do...I love playing here..wish it was closer.
Cons: Tee pads are in need of some serious raking. I wish more courses would have some rakes for the players to use...we'd keep them raked :)
Would be nice to have a course map on the Info Board.
Other Thoughts: Dog house for lost discs is very cool! Great course, fun and challenging. Can't wait for the addition..if it's happening. SJDG keep up the great work! Much appreciated!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Stafford Woods

1    7/30/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 87  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 7.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 chainstar baskets with multiple natural tees and pin positions. Signage and navigation are excellent. Great variety and balance of hole lengths and challenges. Par 3 and 4 technical shots through the woods of varying fairness, over water and mounds. Couple long bombs in the field with tricky approaches and fast greens. Phenomenal use of the available land and terrain. Very little underbrush and well maintained course.
Cons: Driveway is a bit dangerous with some large pot holes and being single lane only from busy street, beware! I had to back into the parking twice for cars coming into the park, and once I got to the entrance I didn't even consider turning left for safety reasons and U-turned up the road, and cars stopped on the busy road as another car wanted to come into the park. Parking is also fairly limited and tight. Nit picking here some holes play a little close to each other. Decent chance of losing a disc in the pond on both holes that play over it.
Other Thoughts: This course is blast to play and fast! It has pretty much everything you could ask for out of a nine hole course and the variety is off the charts. I will not hesitate to play this course again when I'm passing through the area.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Very Fun!

1    6/23/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: dancordle5360
Played: 60  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 29.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has so much going for it; tight but fair fairways on the wooded holes, length where appropriate, interesting layout, tough and fast greens (I was told that might change due to erosion issues), fun.

Great baskets.
Cons: Parking and park entrance need to be addressed. It was quite difficult to turn across traffic to enter park. Tee areas are small and with any amount of use will could become slipping hazards. I am not a fan of the gravel tee areas, the type of gravel was loose and not very well contained. Tee signs were ok, but for someone not familiar with the course, determining the exact pin location was difficult.
Other Thoughts: All-in-all this course was so fun to play. I will definitely, be back for more.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Could Eventually be Great

1    6/17/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 0.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging 9-hole course on a large piece of township property. A practice basket sits at the front of the course. Good variety with a combination of both open and wooded holes. Quality chain star baskets. Dual tee pads at each hole with plans for added basket placements. Good use of what little elevation there is on the course, and water comes into play on two holes. Navigation easy with distinctive pathways and nice metallic yellow "next tee" markers showing you the way. Good signage, log benches and a tee pad at each hole. Varied distances and appropriate for all levels of play. Hole 6 (nice open field hole to elevated basket), hole 7 (shooting a gap over water to an elevated basket), hole 2 ( tough, long drive thru woods and right turn to basket) and hole 3 (similar to hole 7) are highlights. Amenities like food and gas are close by.
Cons: Too lefty friendly, in my opinion. Tee pads are stone and contain ruts. Ticks are in abundance here and some low-lying areas can get saturated after heavy rain. Errant shots around the water can result in disc loss. Parking is a major issue and will have to be addressed as this venue gets larger and more popular.
Other Thoughts: Stafford Woods is as challenging a 9-hole course as one will ever play, and once 18 holes are completed, this could be a truly outstanding venue. It is good now; it will be GREAT later. The local club has worked tirelessly at course improvement and has gotten much done in just a year's time.

The possiblility of both elevated water holes being eliminated due to the threat of erosion would represent a major bummer and would negatively affect the layout. Hopefully, the township will relent.

Stafford Woods is well worth the trip, and represents a fine effort at improving the NJ disc golf scene.



5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Chris Christie ate my surge!

5+    6/9/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: armedtotheteeth
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well thought out tee and basket placement on most holes

-Multiple tee and basket locations

-Chainstar baskets (MY FAV!)

-Good mix of open and wooded holes

-OB and Water Hazards come in to play often
Cons: -Dirt tee pads that often have divots

-Fairways on the wooded holes still need a lot clearing

-The hole signage is not very accurate. Also, the hole distance lettering takes up more real estate on the sign than the actual map!! WTF?!?

-I saw a fair amount of trash and recycling out on the course, especially around the "pond" area. (More trash cans are definitely needed)

-Very limited parking. Maybe 15 vehicles tops?

-The course entrance needs a larger sign out front. Really easy to miss on a first visit.

-Ticks galore!

-Only 9 holes :(
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 - The course starts with a short wooded fairway. A very straight forward hole, which reminded me of the back 9 at Sedgley Woods.

Hole 2 - A long, somewhat laborious, wooded hole. 2 to 3 straight accurate throws should get you in putting range of the basket on the right. Beware of getting caught in the "shit" to the left or right of the fairway.

Hole 3 - I'm calling this hole the Chris Christie, because of its insatiable appetite for discs. The tee pad is approx. 50 feet behind a 15 foot tall mound of dirt. You have to navigate your disc between the dirt mound (aka Christie's Pot Belly) and the overhanging branches just above, all while making sure to get the distance to make it over the pond. The basket sits about 30 feet high on the other side of the pond. A missed putt here will cost you dearly.

Hole 4 - This hole opens up to a mixed wooded area with lots of tall grass and a very nice scenic view. Accuracy will be rewarded here. A well placed shot landing just before the tall grass will open up a second throw straight to the basket tucked back in the trees to the left. There is a small ravine between the tall grass and basket on the left hand side, which I would avoid at all costs.

Hole 5 - The first true "field hole." Wind comes into play, but if you have a big arm you should be able to get there in 1. The fairway is well maintained, but watch out for the tall grass to either side.

Hole 6 - Another field hole that is much longer than the previous. The fairway is wide with trees to the left, and tall grass to the right. The hole finishes in a raised wooded area, with nice bulk head style steps that also act as a good landing pad.

Hole 7 - The course loops back around to the same pond seen at hole 3. A long straight low flying shot should get you to the other side of the pond with no problem. This hole definitely has ace potential!

Hole 8 - From here, the course brings you back to the wooded area for a hole that has a sharp dog leg left. A narrow fairway is met by a clump of trees that you will be lucky to get through. The basket is tucked behind a small grouping of trees at the far left.

Hole 9 - Another wooded hole where you will have to execute a very accurate shot to get through the clumping of trees in the center, though I'd say luck has more to do it. Cutting down some trees on the left hand side could really make this hole interesting and give the player the option of busting out a nice flick roller.

Final Thoughts - I do not feel the majority of reviews for this course are very honest. I'm as excited as everyone else for the opportunity to play a legit disc golf course so close to my home, but I do not feel that excitement should overshadow some glaring flaws. I realize this course is a work in progress (and believe me I am very appreciative of the work that has been put forward so far), but the only way to make the course better is with honest constructive criticism.

Final Final Thoughts - This course is a mixed bag. Holes 3-7 are near perfect, and offer an exhilarating experience at almost every turn. Holes 1-2 need some variety. A well placed double stack of logs on either side of hole 1 or 2, forcing the player to throw a narrow tunnel shot, could be a nice addition. A dog leg left with a clear path to the basket and a mando at the turn could really spice things up on 8. The same could be done on 9, going the opposite direction. Addressing these concerns combined with the cons listed above could turn this course into something very special. Stafford Woods has amazing potential!

PS - Don't miss the opportunity to visit the Kibitz Room at the corner of Springdale and Evesham Roads. Great sandwiches with the best pickle bar in South Jersey.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Front 9

5+    6/9/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: MichaelWebster
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is beautiful and fun to play. It tests a variety of shots, from tight wooded lines to wide open distance drives. The course is relatively fair, if you miss your lines you are punished, while hitting the correct lines allow birdies. The course boasts seven par 4s and one par 5 in the current layout, and two shots over water, so strategy and risk/reward comes into play on many holes. The small amount of elevation is used well, and the hanging basket on hole 16 is interesting. The gold tees play at about a blue level, so a 950 rated player should expect to shoot close to par.
Cons: The township does not allow concrete tees, but the crew is in the process of putting together some great rubber tees. I think that some of the shorter par 3s on the back nine get a little repetitive and don't flow well with the rest of the course. I would also like to see a few more opportunities for risk-reward decisions in the woods, relying on multiple lines or fairways on some holes. Ticks are a common occurrence, so make sure to check yourself when you get home!
Other Thoughts: This course is constantly improving and will keep getting better for years. Adam and the SJDG crew do a great job here.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    6/9/2013   6/9/2013
Review By: Noaceyet
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great Mix of woods, water, open holes. High canopy, no underbrush. Not too tight, but tight enough to be fun. Discs are easy to find. Some fast greens.
Cons: Traffic to get there can be a pain, but hey, that's NJ for you.

Afraid that fast greens may erode over time.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/5/2013   6/6/2013
Review By: ridgerunnerpat
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 29.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well kept course,well marked and more of a challenge now that trees have foliage. Can't wait for the back nine. The water holes have claimed a few of my discs no fault of the course just my bad play.Love this course, the new tee pads are great.This is a well maintained course and always fun to play.
Cons: Bring you bug spray ticks are out but that is anywhere that there is woods.Parking lot needs to be expanded but hear that will be done soon.
Other Thoughts: The course has had some updates since I last reviewed it. Parking lot has been expanded and can accommodate many cars now, the driveway is much better, a lost disc box has been installed, a port-a-potty is also there, and the back 9 is almost ready!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.