Voorhees, NJ 
Stafford Woods Share
Uploaded By: MichaelWebster Hole #6 (Taken 5/2014)
4 / 428ft.   4 / 571ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Gold Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    8/23/2014   12/23/2014
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Stafford Woods is a way better course than I expected when I was driving in. I didn't expect a really good wooded course because the area seemed so developed. Very peaceful feel even though you are so close to the hubbub. The course was manicured with nearly no underbrush and very little litter. There is a nice variety with elevation, distances, turns, and risk/reward. There a couple open holes but it is mostly wooded. Most holes have 2 tee pads. There are different types of tee boxes but all of them were solid footing.

Other Pros:

-nice tee signs and arrows for easy navigation
-2 water carries
-2 practice baskets
-challenging yet fun
-well designed (two 9 hole loops)
Cons: I knew the driveway was going to be hard to catch but we still blew right past it. The road is busy and higher speed so by the time we saw the sign for the course we were past it. 2 U-turns and we made it. Then I felt like we were at someone's house. But all was good, the house is used for the locals tourneys, message boards, and lost and found box. We had trouble finding the 1st tee, but I pulled up the map and didn't need the map after tee #1 was found. The parking area can be tricky if it's busy as it's just a carved out area in the trees. These are really just nitpicks. The locals have done a great job creating a gem.
Other Thoughts: I really was completely surprised. The course deserves the rating it has earned. I will be back. I really enjoyed the water carries. Both aren't too far but you need to worry about making it past the slope so your disc doesn't roll back to the pond. Great course, highly recommended

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A true gem in SJ

5+    12/11/2014   12/16/2014
Review By: 21111
Played: 85  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 17.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 chainstar baskets. Nice tee signs, and directional arrows guiding you throughout the course.
Water comes into play on 2 holes. (#3 and #7)
Most holes have multiple tees and are comprised of stone pavers or carpeted boxes. (still under construction)
Multiple basket locations on each hole keep things interesting.
Nice use of fast greens will keep you thinking while your putter is in hand.
2 elevated baskets and 1 hanger will challenge even the best putters.
Extremely fair and well thought out design. Good use of the terrain, wooded and technical, risk vs. reward.
I think Stafford is unique in that it plays just as hard from the short tees as it does the long tee's.
The course consist of several par 4' s and a true par 5 (#11)

Portable toilets and plenty of parking on site.
Cons: Pulling out of or into Stafford Farm on to Evesham Rd. at the wrong time of day!

Carpeted tees will eventually be replaced.
Other Thoughts: Lost and found box
2 practice baskets
Great new course in SJ, for a great new club. You won't feel like you're in New Jersey while at Stafford Woods.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Course, Don't miss the entrance!

2-4    10/28/2014   11/2/2014
Review By: mattlinardo
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course layout with multiple tees for each hole. Challenging and varied terrain. Mixed distances and curves so everything isn't a long bomb or left hand curves . Clearly designed to challenge both FH and BH players evenly. Awesome people on the course. Signs are clear and the locations of the next tees are very easy to find.
Cons: A little hard to find if you don't know where you are looking, as the sign for the entrance is very small and it can be difficult to make a left had turn into the parking area because of oncoming traffic.
Some holes are really tight with trees and can be very difficult for a new player. The rough is deep in the field holes and the weeds can eat your disc very easily.
Other Thoughts: This is a course local to me and the home course to some of my friends. Had a pleasurable experience out learning the course. Certainly a different kind of challenge, even from the short tees. This course can be very difficult for a new player and having a more experienced player with you to learn the lines and basket locations is a huge help.
This will be a premier course in the area as the tee pads are updated and entrance is marked more clearly . SJDG has done a fantastic job promoting the sport in our area and taking care of our local courses. Looking forward to seeing these courses develop and my game improving too.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wooded and Weird

1    8/18/2014   9/7/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Stafford Woods is immediately different from the moment you drive in the parking lot. Tucked in a densely wooded drive, don't miss the turn because the sign pops out at the last moment. Once you park, there is a building and a bigger, more graffiti art Stafford Woods sign and some other info posted near by. Trash cans and a porto potty are also near the parking area. The first hole, and the 10th hole are just a short walk from there. The composition of the course changes from time to time. Much of it is wooded, and this is the feel on hole 1. Hole 2 is the same but longer, and the basket is atop a ridge that is a few steps higher than most of the fairway. Then on hole 3 you throw across a pond, that is blind from the long tee box. Climb that mound and get a look at the basket on the sloping bank on the opposite side before you drive. Hole 4 is more open and grassy, and the long grass to the left almost ate my Tee Bird, so watch out. The morning dew soaked my shoes and socks searching. Hole 5 really wide open, and 6 starts that way, but the basket is on a tall mound with a few trees scattered around it. Number 7 goes back across the pond, and the front nine finishes fully engulfed by the woods. The back nine also begins woodsy, but 10 is a good chance for a deuce. 11 is a long, twisting fairway, where elevation changes in contour is more noticeable, and hit me hard for a 7. 12 is short, but climbs a real hill. 12, 13, and 14 are all shorter, but wooded holes, and I scored another bird on 13. 15 tees out of the woods and crosses an expansive grass field before entering trees on the other side. 16 goes back across the grass, and the basket hangs in a tree, long but very wide open and straight forward. 17 takes you into the woods again for another long hole. I made a 3 thanks to a great drive. 18 finishes out with a shorter, dogleg left in heavy woods. I had a rough start, but was only 3 over par 66 at the end. One under on the back nine.

All of the baskets were in good shape, the long tees were concrete with signs, and the park was clean and trimmed well enough for me. A quality course certainly. Dog was finally able to break free of the leash here, and splash the pond scum like a champ.
Cons: Holes 5 and 16 were conventional and a bit bland, but served their purpose. The trees were overwhelming out of the box on hole 9. Throw and hope you make it through.
Other Thoughts: Stafford Woods had some good contrasting features, including water hazards, open to dense woods, with some nice elements of elevation change also. I liked it and was glad I chose to stop there. Not in the same class with some of the other courses in the region, but a good one for Jersey. Recommend it to any player who is nearby and hasn't made the trip yet. Fully deserving of the rating it has if you ask me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Mix

2-4    6/14/2014   6/24/2014
Review By: jchoate7
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Like my review title states. This course is a great mix of everything. The thing I think that I like the absolute most about this course is that it is so even when it comes to right and left handed favored holes. Great mix of wooded, moderately wooded, and open holes. The course is very well marked and there are two distinct 9 hole loops that start and finish near the parking area. Good basket locations, elevated holes and even a hanging basket. The hanging basket is actually in a great location and not just a 'gimmick'. Nice little pond where 2 holes throw over top of. Two layouts for each holes (for the most part).
Cons: The only cons I have for this course is the lack of elevation and not concrete tee pads. The parking situation is a bit tricky but doable and the entrance to the park is a bit hidden.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Would love to play more often but unfortunately I live 2 hours away. Will definitely be back to play if in the area. There is also a walking trail through the park if you are looking for something non disc golf related at the park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

NJ DG Improving Everyday

1    7/25/2014   6/17/2013
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging 18-hole course on a large piece of township property. Two practice baskets sit at the front of the course. Good variety with a combination of both open and wooded holes. Quality chain star baskets. Dual tee pads at each hole. Good use of available elevation, and water comes into play on two holes. Navigation easy with distinctive pathways and nice metallic yellow "next tee" markers showing you the way. Good signage, log benches and two tee pads at each hole. Varied distances and good for all levels of play. Hole 15 (nice open field shot to a basket tucked into the woods on a slope), hole 7 (shooting a gap over water to an elevated basket), hole 17 (nice downhill wooded shot through a gap) and hole 3 (similar to hole 7) are highlights. Amenities like food and gas are close by and a porta-potty is on site, as is a good sized lost disc box.
Cons: Tee pads remain a work in progress: many are very good, others (like the ones with carpet surface) need improvement. Baskets are sometimes tough to see from the pad. Ticks and mosquitoes are in abundance here. Errant shots around the water can result in disc loss. Parking remains an issue as is having only one narrow driveway serving as both an entrance AND an exit. Both should be further addressed as this venue gets more popular.
Other Thoughts: The addition of the new 9 holes to Stafford really balances the course and makes it a first rate venue. This is a challenging exercise in disc golf, and nothing feels repetitive. The work that has gone into this course is considerable and tremendous improvements have been made in a short period of time. Kudos to the SJDC crew.

The variety featured here is a plus, with wooded holes, open holes, short and long holes, a hanging basket and interesting pin placements. I don't know if there is one true signature hole, but several could qualify as such.

Having played 60+ courses, I think a 4.5 rating is a bit high, but it is a solid 4.0 without question. And it quite possibly could be the best course in an ever-improving New Jersey disc golf scene.




5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/5/2013   6/6/2013
Review By: ridgerunnerpat
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 30.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well kept course,well marked and more of a challenge now that trees have foliage. Can't wait for the back nine. The water holes have claimed a few of my discs no fault of the course just my bad play.Love this course, the new tee pads are great.This is a well maintained course and always fun to play.
Cons: Bring you bug spray ticks are out but that is anywhere that there is woods.Parking lot needs to be expanded but hear that will be done soon.
Other Thoughts: The course has had some updates since I last reviewed it. Parking lot has been expanded and can accommodate many cars now, the driveway is much better, a lost disc box has been installed, a port-a-potty is also there, and the back 9 is almost ready!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

We want the back 9!

5+    12/20/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: K. Butter
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.7 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This 9 holer has a great combo of open fields to rip long drives and wooded holes to test your accuracy, line strategy, not to mention patience. Good use of the small pond to raise the level of difficulty and think twice about your shots. Dual tees make a nice 18 holer if you have the time. Very well kept and has good signage.
Cons: Not too much on the negative side, except parking. It seems if you catch it on a busy day you have trouble finding a place to put the wheels. Lost a few discs in the pond, but that's player error. Great course!
Other Thoughts: Hoping for the next 9 to be put in soon (the sign to tee 10 is a tease!)

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course!

1    12/22/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I am from GA and really enjoyed this course. It is challenging and requires some good shots to score well. I like the way the 9 holer was laid out and that some of the tee shots from the longer pads were pretty risky. The two teepads were also a different enough shot to warrant playing both sets of pads for a 18 hole layout. Hole 1 and 9 were right beside each other and course flows was good throughout, The signs were okay.
Cons: I did get confused somewhat with it being my first time out here, but logic landed me the upper hand when figuring out where to throw to.
Other Thoughts: They do not have concrete pads here but I do not view that as a negative. It just is what it is, The natural pads were level and clean. I enjoyed this course and its nice to know my wife's grandparent house is 5 miles from a good course as opposed to 25+!!! Kudos to the designer, good job!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    10/12/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: slvravn
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Since I have just started playing, this course has been really great in helping me develop my game. There are a few holes where you can really launch it, but for the most part the holes require a good amount of finesse. This is great for beginners who should learn accuracy before distance and also should be a hit for experienced throwers too.

- Great signage for each hole.

This seems to be a well thought out course and really takes you through a lovely, little used park in South Jersey
Cons: - Ticks. This is not necessarily a course problem but more of an area problem. Bring spray and do a check for any hitchhikers before you leave.

- Parking and signage for the course from the roadway are a little rough, but from my understanding will be improved in the future

- Random trees that jump in front of your discs
Other Thoughts: I cant wait to see this turn into a 18 hole course in the near future.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.