Voorhees, NJ 
Stafford Woods Share
Uploaded By: MichaelWebster Hole #15 (Taken 5/2014)
4 / 691ft.   5 / 831ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Tough wooded little course

5+    10/19/2016   10/19/2016
Review By: Robbonj
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee pads, seating have been improing every week.
Short and Long tee pads on 12 of 18 holes adds a varied challenge.
Water in play on 2 holes.
A good mix of Wooded and Open fields considering the nature of South Jersey (Arguably 6 "open" holes 4, 5, 6, 7, 15, 16)
Challenges the players to make smart decisions over a variety of shots. A smart player can mitigate the impact of trees and luck.
Cons: Luck is a small factor due to the wooded nature.
Players need to pick up after themselves better, some trash throughout course, not the fault of the course though.
Other Thoughts: The only course I've ever played, so I may be biased but IMHO an AMAZING course for the midatlantic

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Unofficial "home" course

2-4    8/14/2016   9/20/2016
Review By: Strax Sontaran
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Intuitive layout, and "Next Tee" signs to help you along.
-Some open holes, most wooded, but not so tight as to make it unbearably hard
-Course maintenance is ongoing, and this makes for great playing conditions all the time
Cons: -Parking lot could use something besides chipped wood as a surface. If you have a lowered car, be aware of how you enter
-Some high grass on some of the holes will swallow your disc
Other Thoughts: I haven't been playing long, and this is the second course I played. I thoroughly enjoyed it! Tee pads are solid, the course layout makes sense, and the holes are a length that will both challenge and validate a variety of skill levels.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun and challenging

1    3/5/2016   4/6/2016
Review By: DiscFlicker77
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great mix of open holes and wooded, technical holes. Some elevation changes make you rethink certain throws.
Cons: Some holes are heavily wooded making it inevitable for one player in your party to hit a tree.

Parking lot is bad and muddy.
Other Thoughts: Water hazard on 2 holes is extremely punishing and nearly impossible to retrieve your disc. My buddy lost his disc in the pond. While we were trying to find it someone else's disc came soaring into the pond from the other tee.

This course will challenge all level of players.

I will definitely be back often.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course - Challenging Holes

1    8/9/2015   8/14/2015
Review By: rmart617
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good for beginners and pros! This course is very clean and nicely maintained. Very narrow throws on some holes that can make it challenging for a beginner and also some wide open tees to really work on your long drives.Water hazards also add a challenging feature. Very well spread out and you hardly run into other players. Best course around if you live in the Burlington County area.
Cons: Very small and unnoticeable entrance off of the roadway.
Other Thoughts: Be careful with ticks as you are literally in the middle of the woods on some holes. Highly recommend using bright disc at this course as many holes have really high grass if you don't hit the fairway.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

South Jersey gem

5+    7/8/2015   7/8/2015
Review By: discNDav
Played: 340  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 30.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2016
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Finally a good to great course in south Jersey (Philadelphia suburbs) all thanks to SJDG!

Not far from interstate hiway I-295.

Par 63 with lots of par 4's and a par 5; designed to fit today's discs capabilities and challenge highly rated golfers.

VARIETY of shots are needed; left to right, right to left, straight, long, short, wooded and open with a good use of what elevation there is in this part of Jersey.

Two shots over water! A lost and found box and a working club to return discs. I have brought back over 20 discs to Sedgley just this year.

New Chainstar baskets, I haven't seen many truly good shots get rejected by them.

Hanging basket on #16 is a nice touch.

Easy to navigate after finding hole #1 with plenty of yellow arrows and next tee signs. Long and short tees exist on most holes. Two loops of nine holes each.

Two practice baskets and a very clean port a john on site.

Tight wooded shots are required but they are mostly fair, if you hit the line, you can score some birdies.

Constantly improving (tee pads) since opening 3 years ago thanks to Adam and the many volunteers / local players.

Very clean area, hardly any litter on the course.
Cons: Entering and exiting the course on Evesham Av is somewhat dangerous, please be extra careful. The one lane gravel bumpy driveway is a major pain.

The tee signs show 2 tee and 2 baskets yet some holes don't have that yet. A system needs to developed indicating which basket is currently in play since not all can be seen from the tee.

TICKS are in these woods and long grass on the open holes.

The teepads are a mixed bag, some cement pavers, some rubber ones, some have carpet (better than it sounds) and some short ones are dirt.

No running water is available.

The odd turn in 8's fairway (similar to Sedgley 27) and the way 9's fairway gets narrower as it gets longer. Maybe this is simply my problem?

You can definitely lose a disc in the pond on #3 and #7.

Other Thoughts: Parking will expand very shortly with today's demolition of the on site house.

Every time I step up to long #2, it reminds me of Iron Hill.

#15 here reminds of #15 at Warwick, starting in the woods, then two long field shots and finishes back in the woods. Great par 4!

Wish the par 5 #11 had one or two less trees in the fairway. Landing in the middle doesn't always give a good look for your next shot.

Par is 63 from both long and short tees? I think not.

After 3 years of play now, the underbrush isn't so bad anymore. Plenty of laurel trees and some stickers to avoid though off the fairway.

I still haven't birdied several holes here: long 4, 5, long 11 and 15.

For those without a car, NJ Transit bus 451 passes the course but I'm not sure where the actual bus stop is. The PATCO Ashland train station is 2 miles from the course.

Plenty of food options are nearby, Shop Rite is basically across the street and Wawa is at the closest intersection.



8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

"Four"hees

1    3/28/2015   3/29/2015
Review By: adlacro
Played: 94  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 10.5 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 good, challenging holes with many offering two tees and many alternate pin positions. Baskets are Chainstar's, and they catch and look nice. Although there are a lot of tight wooded holes, you'll always have a definitive lane to hit. The water holes are not overwhelming, and add some OB to a course that doesn't have too much in the way of OB. Hanging basket on 16 a nice feature. Something for everyone. Close to the highway. Stays pretty dry even after recent rains, always a plus for a wooded course. Two practice baskets. Many par 4's and even a par 5.
Cons: The parking lot. Not many spaces available and it is a little marshy. Although there are not many long walks from hole to hole, it is a little walk back to the parking lot from basket 18.
Other Thoughts: Again, the course has a number of pro par fours mixed in with tight birdie runs and even a par five, welcome deviations from your prototypical par 54 course. It was a thrill to play this course on my trip to the area, and worth the drive if you're in the Philadelphia area.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


1    8/23/2014   12/23/2014
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Stafford Woods is a way better course than I expected when I was driving in. I didn't expect a really good wooded course because the area seemed so developed. Very peaceful feel even though you are so close to the hubbub. The course was manicured with nearly no underbrush and very little litter. There is a nice variety with elevation, distances, turns, and risk/reward. There a couple open holes but it is mostly wooded. Most holes have 2 tee pads. There are different types of tee boxes but all of them were solid footing.

Other Pros:

-nice tee signs and arrows for easy navigation
-2 water carries
-2 practice baskets
-challenging yet fun
-well designed (two 9 hole loops)
Cons: I knew the driveway was going to be hard to catch but we still blew right past it. The road is busy and higher speed so by the time we saw the sign for the course we were past it. 2 U-turns and we made it. Then I felt like we were at someone's house. But all was good, the house is used for the locals tourneys, message boards, and lost and found box. We had trouble finding the 1st tee, but I pulled up the map and didn't need the map after tee #1 was found. The parking area can be tricky if it's busy as it's just a carved out area in the trees. These are really just nitpicks. The locals have done a great job creating a gem.
Other Thoughts: I really was completely surprised. The course deserves the rating it has earned. I will be back. I really enjoyed the water carries. Both aren't too far but you need to worry about making it past the slope so your disc doesn't roll back to the pond. Great course, highly recommended

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A true gem in SJ

5+    12/11/2014   12/16/2014
Review By: 21111
Played: 102  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 19.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 chainstar baskets. Nice tee signs, and directional arrows guiding you throughout the course.
Water comes into play on 2 holes. (#3 and #7)
Most holes have multiple tees and are comprised of stone pavers or carpeted boxes. (still under construction)
Multiple basket locations on each hole keep things interesting.
Nice use of fast greens will keep you thinking while your putter is in hand.
2 elevated baskets and 1 hanger will challenge even the best putters.
Extremely fair and well thought out design. Good use of the terrain, wooded and technical, risk vs. reward.
I think Stafford is unique in that it plays just as hard from the short tees as it does the long tee's.
The course consist of several par 4' s and a true par 5 (#11)

Portable toilets and plenty of parking on site.
Cons: Pulling out of or into Stafford Farm on to Evesham Rd. at the wrong time of day!

Carpeted tees will eventually be replaced.
Other Thoughts: Lost and found box
2 practice baskets
Great new course in SJ, for a great new club. You won't feel like you're in New Jersey while at Stafford Woods.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, Don't miss the entrance!

2-4    10/28/2014   11/2/2014
Review By: mattlinardo
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2014
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course layout with multiple tees for each hole. Challenging and varied terrain. Mixed distances and curves so everything isn't a long bomb or left hand curves . Clearly designed to challenge both FH and BH players evenly. Awesome people on the course. Signs are clear and the locations of the next tees are very easy to find.
Cons: A little hard to find if you don't know where you are looking, as the sign for the entrance is very small and it can be difficult to make a left had turn into the parking area because of oncoming traffic.
Some holes are really tight with trees and can be very difficult for a new player. The rough is deep in the field holes and the weeds can eat your disc very easily.
Other Thoughts: This is a course local to me and the home course to some of my friends. Had a pleasurable experience out learning the course. Certainly a different kind of challenge, even from the short tees. This course can be very difficult for a new player and having a more experienced player with you to learn the lines and basket locations is a huge help.
This will be a premier course in the area as the tee pads are updated and entrance is marked more clearly . SJDG has done a fantastic job promoting the sport in our area and taking care of our local courses. Looking forward to seeing these courses develop and my game improving too.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded and Weird

1    8/18/2014   9/7/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 296  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Stafford Woods is immediately different from the moment you drive in the parking lot. Tucked in a densely wooded drive, don't miss the turn because the sign pops out at the last moment. Once you park, there is a building and a bigger, more graffiti art Stafford Woods sign and some other info posted near by. Trash cans and a porto potty are also near the parking area. The first hole, and the 10th hole are just a short walk from there. The composition of the course changes from time to time. Much of it is wooded, and this is the feel on hole 1. Hole 2 is the same but longer, and the basket is atop a ridge that is a few steps higher than most of the fairway. Then on hole 3 you throw across a pond, that is blind from the long tee box. Climb that mound and get a look at the basket on the sloping bank on the opposite side before you drive. Hole 4 is more open and grassy, and the long grass to the left almost ate my Tee Bird, so watch out. The morning dew soaked my shoes and socks searching. Hole 5 really wide open, and 6 starts that way, but the basket is on a tall mound with a few trees scattered around it. Number 7 goes back across the pond, and the front nine finishes fully engulfed by the woods. The back nine also begins woodsy, but 10 is a good chance for a deuce. 11 is a long, twisting fairway, where elevation changes in contour is more noticeable, and hit me hard for a 7. 12 is short, but climbs a real hill. 12, 13, and 14 are all shorter, but wooded holes, and I scored another bird on 13. 15 tees out of the woods and crosses an expansive grass field before entering trees on the other side. 16 goes back across the grass, and the basket hangs in a tree, long but very wide open and straight forward. 17 takes you into the woods again for another long hole. I made a 3 thanks to a great drive. 18 finishes out with a shorter, dogleg left in heavy woods. I had a rough start, but was only 3 over par 66 at the end. One under on the back nine.

All of the baskets were in good shape, the long tees were concrete with signs, and the park was clean and trimmed well enough for me. A quality course certainly. Dog was finally able to break free of the leash here, and splash the pond scum like a champ.
Cons: Holes 5 and 16 were conventional and a bit bland, but served their purpose. The trees were overwhelming out of the box on hole 9. Throw and hope you make it through.
Other Thoughts: Stafford Woods had some good contrasting features, including water hazards, open to dense woods, with some nice elements of elevation change also. I liked it and was glad I chose to stop there. Not in the same class with some of the other courses in the region, but a good one for Jersey. Recommend it to any player who is nearby and hasn't made the trip yet. Fully deserving of the rating it has if you ask me.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.