Voorhees, NJ 
Stafford Woods Share
Uploaded By: MichaelWebster Hole #3 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 224ft.   3 / 313ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Mix

2-4    6/14/2014   6/24/2014
Review By: jchoate7
Played: 39  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Like my review title states. This course is a great mix of everything. The thing I think that I like the absolute most about this course is that it is so even when it comes to right and left handed favored holes. Great mix of wooded, moderately wooded, and open holes. The course is very well marked and there are two distinct 9 hole loops that start and finish near the parking area. Good basket locations, elevated holes and even a hanging basket. The hanging basket is actually in a great location and not just a 'gimmick'. Nice little pond where 2 holes throw over top of. Two layouts for each holes (for the most part).
Cons: The only cons I have for this course is the lack of elevation and not concrete tee pads. The parking situation is a bit tricky but doable and the entrance to the park is a bit hidden.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Would love to play more often but unfortunately I live 2 hours away. Will definitely be back to play if in the area. There is also a walking trail through the park if you are looking for something non disc golf related at the park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/5/2013   6/6/2013
Review By: ridgerunnerpat
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 29.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well kept course,well marked and more of a challenge now that trees have foliage. Can't wait for the back nine. The water holes have claimed a few of my discs no fault of the course just my bad play.Love this course, the new tee pads are great.This is a well maintained course and always fun to play.
Cons: Bring you bug spray ticks are out but that is anywhere that there is woods.Parking lot needs to be expanded but hear that will be done soon.
Other Thoughts: The course has had some updates since I last reviewed it. Parking lot has been expanded and can accommodate many cars now, the driveway is much better, a lost disc box has been installed, a port-a-potty is also there, and the back 9 is almost ready!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

We want the back 9!

5+    12/20/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: K. Butter
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This 9 holer has a great combo of open fields to rip long drives and wooded holes to test your accuracy, line strategy, not to mention patience. Good use of the small pond to raise the level of difficulty and think twice about your shots. Dual tees make a nice 18 holer if you have the time. Very well kept and has good signage.
Cons: Not too much on the negative side, except parking. It seems if you catch it on a busy day you have trouble finding a place to put the wheels. Lost a few discs in the pond, but that's player error. Great course!
Other Thoughts: Hoping for the next 9 to be put in soon (the sign to tee 10 is a tease!)

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun course!

1    12/22/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I am from GA and really enjoyed this course. It is challenging and requires some good shots to score well. I like the way the 9 holer was laid out and that some of the tee shots from the longer pads were pretty risky. The two teepads were also a different enough shot to warrant playing both sets of pads for a 18 hole layout. Hole 1 and 9 were right beside each other and course flows was good throughout, The signs were okay.
Cons: I did get confused somewhat with it being my first time out here, but logic landed me the upper hand when figuring out where to throw to.
Other Thoughts: They do not have concrete pads here but I do not view that as a negative. It just is what it is, The natural pads were level and clean. I enjoyed this course and its nice to know my wife's grandparent house is 5 miles from a good course as opposed to 25+!!! Kudos to the designer, good job!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    10/12/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: slvravn
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Since I have just started playing, this course has been really great in helping me develop my game. There are a few holes where you can really launch it, but for the most part the holes require a good amount of finesse. This is great for beginners who should learn accuracy before distance and also should be a hit for experienced throwers too.

- Great signage for each hole.

This seems to be a well thought out course and really takes you through a lovely, little used park in South Jersey
Cons: - Ticks. This is not necessarily a course problem but more of an area problem. Bring spray and do a check for any hitchhikers before you leave.

- Parking and signage for the course from the roadway are a little rough, but from my understanding will be improved in the future

- Random trees that jump in front of your discs
Other Thoughts: I cant wait to see this turn into a 18 hole course in the near future.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    9/26/2012   9/26/2012
Review By: riltim
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice layout with multiple tees on each hole. Great use of the land. Challenging basket locations on a few holes. Nice teepads for being natural.
Cons: Wood Framing around the natural tee boxes. I don't mind it on the sides but when its in front I worry about tripping which can mess up my throw.
Other Thoughts: Whenever I'm in the area for work I'll be sure to bring my bag. Was a really fun course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Stafford Woods

1    9/15/2012   9/15/2012
Review By: scunham
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2014
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What another excellent addition to South Jersey as far as courses. Great mixture of both wooded holes and open land. Beautiful scenery! Very nice signage and tees are awesome as well. Some holes provide opportunities for aces ( 3,7) but also can prove dangerous if you end up short and find yourself in the water. Very easy to follow
Cons: Hard to point out any real cons. If anything I would say a lack of parking.
Other Thoughts: Very easy to get to and very easy to navigate compared to other courses. Excellent job to those who helped put in stafford! I look forwarding to playing the back 9 when that's done and approved.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great developing course

5+    8/1/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2013
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course for a course that has just been made
Great variety, water, rough, and woods.
Baskets elevated makes for difficult uphill putts
Baskets marked with a hole number. This is a must for developing courses that are still working on signage.
Challenges every type of player
Hole three and seven gives ou a chance for an ace
Nice steps on hole six
Retaing walls begining on 3 which look pretty cool
Cons: Not many. Mainly just signage.on hole 3 I almost put one in the water because I didn't know it was there. There is still a variety of debris lining the fairways this should be cleared. If they can fix these this will be a fantastic course EDIT.... Signage has been taken care of. Fairways are looking much better
Other Thoughts: Use the directions on this site and you'll be fine.
This is a great developing course. looking forward to the future back nine. Come out and support this course so that it can be upgraded.Edit this course is getting better every day it is truly awesome


8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Constantly Improving !!

5+    3/26/2014   7/23/2012
Review By: hawk12
Played: 148  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 23.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2014
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1st Course in South/Central NJ (between Vineland and I-195)

I'm the designer and bias, yet will post as fair a review as possible.
This is a brand new course, front 9 baskets going in July 28th, 2012.
Back 9 baskets went in Feb 27th, 2014.

Longer pin placements will be installed in the future. For now the course plays 7,386ft (par 63, designed for a Blue level player), shorter White Tees play 6,134 ft (par 63, designed for a White level player) There are 13 White tees, and 5 shared tee boxes.

Front 9 holes are challenging for all levels of player. In the 'standard pins' the front 9 will play lefty friendly, and the back 9 will play righty friendly - in the long pins, those aspects will swap. Part of this design is to make the new players in the area learn 'all the throws', and challenge a seasoned player to execute their game. A newer player will be extremely challenged, and a solid player will enjoy the risk/reward factors on many holes. A very good player should be able to shoot under par here.

Hole 1, tight drive through wooded lane with some 'protected holly' trees making the drive very tight.
Hole 2, another wooded drive with the second shot opening up into mature trees with wider lanes to each pin location.(only short is in now)
Hole 3, short over lake shot, into a steep hill with drop off behind. Make the right decision and get rewarded for proper execution, make the wrong decision or fail to execute and scores will climb quickly. Long pin will play much easier as it takes the lake and hill mostly out of play, and it the prominent location to avoid erosion. Occasionally, we will use the location on the hill for tournaments.
Hole 4, drive through lane into field, 2nd shot from field into another tree lane that opens up with a large clear 'green area'. Slightly uphill the whole way, beware of "pits", (old farm house debris is not cleared out yet and can be dangerous).
Hole 5, 390 foot field drive (usually into headwind), wide open grip and rip hole.
Hole 6, Field drive, downhill. Leave yourself in a position to make the 2nd shot into the lane leading to an elevated pin.
Hole 7, beautiful drive shot over pond into a slight hill on far side.
Hole 8, tight wooded lane into a left dogleg. making the drive & approach combo critical to staying out of trouble in the woods.
Hole 9, pick from very tight lanes through the trees, they are there, but difficult to hit as this hole has lots of trees.
Hole 10, nice tunnel shot, execute for a birdie, miss and get the consequences in the dense mountain laurel rough.
Hole 11, a par 5 double dogleg from the long tee, this hole can reward good play with a birdie, and bad play with a very high score…
Hole 12, uphill tunnel drive (using some rare elevation for South Jersey)
Hole 13, a nice ace run back down the hill, pin positions are slightly off to left or right and will allow players to learn 'touch shot'
Hoe 14, plays around the side of the hill, righty backhand hyzer shot
Hole 15, tunnel drive out of the woods into the field, plays across the fild, back into a downhill approach. A very good birdie 4 on the longer par 4.
Hole 16, straight across the field to a hanging basket (this will have a longer tee in the woods, and move up the short tee 30ft into the field very soon - making this a nice birdie for either skill level the course is designed for). The backet is hanging a bit higher than usual, and it offers some rather challenging putts in windy conditions.
Hole 17, par 4 that appears like it should be birdied more than it actually gets birdied (scores coming in over the summer, will determine just how far back the long pin location will be located).
Hole 18, a nice righty backhand hyzer shot into a a fairly wide wooded fairway. But beware, shots missing the fairway end up in some fairly dense mountain laurel that create nice "sandtraps" early on the left, and late on the right.

Tee signs are installed, next tee signs are all over for easy navigation, log paths also help to follow between holes. There are log benches on nearly every tee as well, both long and short tees!! (Tee signs for the White tees are coming soon)

A small sign was installed by township on Evesham Rd, and there are plans for a new double drive to be installed over the next year. The parking area has expanding considerably, and when the driveway gets a huge upgrade, the county/township will also install more parking.

Two practice baskets in back yard of the house, Jan 2013.

Message board has gone in by the parking area, March 2013, and the lost and found box is bolted to the message board.

The local club has access to the house for tournaments, and will aloow a nice tournament central area should we have inclement weather. The fireplace will be nice during the Ice Bowl season.

A port-a-pottie was delivered over the winter (2013-2014), and is cleaned fairly regularly.

Other Pros, there is a nice walking trail that separates the front 9 from the back 9. Plenty of walkers enjoy the beautiful woods and setting. A pair of owls nest near the trail in the pines near the lake, if you are lucky you might see one or both of them. There has been a red tail fox residing in the park for 2+ years now, and he can be seen often near dusk/dawn.
Cons: Difficult course to find as the current driveway is narrow and the street sign is kind of small.

There are currently 4 fly pads (soon to be 8), the rest are a mix of natural grass in the fields, and gravel/crushed stone in the woods. We have carpets over the stone dust to keep rutting down until pavers can be purchased/installed. Plans are to have pavers on all the tees in the woods, and fly pads on the field tees. This holds back the rating IMO until we can get these installed.

No amenities,, no water access.

Ticks, be prepared for south Jersey and have bug spray. Permethrin on clothing works best to avoid ticks as deet does not seem to deter ticks. The tick problem has gone down over two years, but they are out there.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful piece of land, with some nice sloping hills, which is rare for southern NJ, and variety of wooded, field, and water holes.
The course is brand new (July 2013), and still has lots of room to improve and grow - the design is in place for an 8,000 ft par 63ish course that will challenge all levels of player, and be both casual and tournament friendly layout.

Currently, most pins are in the short locations as the longer pins/fairways need more work.

We are looking into raising Ginea Hens for natural tick removal. If you see a pen of small 'little chickens' in the future, please leave it alone.

OK, here's my bias - - This is a great course!! Overall the disc golf is awesome. Nice mix of field bombs, wooded lanes and hyzer/anhyzer shots, risk/reward decisions. There is enough elevation and different types of basket locations to keep it interesting, and scores will vary very time you come here.
That said, its still a work in progress nearly 3 years after this course was started. Remember, we took an area that was not utilized for much of anything, and have built an awesome 18 hole course, with a good amount of parking, and all this was done by volunteers. In 2012 there were 871 volunteer hours, 2013 had another 702, and so far in 2014 there have been 190 hours as of the end of March… Expect that to continue, and the entire park to gradually improve.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.