Voorhees, NJ 
Stafford Woods Share
Uploaded By: MichaelWebster Hole #2 (Taken 5/2014)
4 / 355ft.   4 / 509ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Gold Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Awesome!

1    6/22/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 26  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You need a variety of shots to get through this course. I need to do overhead, rollers, forehand, and backhand. There was also a good balance of par 3's and par 4's, and a monster par 5 was also there! There were great baskets, new ones and the signage was great! The tee pads also had carpets on them on some holes for better footing, too. There were a lot of benches for resting after a long hole, and that was also a plus. There was good elevation, some were uphill, some downhill, and some straight. I LOVED hole 16, it was a 500 foot bomb and there was a hanging basket. It was a bit of a challenge because if you had a bad shot to the left, you could say bye to your disc (at least look for it first). There was a high rough on many holes to the left and right, but I thought it was good to have a little bit of a challenge. There were two water holes that weren't that hard, so I thought they were really fun because you had to go over water.
Cons: There were a lot of people, but I don't blame them because Stafford is a course that is so nice. Other that, no cons. This course was the bomb!
Other Thoughts: There are tournaments here so hopefully I can come to one, because this course was supreme!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in New Jersey

2-4    6/22/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: LaserShow
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course offeres almost everything you could want in a DG course. A few strategically placed walls would make it incredibly difficult but so much fun. It uses the little elevation available well but could use more. With that said, very well done.
Cons: The course does have some danger spots with barbed wire so be careful. The parking lot needs to be improved. Also, for a newcomer, it could be a little challenging to navigate. I look forward to bigger tournaments here.
Other Thoughts: South Jersey Disc Golf is doing an amazing job of growing the sport. New courses are popping up and existing ones are expanding. Keep an eye out for future pros out of New Jersey!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Heavily wooded yet open ?

1    6/17/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: nwinnie34
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First time playing this course. Easy to miss, keep an eye out for the Stafford Woods Disc Golf sign !

Great course, very very wooded, yet open enough to drive a car around each hole, great mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots needed to play well. Two pretty cool water hazards that give some risk/reward points, I almost holed the 2nd water hole !

Plenty of longer holes to open up on, yet plenty of technical holes that challenge every part of the game.

Well kept, awesome signage, never once got lost, woods are very bare so tossing a disc off the beaten path turned out being very easy to find throughout all 18 holes

I can't wait to go back again with friends, two tee box options per hole. A+
2 practice baskets, port-o-potty near practice tees
Cons: Not many, no course map posted (nice to take a photo of before playing), parking was very limited, i had to make my own spot vs driving thru a huge mud patch
Other Thoughts: Great course, would love to come back soon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 heavenly

5+    3/11/2014   3/11/2014
Review By: ME220
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: #1 pro for me is that I live .7 miles from the 1st tee. with that having been said, this is my new 'home course'.
#1- nice 1st hole with a slight dogleg right that gives you a taste of just how thick the rough (the trees) may be.
#2- 1st par4 on the course. long gradual bend to the right with a sharp dogleg right at the end.
#3- our introduction to the Stafford pond. the tee has a mound about 20' off the front, upon which is the short tee, which makes for a challenging drive. watch for that pond, we'll be seeing it again soon.
#4- the 2nd par4 allows for a huge righty backhand that could set you up for an easy layup and tap-in birdie, albeit the few trees along this fairway don't come into play for you.
#5- field hole. big arms need only apply for the birdie. beautiful hole. take the time to soak up the scenery walking down this fairway, good chance on seeing the deer heard that roams these woods.
#6- par4 field hole. line of trees down the left side and tall grass down the right. the field ends about 75' before the elevated green.
#7- back across the pond. there is a wicked tunnel that leads up to the waters edge, 300' to the green that is perched on a slope so watch for the roll away into the hazard.
#8- par4 back in the woods with a narrow fairway that doglegs left with more then a few guardians at the turn making an approach to the green challenging.
#9- early dogleg right with two separate lines from which to choose. it's more difficult then it looks because those flight paths are thin.
#10- short straight very narrow fairway. watch that rough, tons of mountain laurel.
#11- par5 double dogleg. small left turn that leads to a sharper right turn that still leaves you just shy of 200' to the basket. beautiful hole.
#12- elevation comes into play here. it plays much farther then it actually is. gradual left turn at the top of the hill will put you on the green.
#13- elevated tee box that's not to much higher then the chains but just enough to affect your drive.
#14- left turning fairway with the thickest mountain laurel at Stafford all along the left and right side of the fairway.
#15- par4 starts in the woods, plays into the field and ultimately back into the woods. chains may be difficult to find if this is your 1st time. chains are just down the slope in the far back left corner of the field.
#16- par4 field hole with a hanging basket. again, enjoy the view of the field for we will be heading back into the woods.
#17- par4 initial fairway is narrow but it opens up once you break through the treeline. another lefty friendly fairway but wide open for a good enough backhand.
#18- nice hard dogleg left finishing hole. some seriously thick rough, crazy amounts of mountain laurel out here, on the left side.
Cons: the parking situation is being sorted out. it's a new course, how can there be any cons???
Other Thoughts: so much potential for this course. it's still in it's infancy but it is growing exponentially. great things to come from this premier course in the future.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/5/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: FlyingHyzer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/9/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great variety in the first 9 holes, wooded, open, and a water hazard (pond on 2 wholes).
-Well designed on the available land.
-Long and short tees for most holes.
-Close to major highways. Plenty of places to eat around the park.
-Nice signage
Cons: -No trashcans throughout the course.
-Used to be farmland, old rusty barbed wire in some areas that you can't see until you're right on it be careful.
Other Thoughts: Well worth a trip out to voorhees, I could play this course all day long.

UPDATE: The back 9 baskets were put in, this course has it all now! If you haven't been here before make sure you find your way here soon. Adam and the South Jersey crew out did themselves, my hat is off to those guys.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Stafford Woods - Ford by a Landing Place

2-4    7/30/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2014
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 chainstar baskets with mix of tees and pin positions. Tees vary from pavers to carpet and rubber, I assume they will be more uniform as the course matures. Signage and navigation are excellent. Great variety and balance of hole lengths and challenges. Par 3 and 4 technical shots through the woods of varying fairness, over water and mounds and pits. Couple long bombs in the field with tricky approaches and fast greens. Phenomenal use of the available land and terrain. Very little underbrush and well maintained course.
Cons: Not much really, just beware the driveway is a little dangerous being single lane only from busy street. I had to back into the parking twice for cars coming into the park, and once I got to the entrance I didn't even consider turning left for safety reasons and U-turned up the road, and cars stopped on the busy road as another car wanted to come into the park. Parking is also fairly limited and tight. Nit picking here some holes play a little close to each other. Decent chance of losing a disc in the pond on both holes that play over it.
Other Thoughts: The Stafford Woods course is blast to play and fairly fast! It has pretty much everything you could ask for out of a course and the variety is off the charts. The course just flows and transitions from the woods to open to a near perfect blend. I generally prefer lots of elevation, but Stafford Woods has actually got some decent elevation changes for south Jersey and nice mounds and pits. I will not hesitate to play this course again when I'm passing through the area and highly recommend to anyone!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Date: 7/23/2014 Designer Response by: hawk12
Thank you very much for your review, all input helps us to continually improve our courses.

As for the driveway concerns, the Township of Voorhees submitted a grant request into Camden County to improve the entrance, including widen the entrance to two lanes, add larger apron on the road curb, and add additional parking spots. The grant request was submitted in late March of 2014 with many testimonials of park users (mostly from the DG community), and we might hear something late this fall, maybe later as government moves slow.

The entrance is an area of concern, and we have gone through proper channels to remedy the situation.
In the mean time, we have greatly expanded the parking area, and mulched dozens more spots to park than this time last year - this will continually be improved.

You are also correct on the tee pads - we will improve to all pavers or fly pads in time... Budget and manpower are holding that back.

Thank you for the glowing review of land use, as planning the design was months ahead of actually starting the project.
And to your point on the little amount of underbrush and stickers - that goes 100% to the volunteer base that maintains the course. We have some great people willing to do the dirty work.

Front 9

5+    6/9/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: MichaelWebster
Played: 43  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is beautiful and fun to play. It tests a variety of shots, from tight wooded lines to wide open distance drives. The course is relatively fair, if you miss your lines you are punished, while hitting the correct lines allow birdies. The course boasts seven par 4s and one par 5 in the current layout, and two shots over water, so strategy and risk/reward comes into play on many holes. The small amount of elevation is used well, and the hanging basket on hole 16 is interesting. The gold tees play at about a blue level, so a 950 rated player should expect to shoot close to par. The recent additions of beautiful tee signs add a nice touch!
Cons: The township does not allow concrete tees, but the crew is in the process of putting together some great rubber tees. I think that some of the shorter par 3s on the back nine get a little repetitive and don't flow well with the rest of the course. I would also like to see a few more opportunities for risk-reward decisions in the woods, relying on multiple lines or fairways on some holes. Ticks are a common occurrence, so make sure to check yourself when you get home!
Other Thoughts: This course is constantly improving and will keep getting better for years. Adam and the SJDG crew do a great job here.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    6/9/2013   6/9/2013
Review By: Noaceyet
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great Mix of woods, water, open holes. High canopy, no underbrush. Not too tight, but tight enough to be fun. Discs are easy to find. Some fast greens.
Cons: Traffic to get there can be a pain, but hey, that's NJ for you.

Afraid that fast greens may erode over time.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun Wooded Course

1    5/10/2013   5/13/2013
Review By: sqorbit
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course to test all different types of shots. Right from the 1st hole you get a challenging hole that was even fun for me as a beginner. The water in play is just enough not to overwhelm but still adds a great challenge.

A few open holes in the middle gives you a great chance to test out your long drives.

As a beginner looking at the map I was a little intimidated, but after the 2nd hole I realized it was a great course with just the right amount of difficulty.

The course should be challenging for experienced players too. The multiple tee spots gives you a chance to play some challenging drives.

Signage is perfect too. It was easy to follow this course and find the different tees.
Cons: The only con may be that it's 9 holes. This isn't really a bad thing though since it's a great place to get a quick round in after work before the sunsets.

Nature will do it's thing also. Wet, muddy and lots of bugs, but that's just part of the game.

This really is a 4.5 (possibly 5) course that almost nothing wrong with it.
Other Thoughts: I plan on making this my go to course for a round after work. A few groups were out playing and everyone was extremely friendly. Provided enough challenge while being a great time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.