Voorhees, NJ 
Stafford Woods Share
Uploaded By: MichaelWebster Hole #6 (Taken 5/2014)
4 / 428ft.   4 / 571ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Gold Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
NJ DG Improving Everyday

1    7/25/2014   6/17/2013
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging 18-hole course on a large piece of township property. Two practice baskets sit at the front of the course. Good variety with a combination of both open and wooded holes. Quality chain star baskets. Dual tee pads at each hole. Good use of available elevation, and water comes into play on two holes. Navigation easy with distinctive pathways and nice metallic yellow "next tee" markers showing you the way. Good signage, log benches and two tee pads at each hole. Varied distances and good for all levels of play. Hole 15 (nice open field shot to a basket tucked into the woods on a slope), hole 7 (shooting a gap over water to an elevated basket), hole 17 (nice downhill wooded shot through a gap) and hole 3 (similar to hole 7) are highlights. Amenities like food and gas are close by and a porta-potty is on site, as is a good sized lost disc box.
Cons: Tee pads remain a work in progress: many are very good, others (like the ones with carpet surface) need improvement. Baskets are sometimes tough to see from the pad. Ticks and mosquitoes are in abundance here. Errant shots around the water can result in disc loss. Parking remains an issue as is having only one narrow driveway serving as both an entrance AND an exit. Both should be further addressed as this venue gets more popular.
Other Thoughts: The addition of the new 9 holes to Stafford really balances the course and makes it a first rate venue. This is a challenging exercise in disc golf, and nothing feels repetitive. The work that has gone into this course is considerable and tremendous improvements have been made in a short period of time. Kudos to the SJDC crew.

The variety featured here is a plus, with wooded holes, open holes, short and long holes, a hanging basket and interesting pin placements. I don't know if there is one true signature hole, but several could qualify as such.

Having played 60+ courses, I think a 4.5 rating is a bit high, but it is a solid 4.0 without question. And it quite possibly could be the best course in an ever-improving New Jersey disc golf scene.




5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Chris Christie ate my surge!

5+    6/9/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: armedtotheteeth
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well thought out tee and basket placement on most holes

-Multiple tee and basket locations

-Chainstar baskets (MY FAV!)

-Good mix of open and wooded holes

-OB and Water Hazards come in to play often
Cons: -Dirt tee pads that often have divots

-Fairways on the wooded holes still need a lot clearing

-The hole signage is not very accurate. Also, the hole distance lettering takes up more real estate on the sign than the actual map!! WTF?!?

-I saw a fair amount of trash and recycling out on the course, especially around the "pond" area. (More trash cans are definitely needed)

-Very limited parking. Maybe 15 vehicles tops?

-The course entrance needs a larger sign out front. Really easy to miss on a first visit.

-Ticks galore!

-Only 9 holes :(
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 - The course starts with a short wooded fairway. A very straight forward hole, which reminded me of the back 9 at Sedgley Woods.

Hole 2 - A long, somewhat laborious, wooded hole. 2 to 3 straight accurate throws should get you in putting range of the basket on the right. Beware of getting caught in the "shit" to the left or right of the fairway.

Hole 3 - I'm calling this hole the Chris Christie, because of its insatiable appetite for discs. The tee pad is approx. 50 feet behind a 15 foot tall mound of dirt. You have to navigate your disc between the dirt mound (aka Christie's Pot Belly) and the overhanging branches just above, all while making sure to get the distance to make it over the pond. The basket sits about 30 feet high on the other side of the pond. A missed putt here will cost you dearly.

Hole 4 - This hole opens up to a mixed wooded area with lots of tall grass and a very nice scenic view. Accuracy will be rewarded here. A well placed shot landing just before the tall grass will open up a second throw straight to the basket tucked back in the trees to the left. There is a small ravine between the tall grass and basket on the left hand side, which I would avoid at all costs.

Hole 5 - The first true "field hole." Wind comes into play, but if you have a big arm you should be able to get there in 1. The fairway is well maintained, but watch out for the tall grass to either side.

Hole 6 - Another field hole that is much longer than the previous. The fairway is wide with trees to the left, and tall grass to the right. The hole finishes in a raised wooded area, with nice bulk head style steps that also act as a good landing pad.

Hole 7 - The course loops back around to the same pond seen at hole 3. A long straight low flying shot should get you to the other side of the pond with no problem. This hole definitely has ace potential!

Hole 8 - From here, the course brings you back to the wooded area for a hole that has a sharp dog leg left. A narrow fairway is met by a clump of trees that you will be lucky to get through. The basket is tucked behind a small grouping of trees at the far left.

Hole 9 - Another wooded hole where you will have to execute a very accurate shot to get through the clumping of trees in the center, though I'd say luck has more to do it. Cutting down some trees on the left hand side could really make this hole interesting and give the player the option of busting out a nice flick roller.

Final Thoughts - I do not feel the majority of reviews for this course are very honest. I'm as excited as everyone else for the opportunity to play a legit disc golf course so close to my home, but I do not feel that excitement should overshadow some glaring flaws. I realize this course is a work in progress (and believe me I am very appreciative of the work that has been put forward so far), but the only way to make the course better is with honest constructive criticism.

Final Final Thoughts - This course is a mixed bag. Holes 3-7 are near perfect, and offer an exhilarating experience at almost every turn. Holes 1-2 need some variety. A well placed double stack of logs on either side of hole 1 or 2, forcing the player to throw a narrow tunnel shot, could be a nice addition. A dog leg left with a clear path to the basket and a mando at the turn could really spice things up on 8. The same could be done on 9, going the opposite direction. Addressing these concerns combined with the cons listed above could turn this course into something very special. Stafford Woods has amazing potential!

PS - Don't miss the opportunity to visit the Kibitz Room at the corner of Springdale and Evesham Roads. Great sandwiches with the best pickle bar in South Jersey.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Front 9

5+    6/9/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: MichaelWebster
Played: 45  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is beautiful and fun to play. It tests a variety of shots, from tight wooded lines to wide open distance drives. The course is relatively fair, if you miss your lines you are punished, while hitting the correct lines allow birdies. The course boasts seven par 4s and one par 5 in the current layout, and two shots over water, so strategy and risk/reward comes into play on many holes. The small amount of elevation is used well, and the hanging basket on hole 16 is interesting. The gold tees play at about a blue level, so a 950 rated player should expect to shoot close to par. The recent additions of beautiful tee signs add a nice touch!
Cons: The township does not allow concrete tees, but the crew is in the process of putting together some great rubber tees. I think that some of the shorter par 3s on the back nine get a little repetitive and don't flow well with the rest of the course. I would also like to see a few more opportunities for risk-reward decisions in the woods, relying on multiple lines or fairways on some holes. Ticks are a common occurrence, so make sure to check yourself when you get home!
Other Thoughts: This course is constantly improving and will keep getting better for years. Adam and the SJDG crew do a great job here.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    6/9/2013   6/9/2013
Review By: Noaceyet
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great Mix of woods, water, open holes. High canopy, no underbrush. Not too tight, but tight enough to be fun. Discs are easy to find. Some fast greens.
Cons: Traffic to get there can be a pain, but hey, that's NJ for you.

Afraid that fast greens may erode over time.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/5/2013   6/6/2013
Review By: ridgerunnerpat
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 30.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well kept course,well marked and more of a challenge now that trees have foliage. Can't wait for the back nine. The water holes have claimed a few of my discs no fault of the course just my bad play.Love this course, the new tee pads are great.This is a well maintained course and always fun to play.
Cons: Bring you bug spray ticks are out but that is anywhere that there is woods.Parking lot needs to be expanded but hear that will be done soon.
Other Thoughts: The course has had some updates since I last reviewed it. Parking lot has been expanded and can accommodate many cars now, the driveway is much better, a lost disc box has been installed, a port-a-potty is also there, and the back 9 is almost ready!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun Wooded Course

1    5/10/2013   5/13/2013
Review By: sqorbit
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course to test all different types of shots. Right from the 1st hole you get a challenging hole that was even fun for me as a beginner. The water in play is just enough not to overwhelm but still adds a great challenge.

A few open holes in the middle gives you a great chance to test out your long drives.

As a beginner looking at the map I was a little intimidated, but after the 2nd hole I realized it was a great course with just the right amount of difficulty.

The course should be challenging for experienced players too. The multiple tee spots gives you a chance to play some challenging drives.

Signage is perfect too. It was easy to follow this course and find the different tees.
Cons: The only con may be that it's 9 holes. This isn't really a bad thing though since it's a great place to get a quick round in after work before the sunsets.

Nature will do it's thing also. Wet, muddy and lots of bugs, but that's just part of the game.

This really is a 4.5 (possibly 5) course that almost nothing wrong with it.
Other Thoughts: I plan on making this my go to course for a round after work. A few groups were out playing and everyone was extremely friendly. Provided enough challenge while being a great time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

We want the back 9!

5+    12/20/2012   12/31/2012
Review By: K. Butter
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This 9 holer has a great combo of open fields to rip long drives and wooded holes to test your accuracy, line strategy, not to mention patience. Good use of the small pond to raise the level of difficulty and think twice about your shots. Dual tees make a nice 18 holer if you have the time. Very well kept and has good signage.
Cons: Not too much on the negative side, except parking. It seems if you catch it on a busy day you have trouble finding a place to put the wheels. Lost a few discs in the pond, but that's player error. Great course!
Other Thoughts: Hoping for the next 9 to be put in soon (the sign to tee 10 is a tease!)

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun course!

1    12/22/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I am from GA and really enjoyed this course. It is challenging and requires some good shots to score well. I like the way the 9 holer was laid out and that some of the tee shots from the longer pads were pretty risky. The two teepads were also a different enough shot to warrant playing both sets of pads for a 18 hole layout. Hole 1 and 9 were right beside each other and course flows was good throughout, The signs were okay.
Cons: I did get confused somewhat with it being my first time out here, but logic landed me the upper hand when figuring out where to throw to.
Other Thoughts: They do not have concrete pads here but I do not view that as a negative. It just is what it is, The natural pads were level and clean. I enjoyed this course and its nice to know my wife's grandparent house is 5 miles from a good course as opposed to 25+!!! Kudos to the designer, good job!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    10/12/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: slvravn
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Since I have just started playing, this course has been really great in helping me develop my game. There are a few holes where you can really launch it, but for the most part the holes require a good amount of finesse. This is great for beginners who should learn accuracy before distance and also should be a hit for experienced throwers too.

- Great signage for each hole.

This seems to be a well thought out course and really takes you through a lovely, little used park in South Jersey
Cons: - Ticks. This is not necessarily a course problem but more of an area problem. Bring spray and do a check for any hitchhikers before you leave.

- Parking and signage for the course from the roadway are a little rough, but from my understanding will be improved in the future

- Random trees that jump in front of your discs
Other Thoughts: I cant wait to see this turn into a 18 hole course in the near future.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Up and Coming New Course!

1    10/9/2012   10/9/2012
Review By: Jeffrey2636
Played: 39  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A new course in this area is a big plus. The land is used very well and some good thought went into fairway design and basket placement. While not the longest of courses, there is enough challenge for an amateur to find some nice balance to their shots.
Bright spanking new Chain Star baskets clearly marked. Pin placements are challenging but well thought out.
Fairways are clear and there is a clear path to the hole even in the wooded portions of the course.
This is a good mix of wooded holes that require accuracy and some open bombs away holes included in the 9. Nice use of the small frog pond in the middle of the course. Two holes go over it. While both are reasonably short in nature, water in play is always a nice addition to a DG course.

While only nine holes, every hole seems to have a uniqueness to it. The elevated basket on 3 and 6 are nice.

2 sets of tee pads allow for more experienced DG'ers and novices to both enjoy it.

As an out of towner traveling here, it is one of the best marked courses I have played. You don't need a map as the trailways from the basket to the next tee is lined with logs. No possible chance of getting turned around or wandering around for the next tee. Nicely done folks!

Nice homemade benches at each teebox.
Cons: While others complained about the debris on the course, I played this in October and the debris must have been covered up by leaves or they have picked up a lot of it. Small amounts of litter around which could be solved by a few trashcans.

I can see Ticks being a problem in the warmer months but I did not experience any while I was there. It had rained earlier in the day and temps were low which probably helped.

Dirt tee boxes might get ugly in the wet seasons.
Other Thoughts: I wasn't expecting much of a 9 holes course so I was completely surprised at how good this course really was. Fun factor was high. Enough holes of 400-500ft to allow for the driver to come out of the bag on a few holes. The variety of shots needed to play this course were decent.

I will definitely be back to this course when I travel back here. Well worth the time. I'd recommend this to anyone in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.