Voorhees, NJ 
Stafford Woods Share
Uploaded By: MichaelWebster Hole #3 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 224ft.   3 / 313ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
  Great Course

1    9/26/2012   9/26/2012
Review By: riltim
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice layout with multiple tees on each hole. Great use of the land. Challenging basket locations on a few holes. Nice teepads for being natural.
Cons: Wood Framing around the natural tee boxes. I don't mind it on the sides but when its in front I worry about tripping which can mess up my throw.
Other Thoughts: Whenever I'm in the area for work I'll be sure to bring my bag. Was a really fun course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Stafford Woods

1    9/15/2012   9/15/2012
Review By: scunham
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2014
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What another excellent addition to South Jersey as far as courses. Great mixture of both wooded holes and open land. Beautiful scenery! Very nice signage and tees are awesome as well. Some holes provide opportunities for aces ( 3,7) but also can prove dangerous if you end up short and find yourself in the water. Very easy to follow
Cons: Hard to point out any real cons. If anything I would say a lack of parking.
Other Thoughts: Very easy to get to and very easy to navigate compared to other courses. Excellent job to those who helped put in stafford! I look forwarding to playing the back 9 when that's done and approved.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great developing course

5+    8/1/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2013
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course for a course that has just been made
Great variety, water, rough, and woods.
Baskets elevated makes for difficult uphill putts
Baskets marked with a hole number. This is a must for developing courses that are still working on signage.
Challenges every type of player
Hole three and seven gives ou a chance for an ace
Nice steps on hole six
Retaing walls begining on 3 which look pretty cool
Cons: Not many. Mainly just signage.on hole 3 I almost put one in the water because I didn't know it was there. There is still a variety of debris lining the fairways this should be cleared. If they can fix these this will be a fantastic course EDIT.... Signage has been taken care of. Fairways are looking much better
Other Thoughts: Use the directions on this site and you'll be fine.
This is a great developing course. looking forward to the future back nine. Come out and support this course so that it can be upgraded.Edit this course is getting better every day it is truly awesome


8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Stafford Farms DGC

2-4    7/31/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: JB13
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 30.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is built on preserved land on the border of Voorhees and Cherry Hill townships. At one time, the same tract of land was a working farm, with wood frontage, pond, farmhouse and field's. This translates very well into a variety of terrain and hole diversity.
The first two holes are cut through forest, and require more precision.
The 3rd hole over frog pond is being referred to as the "signature hole", and the elevated basket placement creates its own challenges.
From here the course starts to open up, allowing for more distance throws.
Hole 4 is a links type dog leg left, with the approach shot over the spot where the farmhouse once stood. On both sides of the fairway are large ravines filled with farmhouse debris. "The Toilet". The basket sits just in the woods.
Hole 5 is an open field par 3 with a nice basket placement to the left of a large tree, just behind and to the right of a small thicket. There is a nice view of the back of the still existing a working Staffordshire Farm. The resident herd of deer is often within eyeshot.
Hole 6 is a par four open field shot. The fairway slopes downward and slightly left with an elevated basket.
Hole 7 is the 2nd over frog pond with the water coming into play at the end of the drive. There is a forward tee, and a drop spot for the wet one's. This is a deceptive hole that plays longer than posted making it very easy to lose discs to the pond.
Holes 8 and 9 are again wooded, requiring more finesse and accuracy.
Cons: Lots of debris around the pond, including an old dock with exposed rusty nails. Watch where you are walking. " The Toilet" will eventually have to be cleaned up of the farmhouse debris. The pond is pretty deep and has already claimed one of my drivers. Some strategically placed trashcans are greatly needed. SIGNAGE, both on the course and off the course.
When exiting onto Evesham Rd, take a right turn only. You're coming out of an unmarked driveway onto a 4 lane road making it very difficult to see and be seen. Better to go right and use the next light for a u-turn.


Other Thoughts: All in all, I'm very excited about the course and the potential back 9. The course reminds me of S Vineland (wooded and water) and Tyler's open field holes. The layout and basket placement will truly have one using all shots in the bag. Hope to see some old pool equipment for retrieval of discs in the pond.
Above all, I'm hoping the sanctity of the nature preserve remains intact while we are allowed to use the land for disc golf. Please take home everything you bring to the course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great new South Jersey Course!

2-4    7/28/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: Coasterbrad
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 9/2/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overview:
-I went out and played Stafford this afternoon. Very happy with what is currently there and I know it will only get better as more work goes into the course. This really fills a bad void for Disc Golf in the area, so a huge thank you to everyone who worked to make this course possible.


-I was by myself but met Adam (Course Designer), Becky, and their friend on the course. They were nice enough to let me tag along so I got to hear some of the future plans for the back 9. When everything is completed this will make a great 18 hole course that will challenge every player. But, in order for that to happen Voorhees needs to see people out on the course. So go play. Now!


Difficulty:
-I would consider myself to be an advance amateur/intermediate player. This course definitely has some challenging holes for my skill level, but not too challenging as to scare away new comers to the sport.

-For more advanced players, the long tees play great with plenty of difficulty. Once the holes have multiple pin locations there will be even more challenges that will really test your skills. I don't say this about too many courses, but I really think this caters perfectly to both Pros and Amateurs. There is something for everyone.

Tees/Pin Placement:
-Tee pads are clearly marked with most (maybe all) having a long tee and a short tee.

-Baskets are all installed. Some really good pin placement that uses the natural terrain perfectly. A mix of heavily protected pins and more open greens requires you to throw lots of different approach shots. I really like Hole 3's basket. Don't over throw that one, but don't under throw it either.
Cons: Overview:
-Most cons for this course are due to it being brand new or due to natural problems. Most of the negatives that I saw will be worked out eventually, such as not all holes having tee signs and it being a little difficult to navigate in one or two spots.

Ticks/Bugs:
-Lots of ticks and other bugs out there. Bring bug spray and make sure you check you legs and feet before leaving.

-The pond that comes into play on 3 and 7 seems to be a breeding ground for mosquitoes and other bugs. They didn't really bother me though so just spray yourself and you should be fine.

Rough:
-The open field holes are currently nicely mowed. However, if the rough on either side grows out of hand the holes will become unforgiving to novice players.

Parking:
-Small parking lot. It could get awfully crowded once people realize there is now a great course in Voorhees :)
Other Thoughts: -This really is a very good course. I am looking forward to seeing it expand and improve. You can tell that a ton of work was put in to get it to where it currently is. Make sure you support that effort and go out to play.

-Watch out for the rusted metal barbed wire fencing. It may be taken out at some point, but it currently blends in with the woods pretty well so it would be possible to walk into it. I saw it to the left of hole 3, on the way to hole 4.

-I have limited course experience, but I definitely liked what I saw. I am interested to hear what more experienced players think of the layout and course overall.

-Once all 18 holes are completed, this course will be excellent. The front 9 is a nice preview of what could be if the Township approves the expansion.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Constantly Improving !!

5+    3/26/2014   7/23/2012
Review By: hawk12
Played: 166  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 24.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2014
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1st Course in South/Central NJ (between Vineland and I-195)

I'm the designer and bias, yet will post as fair a review as possible.
This is a brand new course, front 9 baskets going in July 28th, 2012.
Back 9 baskets went in Feb 27th, 2014.

Longer pin placements will be installed in the future. For now the course plays 7,386ft (par 63, designed for a Blue level player), shorter White Tees play 6,134 ft (par 63, designed for a White level player) There are 13 White tees, and 5 shared tee boxes.

Front 9 holes are challenging for all levels of player. In the 'standard pins' the front 9 will play lefty friendly, and the back 9 will play righty friendly - in the long pins, those aspects will swap. Part of this design is to make the new players in the area learn 'all the throws', and challenge a seasoned player to execute their game. A newer player will be extremely challenged, and a solid player will enjoy the risk/reward factors on many holes. A very good player should be able to shoot under par here.

Hole 1, tight drive through wooded lane with some 'protected holly' trees making the drive very tight.
Hole 2, another wooded drive with the second shot opening up into mature trees with wider lanes to each pin location.(only short is in now)
Hole 3, short over lake shot, into a steep hill with drop off behind. Make the right decision and get rewarded for proper execution, make the wrong decision or fail to execute and scores will climb quickly. Long pin will play much easier as it takes the lake and hill mostly out of play, and it the prominent location to avoid erosion. Occasionally, we will use the location on the hill for tournaments.
Hole 4, drive through lane into field, 2nd shot from field into another tree lane that opens up with a large clear 'green area'. Slightly uphill the whole way, beware of "pits", (old farm house debris is not cleared out yet and can be dangerous).
Hole 5, 390 foot field drive (usually into headwind), wide open grip and rip hole.
Hole 6, Field drive, downhill. Leave yourself in a position to make the 2nd shot into the lane leading to an elevated pin.
Hole 7, beautiful drive shot over pond into a slight hill on far side.
Hole 8, tight wooded lane into a left dogleg. making the drive & approach combo critical to staying out of trouble in the woods.
Hole 9, pick from very tight lanes through the trees, they are there, but difficult to hit as this hole has lots of trees.
Hole 10, nice tunnel shot, execute for a birdie, miss and get the consequences in the dense mountain laurel rough.
Hole 11, a par 5 double dogleg from the long tee, this hole can reward good play with a birdie, and bad play with a very high score…
Hole 12, uphill tunnel drive (using some rare elevation for South Jersey)
Hole 13, a nice ace run back down the hill, pin positions are slightly off to left or right and will allow players to learn 'touch shot'
Hoe 14, plays around the side of the hill, righty backhand hyzer shot
Hole 15, tunnel drive out of the woods into the field, plays across the fild, back into a downhill approach. A very good birdie 4 on the longer par 4.
Hole 16, straight across the field to a hanging basket (this will have a longer tee in the woods, and move up the short tee 30ft into the field very soon - making this a nice birdie for either skill level the course is designed for). The backet is hanging a bit higher than usual, and it offers some rather challenging putts in windy conditions.
Hole 17, par 4 that appears like it should be birdied more than it actually gets birdied (scores coming in over the summer, will determine just how far back the long pin location will be located).
Hole 18, a nice righty backhand hyzer shot into a a fairly wide wooded fairway. But beware, shots missing the fairway end up in some fairly dense mountain laurel that create nice "sandtraps" early on the left, and late on the right.

Tee signs are installed, next tee signs are all over for easy navigation, log paths also help to follow between holes. There are log benches on nearly every tee as well, both long and short tees!! (Tee signs for the White tees are coming soon)

A small sign was installed by township on Evesham Rd, and there are plans for a new double drive to be installed over the next year. The parking area has expanding considerably, and when the driveway gets a huge upgrade, the county/township will also install more parking.

Two practice baskets in back yard of the house, Jan 2013.

Message board has gone in by the parking area, March 2013, and the lost and found box is bolted to the message board.

The local club has access to the house for tournaments, and will aloow a nice tournament central area should we have inclement weather. The fireplace will be nice during the Ice Bowl season.

A port-a-pottie was delivered over the winter (2013-2014), and is cleaned fairly regularly.

Other Pros, there is a nice walking trail that separates the front 9 from the back 9. Plenty of walkers enjoy the beautiful woods and setting. A pair of owls nest near the trail in the pines near the lake, if you are lucky you might see one or both of them. There has been a red tail fox residing in the park for 2+ years now, and he can be seen often near dusk/dawn.
Cons: Difficult course to find as the current driveway is narrow and the street sign is kind of small.

There are currently 4 fly pads (soon to be 8), the rest are a mix of natural grass in the fields, and gravel/crushed stone in the woods. We have carpets over the stone dust to keep rutting down until pavers can be purchased/installed. Plans are to have pavers on all the tees in the woods, and fly pads on the field tees. This holds back the rating IMO until we can get these installed.

No amenities,, no water access.

Ticks, be prepared for south Jersey and have bug spray. Permethrin on clothing works best to avoid ticks as deet does not seem to deter ticks. The tick problem has gone down over two years, but they are out there.
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful piece of land, with some nice sloping hills, which is rare for southern NJ, and variety of wooded, field, and water holes.
The course is brand new (July 2013), and still has lots of room to improve and grow - the design is in place for an 8,000 ft par 63ish course that will challenge all levels of player, and be both casual and tournament friendly layout.

Currently, most pins are in the short locations as the longer pins/fairways need more work.

We are looking into raising Ginea Hens for natural tick removal. If you see a pen of small 'little chickens' in the future, please leave it alone.

OK, here's my bias - - This is a great course!! Overall the disc golf is awesome. Nice mix of field bombs, wooded lanes and hyzer/anhyzer shots, risk/reward decisions. There is enough elevation and different types of basket locations to keep it interesting, and scores will vary very time you come here.
That said, its still a work in progress nearly 3 years after this course was started. Remember, we took an area that was not utilized for much of anything, and have built an awesome 18 hole course, with a good amount of parking, and all this was done by volunteers. In 2012 there were 871 volunteer hours, 2013 had another 702, and so far in 2014 there have been 190 hours as of the end of March… Expect that to continue, and the entire park to gradually improve.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.