Joplin, MO
McClelland Park Share
Uploaded By: eye-ball-sac Hole #7 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 307ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Regularly Played

5+    9/26/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: mmsciron
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes, well maintained area, challenging enough to gain new skills and work on existing skills. The area is strictly for Disc Golf so you dont have to worry about pedestrians or vehicles.
Cons: There are a few holes that you have to walk to after finish the previous hole. It really isn't an issues, but I could see how people unfamiliar with the course could get a little confused.
Other Thoughts: I play this course weekly, since I live in the area, so I am a little biased. I really think it's good for players of all skill sets. I believe it is the best course in the area and definitely has the most to offer.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Great Course

2-4    3/30/2013   3/30/2013
Review By: bball7273
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful setting and great views.
- Every hole has a brand-new monkey trap basket.
- Brand-new tee signs
- Long and big concrete teepads.
- Good mix of hole lengths and hole types.
- The course will bring out every throw you have.
- 27 holes! You have multiple choices at this course. You can play all of the holes, the "new" 18 holes which are the maroon and white baskets or you can play just the "old" 9 holes which have green and yellow baskets. The course is broken up to where 18 ends at the parking lot and 19 begins and 27 ends at the parking lot so this is a big pro that you can pick how much youre gonna play on how much time you have.
- Lots of shade from the hot sun
- Benchs and trash cans on almost every hole
- Nice elevation change on some holes.
- No chance of loosing a disc
- The course seems to flow well
- Woodchips by the basket which avoid roll aways and present a putting zone.
- Pins have huge signs on baskets which makes it easy to know which hole it is from far away.
- Secluded disc golf area for the course means that there wont be any people walking or anything.
Cons: - Being the only course in the area, it can become very busy on the weekends
- New tee signs didnt help much. They told the length and par but they just showed a tee and a basket straight ahead when on the actual hole there would be one to the left and one to the right so you would have to go and see which one it is.
- Lots of trash around some teepads
- Some tee pads are too close to the previous basket which could be dangerous.
- Most holes are straight so it could be a bit boring on some.
- Terrain. Lots of pot holes and little rocks/sticks to roll an ankle on so watch your step.
- secluded disc golf area for the course means that there wont be any people not paying attention or being in the way or anything.
- Mando on one hole didnt have a drop zone identifyed at all.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a very good course and is only getting better. Last time I played this before today, the baskets were homemade and stunk and the tee signs were just hand-written and the course looked dumpy. Now, you can tell that extreme effort went into this course to make it have its full-potential as a great course. This course is only getting better and trust me, It is worth your time!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    11/14/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: BrckWallGoalie
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes means you can have variety in your game while playing at the same park. Recently installed new baskets and hole plaques on all 27 holes. All the greens have wood chips approx 10' around them making approaches a little more friendly, and last time I played it looked like they were extending them another 10-15'. This course is popular, but rarely crowded. Lots of elevation changes make for some fun shots (hole 10).
Cons: Not much variety in hole layout other than elevation. Only a couple holes where a RHBH thrower has to change up.
Other Thoughts: Dogs are allowed in the park, and owners rarely pick up after them so check your shoes before getting in your car.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 more fun than most courses you've played

5+    9/6/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: PuttsMcGee
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has 27 holes. redesigned recently to incorporate the new 9 holes into the regular 18. the old front 9 is now 19-27. pretty good mix of holes on the new layout. the 9 holes that were added recently are very quality holes. i would call them championship level if the baskets were better. short holes and long holes, some technical and some open. something for all levels of player including a very picturesque downhill hole #10, which is over 600ft and still dueceable to the big arms. has quality teepads on all of the holes. the course is for disc golf only, so theres not a lot of pedestrians to look out for. bathrooms nearby except during the winter. benches on most of the holes. practice basket. woodchips near baskets to help avoid roll-aways. plenty of disc golfers around to join you for a round on a nice day.
Cons: the signs haven't all been updated yet, but i think that is being done soon. the baskets leave a lot to be desired. they're homemade and probably the worst baskets you've played on, but the course is fun anyway. there are a lot of rocks on most holes, so they can tear up your discs. however, they do a decent job of putting wood chips near the baskets so its not bad if you land close enough or in the grass farther from the baskets.
Other Thoughts: i've been playing this course for years and its always improving. in a couple years the rating will probably be closer to 4 or 4 1/2. they've been trying to get new baskets and have a fund to raise money for them, so hopefully that will be taken care of before long. if so, i'll play there a lot more often.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course with 27 holes!

1    7/27/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: c0ntagion
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 27 holes to play here, can be played by anyone from novice to expert. Some holes have pars listed for beginners and experienced players.
Cons: Holes have recently been renumbered, so sometimes it's hard to find the next hole. Signs could use updating.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely loved playing on this course. It's a great place to play if you're ever in Southwest Missouri.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course Around

5+    7/16/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a great course for everyone. Not to hard, but more advanced players will still find a challenge. Moderate elevation changes. Nice variation in hole length. Hole 10 is 671 ft.! Trash cans are scattered around the park and the only litter is by the tee sign where a trash can should be. Benches are at about one in every three holes. Tee pads are textured and generally clear of any debris. Course loops back to the parking lot after 18 and after 27. Restrooms and water fountains in pavilion by the playground.
Cons: Baskets are home-made and are prone to bounce outs. Pars on tee signs are ridiculously high, (par 4 on 190ft. hole) but I just play all par 3 and it works out nicely. Most holes favor RHBH. Course info says there's camping nearby, but I never saw it (unless you want to camp on the river). No tight wooded holes. Course can get crowded, but most of the time it plays fast. Lots of poison Ivy in the O.B.
Other Thoughts: Home-made baskets are VERY annoying. I've broken a putter by hitting the top sign. There are three or four good ace runs. I've heard that the park has some questionable activity at night, and sometimes has "individuality rallies", but I've never experienced this during the day.

**UPDATE**
27 brand new monkey traps in the ground! No more spit-outs!
-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Entertaining course

5+    10/22/2008   10/22/2008
Review By: phatrinks
Played: 61  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/8/2008
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course to learn the game on. Not too tough, not too easy. 27 holes are excellent. Plenty of variation and different shots required, especially with the addition of 19-27. Bathrooms and water spouts by pavillion. Front 18 has alt. tees but you have to know where to find them as of right now.
Cons: Baskets are homemade and prone to bounceouts/slicethroughs. Front 18 favors RHBH throwers.
Other Thoughts: Definite play if you're in the area. You won't be disappointed. You'll probably see locals out there on the course that are always looking for a game.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I really like this one

1    8/17/2008   8/25/2008
Review By: Purple Dog
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There's something here for everyone. The first 18 is shorter than the new 9. The setting is a little different than most courses I've seen. The area is grassy and well mowed, but there are still tons of mature oak trees. (I know because I hit most of them) The tee boxes are concrete and there are tee posts with maps of the holes on them. The holes are not overly long, but the trees keep you honest with your drives. The terrain is hilly and that adds to the challenge as well.
Cons: There's not too much too complain about here. I suppose the extra 9 could have concrete tee boxes too, but that seems a little picky. The start of the extra 9 is at hole 14, so we stopped there and played the new 9 before finishing our original 18.
Other Thoughts: I wish it were closer to my house.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very Enjoyable

4/16/2008   4/16/2008
Review By: gravedigger
Played: 55  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Different setting than usual for a disc golf course. Very pretty. Rolling hills. Good mix of shots. Quiet area.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses for this area, and very easy to get to.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.