Joplin, MO 
McClelland Park Share
Uploaded By: bball7273 Hole #1 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 332ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 1 From Basket to tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
...meh

1    7/16/2015   7/18/2015
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 48  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: > There were mostly level, concrete pads on every hole.

> Good baskets throughout that catch well.

> Moderate elevation changes.

> Good variety of length of holes that fluctuate well.

> Park/course was pretty clean throughout.

> Benches at every tee... but also see cons.

> The rocky ground actually helps to prevent erosion and wear on the course, keeping it from getting run down and muddy.

> A good challenge level for beginners that certainly helps avoid obstacle-frustration and lost discs.

> Some of the baskets have a street sign on top of them with the basket number. Unique and was helpful in determining which basket belonged to which tee... when they were actually there. It seemed like half the holes didn't have this sign though.
.
Cons: > Very plain design - all the holes are pretty much making a straight run to an open basket.

> Feels repetitive, as the variety is only provided by the elevation and distance changing.

> Because of the above two cons, the course was pretty boring.

> A serious lack of challenging obstacles. Sure, there are 3 - 5 medium to large trees on every hole... but they are really easy to avoid and just don't force anyone to shape their shots to get around. You just throw straight at the basket from the tee and keep on going straight.

> The "grass" (actually, it was almost all weeds) was between 12" to 24" tall over the entire course. Not only was this really annoying for finding most throws, but there were snakes and rodents...

> Except for the baskets themselves, the 'course' seems kind of run down.

> The tee signs are terrible. The most important part, which is the hole number, is the smallest and hardest to read part of the signs and you cannot see what hole a tee belongs to until you are standing 8 feet from the sign. Also, the 'map' on each sign was barely more than a green rectangle with a tee marker centered at the bottom and a basket centered at the top... it did almost nothing to describe the fairway.

> Navigation was pretty bad due to not being able to actually tell which tee was next. You could see several options from each basket... but the lack of being able to see the hole number on the tee signs meant a lot of guess-work and wandering to be certain.

> As part of the above, it was often very difficult to tell which basket belonged to the tee you were standing on.

> I wonder why there are these huge blue street signs on top of half of the baskets, but not on the rest? Also, why do these signs need to say "HOLE 1", "HOLE 2" instead of just "1" , "2" and so-forth. Eh, that's a nitpick, but it was... odd. It also meant that these signs were as wide as the whole basket and meant a disc that should have missed the basket by going over the top would be stopped dead and knocked back.

> Detracting from the above pro about benches at every hole, most of the benches were in very bad disrepair... some even broken beyond use. I was afraid to sit on any of them, thinking I'd probably end up breaking it. (I only weigh 155 lbs)

> One of the biggest cons at McClelland was SAFETY. My goodness... the tees were so very close to the baskets on almost every hole and the fairways really leave players playing into and onto each others path. I would say the course design is unforgivably thoughtless of the very concept of safety and "heads up!!!" was heard more times in one round than I've heard over the last 6 months combined.
.
Other Thoughts: I find that the further away from popular destinations or major cities one travels, the ratings for courses on dgcoursereview tend to be really high. I go with the presumption that this is because the course is mostly reviewed by locals who may not have much exposure to a lot of other courses. So, a course may seem like a 4 or 5 rating because the only other courses folks have to compare it to are either pretty poor or non-existent.

McClelland is certainly a passable course and totally playable, but I was not expecting to find a course I would consider a 2 where the average rating is 4.

Good, proper signage, navigation markers, maintenance and a big redesign to fix the egregious safety issues could easily bring my score on this up to a 3 or maybe 3.5.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best course in the Joplin area

5+    3/19/2015   4/4/2015
Review By: Mr_Grigsby
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well kept course and baskets
-27 holes in total
-Good variety in the holes
-Lots of friendly people on course
Cons: -Large hill to walk up and down
-Kinda rocky. Be prepared to have your discs banged up a bit.
Other Thoughts: With several courses in the Joplin area, this is by far the best one available. This long 27 hole course offers just about everything. On the first 18 holes, about ten of them are long bomb holes, easy for beginners. Other holes are kinda tricky with trees you have to throw through. The last nine holes offer a bit more of a challenge. A few are long shots, but most are more tricky then the first 18.

Another great thing about this course is that you can start at hole 1, 10, or 19 and have a great time. I have done this on different occasions to get a different flow to the day.

My only suggestion is that you wear hiking boots or a really comfortable pair of tennis shoes. The course is a bit rocky in places, so watch out for loose rocks. It can also bang up your discs a bit. I have a couple of discs with some pretty deep gouges from landing on rocks.

My favorite on the course is hole 8 or hole 13. On hole 8, you have to throw through a grove of trees, making a nice setup shot a must. Hole 13 is a par five over a small hill with some trees along the fairway.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Favorite Course in the Area

5+    11/10/2014   11/12/2014
Review By: RONALDOHUFF
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2 Years
Pros: - the variety is great, I like having to bring a lot of different discs
- you can find some local pros out their on almost any given day and they are always more than willing to help
- not many chances to lose a disc, even though I have lost a couple but not bad since I have played the course probably more than 50 times.
- Some nice long holes that really give someone with distance an advantage but some shorter holes that require very controlled drives
- never too crowed but still gets plenty of use
Cons: - some tee pads have big drop offs before and after the pad so if you have a longer run up you may be at a disadvantage and you can't got past the end on some holes.
- Some holes are pretty rocky but thats kind of how Missouri is
- Practice basket could use some mulch or something around the base so we could actually use it with out tearing up discs and it could be better marked for people who have never played the course because it is right beside 18's basket.
Other Thoughts: Great course that I play multiple times a week, I consider it my home course. League night is on Tuesdays at 5:30 in the spring and fall and 6:30 during the summer, come join us!

Getting Smoked by an Ape

2-4    9/28/2013   10/4/2013
Review By: Dan Ensor
Played: 62  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of shot variety. Some short holes, some long holes, some doglegs, some straight shots. Bring your whole bag for this one!

Good elevation changes. Long downhill hyzers and anhyzers; long uphill hyzers and anhyzers. Just a very interesting course design.

Pins on a variety of slopes. Depending on where your teeshot is, you may get to be very aggressive or have to play it very safe on your approaches or long putts.

Very well maintained every time I've played it. It was during the 4SO, but it didn't seem like it had been a rush job to get the course ready for the tourney. It seemed to be a long-term maintenance effort.

Signs are pretty good. Present on every hole, and I believe they directed you to the next tee. Benches every once in a while.

Good park facilities. Bathroom on site. Parking near hole 1. A couple of pavilions also.
Cons: After the tee shot, the holes get very boring. Other than preventing roll aways (which can be done with positioning the drive more easily than with your approach). There aren't enough trees between the tees and basket. Typically, there are trees to shape your drive, but not to punish a drive that isn't on the fairway. Missing my line by 50' or so didn't change the type of approach I was throwing. Just the potential roll aways.

This course is DANGEROUS! If the course isn't full it wouldn't have been AS bad, but I got hit waiting on the next tee pad, and there were 10+ tees that I was concerned with the drives coming in from the next hole. Most of those tees you could move 100' or less and have a safer tee that doesn't change the hole much. 26 in particular. 21 is the hole I was hit on (3/4 drives could have hit my group) and a tee 100' behind where it was would have been safe.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. I feel it's very fair. It's pretty easy to get to.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Regularly Played

5+    9/26/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: mmsciron
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes, well maintained area, challenging enough to gain new skills and work on existing skills. The area is strictly for Disc Golf so you dont have to worry about pedestrians or vehicles.
Cons: There are a few holes that you have to walk to after finish the previous hole. It really isn't an issues, but I could see how people unfamiliar with the course could get a little confused.
Other Thoughts: I play this course weekly, since I live in the area, so I am a little biased. I really think it's good for players of all skill sets. I believe it is the best course in the area and definitely has the most to offer.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awsome

1    8/16/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: quietman2005
Played: 41  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful course in a nice park. There was no trash laying around.
-Lots of mature trees to provide plenty of shade.
-Tee signs that don't only show distance and directions to the hole, but have an arrow pointing to where the next tee is in regards to the basket.
-Nice big concrete tee pads that have actually been constructed right, so they are not slick.
-Very large blue signs on all the baskets saying which hole the basket belongs to. They are big enough that you can tell which basket it is from the tee.
-Trash cans and benches at almost every tee.
-Good mix of long and short holes.
-Decent elevation change.
Cons: This course isn't close enough to my house for me to play on a regular basis.
Other Thoughts: I have rated Joplin's course higher than I have any other course because I feel that Joplin has taken the time to work on the things that can make big difference on a course no matter where it is. In most parts of the country you cant do a whole lot about things like elevation change, if there is water in play, the type of vegitation that naturally grows in that area. To try and improve these could cost way to much.
The things that can make for a good course anywhere have been addressed here, like great signs making navigation easier, constructing tee pads that keep you out of danger when throwing, benches throughout, and plenty of trash cans to help keep the park clean
I wish courses in my part of the country would look at Joplin's course and take some pointers from them.
I have g

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Course

2-4    3/30/2013   3/30/2013
Review By: bball7273
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful setting and great views.
- Every hole has a brand-new monkey trap basket.
- Brand-new tee signs
- Long and big concrete teepads.
- Good mix of hole lengths and hole types.
- The course will bring out every throw you have.
- 27 holes! You have multiple choices at this course. You can play all of the holes, the "new" 18 holes which are the maroon and white baskets or you can play just the "old" 9 holes which have green and yellow baskets. The course is broken up to where 18 ends at the parking lot and 19 begins and 27 ends at the parking lot so this is a big pro that you can pick how much youre gonna play on how much time you have.
- Lots of shade from the hot sun
- Benchs and trash cans on almost every hole
- Nice elevation change on some holes.
- No chance of loosing a disc
- The course seems to flow well
- Woodchips by the basket which avoid roll aways and present a putting zone.
- Pins have huge signs on baskets which makes it easy to know which hole it is from far away.
- Secluded disc golf area for the course means that there wont be any people walking or anything.
Cons: - Being the only course in the area, it can become very busy on the weekends
- New tee signs didnt help much. They told the length and par but they just showed a tee and a basket straight ahead when on the actual hole there would be one to the left and one to the right so you would have to go and see which one it is.
- Lots of trash around some teepads
- Some tee pads are too close to the previous basket which could be dangerous.
- Most holes are straight so it could be a bit boring on some.
- Terrain. Lots of pot holes and little rocks/sticks to roll an ankle on so watch your step.
- secluded disc golf area for the course means that there wont be any people not paying attention or being in the way or anything.
- Mando on one hole didnt have a drop zone identifyed at all.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a very good course and is only getting better. Last time I played this before today, the baskets were homemade and stunk and the tee signs were just hand-written and the course looked dumpy. Now, you can tell that extreme effort went into this course to make it have its full-potential as a great course. This course is only getting better and trust me, It is worth your time!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Rocky, but decent

2-4    8/25/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: airman_miller
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good pins, nice pads to play off of. Also hole 10 is a BLAST! 27 holes? YES!
Cons: The course is very rocky. I had a brand new disc and took it for a spin on this course. It got quite a bit of damage from just hitting the ground and vaulting off of random rocks. Some holes have some wood chips around the pin, some do not. some holes are far apart from one another, so you occasionally walk to a pin just to find out it is the wrong one.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great 4 State Course

2-4    4/28/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 51  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variation of short and long holes
Suits advanced players well as it offers. challenges in distance and with well placed trees.
Has shorter holes which are great for beginners.
My fiance and I went to play this course today. I followed the pro par and she followed the novice par. It was a very nice system to have.
Locals are very friendly in helping you navigate the course.
Cons: One could say there isn't a great enough challenge for exceptional players.
It is much improved, but the course can be a bit confusing, especially with multiple baskets near each other.
Other Thoughts: This was a really fun course to play. The people on the course were very friendly and helpful. I definitely want to go play this again soon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    11/14/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: BrckWallGoalie
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes means you can have variety in your game while playing at the same park. Recently installed new baskets and hole plaques on all 27 holes. All the greens have wood chips approx 10' around them making approaches a little more friendly, and last time I played it looked like they were extending them another 10-15'. This course is popular, but rarely crowded. Lots of elevation changes make for some fun shots (hole 10).
Cons: Not much variety in hole layout other than elevation. Only a couple holes where a RHBH thrower has to change up.
Other Thoughts: Dogs are allowed in the park, and owners rarely pick up after them so check your shoes before getting in your car.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.