Joplin, MO 
McClelland Park Share
Uploaded By: eye-ball-sac Hole #8 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 225ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Getting Smoked by an Ape

2-4    9/28/2013   10/4/2013
Review By: Dan Ensor
Played: 56  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of shot variety. Some short holes, some long holes, some doglegs, some straight shots. Bring your whole bag for this one!

Good elevation changes. Long downhill hyzers and anhyzers; long uphill hyzers and anhyzers. Just a very interesting course design.

Pins on a variety of slopes. Depending on where your teeshot is, you may get to be very aggressive or have to play it very safe on your approaches or long putts.

Very well maintained every time I've played it. It was during the 4SO, but it didn't seem like it had been a rush job to get the course ready for the tourney. It seemed to be a long-term maintenance effort.

Signs are pretty good. Present on every hole, and I believe they directed you to the next tee. Benches every once in a while.

Good park facilities. Bathroom on site. Parking near hole 1. A couple of pavilions also.
Cons: After the tee shot, the holes get very boring. Other than preventing roll aways (which can be done with positioning the drive more easily than with your approach). There aren't enough trees between the tees and basket. Typically, there are trees to shape your drive, but not to punish a drive that isn't on the fairway. Missing my line by 50' or so didn't change the type of approach I was throwing. Just the potential roll aways.

This course is DANGEROUS! If the course isn't full it wouldn't have been AS bad, but I got hit waiting on the next tee pad, and there were 10+ tees that I was concerned with the drives coming in from the next hole. Most of those tees you could move 100' or less and have a safer tee that doesn't change the hole much. 26 in particular. 21 is the hole I was hit on (3/4 drives could have hit my group) and a tee 100' behind where it was would have been safe.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. I feel it's very fair. It's pretty easy to get to.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Regularly Played

5+    9/26/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: mmsciron
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes, well maintained area, challenging enough to gain new skills and work on existing skills. The area is strictly for Disc Golf so you dont have to worry about pedestrians or vehicles.
Cons: There are a few holes that you have to walk to after finish the previous hole. It really isn't an issues, but I could see how people unfamiliar with the course could get a little confused.
Other Thoughts: I play this course weekly, since I live in the area, so I am a little biased. I really think it's good for players of all skill sets. I believe it is the best course in the area and definitely has the most to offer.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awsome

1    8/16/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: quietman2005
Played: 41  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful course in a nice park. There was no trash laying around.
-Lots of mature trees to provide plenty of shade.
-Tee signs that don't only show distance and directions to the hole, but have an arrow pointing to where the next tee is in regards to the basket.
-Nice big concrete tee pads that have actually been constructed right, so they are not slick.
-Very large blue signs on all the baskets saying which hole the basket belongs to. They are big enough that you can tell which basket it is from the tee.
-Trash cans and benches at almost every tee.
-Good mix of long and short holes.
-Decent elevation change.
Cons: This course isn't close enough to my house for me to play on a regular basis.
Other Thoughts: I have rated Joplin's course higher than I have any other course because I feel that Joplin has taken the time to work on the things that can make big difference on a course no matter where it is. In most parts of the country you cant do a whole lot about things like elevation change, if there is water in play, the type of vegitation that naturally grows in that area. To try and improve these could cost way to much.
The things that can make for a good course anywhere have been addressed here, like great signs making navigation easier, constructing tee pads that keep you out of danger when throwing, benches throughout, and plenty of trash cans to help keep the park clean
I wish courses in my part of the country would look at Joplin's course and take some pointers from them.
I have g

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Great Course

2-4    3/30/2013   3/30/2013
Review By: bball7273
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful setting and great views.
- Every hole has a brand-new monkey trap basket.
- Brand-new tee signs
- Long and big concrete teepads.
- Good mix of hole lengths and hole types.
- The course will bring out every throw you have.
- 27 holes! You have multiple choices at this course. You can play all of the holes, the "new" 18 holes which are the maroon and white baskets or you can play just the "old" 9 holes which have green and yellow baskets. The course is broken up to where 18 ends at the parking lot and 19 begins and 27 ends at the parking lot so this is a big pro that you can pick how much youre gonna play on how much time you have.
- Lots of shade from the hot sun
- Benchs and trash cans on almost every hole
- Nice elevation change on some holes.
- No chance of loosing a disc
- The course seems to flow well
- Woodchips by the basket which avoid roll aways and present a putting zone.
- Pins have huge signs on baskets which makes it easy to know which hole it is from far away.
- Secluded disc golf area for the course means that there wont be any people walking or anything.
Cons: - Being the only course in the area, it can become very busy on the weekends
- New tee signs didnt help much. They told the length and par but they just showed a tee and a basket straight ahead when on the actual hole there would be one to the left and one to the right so you would have to go and see which one it is.
- Lots of trash around some teepads
- Some tee pads are too close to the previous basket which could be dangerous.
- Most holes are straight so it could be a bit boring on some.
- Terrain. Lots of pot holes and little rocks/sticks to roll an ankle on so watch your step.
- secluded disc golf area for the course means that there wont be any people not paying attention or being in the way or anything.
- Mando on one hole didnt have a drop zone identifyed at all.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a very good course and is only getting better. Last time I played this before today, the baskets were homemade and stunk and the tee signs were just hand-written and the course looked dumpy. Now, you can tell that extreme effort went into this course to make it have its full-potential as a great course. This course is only getting better and trust me, It is worth your time!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Rocky, but decent

2-4    8/25/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: airman_miller
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good pins, nice pads to play off of. Also hole 10 is a BLAST! 27 holes? YES!
Cons: The course is very rocky. I had a brand new disc and took it for a spin on this course. It got quite a bit of damage from just hitting the ground and vaulting off of random rocks. Some holes have some wood chips around the pin, some do not. some holes are far apart from one another, so you occasionally walk to a pin just to find out it is the wrong one.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great 4 State Course

2-4    4/28/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 47  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variation of short and long holes
Suits advanced players well as it offers. challenges in distance and with well placed trees.
Has shorter holes which are great for beginners.
My fiance and I went to play this course today. I followed the pro par and she followed the novice par. It was a very nice system to have.
Locals are very friendly in helping you navigate the course.
Cons: One could say there isn't a great enough challenge for exceptional players.
It is much improved, but the course can be a bit confusing, especially with multiple baskets near each other.
Other Thoughts: This was a really fun course to play. The people on the course were very friendly and helpful. I definitely want to go play this again soon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    11/14/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: BrckWallGoalie
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes means you can have variety in your game while playing at the same park. Recently installed new baskets and hole plaques on all 27 holes. All the greens have wood chips approx 10' around them making approaches a little more friendly, and last time I played it looked like they were extending them another 10-15'. This course is popular, but rarely crowded. Lots of elevation changes make for some fun shots (hole 10).
Cons: Not much variety in hole layout other than elevation. Only a couple holes where a RHBH thrower has to change up.
Other Thoughts: Dogs are allowed in the park, and owners rarely pick up after them so check your shoes before getting in your car.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    6/27/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: yankees23
Played: 34  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has something for everyone. It is not the longest course or the hardest course but it might be the most fun. There are always people out at the course playing and willing to bet some money. It is pretty well kept and the league does a good job updating things (new baskets soon). There are really shots for everyone here. The old setup can still be played and is quite easier than the new setup. There is some elevation change and enough trees to make it interesting.
Cons: This is not a very technical course. It is best suited for people who can bomb a disc down the fairway. The baskets leave a lot to be desired. I have played here many many times over the last couple of years and I would say it is easy to lose 2 or 3 strokes a round from the baskets alone.
Other Thoughts: We had a vote last week (6-21-11) and we are getting new baskets before the 4 States Open (end of September). They will be Monkey Traps. We have also discussed putting in another 9 on the West side of Hole 1. This would be all in the woods and would give the course an aspect it lacks. We have also talked about getting alternates pins. But to do this we would have to recreate the layout once again so we are still debating this.

Tuesday Night League Doubles at 6:00 pm every Tuesday. $5.00 to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A whole lotta disc golf

1    3/2/2011   3/2/2011
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very solid. The park it is situated on is beautiful and in a very unexpected part of town. The course is completely a park-like setting style course. There are tons of elevation changes used very well throughout the whole round. The tee pads are in great shape. All 27 holes have concrete tees that are a nice length. There are many opportunities to grip and rip out here if that is your preferred style of play. While some technical shots are required in places, for the most part you can use any style of shot on each hole and be fine. Because of all the elevation changes, wind can play a major factor out there (as it did for us). There is a beautiful scenic view around hole 11 (i think). It is a really awesome downhill tee shot where you can reach back and let it fly. The course was very clean and well maintained. There is no other intended use for that part of the park which is nice. You don't have to worry about walkers or joggers out there. It appears the course is played a lot. Around 2:30 on a Tuesday the course had at least 10-15 cars there.
Cons: As seems to be well documented by the other reviewers the baskets are pretty sketchy. I went in open-minded about the homemade baskets, but some of them are pretty rough. Height from the ground (for the baskets) varies widely throughout the round and the cages are different shapes and sizes and depths.
Flow---the signage is quite confusing in the beginning of the round. We got turned around pretty bad around hole #7 ( can't remember for sure, but it was in the general area at the top of the hill). I will give credit to them for the excellent signage on top of the baskets. They are very easy to spot and accurately marked. It is at the tees where we experienced problems.
Other than those things, my biggest gripe is that while the land is great, I didn't feel like the variety of shots required was very overwheling. There multiple ways to attack each pin which is nice for a time, but after 27 holes of the same thing, I was ready for a bit more in the way of shot-shaping requirements.
Other Thoughts: Great course and lots of fun. I would recommend it to anyone in the area wanting to play. Probably the best course in the Branson/ Springfield/ Joplin area. As a side note, if you don't like getting exercise, stay away because there is a ton of hilly walking.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ice Bowl 2011

1    2/5/2011   2/10/2011
Review By: Iberian_55
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ice Bowl 2011~ Considering there was 20"-24" of snow on the ground, it was an exceptional experience for me. Tee pads had been cleared & salted which made for stable footing. Very scenic, with well placed pin locations. Good mix of shots with rolling hills for elevation change. Benches and trash cans placed every few holes. The local club members were very friendly and I was told that most locals would be glad to throw a round.
Cons: The baskets were made by the city parks department and I witnessed a higher percentage of spit-out/fly-through than with Mfg baskets. No course maps.
Other Thoughts: Locals said, They were working on improving the Baskets and possible future maps. Most definitely will play this course again.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.