Joplin, MO 
McClelland Park Share
Uploaded By: bball7273 Hole #1 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 332ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole 1 From Basket to tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Everything is here

2-4    9/25/2010   9/25/2010
Review By: jeffm516
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has everything you could want. Shade on almost all the holes. Every type of shot is coverd through the 27 holes. You can through back hand or fore hand which ever you decide on most all the holes. This courses grass is very nicely keeped. Not to many trees so you could have a nice line at the basket.It is also layed out well the course seems to flow well. This course play pretty open so not much of a chance of loseing discs. The eleveation changes are really nicely utilised.
Cons: Ths first thing i can say about this course is the baskets suck. well at least the chains suck. the first 18 are home make and are not the right shap or size they should be. Not really enough challangeing holes. There is a lot of the same kinda of shot. Lot of small rocks to twist you ankle on and some hidden sink holes that are kind of jarring if you step in to one. The stones are also hard on you discs I have some new dent in my pro plactic I would recomemed throwing champ or star beacuse it is tuffer and not many chances to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: I did here that new chains are coming. Also that they are going to be fixing the baskets that are not any good. This is a must play course. It is very pretty and has a really nice river that is close to it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 more fun than most courses you've played

5+    9/6/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: PuttsMcGee
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has 27 holes. redesigned recently to incorporate the new 9 holes into the regular 18. the old front 9 is now 19-27. pretty good mix of holes on the new layout. the 9 holes that were added recently are very quality holes. i would call them championship level if the baskets were better. short holes and long holes, some technical and some open. something for all levels of player including a very picturesque downhill hole #10, which is over 600ft and still dueceable to the big arms. has quality teepads on all of the holes. the course is for disc golf only, so theres not a lot of pedestrians to look out for. bathrooms nearby except during the winter. benches on most of the holes. practice basket. woodchips near baskets to help avoid roll-aways. plenty of disc golfers around to join you for a round on a nice day.
Cons: the signs haven't all been updated yet, but i think that is being done soon. the baskets leave a lot to be desired. they're homemade and probably the worst baskets you've played on, but the course is fun anyway. there are a lot of rocks on most holes, so they can tear up your discs. however, they do a decent job of putting wood chips near the baskets so its not bad if you land close enough or in the grass farther from the baskets.
Other Thoughts: i've been playing this course for years and its always improving. in a couple years the rating will probably be closer to 4 or 4 1/2. they've been trying to get new baskets and have a fund to raise money for them, so hopefully that will be taken care of before long. if so, i'll play there a lot more often.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course in Joplin!

2-4    7/1/2010   8/14/2010
Review By: rolltidegopokes
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice challenging with rolling hills and decent technical challenge. This course can push you to use all of the throwing techniques you have, with hyzer, anhyzer, tomahawk, you name it. Nice long holes compliment the short technical holes..have fun on the 600+ hole 10. Another pro is that it is 27 holes so you can add the last nine if you have time, and they are just as good as the initial 18.
Cons: The locations of the pins have changed which make the tee pads not always facing them, which means a couple of times playing will get you where you need to be. The home made baskets aren't the best made, and I also have experienced bounce outs, which make for an 'off' day on scoring.
Other Thoughts: After playing courses in all of the four state region, I would recommend this as the best course with a practice pin, 27 holes, clean restrooms and a clean course that is dedicated to disc golf. If I lived in the area, I would for sure be there for the Four States Open. I strongly suggest if you have time go and throw this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course with 27 holes!

1    7/27/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: c0ntagion
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 27 holes to play here, can be played by anyone from novice to expert. Some holes have pars listed for beginners and experienced players.
Cons: Holes have recently been renumbered, so sometimes it's hard to find the next hole. Signs could use updating.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely loved playing on this course. It's a great place to play if you're ever in Southwest Missouri.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course Around

5+    7/16/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a great course for everyone. Not to hard, but more advanced players will still find a challenge. Moderate elevation changes. Nice variation in hole length. Hole 10 is 671 ft.! Trash cans are scattered around the park and the only litter is by the tee sign where a trash can should be. Benches are at about one in every three holes. Tee pads are textured and generally clear of any debris. Course loops back to the parking lot after 18 and after 27. Restrooms and water fountains in pavilion by the playground.
Cons: Baskets are home-made and are prone to bounce outs. Pars on tee signs are ridiculously high, (par 4 on 190ft. hole) but I just play all par 3 and it works out nicely. Most holes favor RHBH. Course info says there's camping nearby, but I never saw it (unless you want to camp on the river). No tight wooded holes. Course can get crowded, but most of the time it plays fast. Lots of poison Ivy in the O.B.
Other Thoughts: Home-made baskets are VERY annoying. I've broken a putter by hitting the top sign. There are three or four good ace runs. I've heard that the park has some questionable activity at night, and sometimes has "individuality rallies", but I've never experienced this during the day.

**UPDATE**
27 brand new monkey traps in the ground! No more spit-outs!
-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 One of the four state region's best...now with more holes

2-4    2/15/2010   2/17/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course for a variety of skill levels. Very picturesque surroundings. Large well taken care of park. Land is disc golf only so there are no conflicts with other activities. Elevation is used very well. A good variety of hole distances and hyzer / anhyzer shots. Not too shabby for advanced arms, and not too overwhelming for beginners. Sporadic woods give players a good choice of slot selection based on their handedness /abilities. Street sign "nickels" on the basket tops are cool.
Cons: Gently rolling hills with sporadic woods is probably one of my favorite terrains to play on. If there's an issue with McClelland, its that those kind of shots are really all there is. Some of the tee boxes seem a little off kilter causing players to perhaps aim for the wrong basket. Homemade poleholes which have some dead spots (didn't have a spit personally, but I could see where it could happen) as well as inconsistent basket cages.
Other Thoughts: Not perfect by any means, but probably the best course in SW Missouri. You see some of the densely wooded land around the perimeter of the course and wonder if expansion to two full 18 hole courses is possible, perhaps with some tunnel shots. Not far off of I-44 and with nine extra holes, definitely worth the stop.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Course Changes

5+    10/6/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: todd calhoon
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 22.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: concrete teepads on all 27 holes now. holes renumbered for better continuity/flow
Cons: baskets made by the Parks & Rec Dept. are better than the original baskets, but still have some issues with discs spitting out/going through the chains

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Entertaining course

5+    10/22/2008   10/22/2008
Review By: phatrinks
Played: 64  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/8/2008
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course to learn the game on. Not too tough, not too easy. 27 holes are excellent. Plenty of variation and different shots required, especially with the addition of 19-27. Bathrooms and water spouts by pavillion. Front 18 has alt. tees but you have to know where to find them as of right now.
Cons: Baskets are homemade and prone to bounceouts/slicethroughs. Front 18 favors RHBH throwers.
Other Thoughts: Definite play if you're in the area. You won't be disappointed. You'll probably see locals out there on the course that are always looking for a game.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I really like this one

1    8/17/2008   8/25/2008
Review By: Purple Dog
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There's something here for everyone. The first 18 is shorter than the new 9. The setting is a little different than most courses I've seen. The area is grassy and well mowed, but there are still tons of mature oak trees. (I know because I hit most of them) The tee boxes are concrete and there are tee posts with maps of the holes on them. The holes are not overly long, but the trees keep you honest with your drives. The terrain is hilly and that adds to the challenge as well.
Cons: There's not too much too complain about here. I suppose the extra 9 could have concrete tee boxes too, but that seems a little picky. The start of the extra 9 is at hole 14, so we stopped there and played the new 9 before finishing our original 18.
Other Thoughts: I wish it were closer to my house.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very Enjoyable

4/16/2008   4/16/2008
Review By: gravedigger
Played: 55  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Different setting than usual for a disc golf course. Very pretty. Rolling hills. Good mix of shots. Quiet area.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best courses for this area, and very easy to get to.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.